$262 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 23, 2014 Check-out: Dec 26, 2014

The Reefs

4 stars
56 South Shore Rd, Southampton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
35 reviews
Luxury with a Bermuda flare

You can't beat the private beech and wonderful staff at the Reefs. We stayed at the Reefs for 5... See full review

  • lifeofreilly
  • Jul 7, 2014
Edge of the world

I love getting to know the staff and at The Reefs, everyone was already a friend from the moment we... See full review

  • David Pham
  • Apr 26, 2014
Cliffside resort in an unparalleled Bermuda setting

The Reefs, welcoming guests since 1947, offers the best of Bermudian hospitality in a setting of unparalleled beauty. The pink-and-white buildings of the cliffside resort, set amid a palm tree-dotted slope brightened by hibiscus, oleander, and bougainvillea, overlooks a pink-sand beach. The resort boasts an infinity pool and an award-winning spa.

Highlights

  • Gorgeous cliff-to-beach setting
  • Modern amenities in a resort with an old-world feel
  • Restaurant and award-winning spa

Rooms

All rooms have a balcony or terrace and an ocean view. Other features include one king or two twin beds with alarm clock, bathrobe, cable television, air conditioning and ceiling fan, hair dryer, high-speed Internet access, iron and ironing board, refrigerator, safe, and coffee maker. One- to four-bedroom cottages, some with hot tubs, are also available.

Features

The cliff-top Ocean Echo restaurant serves breakfast through dinner eatery year-round. Dark wood and candlelight give a more elegant feel to Royston's, where guests enjoy steaks and seafood cooked in an open kitchen. Coconuts beach restaurant offers lunch and dinner with the ocean at diners' feet.

 

La Serena spa specializes in Thai massage and offers a full menu of luxury services ranging from reflexology to facials. Pedicures, manicures, and other treatments use herbal products from Gehwol.

 

Other on-site amenities include a gift shop, gym, plunge pool, safe deposit box, pool, and tennis court.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (13.5 mi/21.8 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda 
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Scooter and bicycle rentals are also popular

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (5 mi/8.1 km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (1.6 mi/2.6 km)
  • Crystal Caves (12.8 mi/20.6 km)

Business

  • Meeting rooms accommodate up to 25
  • Dedicated event specialists

Policies and fees

  • The evening dress code at The Reefs Hotel & Club is smart casual for all ages (collared shirts and slacks). 
  • Inappropriate attire includes blue jeans, t-shirts, baseball caps, sneakers and flip flops.
  • The children's policy requests that families with children 6 years and younger and children who may find it difficult to sit through an evening meal dine before 7 p.m. 
  • From May through August, the pool will be closed from 5 to 7 p.m. to children 12 and younger.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Reefs also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

The Reefs Rooms

Poolside
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Superior
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.
Deluxe
This room offers one king or two twins bed with A/C, Alarm clock, Balcony/Terrace, Bathrobe, Bathroom amenties, Cable/Satellite TV, Ceiling Fan, Color Tv, DVD Player, Ensuite/Private bathroom, Hairdryer, Heating, Internet access, Ironing board, Non-smoking rooms, Radio, Refrigerator, Room service, safe in room, Tea and coffee making facilities, Telephone and Voice mail.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Fitness Center
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Restaurant
Internet
WiFi

Dining

Ocean Echo
Ocean Echo has a distinctly Bermudian feel and offers 180¢ª sweeping ocean views and terrace dining. Breakfast, lunch and dinner are served daily from a menu highlighting items that have become famous in Bermuda.
Royston
Royston's has the feel of casual elegance with a large fireplace and a display kitchen. Royston¡¯s features a wine room enriched with Mahogany décor that may be booked exclusively for private parties. The ambiance stays true to the traditions of Bermudian hospitality. Dinner is served nightly with attentive and warm service to enhance the experience. Coconuts, by the beach and overlooking the ocean, is cited as the ¡°best place to fall in love in Bermuda.¡± Featuring Caribbean dishes with Bermudian accents, Coconuts is open for lunch from April to November and dinner from May to November. Couples also can opt for dinner on The Reefs private pink sand beach, the island¡¯s most romantic dining experience beneath the stars, complete with tiki torches and the rhythm of the waves.
Coconuts
Open seasonally for an al fresco lunch or dinner - and make sure the breathtaking views.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (35)

Ratings and reviews for The Reefs

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 35
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.6
Value:
4.1

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
pevvy
Business
Massachusetts, USA
Mar 26, 2012

fun in paradise

We felt totally welcomed and comfortable at this hotel. There was really no reason to leave the compound as everything was provided right here. Snorkeling was perfect, food was awesome and surroundings unbelievably beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

definitely use the mopeds...challenging on the left hand side of the road, but you can't beat the experience. And, keeps you from waiting for a bus. Though the bus system works well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bermuda Blissed
Business
Oakton, VA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

The Reefs was incredible!

