$200 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 8, 2015 Check-out: Mar 9, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

2 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
55 reviews
WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY... See full review

  • CAROL BEACH BUM
  • May 11, 2014
Gorgeous View

The view from our porch and the sound of the surf were fantastic. The small kitchen or kitchenette... See full review

  • Spyglass
  • Jul 12, 2014
Romantic getaway on lovely south shore beach

Surf Side Beach Club, in Warwick Parish on Bermuda's south shore, features cottages, apartments, and suites with fully equipped kitchens, all overlooking the ocean and private beach in a natural and relaxed ambience. Guests describe this low-key resort as peaceful and charming. Amenities include a freshwater pool, hair and beauty salon, and a public compute in the lobby.

Highlights

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Freshwater pool
  • Hair and beauty salon

Rooms

Each one- or two-bedroom suite comes with king bed or two twin beds, full kitchen, and a patio or balcony overlooking the ocean. All rooms have cable television, hair dryer, and iron with ironing board. Kitchens come equipped with refrigerator, conventional and microwave ovens, and an electric coffee maker. Three-bedroom Cliffside Suites include double fireplace and separate dining room.

Features

The pink-sand beach provides the perfect spot for long walks, especially at sunrise or sunset, as does the resort's beautifully landscapes grounds.

 

The Hideaway at Surf Side, a hair and beauty salon, features a European-trained beauty consultant. This mini spa specializes in manicures, pedicures, massages, facials, hair care, reflexology, waxing, and more.

 

Coin-operated laundry facilities are available.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Public buses run every 15 minutes from the foot of the driveway
  • Many Bermuda visitors take advantage of the island's scooter and bicycle rental services 

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Policies and fees

  • Some room rates include one of two meal plans with a la carte breakfast or breakfast and selected dinner menu in the Palms Restaurant. 
  • Restaurant may be closed during the off-season. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surf Side Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Amenities

No amenity information is available for this hotel.

Hotel Policies

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Stratford, ON, Canada
Nov 27, 2009

Nov. getaway

We were at the Surf Side from Nov. 23 to 27, 2009. During that time it was very quiet and restful. Staff were helpful but not effusive. The pool was cold (and we're from Canada!). We shopped at local foodmarkets and ate using the refrigerator and micro and, thus, failed to sample their cuisine (maybe next time). There is no beach but beautiful cliffside scenery. The hotel is mid-island, 20 minutes by bus from Hamilton, another 30 to St. Georges and 20 the other way to the Naval Dockyards.The bus stops at the end of their laneway; a 3 minute walk from the lobby. We had to get ice from the pool bar which was closed from 2 to 6; plan ahead. If you are looking for central location and a place which leaves you alone to enjoy the view and solitude, this is it. Rooms are clean but dated ie. furniture, cupboards, patio/balcony doors etc. Floors are cool tile. Gardens are lovely. It was advertized as a 3 star and it is but at the top of that heap. We would return to this facility if we are able to return to Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get a multi day bus pass from the terminal in Hamilton, not from a hotel (they add a surcharge). Travel by bus is easy and allows you to look around which is not smart on a scooter. They pass by frequently (every 15 minutes on most routes)and the drivers are friendly and helpful. We got two 2 day passes for $20 each. A double scooter is $55 a day and cabs are about $50 for a 1 hour tour.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Racer Chris
Business
Torrington CT
Nov 17, 2009

Everything needed for a relaxing stay

The hotel was great, a little old fashioned, but with all needed features. Right off, due to erosion and a freak storm with high tides, there really was no beach to walk on - not a problem since we went off season and there were other beaches to walk on. Fantastic view of the south side of the island. The room was large with a full kitchen. We bought food at the local mart to save money against dining out. There was a big storm some of the time we were there and that rattled windows, doors etc, so if you are expecting a brand new, silent room, this might not be your place. Nice balcony to sun and relax. Easy walk to bus stop and staff handled all our needs. Cannot do much comparing, as we do not get down there often - but quite a few other people there, considering it was off-season. Restaurant was expensive but in line with others in area. Food was very good. Close to scooter rental and only 15 minutes into Hamilton. Had Wi-Fi in rooms but we did not use so do not know how well it worked – had a computer in lobby for checking e-mail. Overall, I think this is a traditional Bermuda Hotel. There are no social activities so do not look at this as a hot spot for parties. Price was part of a package so cannot say if it was good or bad. Have no problem going back or recommending the Surf Side.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Unit we stayed at had a full kitchen - if you shop right you can have food for those times you don't feel like going out - on site food is expensive and may not be open all year round.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach walker, Linda
Business
Lake Bluff, Illinois
Nov 7, 2009

Marvelous vistas !

