California Othon Classic

3 stars
Av. Atlantica 2616, Copacabana, Rio De Janeiro, RJ 22041-001
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
2.1
out of 5
13 reviews
It was a quite and friendly place

the staff was friendly the location was great food was good. See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 18, 2009
Ideal

Right on the beach for half the price! See full review

  • Anonymous
  • Jun 14, 2009
Explore Rio from updated Copacabana Beach hotel with modern amenities
The California Othon Classic overlooks enchanting Copacabana Beach, accessible right out the front door. Guests of the hotel can explore the neighborhood on foot and find endless varieties of shops, restaurants and entertainment. The hotel also sits five minutes from Ipanema Beach, 15 minutes from downtown Rio and the Santos Dumont Airport, and 30 minutes from the Galeao International Airport. The California Othon Classic provides a complimentary breakfast buffet each morning, and guests can stay connected with Wi-Fi access (fees apply).
Highlights
  • Overlooks Copacabana Beach
  • Complimentary breakfast
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply) in public areas and guest rooms
Rooms
The California Othon Classic features 112 rooms, recently upgraded with modern furnishings and fresh wood floors. All guest rooms have double beds or pairs of twin beds. Some guest rooms have balconies, and deluxe guest rooms offer floor-to-ceiling windows and impressive views of Copacabana Beach. In-room amenities include air conditioning, telephones with voice mail, cable televisions with international channels, minibars, safes and hair-dryers, and all accommodations come equipped with work desks and Wi-Fi access (fees apply).
Features
Renovated in 2007, the California Othon Classic boasts an elegant, welcoming lobby decked out with Carrara marble floors, oriental rugs and a sweeping staircase. The hotel provides a complimentary continental breakfast each morning, and the on-site Colonial Restaurant and Bar serves Brazilian and international cuisine. The California Othon Classic has babysitting and laundry facilities available, and it also provides basic business services, including Wi-Fi in all public areas (fees apply) and two meeting spaces that can accommodate up to 80 people.
Transportation
  • Santos Dumont Airport (6.3 mi/13.4 km)
  • Galeao International Airport (16 mi/26.6 km)
Attractions
  • Copacabana Fort (1.3 mi/2.2 km)
  • Ipanema Beach (2.7 mi/5.9 km)
  • Sugar Loaf Mountain (4.3 mi/10.2 km)
  • Christ the Redeemer statue (8.3 mi/14.2 km)
Business
  • Two flexible meeting rooms
  • Business services
  • Wi-Fi access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court when traveling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed California Othon Classic also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.4 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

California Othon Classic Rooms

Standard
This guest room features one double or twin beds, telephone with two lines, answering machine, remote control color TV with international channels, safe, mini bar, AM/FM radio, air conditioning, 24-hour room service, hairdryer, laundry and dry cleaning.
Deluxe
This guest room features one double or twin beds, telephone with two lines, answering machine, remote control color TV with international channels, safe, mini bar, AM/FM radio, air conditioning, 24-hour room service, hairdryer, laundry and dry cleaning.

Amenities

Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Conference facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.4 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.2 mi
  • Leme: 1.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.5 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.6 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.1 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.3 mi
  • Urca: 2.4 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.6 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.7 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Copacabana: 0.4 mi
  • Copacabana fort: 1.2 mi
  • Leme: 1.3 mi
  • Museo do Indio: 1.5 mi
  • Lagoa Rodrigo de Freitas: 1.6 mi
  • Parque Lage: 1.8 mi
  • Christ the Redeemer: 2.1 mi
  • Corcovado: 2.2 mi
  • Rio de janeiro Cristo Redentor: 2.2 mi
  • Cosme Velho: 2.2 mi
  • Sugarloaf Mountain: 2.3 mi
  • Urca: 2.4 mi
  • Laranjeiras: 2.6 mi
  • Flamengo: 2.7 mi
  • Teatro miguel falabella: 3.1 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Zoo: 3.6 mi
  • Lona Cultural: 3.8 mi
  • Gavea: 3.9 mi
  • Passeio Público: 4.4 mi
  • Academia Brasileira de Letras: 4.4 mi
  • Floresta da Tijuca: 4.5 mi
  • Quinta da Boa Vista: 4.9 mi
  • Santa Teresa Tram: 5 mi
  • Central do Brasil: 5 mi
  • Avenida Rio Branco: 5 mi
  • Maracana Soccer Stadium: 5 mi
  • Maracana stadium: 5.2 mi
  • Teatro carlos gomes: 7.4 mi
  • Norte shopping: 8.3 mi
  • Botafogo praia shopping: 8.3 mi
  • Shopping tijuca: 8.7 mi
  • Marina da gloria: 10.6 mi
  • Barra Shopping: 11.3 mi
  • Carioca shopping: 11.6 mi
  • Rio de Janeiro Beaches: 13.7 mi
  • Riocentro: 14.3 mi
  • Shopping grande rio: 16.8 mi
  • Shopping bangu: 18.6 mi
  • Recreio dos Bandeirantes: 18.9 mi