The view from our room was truly spectacular. We were transported into heavenly paradise from the moment we arrived at the Reefs. We were graciously welcomed by the staff, immediately treated to a Swizzle (famous fruity Bermudan rum drink) and given a tour of the beautiful facility. Our room was tastefully decorated- modern and comfortable- but the room size was small. Fine for two adults on a short excursion, but would have been tight if we had brought more luggage. Breakfast (included in our package) was deliciously prepared and it was nice to start the day with a hearty meal that kept us going until dinner. The private beach, pool and whirlpool were wonderful (see photos- need I say more?). Relaxing on our private lanai with a novel, overlooking the ocean, was also delightful. The spa within the Reefs easily accommodated my husband and I, around our plans, for a couples massage that was blissful. I would highly recommend asking the concierge for help booking a jet ski tour of the western end of the island: tons of fun and gorgeous views from the water. The Reefs is right on the southern bus route, so it was easy to hop a ride to wherever we needed to go (daily unlimited bus pass is just $12). This made travel economical and safe- I was leery of the local drivers with clueless tourists on motor scooters. Dinner on Friday night at the Reefs was lovely. Besides the heavenly views from the dining room, we were treated to scrumptious seafood meals. It was a prix fixe menu for $64 per person plus drinks, including a salad course, appetizer course and dessert. Not cheap, but it was a fine meal and the service was fantastic. This was a lovely couples get away, but I'm not sure the Reefs would be ideal for young children or families, unless there are some suites or larger rooms available.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the Barnes Corner bus to the Waterlot for a jet ski tour of the western side of Bermuda. You can easily catch this bus in front of the Reefs to go here. Tours go out several times each day. Besides the thrill of the jet ski, you get great views of Bermuda and a chance to feed fish near a half submerged ship wreck. Awesome adventure!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mad Mopeder
Business
Washington, DC, USA
Jan 21, 2012

Romantic getaway for 2

We really lucked out. The hotel was under renovation so they compensated us with a suite (2 bedrooms, living room, full kitchen, personal outdoor jacuzzi). This room was awesome, bigger than our apartment. Hotel as private beach plus other amenities that made it the perfect long weekend getaway. It's a little far from the main towns but if your adventurous you can rent a moped, just be careful at the roundabouts. We highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
koala0bear
Business
nj
Jan 2, 2012

Winter Bermuda getaway

The hotel is located in Southampton on a cliff overlooking the ocean. The view is magnificent and the staff is very attentive. The main lobby and dining areas are beautifully decorated with a cozy feel. Guests were playing card games on a rainy day in the hotel. We were disappointed in the actual hotel room we stayed in. We had called for a king sized bed but the room actually had 2 twin beds put side by side. The overall interior was clean but old and worn down. This hotel needs an upgrade to the interior. We did have a great time in Bermuda, regardless. If you can overlook the worn down interior, this hotel would not be a bad option.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The hotel has great dining options. We were rained in one of the days and had dinner at the hotel. The menu was a 4 course prix fix menu. Was very satisfied with the meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Vikas
Business
Manhattan, New York, NY, USA
Nov 14, 2011

Excellent, great service and amazing private beach

The staff here really go out of their way to make you feel at home. If you go on Saturday night, they have the best band on the island, it was amazing. The view of the sunset is unparalleled and the beach is beautiful. Food is better than all other places on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Bacci the Italian restaurant at the Fairmont, is also very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
victorious
Business
Langhorne, PA, USA
Oct 12, 2011

Just what the doctor ordered

My husband and I just returned from Bermuda last night. We were ready to relax. Well if that's what you're looking for here's the place. It is quiet clean and the food is fantastic. After a great breakfast it is time to relax at the beach or at the pool. There is a choice of 3 great restaurants and getting dressed up for dinner is all the exertion we needed to do. A great book, a view to die for and people around you doing for you that you don't even realize they're there. A trip to the spa for a fantastic facial and life's good! We can't wait to go back to "The Reefs".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

If you are going to High Tea which is fabulous, make dinner reservations for later.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Hockey Mom Extraordinaire
Business
Toronto, Ontario
Jul 25, 2011

Great for Couples

The Reefs is one of the last of the independently owned resorts. It is set on a stunning cliff with breathtaking views of the Atlantic ocean.We were treated to a 'Rum Swizzle' upon our arrival to this first class hotel, helping us get in the island mood. The staff were extremely pleasant and helpful and made checking in a breeze.I would definitely recommend taking advantage of the Beeline transportation from the airport to the hotel. [...]We had a nice time chatting with other couples who shared our minivan ride.The Reefs has a stunning beach. The staff do an exceptional job grooming the sand and carefully placing the beach umbrellas and the chaises. Be warned that there were two people who were stung by Portuguese Man O'wars while snorkelling off the beach at the Reefs! These jelly fish are hard to spot when you are swimming. The sting is apparently very painful. Both people who were stung had to be rushed to the hospital in the capital, Hamilton.My wife and I rented a scooter while we were at the Reefs. The hotel can arrange it for you. It was such freedom to be able to ride from one end of the island to the other! In my experience, it took about an hour to get used to driving on the left hand side of the road. We checked out the dockyards where the cruise ships come in, and then drove to the quaint town of St. George's on the other end of the island. All told we put on about 130 km on the scooter. This was quite a feat for such a small island.Most people who were at the Reefs were visiting for the second, third or more times. This shows that people love this resort.My feeling is that this place is perfect for couples who want a romantic and first class holiday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Don't always dine at the hotel. We tried lots of different restaurants within scooter and walking distance, that were more reasonable and had excellent food. Our favorite was "The Dining Room" right beside Gibbs Hill Lighthouse. Excellent pizza, mains and salads, with a breathtaking view!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Len W
Business
Milford Ct.
Jul 16, 2011

Secluded hide away

The Reefs Hotel is the type of place to which people return year after year. There is enough to keep you busy as well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Downtown Hamilton

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pauillac
Business
New Jersey
Oct 8, 2010

Location, location and somewhat location

Beautiful location, but it is far (for Bermuda length) from anything else, so be prepared to bus/scooter/taxi a lot if you leave the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Look out for dining programs-read the fine print and make sure there are no others available

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Reefs

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Easley, SC
Sep 7, 2010

The Reefs, Southampton, Bermuda

Excellent hotel. Romantic setting. Close to transportation (bus and scooter rental place). Good location for walking/running. Very friendly staff. Good dining but rather pricey; however, two excellent restaurants nearby that were more reasonable. Convenience store within walking distance to buy items like soda, beer and snacks at better prices than the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top