$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 3, 2014 Check-out: Sep 4, 2014

Rio Othon Palace

4 stars
Av. Atlantica 3264, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22070-001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
64 reviews
Unpleasant reception.

We have no complaints about the hotel or rest of the very friendly staff but one reception staff... See full review

  • Star gazer.
  • Aug 10, 2014
Ocean view better than ocean front

We were placed in a ocean front room with a spectacular view but the most horrible furnishings. We... See full review

  • Chestwin
  • Apr 19, 2013
Luxe hotel with great views, amenities on famed Copacabana Beach in Rio
The Rio Othon Palace overlooks Copacabana Beach and offers both privileged views and easy access to the most famous beaches in the city. From here guests can go shopping and sunbathing along Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches, catch a taxi into downtown Rio, as well as take excursions to the top of Sugar Loaf Mountain or to the iconic Christ the Redeemer statue on Corcovado Peak. The Rio Othon Palace offers a heated rooftop pool, business center with computers and Wi-Fi access, and for groups of all sizes, has 11 flexible meeting rooms.
Highlights
  • Waterfront location overlooking Copacabana Beach
  • Rooftop terrace boasts pool and sauna
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in public areas and some guest rooms
Rooms
The Rio Othon Palace features 572 guest rooms and suites on Copacabana Beach. Guest rooms come furnished with double beds or pairs of twin beds, while suites have king-size beds and dining areas. All rooms have balconies -- some with full or partial ocean views. In-room amenities includes telephones with two lines and answering machines, color televisions with international channels, safes, minibars, radios, air conditioning, 24-hour room service, hair-dryers, and some rooms have high-speed Internet access (fees apply).
Features
For spectacular views of Copacabana Beach, guests at Rio Othon Palace can head to the rooftop terrace where a heated pool is also found. The hotel provides beach access with sun chairs, towels and security. The Rio Othon Palace has a sauna, fitness center and a hydrotherapy pool (fees apply). For drinks and meals, guests can find one international restaurant -- Skylab Restaurant -- with a incredible view of the city. The hotel also features a pool bar and lobby bar. Business travelers can find a full-service business center with computers, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and printers while event groups can reserve a flexible 600-person convention center or any of the 10 smaller meeting rooms.
Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16 mi/25.6 km)
Attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ipanema Beach (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
Business
  • Convention room for large events
  • Ten flexible meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center with computers
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees

Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court when traveling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-22.9777 -43.1889
Area served
Rio de Janeiro
Nearby airports
GIG - Galeao International Airport and SDU - Santos Dumont Airport
Area description
Located three miles from Santos Dumont Airport and fifteen miles from Galeao International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rio Othon Palace also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

Rio Othon Palace Rooms

Studio
Rooms include one double bed, equipped with air conditioning, Cable TV, minibar and safe. Private bathroom includes amenities. Wi-Fi available with aditional cost.
Superior Premium Ocean Front
Ocean Front modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. Located on floors 13-20. 35 square meters. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In-room safe. Working desk
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Rooms include one double or twin beds and are projected to satisfy you. All rooms are equipped with telephone with two lines and answering machine, remote control color TV with international channels, safe, mini bar, AM FM radio, air conditioning, 24 hour room service, hair dryer, laundry and dry cleaning.
Superior Premium Partial Ocean View
Modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. Partial ocean view. Located on floors 13 to 20. 25 square meters (625 square feet). Multi line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In room safe. Working desk

Amenities

  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Gavea: 3.6 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 4.2 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 4.4 mi
  • Passeio Público: 4.7 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 4.8 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 5.1 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5.3 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 5.4 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 5.4 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.7 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 8 mi
  • Norte shopping: 8.4 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 8.7 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 10.4 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.7 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 13.4 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.1 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.9 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 18.5 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 18.7 mi

Dining

Skylab Restaurant
On the 30th floor, hotel offers a real Gourmet Center, where you can try the international cuisine and a delicious feijoada, the typical Brazilian dish every Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (64)

Ratings and reviews for Rio Othon Palace

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 64
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.9
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.1

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
I travel a lot
Business
Boston
Dec 7, 2012

local call for 30 min costs me over $300

Even after I complained that nowhere in the room or hotel do they speak of the extortion local phone rates. This is a call from my room to a local number in Rio. After complaining to the Manager who agreed it was not posted anywhere they gave me 20% off. I will never go back to this hotel again. BP

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent traveler 2013
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jun 30, 2012

Great location, over-priced hotel for what it is.

