$209 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 13, 2014 Check-out: Dec 16, 2014

Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

4 stars
Avenida Atlantica 1500 - Copacabana, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22.021-00
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.2
out of 5
23 reviews
Unexpected surprise

Arrived to find pool closed, gym closed, pounding and drilling all day long and one night until 10... See full review

  • DMLW
  • Sep 22, 2013
Very nice

Very nice, breakfast was good and staff very good. It has location, location, location! See full review

  • totosnm
  • Jun 18, 2013
Copacabana Beach hotel with private beach access, city and ocean views
The waterfront Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel boasts beautiful ocean views and direct access to Copacabana Beach. From the hotel, guests can explore popular Copacabana attractions, and the hotel sits close to downtown Rio and about 30 minutes from the international airport. The facilities at the property include rooftop leisure facilities, private beach service and sophisticated dining options, and the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel has conference and business facilities, including Wi-Fi access throughout (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Located oceanfront on Copacabana Beach
  • Rooftop swimming pool
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms
The Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel offers standard-size "superior" and larger "deluxe" guest rooms, as well as one-bedroom suites. All rooms come furnished with single king beds, single queens or pairs of double beds. En suite bathrooms have showers and baths, and come equipped with hair-dryers, make-up mirrors and bath amenities. Other in-room amenities include flat-screen cable televisions, stocked minibars, alarm clocks, digital phone lines with voice mail, electronic locks, safe boxes, bathrobes and work desks with in-room Wi-Fi access available (fees apply).
Features
Located on Copacabana beach, the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel offers direct beach access, with an area reserved for hotel guests that features sun chairs, umbrellas and towels. Guests can also swim and sunbathe at the rooftop swimming pool, which offers incredible views of the city. The hotel provides a complimentary breakfast for guests each morning, and there is an on-site restaurant for additional meals. Other on-site amenities include a fitness center and a business center with computers and print, fax and copy services. Guests at the Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel can log onto WI-FI access throughout the hotel (fees apply). Event groups can find four flexible meeting spaces for conferences or banquets.

Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (5.6 mi/9 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16.7 mi/26.7 km)
Attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (2.8 mi/4.5 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (3.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Ipanema Beach (4 mi/6.4 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (9 mi/14.4 km)
Business
  • Four flexible meeting or banquet rooms
  • Full-service business center with computers
  • Print, copy and fax services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court when traveling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 2.1 out of 5

Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel Rooms

Superior Room
The room offers One Double Bed and a twin Bed with cable TV, fully stocked mini bar, FM/AM radio, alarm clock, voice mail, digital telephone line, electronic locks, safety deposit box, smoke detectors and sprinklers, 2 flat screen TV'sbathrobes, telephone and dual-voltage outlets.
Suite
The room offers One King Bed and Single Bed-additional bed. With cable TV, fully stocked mini bar, FM/AM radio, alarm clock, voice mail, digital telephone line, electronic locks, safety deposit box, smoke detectors and sprinklers, 2 flat screen TV's, DVD and CD player. The bathrooms have shower, bath, hairdryer, make-up mirror, bathrobes, telephone and dual-voltage outlets.
Deluxe Room
The room offers 1 Queen bed and Double Bed. Cable TV, fully stocked mini bar, FM/AM radio, alarm clock, voice mail, digital telephone line, electronic locks, safety deposit box, smoke detectors and sprinklers, TV and CD player. The bathrooms have shower, bath, hairdryer, make-up mirror, bathrobes, telephone and dual-voltage outlets.

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Airport shuttle
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Tour desk
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Currency exchange
Internet
Free internet
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.3 mi
  • Leme: 0.6 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.3 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 1.6 mi
  • Urca: 1.7 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.8 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Lage: 2.1 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.3 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.4 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.4 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 2.6 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.3 mi
  • Leme: 0.6 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.3 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 1.6 mi
  • Urca: 1.7 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.8 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 2.1 mi
  • Parque Lage: 2.1 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.3 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.3 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.4 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.4 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 2.6 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 3.2 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.8 mi
  • Passeio Público: 3.9 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 3.9 mi
  • Gavea: 4.5 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 4.6 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 4.7 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 4.8 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 4.8 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 5.1 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.2 mi
  • Norte shopping: 8.4 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 9 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 9.1 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 11.3 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.7 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11.9 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 14.4 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.9 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.8 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 19 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 19.6 mi

Dining

Pool Bar
On the rooth (20 floor) - Available for lunch, Happy Hour and drinks. Amazing sea view.
Limone Cafe Bar and Pool Bar
Confortable and informal caf bar located on the lobby.
La Finestra Restaurant
Panoramic view to the beach, International Cousine with Italian tendence. Opened for buffet breakfast, Lunch, Afternoon Tea and Dinner.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (23)

Ratings and reviews for Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Overall score

4.2 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 23
Amenities:
3.8
Room cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

87% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DMLW
Business
Ft Myers FL
Sep 22, 2013

Unexpected surprise

Arrived to find pool closed, gym closed, pounding and drilling all day long and one night until 10 pm!! Also problems with TV. Weak signal probably due to construction! Otherwise great hotel! Would recommend when construction is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Would not recommend "Platforma tour" booked through hotel. Show was good but restaurant was not as described.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TheManinRedSpeedos
Business
New York
Feb 15, 2009

Highly recommend!!!

