$186 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 7, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

5 stars
View map of Avenida Atlantica, 2600, Copacabana, AVENIDA ATLANTICA, 2600 COPACABANA BEACH, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22041--001

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
4.1
out of 5
9 reviews
In the center of copacabana beach.

I'm a bar fly on vacations. I can say that the bar and the staff is top notch! Helpful, friendly... See full review

  • Dave the bar aficionado
  • Oct 18, 2014
Nice stay

We had a great stay at the Marriott Copacabana. Close to everything. Clean and quiet rooms. Our... See full review

  • AIPA
  • Jun 1, 2014
Splurge on a luxurious Copacabana Beach getaway and book a stay in any of the deluxe accommodations at JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro. This opulent Rio de Janeiro hotel offers convenient access to local attractions that include Christ the Redeemer and Sugarloaf Mountain. Guests at this upmarket retreat take a splash in the rooftop pool, have pampering treatments at the spa and work out at the fitness centre on site after a long day frolicking on the pristine shores close by. At JW Marriott Hotel, diners savour delectable breakfast (fees apply) at Terraneo Restaurant and have light fares and refreshing beverages at the all-day Carioca Bar. Visitors can host social and corporate gatherings in the in-house event venues that can hold up to 250 people. Parking is available at an additional charge.
Rooms
JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro features 245 lavish rooms and suites outfitted with cable/satellite TV, mini bar, safe deposit box, iron/board, coffee/tea maker, telephone with voicemail and en suite bathroom with hairdryer. Some units have Executive lounge access.
Highlights
  • Enviable Copacabana Beach location
  • In-room Wi-Fi access
  • Spa, fitness center and rooftop pool
Nearby attractions
  • Copacabana Beach (0.2 km/0.1 mi)
  • Ipanema, Rio de Janeiro (0.6 km/0.4 mi)
  • Christ the Redeemer (3.4 km/2.1 km
  • Sugarloaf Mountain (4.0 km/2.5 mi)
  • Rio de Janeiro Botanical Garden (4.1 km/2.5 mi)
  • Municipal Theater of Rio de Janeiro (7.1 km/4.4 mi)
  • Museu Nacional de Belas Artes (7.1 km/4.4 mi)
  • Rio de Janeiro Cathedral (7.8 km/4.8 mi)
  • Estadio Maracana (8.1 km/5.0 mi)
  • Tijuca Forest (9.5 km/5.9 mi)

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.6 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro Rooms

Suite
a

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Room service
Services
Laundry service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Gift shop
Currency exchange
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.4 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.2 mi
  • Leme: 1.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.5 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.6 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.3 mi
  • Urca: 2.4 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.6 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.7 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.4 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.2 mi
  • Leme: 1.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.5 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.6 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.3 mi
  • Urca: 2.4 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.6 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.7 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 3.8 mi
  • Gavea: 3.9 mi
  • Passeio Público: 4.4 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 4.5 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 4.5 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 4.9 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 5 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 5 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.4 mi
  • Norte shopping: 8.3 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 8.3 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 8.7 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 10.6 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11.3 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.6 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 13.7 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.3 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.8 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 18.6 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 18.9 mi

Dining

The Carioca
The charisma, the hospitality and the unique flavors of Rio de Janeiro are waiting for you in our lobby bar The Carioca.
Taiyou Sushi & Sake Bar
A stunning setting to enjoy delicious Japanese dishes with a tropical touch, one of the best Japanese restaurants in Copacabana, Rio de Janeiro.
Terraneo Restaurant
Enjoy your breakfast overlooking Copacabana beach. Also available for private events

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
12:00 PM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Overall score

4.1 / 5
5.01.0
9 out of 9
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.7

89% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Mario G.
Business
mexico
Jul 9, 2015

Terrible

Never stay here, worst hotel ever, dirty, old, bad staff, bad crowd, cheap and bad, location only plus

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mxvelez
Business
mexico city
Oct 31, 2014

very good

I like it this hotel in rio de janeiro brazil, very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dave the bar aficionado
Business
mobile, Alabama
Oct 18, 2014

In the center of copacabana beach.

