$233 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 21, 2014 Check-out: Aug 22, 2014

Mar Ipanema Hotel

3 stars
Rua Visconde De Piraja N 539 CEP, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22410-003
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.8
out of 5
24 reviews
Solid hotel in a great location

I'd certainly stay here again. It's a decent hotel, comfortable bed, and my 10th floor room was... See full review

  • kelp
  • Jun 1, 2014
Good for Carnival

We went to Rio for Carnival and this hotel was perfect for that. The location was great for the... See full review

  • CGZski
  • Mar 10, 2014
Explore Ipanema from a centrally located hotel with standard amenities
The Mar Ipanema Hotel sits at the heart of Ipanema, just a short walk from the beach. Nestled among sophisticated shopping, delicious dining and classy clubs, the hotel has great activities and attractions nearby, including the Christ the Redeemer statue, and from here it is easy to visit Copacabana, Leblon or downtown Rio. It is also just 20 minutes from the international airport. The Mar Ipanema Hotel provides complimentary breakfast and an on-site restaurant, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (free) in public areas and guest rooms.
Highlights
  • Located two blocks from Ipanema Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (free) in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms
The Mar Ipanema Hotel offers standard, superior and deluxe guest rooms, which vary according to size. All rooms can come furnished with either double beds or pairs of twin beds, and they all offer views of the surrounding city. In-room amenities include air conditioning, minibars, room safes, telephones, stereos and cable televisions. Accommodations also feature modern en suite bathrooms, work desks and Wi-Fi access (free).
Features
The Mar Ipanema Hotel has a great location at the heart of Ipanema, about two blocks from the famous beach, and the hotel offers a fairly basic set of amenities that should suit travelers looking for a comfortable base from which to explore the city. Guests can find a complimentary breakfast each morning, and the on-site restaurant offers simple meals like sandwiches and salads -- room service is available. The Mar Ipanema Hotel also offers laundry services and a business center. Guests can also log onto free wireless Internet throughout the property, including guest rooms.
Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (8.8 mi/14.1 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16.5 mi/26.4 km)
Attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (1.8 mi/2.9 km)
  • Copacabana Beach (2.5 mi/4 km)
  • Botanical Garden (3.1 mi/5 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (6.8 mi/10.9 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (8.9 mi/14.2 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Wi-Fi access (free)
Policies and fees
Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court when traveling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.


Note:
Mar Ipanema Hotel is a 100% non-smoking hotel. A penalty will be charged if this rule is violated.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

-22.9839 -43.2113
Area served
Rio De Janerio.
Nearby airports
Rio De Janeiro International Airport.
Area description
Mar Ipanema Hotel is just 100 meters away from Ipanema beach - the most beautiful in Rio de Janeiro, and only a 20 minutes drive from the International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Mar Ipanema Hotel also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.2 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.1 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.3 out of 5

Mar Ipanema Hotel Rooms

Superior
The room offers 1 twin beds or 1 double beds with air conditioning, mini-bar, individual safe, acoustic insulation with double glass in all windows, telephone, facilities for high-speed internet connections, FM tuner, CD player and cable TV.
Standard
The room offers 1 twin beds or 1 double beds with split air conditioning, mini-bar, LCD screen TV, wireless telephone individual safe, acoustic insulation with double glass in all windows, telephone, facilities for high-speed internet connections, FM tuner, CD player and cable TV.

Amenities

  • Free buffet breakfast
  • Free internet
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Elevators
Activities
Fitness center or spa
Dining
Free buffet breakfast
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Internet
Free internet
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.7 mi
  • Gavea: 2.1 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 2.5 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.9 mi
  • Leme: 3.1 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 4 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.4 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.7 mi
  • Gavea: 2.1 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 2.5 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.9 mi
  • Leme: 3.1 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.3 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 3.8 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 4 mi
  • Flamengo: 4.1 mi
  • Urca: 4.2 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 4.6 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5.1 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 5.1 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 5.1 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Passeio Público: 5.5 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5.6 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 5.7 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 6 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 6.1 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 6.5 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 7.7 mi
  • Norte shopping: 7.8 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.9 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 8.9 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 9.5 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.2 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 12.1 mi
  • Riocentro: 12.7 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.3 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 17.2 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 17.4 mi