The hotel looked nice from outside. And the entrance was impressive. The room was ok until I sat on the bed. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The bed sheets looked very old and yellow. The balcony door didn't close properly or there were cracks, the curtain kept moving when the wind blew outside. The toilet flush didn't work; I had to press 10 times to manage to flush. They charge 20 Real for the gym; this is the first time I saw a hotel is charging for the gym. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pretty much everybody spoke English. Overall the hotel and room were clean. But certain things need renovation. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kiwi123
Business
NZ
Nov 10, 2011

good/average in great location

everything in Rio is very expensive, especially in Copacabana. There are better value hotels in e.g. Ipanema, but I stayed in the RIo Othon palace about 25 years ago for the first time and decided to come back. Overall pleasant experience and nice staff. One MAJOR point of disappointment, 30 Rs per day for internet, which was extremely slow and interrupted constantly. In a hotel like the Othon with a 5 star rating, this should be free.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TT W
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jun 29, 2011

great location, amazing view

I had a great week in Rio and really enjoyed my stay at Rio Othon Palace. Its very well located in Copacabana, beachfront, close to shops, banks, and restaurants. the service was excellent, staff so friendly and helpful! My room was in the executive floor and it was very spacious, clean, modern. Amazing view from the breakfast room on the 30th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Copacabana Beach

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working babe
Business
Miami
Feb 18, 2011

Great experience!

Great location, beautiful view close to everything that's interesting in Rio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, Mexico
Nov 22, 2010

Normal Hotel

The hotel is very poor in their room utilities, (Old bed, Old TV set) food its not that good quality ( room service)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Marius and Porcao Ipanema

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sarig
Business
ithaca, ny
Aug 16, 2009

Ok but need to pay attention

I was in Rio attending a large international conference; a number of the international organizers (including me) stayed here as did many other attendees. My experience was better than most because I was lucky enough to be assigned a room high up (above Floor 20) where renovations have taken place; others staying lower found rooms less clean, hallways dark, etc - so be sure to insist on being high up. I needed to work, but the wifi (which I paid for) was often unstable or unreachable. Often there seemed to be only 2-3 elevators in service so a 3-5 minute wait for one was not uncommon. The tv in my room lost its cable connection and it took 3 days to get it fixed. Also, the staff did not provide the best information and seemed confused about some things (prepaid cards for riding Metro for example; location of nearby ATMs, how to rent a tourist bike). On the other hand, the hotel is right across the street from the beach so beach-side views are spectacular, the food in the top floor restaurant was quite good, and the hotel is very convenient to the metro station.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Sometimes the lines to buy metro tickets are quite long. If you are going to be riding the metro regularly, buy a pre-paid (pre-pago) metro card for a fixed amount (20 real; 50 real); you can "recharge" the card too. It doesn't save money, but it does save time. Note also that we found the metro clean and safe and the people running it very friendly and helpful.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
phoenix, az, USA
Aug 15, 2009

Great, with business plan and high floor

When I first checked in, I experienced what I had expected.. I was told that the items I had pre-paid for on Orbitz were not in fact a part of the plan I had paid for (i.e. free internet).. after talking for 20 min, a manager agreed at least to allow me an early check in at 830 am, and suggested I go to the business lounge on the 27th floor when it opened at 9. When I got to my room I discovered Ocean view was 'side view'..and was disappointed. However, once I went to the business lounge, everything changed! The delightful concierge there upgraded me to business plan, which I thought I had, with free internet and free laundry (shirts) each day.. and upgraded me to a beautiful oceanfront room. I found the room comfortable and clean, and the view over the ocean unsurpassed.. I was not hassled upon entering the hotel, even when I brought friends up to the bar on the 30th floor.. and breakfast on the roof was sublime, and the pool on the roof delightful as well. I would definitely recommend, but get the business plan and an upper floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

meals on Ave. Atlantica are actually good.. a great italian restaurant.. 2 blocks away toward Copacabana palace.. Don Camisso (or something like that) was worth going to.. cheap meals in copacabana a block from the beach were also great, and ipanema restaurants are worth the walk.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
startraveler
Business
Amherst, MA
Aug 11, 2009

good time at Rio Othon

hotel staffs are very helpful. The view is stunning. The location close to both the beach and the metro is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pa, the traveller
Business
Bloomfield, MI
Jun 19, 2009

A relaxing experience

We went to a convention. During the free time we enjoyed a magnificent view from the room, and also walked on the beach. Breakfast is excellent, as well as the bar where you can grab something to eat, but they are missing an everyday restaurant. But I general it was a satisfying experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

An excellent and affordable restaurant. Personnel are very polite and helpful. Its name "Kilograma" .

Back to menu Return to top

Change search