$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 6, 2015 Check-out: Aug 9, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
54 out of 54
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.7
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Crys Smith
Business
St Clair Shores, MI, USA
Oct 23, 2011

Great Value!!!!!!!!!!

We just returned from a 6 day, five night stay in Bermuda at the Surfside Beach Club. Unfortunately, much of the beach has been washed away from weather and surf. However that left the door wide open for people who are willing to do a bit of their own exploring to get to the next beach. Each morning we made tea and walked through the volcanic rock and coral to the next beach over to watch the sunrise. If you are looking for luxory and pampering this is not the place for you, However, solitude and a unique almost "local" experience is Surfside's advantage.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 21, 2011

No access to beach

I was just there in June 2011. Costs about $30 for taxi ride from airport to hotel. Rooms are spacious, but you should be aware that there is no restaurant or beach access at the resort. Since there are no sidewalks and it is really not that safe to walk on the two lane roads, you end up having to take the cab everywhere u need to go.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

It will cost about $10 for taxi ride to the Elbow Beach. But it is so worth it!!! Elbow Beach has great clean, pinkish sand, beatiful clear ocean water, great views....you almost feel like u are in the Bahamas only water is a bit colder.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
J from Maryland
Business
Maryland
Apr 25, 2011

What a view!

If you are looking for a ritzy and glamorous resort then this isn't the place for you. If you are looking for a clean, centrally located cottage with kitchen facilities, access to laundry and an absolutely amazing view of the coastline then this is the place for you. Our family of four loved our cottage. The pool was small but we didn't visit Bermuda to hang out at a pool. We can do that at home. We visited Bermuda to hike south beach and railway trails. We visited Bermuda to enjoy the flowers and tropical climate. We had a wonderful time!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk a few hundred yards to the west and you can catch dinner at the Sizzle Inn. Walk about 20 minutes up the road to the east and you will get to the Modern Mart grocery store for supplies. Lindo's is also about a 20 minute walk but you take Cobb's Hill Road to Middle Road, turn left and walk a bit to that grocery store for a change of pace.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
md
Apr 6, 2011

beautiful,affordable accomodating

When we decided that we needed a long weekend in the sun, we were surprised to find that three nights in bermuda was as cheap as Florida. We booked Surf Side despite reading the reviews about its condition. The reviews are accutate, butoverly critical. The facility is not new, but it is not in disrepair. There is no bar or restaurant,but there was a full kitchen. We booked the least expensive package,yet we had an ocean view suite right by the pool. The staff could not have been more helpful. During the first weekend in April the hotel was fairly full,but completely quiet and restful. The weather was changeable,with episodes of rain and wind,but we had two good days for sightseeing and a perfect beach day on the day we left (naturally) If you want pampering go elsewhere,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Don't plan on sightseeing or shopping on Sunday. The buses are on an abbreviated schedule and the taxis all add a25% surcharge.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas tx
Apr 5, 2011

nice hotel/kichenette for good price

front staff helpful. housekeeping staff nicer. good location: bus stop right in front,good seaview. hotel buildings are older. front door not fit tight so rattle all night with gusting winds. big crack under a/c causing cold draft in room. overall good for the low price. streets not pedestrian friendly, therefore must use bus/taxi

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Rachel Traveller
Business
Syracuse, New York
Mar 21, 2011

Great place!

This place looks like it busted out of the 70s... HOWEVER... It has the most amazing view, it's own rock beach, kitchen in the rooms (which is great cause Bermuda food is EXTREMELY expensive), a maid who comes and cleans once a day, a pool, and Internet in the lobby.... If you are looking for a place that will cater to your every need... This isn't the place for you... But if you want a nice place to relax that isn't super expensive... Use this hotel!!!!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
newfy
Business
kingston, ontario
Mar 19, 2011

no frills in a great location

sad to say that this hotel was in serious need of some updating to be considered 3* housekeeping very nice, but floors needed to be washed and all the fixtures, decorations, patio doors really needed some tlc location was very convienient for taking public transportation (which was reliable and timely) I've stayed in numerous locations and would rank this stay as acceptable, but nothing special, the kitchenette was handy, very old stove, this was a relatively cheap way to stay in Bermuda, too bad it rained 5 out of 7 for my stay, and it was still too cold to swim, even for a crazy Canuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

the brunch at Henry VIII on sunday was really good, around $35, but worth it, if you need to save $, get some basics at the Modern mart, about a 10-15 min. walk and make it at the hotel

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
guilford
Jan 29, 2011

Great secluded getaway

Internet in the room would have been better because I was there on business. The kitchenette fit my needs perfectly although, I did not make large meals,

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Long walk from hotel

It is a great secluded spot for a quiet get away with someone special to sneak away with.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Planet_Explorer
Business
Bow, NH
Dec 26, 2010

Fabulous Family Experience

Great 1 bedroom type cottage, perfect for our family. The full kitchen saved us hundreds of dollars dining in. There is a bus stop right out side the hotel. The beach is simply spectacular.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Daily or weekly bus passes are very helpful. It is difficult to find restaurants in Bermuda.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Syracuse, NY
Dec 1, 2010

Nice quiet place close to everywhere.

Very good location, although a bit of a distance to the beach. If you don't mind taking a bus or paying for a taxi, the closest beach is within a 5 minute ride. The city of Hamilton is about 10 minutes away. Lots of stuff to see all over the island. Note that this place does not have room service, but if you get a cottage there's a kitchen so you can make yourself a meal with groceries from the nearby gas station or grocery store a mile down in the opposite direction. There's a beautiful vista just a walk down the cliff where you can sit, read a book, and enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle(not the original), is located just west down the road, maybe a 5-10 minute walk if you need a quick bite. Very good food. Try their swizzle.

Back to menu Return to top