$218 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 9, 2015

Praia Ipanema Hotel

3 stars
View map of Avenida Vieira Souto 706 Ipanema, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22420

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.3
out of 5
10 reviews
Great Location

A clean but fairly basic room for the price but I guess that's Rio, great location right on the... See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Apr 30, 2015
Rio Experience

If I were returning to Rio, I would stay in the Ipanema area again. We stayed across from the beach... See full review

  • Ed traveler anywhere
  • Mar 19, 2014
The most charming beach in Rio a look away. Sophistication, beauty and taste together for you to enjoy unforgettable moments in the most exclusive neighborhoods in the world.

Perfection is to have a breathtaking scenario at any time of the day right in front of you, without leaving the balcony of your room. In Praia Ipanema Hotel this is possible. All apartments has a partial ocean view. We are ready to give you the best stay with our excellent service that will make the Praia Ipanema Hotel an unforgettable experience.

Besides the remarkable location that allows guests to enjoy not only a stunning beach but also the best options for fashion, culture and fun that the most inspiring neighborhood of Rio has to offer. Praia Ipanema Hotel also features a steam room , beach service with sun loungers , infinity pool overlooking the sea. At the Lobby Bar, a cozy and modern environment for those who enjoy a great drink .

Ipanema is the perfect place to meet people , colors, and trends place. Renowned as one of the cradles of Bossa Nova is perfect neighborhood for anyone who wants to enjoy a great time in a very special way. So choose the hotel that best understands Ipanema and let us surprise you .

Internet and safe deposit box are available at cost.

IMPORTANT: Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court, in case of travelling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them. Rooms fit up to 2 adults + 1 child of 10 years using the existent bed.

Top hotels

Praia Ipanema Hotel Rooms

Superior Room Partial Ocean View
Sophisticated rooms with partial view of the beach, including amenities such as:
  • Air Conditioned
  • Cable TV
  • Mini Bar
  • Hair Dryer
  • Phone and Clock/Radio
  • Iphone Dock
  • Wwirless Internet (extra charge)
  • Superior Room Oceanfront
    Sophisticated rooms located on top floors. All of them include a balcony strategically positioned in front of the ocean. These luxury apartments include amenities such as:

  • DVD Player
  • Air Conditioned
  • Cable TV
  • Mini Bar
  • Hair Dryer
  • Phone and Clock/Radio
  • Iphone Dock
  • Wwirless Internet (extra charge)
  • Delux Room Oceanfront
    Sophisticated rooms located on top floors and strategically positioned in front of the ocean, with balcony and great panoramic view. This apartments include amenities such as:
  • DVD Player
  • Air Conditioned
  • Cable TV
  • Mini Bar
  • Hair Dryer
  • Phone and Clock/Radio
  • Iphone Dock
  • Wwirless Internet (extra charge)
  • Deluxe Room - Partial Ocean View
    Deluxe Room offers 1 king bed along with ocean partial view balconies, air-conditioning, dual-line telephones, voice mail, telephone access in the toilet, high-speed internet access, AM/FM alarm clock radio, cable TV, minibar, in-room safes for notebooks, Balcony / Terrace, Bathroom amenities, Color TV 32" LCD, Hairdryer, Non-smoking rooms, Pay TV, Radio, Room service, Safe deposit box at cost and Valet service. Located from 1st to 9th Floor. Sophisticated rooms located on top floors. All of them include a balcony with panoramic partial view of the beach. These luxury apartments include amenities such as:

  • Air Conditioned
  • Cable TV
  • Mini Bar
  • Hair Dryer
  • Phone and Clock/Radio
  • Iphone Dock
  • Wwirless Internet (extra charge)
  • Amenities

    • Free buffet breakfast
    • WiFi
    • Outdoor pool
    • No smoking rooms/facilities
    General
    No smoking rooms/facilities
    Concierge
    Elevators
    Activities
    Outdoor pool
    Solarium
    Dining
    Free buffet breakfast
    Bar/Lounge
    Restaurant
    24 hour room service
    Services
    Business center
    Laundry service
    In-Room Safe
    Meeting/Banquet facilities
    Conference facilities
    Currency exchange
    Internet
    WiFi
    Accessibility
    Handicapped rooms/facilities