Dining

Colonial Bar & Restaurant
Brazilian typical dishes and international cuisine. Breakfast offers a wide variety of fruits, juices, breads, cakes and cereals.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (13)

Ratings and reviews for California Othon Classic

Overall score

2.1 / 5
5.01.0
13 out of 13
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2.6
Hotel staff:
3.3
Room comfort:
1.8
Location:
4.6
Value:
2.6

38% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jimmy and Evelyn
Business
Puerto Rico
Feb 16, 2013

Worst hotel

Is a little hotel on front of Copacabana beach,but the Hotel needs to be dated,elevators are in wood ,only four persons could be in there,my room smells very bad,bathroom has to be dated urgentlly.Everything looks very old,Breakfast is ok,and the looby to. I do not recomment this Hotel if they dont fixed the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The food is delicious any where. walking distance for shopping,drinking.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Bandit
Business
Las Vegas
Sep 19, 2012

California Othon in Rio

Great Location as the hotel is directly acccross from beach. BUT DO NOT STAY at this hotel. The hotel is very old and musty, phones did not work and internet was not stable. Had to get staff to correct Bill 3x as I was charged for items that I did not charge. The housekeeping staff and bell boys were very good but the front desk was woefully inadequate. The entire Hotel could use a facelift The rooms are very old and the bed was uncomfortable and from 1960's era.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Long walk from hotel

GO to the Bosa Nova restraunt and bar and listen to that dreamy romatinc Brazilian music. Small and intimate top notch entertanment. Also be sure to go to the outdoor gym on the Ocean next to the fort that seperated Copacana and Ipnema benches

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
George California
Business
California, USA
Nov 27, 2011

Disaster Hotel - California Othon Classic

I have stayed in over a dozen hotels in Copacabana in the past 10 years. Although the location is good and the staff is as helpful as they can be, this is no way a 1, 2, or 3 star hotel. There is urine smell in the hotel; I changed my room but it did not help. There is only one old elevator working for the whole hotel. The Internet is very intermittent and not free even in the lobby. The rooms, hallways and the hotel in general are rather outdated and dirty. I do not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Falu
Business
Mexico City, Distrito Federal, Mexico
Oct 26, 2011

Really Poor Installations

The hotels installations are really old and they need lots of upgrades. The Air Conditioner is really noise and It was impossible to find a power outlet in the room. I would not recommend this hotel for a business trip.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fernando
Business
Monterrey, NL, México
Aug 16, 2011

Good hotel because is located in a good location

Excellent place, services below average, Good price, a value hotel. Good breakfast.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Eat at the Carretao. Excellent food for a great price!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto, Canada
Feb 15, 2011

Affordable but not so comfortable

This hotel is very dated and is not worth the money you pay for it. The elevators are the scariest thing i have ever been on and the pad lock on our room door looked like someone had tried to already break in. There are no double or queen size beds we had to push single beds together and there was a post down the middle. The view from the window was the garbage dumpster. The only benefit of this hotel was that it was so close to the beach. But if u look for a hotel one street back from the beach you will get a much better hotel for the same amount of money. We stayed 2 night and left to find another hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, US
Sep 16, 2009