The staff was very friendly. When I checked in, they served us sparkling wine. They took care of every travel tip possible. They treated us like royalty. The rooms were clean. We had a balcony overlooking the beach, which was beautiful. It was right across the street to Copacabana, which made it convenient. The continental breakfast was outstanding. They had a wide variety of things to eat, which I was expecting bread and coffee. The rooftop bar had a great view of the city; one can see Sugar loaf mountain and Corcovado. However, the pool is small, which did not make a difference because of the view. They had a sauna and a shower. The fitness center had everything you needed for a good work out. I highly recommend this place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
NYC Max
Business
New York, NY
Jun 7, 2011

Great Stay

Overall it was Awesome! Hotel is contemporary, clean, and staff was extremely helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Valloway
Business
Houma, LA, USA
Sep 26, 2011

Great place for our 28th anniversary

The hotel is in a wonderful location on the beach..We did have a king suite and it was worth the money as everything is expensive in Rio. Every morning and evening we spent time on the balcony we had, looking at the beach and enjoying a drink. The staff was wonderful they help with restaurant reservations and linging up drivers for us. There are no ice machines, however, all we did is call room service and they brought buckets of ice to us. I would definetly request a higher floor due to the noise on the sidewalks and traffic. I would definietly stay there again. from the hotel we were able to walk the beach, find place to eat, sit and have drinks on the beach. the breakfast buffet that is included in the room price was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York City
Dec 21, 2010

Highly recommended!

Service was excellent. Location was right by Copacabana beach. I felt the area was safe. The hotel rooms were clean, the pool was nice, and we even had chocolates on our pillows each night. I am glad we chose this hotel for our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
San Francisco, CA
Jul 31, 2008

Greatest Vacation Ever!

The Port Bay Rio was a great way to end our amazing trip to Brazil. We stayed in a triple which was perfect for three people who had been traveling together for ten days. The beach access was perfect. We were offered towels and chairs to stay on the beautiful beach. The hotel was a reasonable cab ride to all the main sights in Rio. I would definitely reccommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are only doing a short trip make sure you make a small amount of time to hang out. It is a big part of rio culture and really fun. We did not have a lot of time for that beacuse we were seeing other sights and we really wished we had more beach time.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Atlanta, GA
Mar 15, 2008

Great hotel near the beach and close to everythind

Copacobana beach is across the street, Quick Gelatos is 1 block over (the best chicken in rio!) and the breakfast buffet was outstanding. two block walk to buses to take you everywhere, an $8 US cab ride to most anything in Ipanema, and quiet comfortable rooms for private moments. definitely will stay there again on our return to rio

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
suradasa
Business
Vancouver, Canada
Jun 19, 2009

Very nice in all respects

This is an excellent hotel. The minute we arrived, our bags were immediately collected and we enjoyed a glass of champagne in the lobby while we waited for our room to be ready (5-10 mins). We were upgraded from a side view room to an ocean view -- just an amazing view from the balcony. The service was great, the room was spotless. Bathroom was a bit small, but the shower was really good. My only complaint is that the internet was very expensive (40 R$), so we only paid for it for one day. View from the rooftop bar/pool was amazing. Very recommended for couples.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Long walk from hotel

We walked down Ipanema beach and didn't find it superior in any way, really. At least in low season, don't bother paying super-high prices for mediocre accomodations.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MaraAvital
Business
Hoboken, NJ
May 3, 2013

Great Business

It was a very nice hotel and a good location for my business in the city center. The Copacabana beach is not as nice as Ipanema, but to be in Copacabana, this location is wonderful. The pool deck view is gorgeous (though the pool leaves much to be desired) and the pool bar serves delicious drinks. The room is only so so clean which is really me only criticism.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Porto Bay Rio Internacional Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Fida
Business
Paris
May 5, 2013

Correct 4 star

Correctb4 star hotel but not really convinced Very small pool Rooms next to elevators very noisy

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

If you are coming for the beach, stay on ipanema

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top