    Nearby points of interest

    • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.1 mi
    • Copacabana fort: 1.6 mi
    • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
    • Gavea: 1.9 mi
    • Christ the Redeemer: 2.3 mi
    • Corcovado: 2.4 mi
    • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 2.5 mi
    • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.5 mi
    • Museo do Indio: 2.8 mi
    • Floresta da Tijuca: 2.9 mi
    • Cosme Velho: 3 mi
    • Leme: 3.3 mi
    • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.3 mi
    • Laranjeiras: 4 mi
    • Sugarloaf Mountain: 4.3 mi
    • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.1 mi
    • Copacabana fort: 1.6 mi
    • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
    • Gavea: 1.9 mi
    • Christ the Redeemer: 2.3 mi
    • Corcovado: 2.4 mi
    • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 2.5 mi
    • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.5 mi
    • Museo do Indio: 2.8 mi
    • Floresta da Tijuca: 2.9 mi
    • Cosme Velho: 3 mi
    • Leme: 3.3 mi
    • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.3 mi
    • Laranjeiras: 4 mi
    • Sugarloaf Mountain: 4.3 mi
    • Flamengo: 4.4 mi
    • Urca: 4.4 mi
    • Teatro miguel falabella: 4.8 mi
    • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5.2 mi
    • Quinta da Boa Vista: 5.3 mi
    • Maracana stadium: 5.4 mi
    • Lona Cultural: 5.4 mi
    • Passeio Público: 5.7 mi
    • Santa Teresa Tram: 5.7 mi
    • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 6 mi
    • Central do Brasil: 6.1 mi
    • Botafogo praia shopping: 6.3 mi
    • Avenida Rio Branco: 6.3 mi
    • Shopping tijuca: 7.6 mi
    • Norte shopping: 7.8 mi
    • Teatro carlos gomes: 8 mi
    • Marina da gloria: 8.7 mi
    • Barra Shopping: 9.3 mi
    • Carioca shopping: 11.2 mi
    • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 11.8 mi
    • Riocentro: 12.5 mi
    • Shopping grande rio: 16.2 mi
    • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 17 mi
    • Shopping bangu: 17.3 mi

    Dining

    Restaurant
    For a sophisticated breakfast, a complete buffet with a large variety of tropical fruits, breads and fresh juices. Your best option for lunch and dinner: original, delicious dishes of international cuisine, that will surprise you, served in gourmet restaurant, with a beautiful view to Ipanema beach.

    Hotel Policies

    Check-in:
    3:00 PM
    Check-out:
    12:00 PM

    Terms and conditions

    Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

    The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

    Ratings and reviews for Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Overall score

    3.3 / 5
    5.01.0
    10 out of 10
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3.6
    Hotel staff:
    4.4
    Comfort:
    3.5
    Location:
    4.5
    Value:
    3.2

    70% would recommend to a friend.

    Sort by:
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    N/A
    Apr 30, 2015

    Great Location

    A clean but fairly basic room for the price but I guess that's Rio, great location right on the beach, 10 minutes walk to various bars and restaurants, 25 minutes walk to Copacabana beach. Friendly helpful staff, great infinity pool on the 16th floor however not much space around the pool for sun loungers, overall highly recommended, I would stay here again.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Ed traveler anywhere
    Business
    Seattle, WA
    Mar 19, 2014

    Rio Experience

    If I were returning to Rio, I would stay in the Ipanema area again. We stayed across from the beach and the beach people in Ipanema are beautiful and pride themselves on their appearance. Plenty of major great shopping and restaurants close by. We were by far the least 'beach looking' people on the beach. Would definitely recommend this area and felt very safe there.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    3
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Dining, shopping, beaches; everything is right there in the Ipanema area.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Chonie
    Business
    Florida, USA
    Mar 20, 2013

    business/pleasure

    Hotel worked out well, nice, medium-sized room with wonderful view. Food was great- way above average on 16th floor and great infinity pool. Price is ridiculous but for a beachfront hotel in Ipanema, what can you say? Good location. Only down side is elevators - one always broken so used service elevator most of the time, and lobby bar area very unattractive. Too small. Thank goodness there is no smoking!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    3
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Dowsk
    Business
    CT
    Jul 9, 2012

    Great location, pretty average room

    Great location on Ipanema beach but the rooms are basic at best. Expected much more for the price. I even upgraded to a Master Suite which was far from "sweet" - basically just a bed and a desk and tile floors. Fernando at the front desk was one bright spot. The view from the rooftop pool and lounge was pretty cool!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    3
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Allessandro e Frederico was an amazing spot for breakfast if you don't take advantage of the hotel's!