Horrible service hotel

The attention was below average, the hotel is situated in the middle of copacabana but i wish i would have chosen another hotel. When we got there we tried but they would not accept a refund. PLEASE do your research!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Caribbean
Aug 13, 2009

Hotel Review

Staff were friendly and effficient but the hotel was run down and not what one would expect from a 4 Star rating. The room was big but the furniture not in good condition

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 18, 2009

It was a quite and friendly place

the staff was friendly the location was great food was good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Copacabana has plenty of places to eat and visit

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of California Othon Classic

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
raleigh, nc
Jun 17, 2009

simple but sweet

The short version: This is a good buy. For less than $100 U.S. dollars a night, you can't beat the location. And while there's nothing standout/special about the hotel... there's nothing wrong if you're traveling on a budget. Of course, if you have a lot more to spend and/or want a nice hotel, then this is not for you. The details: The location of the hotel is incredible!-- It is directly across from the beach (center of Copacabana) and 2 blocks from Rua Nossa Senhora do Copacabana-- a street where you can find shopping, grocery, a movie theater, and bus lines to Ipanema, Lagoa, Leblon, and more. If you pay for the deluxe you get to face the ocean. This was great to see what was happening, but I could also hear street noise on the weekend if I left the window open. I had a friend who stayed on the interior of the building (standard) who said she had a view of a patio. Nothing worth looking at, but fine. The hotel includes breakfast (as do many of Rio's hotels). I really liked the assortment of fresh fruit and breads. They also had ham, sausage, eggs, and pao de queijo (bread with cheese in it). 3 types of fruit juice each day, coffee, and tea were also provided. It's all you can eat from 6am-10am. I didn't eat inside the hotel (other than for breakfast). I adored the restaraunt directly out front. Wonderful service!!! Good food! There are also mini churrasco's down the road that are very affordable and also good. The hotel is old. I felt like it was reasonably cleaned-- but when a building is old an worn out it just doesn't look the same as a new hotel. I felt more like I was staying in an older apartment than a hotel-- there was some stained tiles in the shower, the floor boards were very worn down and dusty looking (but not actually dusty), there was no alarm clock, the bed was very simple, etc. For me, this was all fine. I paid so little for this hotel (less than $100 US dollars per night) and used it to sleep and shower. And... I had friends that stayed at other similarly priced hotels and all seemed rather worn in the same way. But... in the future... if I can afford a bit more for the hotel I will probably try the JW Marriot (directly next to this hotel) OR the Sheraton (I attended a lovely reception there but am not sure about the room quality. It is located in Leblon, near to Ipanema, and also near to Rochina). No bugs. Seriously- after I read the other reviews I was scared. I can deal with old... I can't deal with bugs. Luckily, there were none in this hotel :) Service was fine. There are free towels and chairs for the beach. They are red and stand out. I opted to use my own. There is an in room safe. You pay 4 reais (about $2 dollars) for the lock for the duration of your trip. There is an in room mini bar (where I also stored snacks). Water/beer/soda all cost about $5 reais each (about 2.50 dollars). It's a much better idea to buy them at one of local grocers. There is a charge you have to pay at the end of your stay. Orbitz warned of this- said it would be about $75. As a nice surprise it was actually only 72 reais (about 35 dollars). If you want to book tours the hotel is the most expensive way to do this. It's better to shop around. That said, I needed to schedule at a particular time and their service was the only one that did the time/date I was looking for... and it was great! Well worth the money... it's just that if I hadn't needed to be picky I would have used a different service. Oh!!! If you do go on tours anywhere, bring some extra cash with you.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the bus when you can. For example, there is a company called Real that goes to/from the airport. It costs $7 reais. Taxis cost closer to $50. A bus to Lapa (the downtown area with live music EVERY night, clubs, outdoor happenings on the weekends, etc.) will run you about $2.50 reais. A taxi is more like $20. Oh... and the little van things that look like taxis but display the destination and rate just like the busses are also a good option.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top