$132 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 8, 2015 Check-out: Aug 11, 2015

Mar Ipanema Hotel

3 stars
View map of Rua Visconde De Piraja N 539 CEP, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22410-003

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Mar Ipanema Hotel

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
17 out of 17
Amenities:
3.5
Cleanliness:
4.4
Hotel staff:
4.6
Comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.8

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
lchirino
Business
Sunrise, FL, USA
Sep 17, 2012

Great location, clean and confortable rooms

The hotel location is great, only two blocks from the beach (Ponto 10 on Ipanema Beach). The staff is very friendly and helpful. Breakfast was included it was very good for being a small buffet. The room was very confortable, though mine needed some maintenance: hot water faucet for the shower not working properly. Bathroom sink was leaking and alarm clock/ipod dock only had the clock function working. None of this was a very big deal but yet it's good to not have these issues specially for the very expensive rate that I paid for.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
For businnes and pleasure
Business
Montana
Apr 19, 2012

Clean and modern

I have stayed at several hotel trying to find the best hotel for the price and comfortable for business in Rio. Most business hotels are VERY expensive and I work for a small operation so we try to save money. This hotel is comfortable, clean and modern with free Wifi and breakfast that save money. And it is only 2 blocks from the beach--a requirement for me in Rio. The only downside is that there is no pool but I find most pools in Ipanema and Copacabana disappointing anyway. It is a three star hotel but a great value for the price!!! Better than other 3 stars I have been to in Rio!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alyal
Business
Miami,Florida
Mar 25, 2012

Good hotel and perfect location

We like the Mar Ipanema hotel the location,the room was very clean and confortable. The staff was excellent and the breakfast buffett too,we hardly recomended this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Leblon Shopping center is 10 minutes walking from the Mar Ipanema Hotel is a beatiful shopping center where you can find money exchange, very good food for a good price.

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TT W
Business
San Diego, CA, USA
Mar 1, 2012

Y&J

The hotel has everything you need, the room is small however with a modern and clean look, the bed is very comfortable. Location is great, 2 minutes walking from the best spot at Ipanema Beach, nice restaurants, bars around.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

Attached to the hotel there is Devassa Bar, local brewery with great food and beer..

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jun 30, 2011

Excellent location and value

I was participating in a conference a bit away but opted to stay nearer the Ipanema beach and was extremely impressed with this hotel. Clean, professionally staffed, always someone who spoke excellent English at the front desk, helpful bellboys, quiet and comfortable rooms with everything working perfectly -- and all two minutes walk from the beach. Great part of town with restaurants and shopping too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The hippie market on Sundays is worth checking out for local crafts and good souvenirs of all kinds.

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stamford, CT
Feb 1, 2011

Great Location!

The location of the hotel was perfect. It was exactly two short blocks from the Ipanema Beach (Posto 10). The hotel offered a delicious buffet breakfast daily which filled us up heartedly until dinner. We thought the rooms were smaller than we are accustomed to but it was very neat and modern. There was air conditioning but I would have preferred central air and maybe a few other amenities. Other than that quite enjoyable and front desk were very kind and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ipanema Beach

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Gringoperdido
Business
Baghdad, Iraq
Jun 18, 2009

Incredible Construction Noise

Awoke every am at nine to extremely loud banging. Also, hotel charged me for my stay at checkout assuring me that Orbitz had not charged my credit card. When I was later able to show that I was double-billed, was such a hassle to get a refund. To make it worse, the hotel rate was $40 per night less than on Orbitz, but I had to pay the higher rate. Hotel itself is pretty nice. Staff professional but not friendly. Room was well furnished but view was terrible. Bathroom was modern and clean. All in all, a nice hotel that probably deserves 3-4 stars, but I would not recommend it for late sleepers till whatever construction they are doing is finished.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top