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (24)

Ratings and reviews for Mar Ipanema Hotel

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
24 out of 24
Amenities:
3.5
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.5

88% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
kelp
San Francisco, CA
Jun 1, 2014

Solid hotel in a great location

I'd certainly stay here again. It's a decent hotel, comfortable bed, and my 10th floor room was quiet and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CGZski
Seattle, WA
Mar 10, 2014

Good for Carnival

We went to Rio for Carnival and this hotel was perfect for that. The location was great for the Carnival parties and close to the pick up locations for transfer to Sambadrome. The room was small, but comfortable and the staff was great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Aussies on Holiday
Sydney
Jan 27, 2014

Great position

Although rooms quite small they are very comfortable. Can be a little noisy. Great location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
RH Swiss
Switzerland
Oct 22, 2013

Location is good but it is expensive and ordinary

The location of the hotel in Ipanema is very good, right in the shopping area and 3 blocks away from the beach. There is nothing special in the hotel, no frills, just a place to sleep. Eventhough I got it at discounted price, it is still expensive. And the worst part of getting a discounted price is that I have to stay in a room besides the machine and no view. It is loud and the machine operated at 4am which woke me up in the middle of the night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
MissK
Wollongong
Aug 15, 2013

Plesant stay, but overpriced

I don't have any real complaints but it is quite expensive for what it is, but everything in this area is quite overpriced. I would definately recommend staying here for the location. Impanema felt very safe, the beach is only 2 blocks away and there is great shopping and restaurants at the doorstep. I had inital problems at check-in, they wanted me to pay again after I had already pre-paid, but this was fixed up the next day. Staff were very plesant and helpful (and spoke English).

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take a walk or a run around the lagoon. the lagoon is about 3 blocks away, and its a really lovely running path all the way around (7.5km).

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ms Plaza
Business
Chicago
Aug 13, 2013

Fabulous hotel in Rio

This is an amazing choice! Great location, breakfast, rooms, excelent service and accomodation, the staff exceed our needs!. I stayed on business and the hotel has a perfect Wifi, I will definetly come back because I loved it!.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
TT W
Business
London, UK
Aug 12, 2013

Business Trip

I've stayed at Mar Ipanema for 5 nights on a business trip, this was my second time there and had again a great experience. Nice and clean room, complimentary WIFI internet (and it works very well), kind and efficient staff, and great location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ipanema beach, great variety of nice bars, restaurants and shops close to the hotel

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Konafish
usa
Feb 4, 2013

they want your credit card

they wanted my credit card in order to tell me how to make a local call. I said that I did not have one with me. They were all rude at hostile at the hotel thereafter and would not help me get a taxi to the airport Do not stay here if you are american and do not have or want to give them your credit card

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crawfz
Gold Coast, Queensland, Australia
Dec 23, 2012

Ipanema Gem!

The quality of Mar Ipanema hotel and its staff cannot be faulted. Outstanding service, very friendly and competent staff, and the room was very comfortable and well furnished and equipped. Free WiFi, and excellent amenities. It's only three streets back from the beach and great for shopping and restaurants. I'd definately recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Ask the front desk to make a booking at Porcao restaurant. It's traditional Brazilian BBQ, and the staff and food is top class.

Review of Mar Ipanema Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DLong
Iowa
Nov 12, 2012

Very Good Compared to the Competition

Visited during an unusually crowded week, so the price was much higher than normal, otherwise my "value" rating would have been higher. Great location - two blocks to the beach, very good restaurants two blocks the other. Very nice breakfast, and staff was accommodating for a schedule change even though it was so busy. Couple of big bugs in the room, but the actual housekeeping was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Back to menu Return to top

Change search