This was my 2nd stay at Surf Side and I will deffinately return! The location is wonderful, the views are breathtaking. The atmosphere is very relaxing and quiet. Staff is very friendly & accommodating. That being said, I'd like to experience the daily housekeeping staff respect the "Privacy Please" tag on the door - ie: if the tag says "Privacy Please", leave us alone- give us peace! Do NOT keep coming back checking to see if we're ready for the room to be cleaned! Some of the rooms are a bit outdated and the screen door in room 40 could use repair. The kitchenette is a wonderful convenience! All things considered, the location & view compell me to overlook these minor disappointments and I will deffinately stay at Surf Side again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Although visitors can not rent a car in Bermuda, public transportation is wonderful & the motor scooters are too fun! Fellow travelers MUST visit Horseshoe bay/beach, Warwick Long beach & dine at the North Rock Brewery. All are quite close (not walking distance) but easily accessable via scooter, taxi, &/or pink buses. Fort Scaur in Sommerset offers fantastic views of the sunsets!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Denver
Oct 21, 2009

Good hotel

Our experience didn't start out well, in that they didn't have a record of our reservation, but fortunately, had rooms available and accepted the reserved rate. If you're looking for a 5 Star resort, this isn't it, but it is a friendly, well maintained hotel that has easy access to beaches and Hamilton shops. The staff was great with recommendations on restaurants,beaches, buses, etc.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

the closest usable beach is a pretty long walk, but easily accessed via bus.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Grannie P.
Business
Port Townsend, WA
Sep 9, 2009

Friendly, Helpful Staff, Great Views!

The staff couldn't have been more helpful and friendly. The location was close to all beaches, we used public transportation and the bus stops across the road from the hotel. We ate several meals at the restaurant and it was excellent. Our room had a kitchenette which came in very handy with kids to feed. We didn't use the beach because it never appeared while we were there, I believe it is eroding and may not really exist anymore. The hotel need some updating, but the view was fantastic and our room was clean. There was also a very convenient laundry room that we used. All in all, a good choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Snorkel operator in Dockyard by the name of Sonny. His boat is "Jack and Water." The best experience of the trip, he took us out to a reef and two shipwrecks to snorkel. We were able to snorkel for a full hour, cost of trip $45 each, a real bargain in Bermuda!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodbridge, NJ
Sep 5, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Good location. Bus stop across street. Very good restaurant with excellent service. Good-sized room with kitchenette. Excellent maid service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a multi-day bus pass. It is a good value and, most of the time, busses are on schedule.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Westchester, NY
Sep 2, 2009

Private getaway, gorgeous views

We visited Surf Side earlier this summer and had such a relaxing, enjoyable stay that we decided to return for a few more days. The second room we got was even nicer than the first (which was fine). We really appreciated having the little kitchen area and the balcony overlooking the lovely landscaping and the ocean view. Bad weather had caused the stairs leading to the beach to be inaccessible, but a short walk down the road led to another entrance (with lots of stairs) where the private beach could be enjoyed. The staff was helpful, the attached restaurant was great, and the location just a short bus ride ( right outside the entrance) from Hamilton, Horseshoe Bay, and other desirable locations.Surf Side is a perfect venue for anyone looking for a reasonably pried, quiet getaway in an excellent South Shore beach location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The Restaurant Aqua has wonderful food and attentive service. We found it to be as good as (or often better) than other comparable dining options.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Nutley, NJ
Aug 18, 2009

Nice Hotel

Rented mopeds to travel to various beaches, since there is no access at the hotel. Lack of nightlife/entertainment/gambling. August was extremely too hot and humid. Defintely require an umbrella to stay on beach or simply remain in the water.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Lacks evening entertainment as available years ago on our Honeymoon. Shopping is convenient in Hamilton. Dining at a variety of restaurants was excellent. Extremely Expensive Island. Travel here would be more comfortable in April or May.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
East setauket, NY
Aug 16, 2009

Good, but not great

quaint pretty hotel but restaurant was closed for parties and too expensive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

buy food at a local mini market in hamilton or nearby to avoid the hassell of breakfast at the hotel whiuch was very expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Rochester, N.Y.
Aug 6, 2009

BEAUTIFUL VIEWS

Surf Side is in a perfect location. The views of the sea are breathtaking. It is minutes from the bus stop. Hamilton is a 15 minute ride, Horseshoe Bay Beach is 15 in the other direction. The onsite restaurant is 5 star in service, quality of food, and shares the same view. This hotel's older, slightly outdated buildings are being updated. Our room was clean and comfortable. Hotel staff are polite and very helpful. At one time there was an inviting sandy beach, but unfortunately this is gone. What remains are ruins of a once elaborate terraced patio and servicable beach at low tide.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

My husband wanted to dine here every night!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top