$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 27, 2015 Check-out: May 30, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guilford
Jan 29, 2011

Great secluded getaway

Internet in the room would have been better because I was there on business. The kitchenette fit my needs perfectly although, I did not make large meals,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a great secluded spot for a quiet get away with someone special to sneak away with.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Planet_Explorer
Business
Bow, NH
Dec 26, 2010

Fabulous Family Experience

Great 1 bedroom type cottage, perfect for our family. The full kitchen saved us hundreds of dollars dining in. There is a bus stop right out side the hotel. The beach is simply spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Daily or weekly bus passes are very helpful. It is difficult to find restaurants in Bermuda.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Dec 1, 2010

Nice quiet place close to everywhere.

Very good location, although a bit of a distance to the beach. If you don't mind taking a bus or paying for a taxi, the closest beach is within a 5 minute ride. The city of Hamilton is about 10 minutes away. Lots of stuff to see all over the island. Note that this place does not have room service, but if you get a cottage there's a kitchen so you can make yourself a meal with groceries from the nearby gas station or grocery store a mile down in the opposite direction. There's a beautiful vista just a walk down the cliff where you can sit, read a book, and enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle(not the original), is located just west down the road, maybe a 5-10 minute walk if you need a quick bite. Very good food. Try their swizzle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Spencer, MA
May 26, 2010

"Used to be great, now tired."

We've stayed at this hotel 5-6 times before. They are now cutting corners. The cottages we had were tired and needed work. The AC was broken, so they fixed it. Still didn't work. The fridge didn't work, so they fixed it. Still didn't work. Their rates have gone up steeply since our last stay three years ago. We probably will go elsewhere next time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Relaxed in Richmond
Business
Richmond, VA
May 21, 2010

No worries...

We had a wonderful time at the Surf Side. Peaceful, charming location with beautiful oceanfront view. Older hotel, but well-maintained. Enjoyed the Swizzle Inn South Shores several times as it was a short walk from the hotel. Bus stops are right at the end of the hotel entrance so very convenient. A very relaxing place to stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy a bus/ferry pass so you can go wherever you need to and not have to worry how many tokens you will need.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Ma.
Apr 27, 2010

Surf Side Beach Club

Gorgeous Views from 2nd floor room/suite Roomy 1bdrm suite Convenient for using bus transportation Private and Quiet Friendly Manager

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Get a Bus Pass. Do not drive moped. Very dangerous We met a couple that was in an accident and nearly ruined their vacation. They had stitches, black eyes, broken arms/ribs etc. The bus is a great option. The gas station up the steet is handy for snacks/drinks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Apr 4, 2010

Bermuda

We checked out within two hours of arriving at this hotel. There was no restaurant [...] and nothing for the kids to do.[...]

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BrooklynT
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Apr 3, 2010

Wonderful stay

We had a wonderful and relaxing stay at the Surf Side Beach Club. Our little cottage offered spectacular views of the most beautiful ocean we had ever seen. This was our first trip to Bermuda, and the water is just breath taking. Every morning, we had coffee on our own private porch while watching the waves, the birds, and flowers in bloom. Heaven for city people like us who were in desperate need of some uncomplicated access to nature, romance, peace, and quiet-- which we definitely found. When it was raining, I'll admit, the room seemed a little dank and cold, and the quiet felt isolating. This made the fact that the cottage had a kitchen and a decent sized ice box all the more fabulous. We made our own fun! Had the hotel restaurant and bar been open, it would have off-set the sometimes gloomy weather, but we chose to go during the cheaper off-season when the restaurant is closed (we were informed upon arrival). We were lucky, the beach was accessible during our stay. Apparently it goes away sometimes for periods of time -- there was a notice about it in our room. It's not a high tide issue, and frankly we never really understood the explanation. But it was there when we visited and it rivaled those you see in travel brochures. Overall, we really enjoyed all the beauty that Bermuda has to offer (via scooter rental) when the sun was out, and we loved the Surf Side. This place doesn't offer 600 thread count sheets or marble bathrooms, but the location can't be beat. It's a little rustic and definitely had a private feel, which we find a lot more appealing than some sprawling resort filled with demanding people and kids. Although again, we went just before the season really takes off, so who knows what it's like when it's full. The grounds are impeccable. The staff is helpful and the room was very clean. We hope to return soon!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

The only way to get to the hotel from the airport is a taxi. Buses won't take travelers with luggage. If staying at Surf Side, especially during the off-season when the restaurant is closed, save yourself an extra taxi ride by having the driver stop off at the Modern Mart (the closest supermarket) and wait while you pick up a few treats (makings for cocktails, snacks, breakfast stuff, etc). Then you arrive fully prepared to chill out on your gorgeous balcony.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beach walker, Linda
Business
Lake Bluff, IL
Mar 30, 2010

Beautiful Beach @ Surf Side

Surf Side's beach was absolutely wonderful! A full 100 - 150 feet wide, depending on the tide of Bermuda's pink, soft sand/crushed coral. It was like our own private beach! I enjoyed many long walks in the mornings & evenings along this beautiful beach - walked way past the "divers"!(those who visit will know the "divers" I refer to). We even saw 3 whales from our cottages - spouting their little hearts out. What a treat!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

North Rock Brewery serves fantastic food - just 2 stop lights north/east of Surf Side along South Road on the right. Reservations NOT necessary.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston
Feb 15, 2010

OF

Trip could have been better but we had bad weather. Our only problem was with delta leaving late when they knew a out it and yet had us board the plane and wait I hour on inside the craft

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top