I'm a bar fly on vacations. I can say that the bar and the staff is top notch! Helpful, friendly and can make a mean drink! Cheers!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
AIPA
Business
New York, New York
Jun 1, 2014

Nice stay

We had a great stay at the Marriott Copacabana. Close to everything. Clean and quiet rooms. Our view to Copacabana beach was amazing. People at the lobby were helpful and super nice. The concierge service was amazing in addition to being helpful and nice. I will definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Ipanema beach and Leblon

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honorary Carioca
Business
Pasadena, California
Sep 24, 2013

Best hotel in Rio

Elegant hotels in Rio are notorious for staff that think they are staying at a 5-star hotel, not working at a 5-star hotel. After two dozen trips and disappointing stays at expensive but pretentious hotels, I finally found the perfect hotel. The Marriott staff is genuinely friendly and efficient without fail. No other hotel in Rio that I stayed in comes even close to that level of service. The hotel is elegant and the rooms are the right size with everything you need. My room was ocean front (less than 50% of the rooms are), and the extra cost is very much worthwhile for a breathtaking view of Copacabana beach (if only the architect made the windows bigger, oh well). Breakfast hours were great (6:30-11:00) allowing flexibility. The quality of the food was impeccable. The selection was OK but a bit limited, and some items rotated from day to day. The swimming pool on the top floor is quite warm. It's small but barely OK for laps. The entire floor feels more like a sun deck since the pool is not at the center. Although the hotel is expensive, it is competitive for Rio's prices. Once you are there, add-on's are reasonably priced. Hotel cars for example, which in some hotels are absurdly expensive, are reasonable here. The wireless internet was a bit slow and unreliable, but the wired connection was faster and more reliable. It was included in my package, but wasn't too expensive if I had to pay for it separately. The lobby are is pleasant and has quiet corners that are good if you want to meet with colleagues. The staff was very helpful with my business center needs as well. The only remark I have for the hotel (other than making the room windows bigger which is not possible now) is that the bathtub was more slippery than the norm. In conclusion, the service in this hotel is among the best I have seen any where in the world, and by far the best I have seen in Rio and is reason enough for me to come back when my travels bring me back to Rio.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

La Trattoria, Italian restaurant across from the entrance of the Excelsior Hotel a few blocks from the Marriott. Great food, reasonable price.

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Twkette77
Business
Orange County, CA
Oct 11, 2011

2 Days In Rio

The staff was warm, friendly and helpful for a new Portuguese learner too. Thought about our needs 100% and always had a smile. Couldn't ask for more!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

If you want to see Corcovado and Sugarloaf - do it over 2 days, 4 hours each. You go at a more relaxed pace. AND - the private tour is worth it over the mass cattle-call bus tours.

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
heloo
Business
sf
Jul 22, 2011

good

it is next to the beach. very easy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
WALDBAUM
Business
New York City
Apr 15, 2010

Wonderful Service

The hotel was very good. [...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

[...]

Review of JW Marriott Hotel Rio de Janeiro

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Friend of the Seniors
Business
Dahlonega, GA
Sep 29, 2009

Perfect Location

This is a super location for any tourist to Rio de Janeiro. For one, you are right on Copacabana Beach, so you can begin to take on the surf and sand scene immediately. And for trips downtown or to other locales, there is a Metro stop (Siquiera Campos)just a few blocks inland from the hotel. In addition, you will be in a lively part of town, with lots of restaurants, shops and street-life going from early morning to late at night.The hotel staff was super. Just about everyone speaks English in case your Portuguese is rusty, and are most helpful in every way. Two examples, [...], the head door-keeper, helped me arrange a personal trip to Corcovado at an odd time; the trip went perfectly and was reasonably priced. And when I told the bartender that this was my first trip to Rio in decades, he greated me warmly and insisted that I have a "capringa" - the national cocktail - on the house.My room was super clean and comfy; the TV has plenty of stations. In the morning the hotel serves a buffet breakfast that is exceptional in its variety and tastiness of both Brazilian and foreign fare. You won't go away hungry! And for those who want to dine in the hotel, it has several excellent resturants; I especially recommend the informal one in the mezzanine. It also has a nice, sit-down bar with quite a selection of beverages from coffee to cocktails, and, in the lobby, a small coffee shop where you can get a quick pastry and cafezinho.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

To really "get" how cariocas live, if you are in town during a weekend, be sure to stroll the entire length of Copacabana Beach. They get to the beach pretty early (as the sun sets about 6) and engage in a huge variety of activites including sports (surfing, paddleball, beach volleyball, soccer,and a neat combination,of volleyball and soccer), sun- ning, swimming, sand castle bulding, etc. Kiosks and vendors sell every food and trinket immaginable, and are part of the fun, and you'll see people from every walk of life. It's nothing like Sao Paulo of Brasilia.

Back to menu Return to top