$127 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 30, 2015 Check-out: Sep 1, 2015

Rio Othon Palace

4 stars
View map of Av. Atlantica 3264, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22070-001

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Rio Othon Palace

Overall score

3.5 / 5
5.01.0
45 out of 45
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
3.9
Hotel staff:
3.6
Comfort:
3.7
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.4

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TT W
Business
Sao Paulo, Brazil
Jun 29, 2011

great location, amazing view

I had a great week in Rio and really enjoyed my stay at Rio Othon Palace. Its very well located in Copacabana, beachfront, close to shops, banks, and restaurants. the service was excellent, staff so friendly and helpful! My room was in the executive floor and it was very spacious, clean, modern. Amazing view from the breakfast room on the 30th floor!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Copacabana Beach

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Miami, FL
May 31, 2011

"An excellent Copacabana Hotel"

We have made over 50 trips to Rio, and this hotel more than met our expectations. The room was very clean, spacious with a great ocean view, comfortable king size bed, a fair sized bathroom, and a very good breakfast included. The hotel has a pool on the 30th floor long enough to swim laps. Service was very good. The only weakness is the tasteless food served in the restaurant on the 30th floor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Have lunch at Colombo's, which is located in the Fort at the end of Copacabana beech (Posto 6) walking in the direction of Ipanema.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
May 11, 2011

NIce view

Nice view, but the hotel needs some work (major work)a motel 6 is nicer!!! Some members of the staff (e.g. [...]) act more like if this hotel was a Russian prison than a beach hotel. I enjoyed more my last visit at the Copacabana Palace (price wise they are almost the same).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
VA, USA
May 2, 2011

Perfect location on the Copacobana Beach

We spent two days at the beach, one day city tour, one day Corcovado. The city is chaotic and not very clean. Then, we went to Amazonas, that was an experience

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Danbury, CT
Apr 12, 2011

Nice Hotel on Beach

Hotel was very nice, centrally located, and clean. The only issue we had was regarding the air conditioning. It was working at a minimal level, but management sent someone to look at it and offered a room change. We ended up staying in the room because the heat was tolerable & the view was simply breathtaking.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Behind the hotel, there are multiple places to eat at significantly affordable prices.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Working babe
Business
Miami
Feb 18, 2011

Great experience!

Great location, beautiful view close to everything that's interesting in Rio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Nov 25, 2010

Rio Othon Review (October 2010)

The location is great on Copacabana Beach, and I stayed there many times before, but on this last trip, I ran into a very disturbing problem. A friend came to visit and valeted the car. We called ahead to pick it up but when we did, there was a parking ticket. The valet parked it on the sidewalk in front of the hotel. When we raised the issue to the hotel manager, he admitted that it was their fault but they are refusing to take responsibility. When we pursued the matter further, they referred us to their lawyer. Now my friend either has to accept the driving points (penalty) or take the matter to court. I feel terrible. A bigger concern for anyone reading this review is that it appears this particular hotel won't take responsibility for their mistakes, so if you stay there, you better hope that everything is perfect. If a mistake of theirs causes a problem for you, don't expect them to take action to fix it. They will run to their lawyers.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Forte Copacabana has excellent food with a nice view of the famous beach.

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Guadalajara, Mexico
Nov 22, 2010

Normal Hotel

The hotel is very poor in their room utilities, (Old bed, Old TV set) food its not that good quality ( room service)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

Marius and Porcao Ipanema

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Disappointed Brazilian national visiting
Business
Humble, TX
Aug 18, 2010

Unfortunate experience

Was robbed of a purse at lunch time. A transvestite posing as a woman needing help while "her" accomplices grabbed the purse and ran away. Had security hold "her" until the police came to arrest "her". Over 20 stolen credit cards were found on her person, but the other guys made off with the purse containing $1,500. Hotel staff advised changing hotels or leaving the country, so an early departure was arranged at a cost of $250 (Continental Air Lines). Left on Saturday August 7th instead of Thursday August 12th as planned.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Rio Othon Palace

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EROBPAL
Business
CHILE
Jul 26, 2010

Not good.

N/A

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top