$124 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 20, 2015 Check-out: Sep 23, 2015

Rio Othon Palace

4 stars
View map of Av. Atlantica 3264, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22070-001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.5
out of 5
45 reviews
Great Copacabana Vacay

This hotel was great for the price. Thr location was great & the rooms were a nice size & clean.... See full review

  • Amanda R.
  • Jun 18, 2015
Rio Trip

We had a wonderful stay at this hotel. It is in a superb location facing the ocean. We had a room... See full review

  • ananth
  • May 20, 2015

The Rio Othon Palace overlooks Copacabana Beach and offers both privileged views and easy access to the most famous beaches in the city. From here guests can go shopping and sunbathing along Copacabana and Ipanema Beaches, catch a taxi into downtown Rio, as well as take excursions to the top of Sugar Loaf Mountain or to the iconic Christ the Redeemer statue on Corcovado Peak. The Rio Othon Palace offers a heated rooftop pool, business center with computers and Wi-Fi access, and for groups of all sizes, has 11 flexible meeting rooms.

Rooms

The Rio Othon Palace features 572 guest rooms and suites on Copacabana Beach. Guest rooms come furnished with double beds or pairs of twin beds, while suites have king-size beds and dining areas. All rooms have balconies -- some with full or partial ocean views. In-room amenities includes telephones with two lines and answering machines, color televisions with international channels, safes, minibars, radios, air conditioning, 24-hour room service, hair-dryers, and some rooms have high-speed Internet access (fees apply).

Property features

For spectacular views of Copacabana Beach, guests at Rio Othon Palace can head to the rooftop terrace where a heated pool is also found. The hotel provides beach access with sun chairs, towels and security. The Rio Othon Palace has a fitness center and a hydrotherapy pool (fees apply). For drinks and meals, guests can find one international restaurant -- Skylab Restaurant -- with a incredible view of the city. The hotel also features a pool bar and lobby bar. Business travelers can find a full-service business center with computers, Wi-Fi access (fees apply) and printers while event groups can reserve a flexible 600-person convention center or any of the 10 smaller meeting rooms.

Highlights
  • Waterfront location overlooking Copacabana Beach
  • Rooftop terrace has pool
  • Complimentary breakfast buffet
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in public areas and some guest rooms
Nearby attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (0.9 mi/1.4 km)
  • Ipanema Beach (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (3.5 mi/5.6 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (8.3 mi/13.3 km)
Business
  • Convention room for large events
  • Ten flexible meeting rooms
  • Full-service business center with computers
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (6.7 mi/10.7 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16 mi/25.6 km)
Fees

Parking is available at additional cost.

Policies

Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court when traveling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Rio Othon Palace also booked these hotels.

★★★
$125
3.7 / 5 12 reviews
★★★★
$170
4.4 / 5 31 reviews
★★★★
$166
4.4 / 5 26 reviews
★★★★
$136
3.8 / 5 33 reviews
★★★
$97
3.6 / 5 37 reviews
★★★
$78
3.6 / 5 21 reviews
★★★
$91
5.0 / 5 3 reviews
★★★
$105
3.7 / 5 11 reviews
★★★★
$195
4.1 / 5 24 reviews

Rio Othon Palace Rooms

Deluxe Premium Room
Deluxe Premium Rooms offers many amenities such as a Nespresso coffee machine and tea, Trussardi bathrobes and towels, dock station for iPod and iPhone. Privileged and breathtaking views of Copacabana beach, ideal for both business and leisure guests . Featuring a King bed or two double beds.
Studio
Rooms include one double bed, equipped with air conditioning, Cable TV, minibar and safe. Private bathroom includes amenities. Wi-Fi available with aditional cost.
Superior Premium Ocean Front
Ocean Front modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. 35 square meters. Multi-line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In-room safe. Working desk
Deluxe Partial Ocean View
Rooms include one double or twin beds and are projected to satisfy you. All rooms are equipped with telephone with two lines and answering machine, remote control color TV with international channels, safe, mini bar, AM FM radio, air conditioning, 24 hour room service, hair dryer, laundry and dry cleaning.
Superior Premium Partial Ocean View
Modern and renovated room. One double bed or two twin beds. Balcony. Partial ocean view. 25 square meters (625 square feet). Multi line phone with voice mail. Cable TV. Minibar. Air conditioning. In room safe. Working desk

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness Center
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible Rooms/Facilities
Accessible facilities
Wheel chair access
Service dogs allowed
Public areas wheelchair accessible for disabled
Wheelchair accessible elevators
Ramp access to buildings
Brailled elevators

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.8 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 0.9 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.4 mi
  • Leme: 1.7 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.8 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.5 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.7 mi
  • Urca: 2.8 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3 mi
  • Flamengo: 3.1 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.5 mi
  • Gavea: 3.6 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.7 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 4.2 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 4.4 mi
  • Passeio Público: 4.7 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 4.8 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 5.1 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5.3 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.4 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 5.4 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 5.4 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.7 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 8 mi
  • Rio shopping: 8.4 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 8.7 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 10.4 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.7 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 13.4 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.1 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.9 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 18.5 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 18.7 mi

Dining

Skylab Restaurant
On the 30th floor, hotel offers a real Gourmet Center, where you can try the international cuisine and a delicious feijoada, the typical Brazilian dish every Saturday.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Rio Othon Palace

