$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 1, 2015 Check-out: Jan 4, 2015

The Reefs

4 stars
56 South Shore Rd, Southampton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Luxury with a Bermuda flare

You can't beat the private beech and wonderful staff at the Reefs. We stayed at the Reefs for 5... See full review

  • lifeofreilly
  • Jul 7, 2014
Edge of the world

I love getting to know the staff and at The Reefs, everyone was already a friend from the moment we... See full review

  • David Pham
  • Apr 26, 2014
Cliffside resort in an unparalleled Bermuda setting

The Reefs, welcoming guests since 1947, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality in a setting of unparalleled beauty. The pink-and-white buildings of the cliffside resort, set amid a palm tree-dotted slope brightened by hibiscus, oleander, and bougainvillea, overlooks a pink-sand beach. The resort boasts an infinity pool and an award-winning spa.

Highlights

  • Gorgeous cliff-to-beach setting
  • Modern amenities in a resort with an old-world feel
  • Restaurant and award-winning spa

Rooms

All rooms have a balcony or terrace and an ocean view. Other features include one king or two twin beds with alarm clock, bathrobe, cable television, air conditioning and ceiling fan, hair dryer, high-speed Internet access, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, safe, and coffee maker. One- to four-bedroom cottages, some with hot tubs, are also available.

Features

The cliff-top Ocean Echo restaurant serves breakfast through dinner eatery year-round. Dark wood and candlelight give a more elegant feel to Royston's, where guests enjoy steaks and seafood cooked in an open kitchen. Coconuts beach restaurant offers lunch and dinner with the ocean at diners' feet.

 

La Serena spa specializes in Thai massage and offers a full menu of luxury services ranging from reflexology to facials. Pedicures, manicures, and other treatments use herbal products from Gehwol.

 

Other on-site amenities include a gift shop, gym, plunge pool, safe deposit box, pool, and tennis court.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (13.5 mi/21.8 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda 
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Scooter and bicycle rentals are also popular

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Crystal Caves (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

Business

  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 25
  • Dedicated event specialists

Policies and fees

  • The evening dress code at The Reefs Hotel & Club is smart casual for all ages (collared shirts and slacks). 
  • Inappropriate attire includes blue jeans, t-shirts, baseball caps, sneakers and flip flops.
  • The children's policy requests that families with children 6 years and younger and children who may find it difficult to sit through an evening meal dine before 7 p.m. 
  • From May through August, the pool will be closed from 5 to 7 p.m. to children 12 and younger.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reefs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Reefs Rooms

Poolside
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Superior
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Deluxe
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Ocean Echo
Ocean Echo has a distinctly Bermudian feel and offers 180¢ª sweeping ocean views and terrace dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily from a menu highlighting items that have become famous in Bermuda.
Royston
Royston's has the feel of casual elegance with a large fireplace and a display kitchen. Royston¡¯s features a wine room enriched with Mahogany décor that may be booked exclusively for private parties. The ambiance stays true to the traditions of Bermudian hospitality. Dinner is served nightly with attentive and warm service to enhance the experience. Coconuts, by the beach and overlooking the ocean, is cited as the ¡°best place to fall in love in Bermuda.¡± Featuring Caribbean dishes with Bermudian accents, Coconuts is open for lunch from April to November and dinner from May to November. Couples also can opt for dinner on The Reefs private pink sand beach, the island¡¯s most romantic dining experience beneath the stars, complete with tiki torches and the rhythm of the waves.
Coconuts
Open seasonally for an al fresco lunch or dinner - and make sure the breathtaking views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for The Reefs

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
realreview
Business
New York, NY
Jan 4, 2014

Good location bad everything else

Overall, this property is no way near a luxury resort. Rusty refrigerator, safe, toilet with brown marks, stained bathtub, smelly A/C etc. I've seen better Holiday Inn than this 'luxury' resort. A 1.5 - 2 inch long cockroach showed up in my room one day and I had to kill it with the telephone book. It was one of the biggest cockroach I have ever seen in my life. Staff are friendly but often times MIA or just very slow. Beach is nice but full of insects and flies. Because of the view and easy access to beach it is worth something but I would not return to this resort. If you read carefully the negatives in other reviews, they precisely describe the condition of the hotel. I regret not reading them carefully before my stay. For the price, I cannot give more than a one star.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not order sliders at Echo restaurant. They are awful.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
The Falkon
Business
Massachusetts
Oct 2, 2012

Needs improvement

We stayed here for our honeymoon. While ths staff was friendly and helpful. The room and location needs improvement. Not as clean as we would have liked and the rooms need renovations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The stores close at 5pm and are closed on Sundays.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Nickljuice
Business
New Jersey
Aug 27, 2010

