$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Sep 24, 2014 Check-out: Sep 27, 2014

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
55 reviews
WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY... See full review

  • CAROL BEACH BUM
  • May 11, 2014
Gorgeous View

The view from our porch and the sound of the surf were fantastic. The small kitchen or kitchenette... See full review

  • Spyglass
  • Jul 12, 2014
Romantic getaway on lovely south shore beach

Surf Side Beach Club, in Warwick Parish on Bermuda's south shore, features cottages, apartments, and suites with fully equipped kitchens, all overlooking the ocean and private beach in a natural and relaxed ambience. Guests describe this low-key resort as peaceful and charming. Amenities include a freshwater pool, hair and beauty salon, and a public compute in the lobby.

Highlights

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Freshwater pool
  • Hair and beauty salon

Rooms

Each one- or two-bedroom suite comes with king bed or two twin beds, full kitchen, and a patio or balcony overlooking the ocean. All rooms have cable television, hair dryer, and iron with ironing board. Kitchens come equipped with refrigerator, conventional and microwave ovens, and an electric coffee maker. Three-bedroom Cliffside Suites include double fireplace and separate dining room.

Features

The pink-sand beach provides the perfect spot for long walks, especially at sunrise or sunset, as does the resort's beautifully landscapes grounds.

 

The Hideaway at Surf Side, a hair and beauty salon, features a European-trained beauty consultant. This mini spa specializes in manicures, pedicures, massages, facials, hair care, reflexology, waxing, and more.

 

Coin-operated laundry facilities are available.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Public buses run every 15 minutes from the foot of the driveway
  • Many Bermuda visitors take advantage of the island's scooter and bicycle rental services 

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Policies and fees

  • Some room rates include one of two meal plans with a la carte breakfast or breakfast and selected dinner menu in the Palms Restaurant. 
  • Restaurant may be closed during the off-season. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2619 -64.8031
Area served
Warwick, Bermuda
Nearby airports
BDA
Area description
Set in beautifully landscaped grounds leading to the private beach - natural cliffside location on the South Shore in Warwick Parish, Bermuda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surf Side Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Three girls
Toronto, Canada
Apr 3, 2013

Enjoyed it

Overall we enjoyed the stay in this place. The private beach is quiet and the rooms are well-equipped with all the facilities you need - although some of them looked old they are all functioning. The major drawback is the slow network (both wifi and the wired computer in the lobby) and no dining options available nearby (there are takeout menus in room but we didn't order). The room we had was spacious. Also when booking there was a note saying price in April includes breakfast but the manager told us no meals whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harry Giberson
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Sep 5, 2012

surf side beach

know that this hotel has no restaurant or bar, we decided to go back again this year. what a bad decision. the hotel was almost a ghost town. staff was ok only one person. office closed at 3 pm. since the weather was nice we went to the pool , another mistake it was dirty and was told that they dont clean it weekends. after 4 years there we have decided not to go back . would not recomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dick and Sue
New Hampshire
Aug 18, 2012

Latest Stay

My wife and I are just back from 5 days at Surfside. If you want posh and pampered, it's not for you. If you want the most gorgeous view on the island, this is the place. Bryan is the best!! He'll take good care of you. Rich and Sue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Not Applicable

Frog and Onion in Dockyard. Great Pub and food. Not too expensive

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadR
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2012

Great Location, OK everything else

First let me say that for the money you wont find much better on the island. Its just minutes from the best beaches on the South side, a short 10-15 minute to Hamilton and just a mile or two from 2 separate grocery stores. Since there was a kitchen in our unit, we saved a lot of money on food which is very expensive on the island. Groceries are about 1.5-2x more expensive than on the mainland but still cheaper than going out to eat where you wont spend less than $30 or more for two people, with the average being $40-$50 or more with alcohol. It is near a couple of restaurants, like the popular and delicious Swizzle #2, or Q's a BBQ place which was ok. There is no food on site. The beach at the hotel is awesome, with decent snorkeling off of some reefs with little to no one else sharing the long strand. The staff will give you umbrellas for free, which will cost you $15 to rent at the more expensive locations, or $40 to buy in a store. The downsides are that the place can use some major upgrades. The kitchen unit while convenient was only stocked with the basic utensils and cookware, but we made the most with what we had. They do supply a coffee maker and free coffee. The fridge was large enough for food and drink for 2 to 3. The air conditioner was rusting and falling apart, just like parts of the rest of the building, with chipped paint here and there, a hole in the pool, and an somewhat uncomfortable and creaking bed. On the plus side, you've got your own ocean view from the balcony, the staff is extremely helpful, and even arranged to have the scooter company come pick us up for rentals, and fulfilled any requests we had. If I go back to Bermuda, which is highly likely, I would still stay here knowing the the good outweighs the slight annoyances and old amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money on food, and use the kitchens in the room. You can eat out on your balcony, and bring food to the beach. We even brought some beers down since the beach is so close.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leoandtimmy
Millbury, MA
Jun 12, 2012

