$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
54 reviews
WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY... See full review

  • CAROL BEACH BUM
  • May 11, 2014
Nice spot

This hotel is very nice. Has a great view and is located right near a main bus route. See full review

  • Warrick T.
  • Mar 24, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club, in Warwick Parish on Bermuda's south shore, features cottages, apartments, and suites with fully equipped kitchens, all overlooking the ocean and private beach in a natural and relaxed ambience. Guests describe this low-key resort as peaceful and charming. Amenities include a freshwater pool, hair and beauty salon, and a public compute in the lobby.

Rooms

Each one- or two-bedroom suite comes with king bed or two twin beds, full kitchen, and a patio or balcony overlooking the ocean. All rooms have cable television, hair dryer, and iron with ironing board. Kitchens come equipped with refrigerator, conventional and microwave ovens, and an electric coffee maker. Three-bedroom Cliffside Suites include double fireplace and separate dining room.

Property features

The pink-sand beach provides the perfect spot for long walks, especially at sunrise or sunset, as does the resort's beautifully landscapes grounds.

 

The Hideaway at Surf Side, a hair and beauty salon, features a European-trained beauty consultant. This mini spa specializes in manicures, pedicures, massages, facials, hair care, reflexology, waxing, and more.

 

Coin-operated laundry facilities are available.

Highlights

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Freshwater pool
  • Hair and beauty salon

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Public buses run every 15 minutes from the foot of the driveway
  • Many Bermuda visitors take advantage of the island's scooter and bicycle rental services 

Policies

  • Some room rates include one of two meal plans with a la carte breakfast or breakfast and selected dinner menu in the Palms Restaurant. 
  • Restaurant may be closed during the off-season. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surf Side Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Surf Side Beach Club Rooms

Ocean View One-Bedroom Suite - N
Ocean View One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking One bedroom, bathroom, spacious living room, fully
Ocean View Deluxe Studio - Non-S
Ocean View Deluxe Studio - Non-Smoking Spacious, attractively appointed bedroom with bathroom

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Porters
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Kitchen
Sitting area
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston gang
Business
Northampton
Jan 18, 2014

horrible said to say

We spent two days of our vacation trying to get out of here. Surf side was a nice spot in its day but now it's falling apart. Don't ruin your vacation by starting here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harry Giberson
Business
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Sep 5, 2012

surf side beach

know that this hotel has no restaurant or bar, we decided to go back again this year. what a bad decision. the hotel was almost a ghost town. staff was ok only one person. office closed at 3 pm. since the weather was nice we went to the pool , another mistake it was dirty and was told that they dont clean it weekends. after 4 years there we have decided not to go back . would not recomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Norwich, VT
Jan 14, 2010

Past Prime

[...]. Our experience: We went out to dinner the first night we were there (New Year's Eve); when we returned, we found a note under our door indicating the onsite restaurant was closed for the season. No mention of this had been made in our calls to them before booking. This meant taking a cab for all meals (there are no close restaurants or grocery stores). When we expressed our concern to the clerk on duty she became extremely unpleasant-- shouting at us, pounding her fist on the desk, etc. Very strange scene; very inappropriate behavior.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Long walk from hotel

There are no restaurants within walking distance, but several nice ones in Hamilton.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Bermuda

We checked out within two hours of arriving at this hotel. There was no restaurant [...] and nothing for the kids to do.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krate
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2014

The Great Dissapointment

Upon arriving in Bermuda, my boyfriend and I were ecstatic to be in such a verdant paradise to celebrate his birthday with friends over the weekend. We headed straight to our hotel from the airport, looking forward to what had appeared to be a jaw-dropping hotel that overlooked the great Atlantic. When we arrived all of our hopes were crushed. The location of the hotel is of course beautiful as it is overlooking the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, but anywhere on Bermuda Island is picturesque, which is why I rated the location "average". And how can one enjoy the beautiful view from a deck that is decrepit and without any comfortable chairs or adornments that would aspire to match the beauty of the surrounding environs? It is literally a concrete slab with two plastic chairs. The first room we were put in, #32, was absolutely unacceptable. The walls were scuffed and falling apart. The bathroom tub had a huge rust streak and the tub mat desperately needed to be replaced as it was mildewy and engrained with filth. The water pressure in the shower was also lacking in this room, possibly due to the build up of lime deposits in the showerhead. There was a kitchen with no sink and no welcoming basket (i.e. fruits, water). I've never been to a hotel that I paid $300/night for that didn't offer complimentary water! The receptionist told us we could go buy water from the vending machine down by the pool. To top off the unacceptability of this room, we discovered what appeared to be a queen-sized bed was in fact two twin beds pushed together. For a couple on vacation celebrating a special occasion, this is of course unacceptable. Since that topped it off, we went to ask the front desk for a room change. The receptionist was reluctant to help and we really had to urge her and even threaten to leave the hotel altogether before she called her manager. The manager okay'ed that she switch our room to room #29. Room #29 was a small step up, just enough for it to be livable for the weekend. It had a real king-sized bed, no huge rust streak in the tub (but still a filthy bath mat) and walls that were in slightly better shape. It, however, is still a completely unacceptable room for the rate. Also be aware that there is no food available on the premise. There are also no drinks except what is available in the vending machine so if you want to enjoy a cocktail on the deck or by the pool, you'll have to do some shopping. The staff was very lackadaisical and seemed to be lacking in motivation to serve their guests. I don't blame them as I am sure it is hard to have pride in a job that constantly involves disappointed guests. This was a incredibly upsetting stay and I am outraged to have spent what I did for such a negative experience. Do NOT stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mickey's restaurant is delicious for lunch.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surprised Vet
Business
Upstate NY
May 7, 2012