Disappointing at the Reefs

We were disappointed in our stay at the Reefs. Rooms were old, bathroom was dirty, bed uncomfortable -two twins pushed together to make a king -and all for over $500 a night! The staff on the whole sported attitudes but there were a few gems that gave us hope not all was lost but any requests that were made were done w/ out attention to detail -a request for coffee in our room was delivered 2 pots of hot water...one hassle after another. If you're looking to get good value for your $ go to ST John or Turks and Caicos the Reefs is not worth the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
koala0bear
Business
nj
Jan 2, 2012

Winter Bermuda getaway

The hotel is located in Southampton on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The view is magnificent and the staff is very attentive. The main lobby and dining areas are beautifully decorated with a cozy feel. Guests were playing card games on a rainy day in the hotel. We were disappointed in the actual hotel room we stayed in. We had called for a king sized bed but the room actually had 2 twin beds put side by side. The overall interior was clean but old and worn down. This hotel needs an upgrade to the interior. We did have a great time in Bermuda, regardless. If you can overlook the worn down interior, this hotel would not be a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has great dining options. We were rained in one of the days and had dinner at the hotel. The menu was a 4 course prix fix menu. Was very satisfied with the meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vikas
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Excellent, great service and amazing private beach

The staff here really go out of their way to make you feel at home. If you go on Saturday night, they have the best band on the island, it was amazing. The view of the sunset is unparalleled and the beach is beautiful. Food is better than all other places on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bacci the Italian restaurant at the Fairmont, is also very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tlitt
Business
New York, NY
Jul 9, 2012

Best hotel for it's value in Bermuda

Great service, quiet setting, remote beautiful beach and the cliff views are one of a kind! Renovated bathrooms are perfect and the views are unforgettable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Be sure to eat at Coconuts and Roystons, skip Ocean's Echo

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jeff ATL
Business
Atlanta
Aug 7, 2012

Anniversary getaway

Great stay for a long weekend. Room AC could not get a cool as we Americans like. No AC in bathroom was not good. Meals were excellent, but expensive. Hard to spend less than $200 for dinner for 2, $60 for lunch. Beach is spectacular. Great snorkeling on reefs just off shore.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the water taxi just for the ride. $4 per person and a great ride.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Emily K
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Aug 27, 2012

Romantic Bermuda Getaway

Overall we were very happy with our stay at the Reefs! It was our first time in Bermuda and we were quite impressed. Pros: Fantastic views from our poolside room and patio; friendly and helpful staff; convenient and beautiful beach steps from our room; great breakfast; convenient location Cons: Bathroom was outdated; cleaning staff only did an "ok" job and often our room wasn't cleaned until very late in the afternoon; Food was only "so-so"- better at Coconuts than Roystons We would definitely recommend dinner at least some of the nights off site at some of the other restaurants in the area. Overall, we had a wonderful time-- would definitely go back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
LkIng
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Sep 29, 2012

amazing beach, amazing view

We had a wonderful stay at the reefs. it was our first trip to bermuda, and I have no other hotel in this country to compare it to. but we would definitely come back. having visited several caribbean islands, these were my pros and cons: Pros: our cliffside room overlooked the ocean, and you can lie in bed and look out and I loved that. the rooms have little patios which are great. the view and the private beach alone are 5 star. I loved that both the Coconuts and Ocean Echo restaurants overlook the beach, and you can dine comfortably outside. The beach was amazing, pink sands, warm water, everything was clean and well kept. there were plenty of chairs and umbrellas for everyone, and beach service was friendly. kayaks, longboards, and floaties are all available for anyone to use, which is nice. the snorkeling right off the beach was really great - lots of fish. Cons: the bathroom in our room was a bit outdated, and not what one might expect for a 5-star resort (though I hate when people say this). it just could use some renovation from the linoleum, and such. I think they try to make up for it with the l'occitane bath products, which are great. I'd say that was really the only thing we were disappointed with in our room. We ate at both restaurants, and the food was fine, though not mind blowing, and fairly expensive. but the free breakfast and afternoon tea are nice touches. I'd also say that the staff were all very nice and helpful, though not the most efficient. Finally, because you cannot rent a car in bermuda, I wish that hotels would provide a shuttle service to the airport or something, because taxis are quite expensive, and this would just be a nice amenity from a nice resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jenny gilbert
Business
New Jersey
Apr 7, 2013

Amazing rooms with really wonderful views!,

Staff very friendly, food mediocre unfortunately all of Bermuda I couldn't find fresh cooked fish or vegetables. I thought the hotel was an amazing location and the views were awesome, just a few small things, wish the railing across the windows wasn't there instead wish it was glass doors like on the "club" next door, also wish they had room service every night and that you could get movies on the tv.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bolaro in hamilton was good, soup delicious, still no amazing fresh fish

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top