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel0813
Family
Washington
Aug 16, 2013

Hotel

We waited in line for nearly one hour to check out from the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hotel0813
Family
Washington
Aug 18, 2013

Internet Nightmare

The internet in this hotel barely worked. Internet connections were difficult to establish and frequently disappeared. The internet was unbearably slow when it was working. There was an enormous wait to check out of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Friends
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Rio Othon Review (October 2010)

The location is great on Copacabana Beach, and I stayed there many times before, but on this last trip, I ran into a very disturbing problem. A friend came to visit and valeted the car. We called ahead to pick it up but when we did, there was a parking ticket. The valet parked it on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. When we raised the issue to the hotel manager, he admitted that it was their fault but they are refusing to take responsibility. When we pursued the matter further, they referred us to their lawyer. Now my friend either has to accept the driving points (penalty) or take the matter to court. I feel terrible. A bigger concern for anyone reading this review is that it appears this particular hotel won't take responsibility for their mistakes, so if you stay there, you better hope that everything is perfect. If a mistake of theirs causes a problem for you, don't expect them to take action to fix it. They will run to their lawyers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Friends

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Forte Copacabana has excellent food with a nice view of the famous beach.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Brazilian national visiting
Single
Humble, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Unfortunate experience

Was robbed of a purse at lunch time. A transvestite posing as a woman needing help while "her" accomplices grabbed the purse and ran away. Had security hold "her" until the police came to arrest "her". Over 20 stolen credit cards were found on her person, but the other guys made off with the purse containing $1,500. Hotel staff advised changing hotels or leaving the country, so an early departure was arranged at a cost of $250 (Continental Air Lines). Left on Saturday August 7th instead of Thursday August 12th as planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Single

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Ted Hessing
Couples
Charlotte, NC
Feb 22, 2010

Ruined our honeymoon

Rented the hotel for the 4 stars I saw here. Indeed, the lobby looks to be 4 stars. In reality, the rooms of this flea-bag roach motel should be less than one. If this hotel was in the US, it would be condemned. We took this room for our honeymoon. My new wife started crying once we saw the condition. We tried unsuccessfully to rebook. Total and complete disappointment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
hawkey
Couples
Boston, MA
Apr 19, 2013

Scary and Uncomfortable Stay

Checking in and out took at least an hour due to hotel staff not properly organized. Also, for rooms with balconies, the slider doors had no latches at all. Very unsafe!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
vishsnj
Couples
NJ
Jan 11, 2012

RDJ visit

Upon reaching the Rio Othon Palace Hotel, our check-in manager was not friendly and just handed over the keys to a room, slam bang next to the elevator and a low floor, even though our booking specified a higher floor, non-smoking, kingbed room away from elevators. We looked at our room with 2 twin beds and came back to the lobby requesting a change. A different check-in manager was equally unfriendly and only upon asking to speak to the manager, did we finally get a room on the 15th floor with a kingbed and partial oceanview. We thought we were getting a oceanview room when we made the booking and had to settle for less!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Frequent traveler 2013
Business
Zurich, Switzerland
Jun 30, 2012

Great location, over-priced hotel for what it is.

The hotel looked nice from outside. And the entrance was impressive. The room was ok until I sat on the bed. The bed and pillows were very uncomfortable. The bed sheets looked very old and yellow. The balcony door didn't close properly or there were cracks, the curtain kept moving when the wind blew outside. The toilet flush didn't work; I had to press 10 times to manage to flush. They charge 20 Real for the gym; this is the first time I saw a hotel is charging for the gym. The staff was friendly and helpful. Pretty much everybody spoke English. Overall the hotel and room were clean. But certain things need renovation. The location is great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Cowboy Man
Couples
Phoenix
Sep 29, 2012

Great views of the beach

Very busy hotel, but well located. Be sure to ask for a remodeled room. Somewhat expensive hotel, but so is Brazil for an American.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dmawhinn
Couples
Rohnert Park, CA
Dec 31, 2012

Great Location. Needs a friendlier staff.

Most of our experience at the Othon was really quite wonderful. The location was amazing, the view from our room was amazing, the bar staff at the roof top pool were amazing, but the staff at the concierge, front desk and bell service left a lot to be desired. The concierge could not be bothered with helping us plan our day trips, no info, no maps and we would be put aside if a tour group leader came to him. We tried to get taxis and were led to their private black car transportation. It was great to see the Christo. It really did turn out to be a bargain, but to charge us R$150 to go to Sugar loaf was outrageous. We took a regular cab and it was R$30 round trip. Its really close and transportation is easy. We used them again to go the airport. We agreed on a price with the hotel staff and driver to make one stop and go to the airport. We know what was discussed because a member of our party speaks fluent Portuguese and was part of the discussion with both the hotel staff and the driver. When we arrived at the airport the driver tried to charge us an additional R$50. That is an additional $25USD. Outrageous. We felt as if this service was just trying to extort money from tourists, above what was fare prices. A regular taxi to the airport is R$60 and we were already paying R$ 100 for the extra stop and ease of their highly recommended (pushed) cars. Just be wary, and negotiate all payments with all parties before agreeing to anything. Know your area, because their service isn't really set up to help you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The beach is a great experience. A chop of Brahma, Mate or a Caiperinia (sp) on the beach is an amazing experience.

Back to menu Return to top