$80 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 24, 2014

Pestana Bahia Hotel

3 stars
Rua Fonte do Boi, 216 - Rio Vermelho, Salvador, BA 41940-360
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.1
out of 5
11 reviews
Really great location

We loved the location on the beach front. It's a slightly older building, but it's still in great... See full review

  • missionary couple in BR
  • Jun 8, 2013
Perfect location, a little on the old side

Pestana Bahia was the first hotel that I stayed in in Salvador in 2005. They haven't mad many... See full review

  • Oxala
  • Jul 22, 2012
In the traditional Rio Vermelho neighborhood overlooking the sea, the hotel is the biggest and most complete five star hotel in Salvador/Bahia. All 430 apartments have a view to the sea, plus cable TV, personal safe, mini bar, radio, two telephone lines and broadband internet access. The hotel also makes available two panoramic restaurants, lobby bar, shopping and an executive program. For recreation, the hotel offers swimming pool, fitness center, games room, massage room, sauna, whirlpool bath and shuttle service to Amaralina natural ocean pool. The convention center at Pestana Bahia has an area equivalent to 15.100sq ft. Carefully prepared to receive up to 3.600 people in 19 multiple meeting rooms. The convention center also features a 12,900sq.ft. exposition area and fully equipped business center. During new year and carnival period (1 february - 6 february 2008) reservations are subject to availability.

IMPORTANT: Children under 18 years old are required to present identification at check-in and must be accompanied by both parents, guardians, or have permission of the Juvenile Court, in case of travelling with others. In case one of the parents is not traveling with them, they must show his/her parent permission to travel with the person accompanying them.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Pestana Bahia Hotel also booked these hotels.

Pestana Bahia Hotel Rooms

Deluxe
Room from the 19th to the 22th. floor, wooden floor, twin bed, sea view, cable TV, personal safe, mini bar, radio, two telephone lines, broadband Internet access.
Superior
Room from the 2nd to the 18th. floor,carpet, twin bed, sea view, cable TV, personal safe, mini bar, radio, two telephone lines, broadband Internet access.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Airport shuttle
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
WiFi
Transportation
Airport shuttle
Parking
Parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
15.100 sq ft event area, with 19 event rooms an exhibition area, that can accommodate up to 3600 people, as well as a Business Center.

Dining

A Catarineta Restaurant
A Catarineta Restaurant - serving international cuisine.
Cais da Ribeira Restaurant
Cais da Ribeira Restaurant - serving international cuisine.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1300
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (11)

Ratings and reviews for Pestana Bahia Hotel

Overall score

3.1 / 5
5.01.0
11 out of 11
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3.4
Hotel staff:
2.9
Room comfort:
3.5
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.4

55% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Apr 21, 2008

after a look DID NOT STAY

Americas Best Inn Greenville SC was anything but ! I arrived to check in a bit early on April 20 2008 at 9:30 a.m. I was informed by several of the permanent residents that the landlady never was out of bed before 11:00 am ( check in time ),so one of them went to wake her, so the lobby could be opened. When she arrived ~ 20 minutes later I was obliged to wait while she secured the aggressive dog that had been shut in the lobby all night. Deciding to give the place a fair evaluation and because I needed a restroom I decided to at least look at the room reserved. Stepping through the lobby I avoided the paper towel on the floor which had been thrown down to soak up the dog pee. The bathroom had no light and the toilet paper was stained with something blue to the saturation point. I was offered my choice of two rooms one I could not get into (key didnt work) The one I did enter was dirty. dirt smears visible on box spring and armchair, undusted, the carpet so worn there was no pile in places, room smelled very musty. I went back to the lobby to return keys. As I was leaving I slipped on a large puddle of dog urine in front of the entrance doors and went down on one knee ! The proprietor did ask if I was OK. I replied that I thought so.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Wallstreet
Business
Canada
Jan 21, 2010

very very bad

i'm very very disapointed to my travel to this hotel. after i take individual reservation on the web and saw that other person have problem with some friend visit them. i send few message to hotel for have more information and how much money i need to pay for fix the problem i never received the answer for the price and i need to pay near double of price for my friend. Very very bad and why never person of service send me this information. the internet no work good. i need to take cable for fix problem. the brunch not at the level of 5 stars ....... maybe 2 no more for around 140 raes.... and a lot of other thing very bad ... only point possitif on this hotel is security is very well

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
JML Abroad
Business
East Lansing, MI
Jun 20, 2012

Be careful with this one

This online service stated that this room had Internet, but when I arrived, I had to complain and show my reservation to get it and not pay for it. They lost our reservations and seemed unaware of the booking through this online service. The room was generally clean, but the bathroom was a mess. My safe did not work and had to be replaced when I arrived, my AC stopped working part way through the visit and needed to be fixed, and the room clearning was very haphazard (they took one of my pillows and the only blanket one day). Hotel staff were not overly friendly and hard to communicate with unless you speak the language. Hotel itself was not tidy, smelled in some locations like mold or bacteria, especially the lower floors which seemed not to have been redone and the steam room. On the positive: food was good, view is amazing, and the pool is nice. Location is somewhat removed from the city, safe, and has services that are walkable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pizza place down the street is amazing. They have English menus and entertainment on some nights.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Road Warrior Mark
Business
Fort Worth, TX
Mar 8, 2013

Nothing special, a real disappointment

This property looks impressive at first sight, but once you get past the front lobby you start to notice a lot of wear and tear. Management is not keeping up with routine maintenance and room amenities are all subpar. The only positive is the nice setting. The front desk staff are friendly and want to please, but the restaurant and bar staff are completely indifferent and inattentive. One come away feeling like most hotel staff dislike the hotel patrons and wish they were someplace else. I won't be returning to this location

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Bronx. NY
Jul 9, 2009

Not BAD

This hotel has all of the basic ammenties that you would expect to see in a first class hotel. I was annoyed by a few things like the extra daily charge for internet usage and the ants in my bathroom. I also got sick off something I ate at the pool. The staff was helpful, but I would not necessarily say friendly. They were not rude or anything, but that extra warm touch was lacking. Overall, its in a great location, has a nice pool,decent gym, nice rooms and amazing views. I've stayed at another hotel in the area and would prefer to stay there if I return to Bahia because I think its a better value.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Hamberg
Jun 17, 2011

Good, but for bussiness trip

good, but to far from good beach and center

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxala
Business
Sao Paulo, SP
Jul 22, 2012

Perfect location, a little on the old side

Pestana Bahia was the first hotel that I stayed in in Salvador in 2005. They haven't mad many upgrades since then. You can't beat the proximity to the water though and it is truly unique in that some rooms you can see both the sun rise and sun set over the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: In Hotel

The club in the hotel is pretty good, albeit a younger crowd and a little bit expensive.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Oxala
Business
Sao Paulo, SP
Jul 22, 2012

Perfect location, a little on the old side

Pestana Bahia was the first hotel that I stayed in in Salvador in 2005. They haven't mad many upgrades since then. You can't beat the proximity to the water though and it is truly unique in that some rooms you can see both the sun rise and sun set over the ocean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
missionary couple in BR
Business
Goiania, Brazil
Jun 8, 2013

Really great location

We loved the location on the beach front. It's a slightly older building, but it's still in great shape, and everything about it was exactly how it should have been. Clean rooms, quality food (not amazing, but good), friendly staff. It was a very relaxing stay for us. The value was unbeatable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

In the tourist areas, the street vendors are just absurdly pushy. They will tell you things are free that aren't. They aren't bad, but you have to be firm in telling them no.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Pestana Bahia Hotel

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 21, 2009

One of the best hotel in Salvador Bahia

Great!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top