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    1
    5.01.0
    nmb7
    Business
    New York, NY, USA
    Mar 28, 2012

    Disappointing!

    First, we were staying there from March 22-25, and were not informed that the pool was being renovated (and thus not in service) until AFTER we booked. We promptly called the hotel to see if the pool would be accessible during our visit because if not, we would not have wanted to stay there. They reassured (over and over again) us that the pool would be ready on March 23. However, it was closed the entire time we were there. When we complained about this, they did not do anything, they did not even remove the $R3/day fee for the safe, which is ridiculous in the first place given that they charged almost $400/night for a dirty, musty room. The sheets had rust on them. The maid service was terrible - they did not clean our room until very late in the day and never left us beach towels. So, every morning, we had to go on a search for our own beach towels. I would not recommend this hotel. I felt like my money was stolen, and they did not care about customer service at all.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    1
    Cleanliness:
    1
    Hotel staff:
    2
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    1
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    5
    5.01.0
    JERRYN D
    Business
    HEMET CALIFORNIA
    Feb 3, 2012

    RIO STAY FEB 20012

    HOTEL AND STAFF FREINDLY AND HELPFUL. WONDERFUL BREAKFAST. 14TH FLOOR OCEANFRONT WAS GREAT. SAFE AREA WITH SHOPPING AND FOOD. ONLY DRAWBACK WAS POOL UNDER REFURB. WOULD DEFINITLEY STAY AGAIN AND DO RECCOMMEND !!!!

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    GLOKUMO
    Business
    MEXICO
    Jan 9, 2012

    PRAIA IPANEMA

    VERY NICE PLACE TO STAY, EXCELENT LOCATION AND VERY NICE STAFF

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    4
    Location:
    5
    Value:
    4
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

    NICE WALKS ALONG THE BEACH ARE VERY GOOD ENTRETAINMENT

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    4
    5.01.0
    Anonymous
    Business
    Portland, OR
    Apr 26, 2011

    A Great Place to Stay in Ipanema

    Easy access to the beach, the neighborhood, great restaurants. Friendly, helpful staff. Nice rooms with balconies and good views. Great breakfast, nice amenities. A good place to stay if you want to escape the throngs of tourists, the crowded beaches, and the pesky peddlers of Copacabana.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    4
    Cleanliness:
    5
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    5
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    5
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    3
    5.01.0
    Summertime in March
    Business
    San Francisco, CA
    Mar 21, 2011

    Praia Ipanema

    The hotel was fairly basic with the rooms nothing to write home about. Their rack rate was $520 but we got a standard room for $343. Not knowing the property, we figured this would be our splurge. I did request an ocean front view and on that they totally delivered. From our room, we had the entire Ipanema Beach from our little balcony. We could also see Sugarloaf as well as the Cristo. My guess is that beach front is just plain pricey in Ipanema. The people were very nice just expected a bit more for the price.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    3
    Cleanliness:
    4
    Hotel staff:
    5
    Comfort:
    3
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

    You´re two blocks from the main shopping and eating area in Ipanema. It´s towards the end of the beach heading towards LeLablon.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Review of Praia Ipanema Hotel

    Reviewer score

    2
    5.01.0
    Brazil Geek
    Business
    Santa Barbara, CA
    Mar 16, 2011

    Not the paradise I was expecting.

    This place has quite the set of photographs in its marketing arsenal, so I was looking forward to trying it out on my next trip to Rio. Brazil in general doesn't get my highest marks for hotels. Of the seven hotels I've in at in Brazil, I rate this #4. Of Rio, I rate it #3 of 5. It's okay, but dated, and not as modern as led to believe by the marketing. The A/C counldn't be controlled, the wired internet was slow. There was a tremendous amount of street noise (3rd floor), which kept me awake. The lack of consistent hot water was a major inconvenience. Room door lock stopped working on my last night, and I couldn't leave if I wanted to get back in. Mold/mildew around the A/C unit. Smallish-sized room.

    Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
    Amenities:
    2
    Cleanliness:
    2
    Hotel staff:
    4
    Comfort:
    2
    Location:
    4
    Value:
    2
    Trip purpose:

    Business

    Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

    Head to Academia da Cachaca in nearby Leblon. Great food from all regions of Brazil, pleasant staff, and the best selection of cachaca in Brazil.

    Was this review helpful to you?
    Thank you for your feedback!
    Back to menu Return to top