Warning for first timers

This was our third trip to Bermuda, but the first to this location. Be wary when looking at the photos because they are not near representative of the current condition. Missing handrails, torn screens, black roofs, rusted AC, etc. That being said we were looking for a non touristy place along one of the main bus lines and this was it. Although, it is overpriced. We could have stayed at the Fairmont for $5 less per night. In comparison this is the average US $50-$70 motel of Bermuda. Certainly habitable, but since you are paying Bermuda prices most people would expect more. Nice staff, clean room, but needs some serious maintenance and upgrades. We had a good time, because we always go off site exploring, but will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent and very reasonable BBQ take out only 1/4 mile to the left on the main road.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lu1959
Business
Boston
May 23, 2012

Bermuda

Don't stay at Surfside. I have slummed it before, but when someone wants to hand me a bucket to flush the toilet all night I draw the line. They seemed surprised when I asked to be moved to a room with a functioning toilet! Great view, very tired and dirty rooms. I still love Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pub nearby. Swizzle.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndrDB
Business
Laurel MD USA
May 31, 2012

Great location but a bit rundown

The hotel is located in the south shore in Paget between the Coco Reef and The Reef. The location is awesome with a stunning view, for me the best location in the island. On Memorial Day there were very few guests and was very quiet which for us was a great plus. The rooms are all facing the ocean. Overall the resort is nice, clean but it does look a little rundown. It needs some fixing and love so to speak. There is no restaurant and no cafeteria but having a kitchen in the room solved this issue. There is a central area with a pool and a restaurant (closed) which is nice. The garden around the pool is well maintained but again in general the whole place would definitely make use of a nice makeup. Our room was nice and clean but for example the sliding door had a broken handle and the screen is about to fall off although still functional. Bathroom was clean with hot and cold water although the shower head was basically shot. Table and chairs in the small garden outside the room were functional although more on the rusty side. All the above are to me things that would not ruin my vacation so overall we had a great time and would go back but if you are looking for a resort in pristine conditions this is not the right one. One more thing, the Surf Side has no beach! There was one but it was washed away and damaged (perhaps by a hurricane). There is a beach not too far away that can be reached from the resort if you are willing to walk 10 min and do some mild climbing on the rocks and the ruins of whatever is left of the beach resort. If you want to have a beach outside your room this is not the place for you. On the plus side nobody is ever on that 10 min away beach so if you get there it is just you, the pink sand and the emerald waters of Bermuda. I had a great time and overall I liked the resort but for the same price I would go back to the Coco Reef which is same level, same shore, similar layout but taken care of with a small beach and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Henry VIII and the Swizzle Restaurants (walking distance).

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queenbee2
Business
Hershey Pa.
Jun 1, 2013

Rundown Resort

Fantastic location and great view down to the ocean.This was a great place a few years ago ,but has been let go e,g, needs a new paint job,torn door screens in rooms ,broken rails on upper room balconies,weeds growing between pool area tiles ,rooms closed for whatever reason . No beach it was washed out last year, closest is 5 min down the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For $300 a night a rip off.Try Sandpiper apts.$140 a night 2 min. away

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new york
Dec 12, 2009

not for the businessman

tough location if you are doing business in Hamilton especially at AM rush hour(yes, they have a rush hour in Bermuda). Call for a reliable cab the night before. The shower was anemic, and most of the room was dated. The a/c sounded light a construction truck and the alarm clock didn't work.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Back to menu Return to top