Would Stay Again in a "New York" Minute!

We booked this hotel because of it's location. We heard that it was "tired but clean". We found that to be true. We have to say that we had an extraordinary stay! We found the staff to be more-than-accommodating. In fact, Terry walked us down to the South Rd. to get us to a taxi. That was much more than he needed(or was expected) to do. Bryony (the manager) was wonderful and Brian was a delight, he making sure that every request of ours was fulfilled. The location was superb and the beach(we heard that it can come and go) was fantastic! We want to go back next year. Thanks Surfside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndrDB
Laurel MD USA
May 31, 2012

Great location but a bit rundown

The hotel is located in the south shore in Paget between the Coco Reef and The Reef. The location is awesome with a stunning view, for me the best location in the island. On Memorial Day there were very few guests and was very quiet which for us was a great plus. The rooms are all facing the ocean. Overall the resort is nice, clean but it does look a little rundown. It needs some fixing and love so to speak. There is no restaurant and no cafeteria but having a kitchen in the room solved this issue. There is a central area with a pool and a restaurant (closed) which is nice. The garden around the pool is well maintained but again in general the whole place would definitely make use of a nice makeup. Our room was nice and clean but for example the sliding door had a broken handle and the screen is about to fall off although still functional. Bathroom was clean with hot and cold water although the shower head was basically shot. Table and chairs in the small garden outside the room were functional although more on the rusty side. All the above are to me things that would not ruin my vacation so overall we had a great time and would go back but if you are looking for a resort in pristine conditions this is not the right one. One more thing, the Surf Side has no beach! There was one but it was washed away and damaged (perhaps by a hurricane). There is a beach not too far away that can be reached from the resort if you are willing to walk 10 min and do some mild climbing on the rocks and the ruins of whatever is left of the beach resort. If you want to have a beach outside your room this is not the place for you. On the plus side nobody is ever on that 10 min away beach so if you get there it is just you, the pink sand and the emerald waters of Bermuda. I had a great time and overall I liked the resort but for the same price I would go back to the Coco Reef which is same level, same shore, similar layout but taken care of with a small beach and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Henry VIII and the Swizzle Restaurants (walking distance).

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lu1959
Boston
May 23, 2012

Bermuda

Don't stay at Surfside. I have slummed it before, but when someone wants to hand me a bucket to flush the toilet all night I draw the line. They seemed surprised when I asked to be moved to a room with a functioning toilet! Great view, very tired and dirty rooms. I still love Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pub nearby. Swizzle.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surprised Vet
Upstate NY
May 7, 2012

Warning for first timers

This was our third trip to Bermuda, but the first to this location. Be wary when looking at the photos because they are not near representative of the current condition. Missing handrails, torn screens, black roofs, rusted AC, etc. That being said we were looking for a non touristy place along one of the main bus lines and this was it. Although, it is overpriced. We could have stayed at the Fairmont for $5 less per night. In comparison this is the average US $50-$70 motel of Bermuda. Certainly habitable, but since you are paying Bermuda prices most people would expect more. Nice staff, clean room, but needs some serious maintenance and upgrades. We had a good time, because we always go off site exploring, but will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent and very reasonable BBQ take out only 1/4 mile to the left on the main road.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ferret
Point Pleasant, NJ, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Surf Side Beach Club

My family of four rented a two cottages, which was the perfect amount of space to relax and enjoy each others company. The location was great for all transportation and the 'private' beach is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flanagan's restaurant service and food was excellent. No restaurant is inexpensive, so don't try to save money on meals.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savannah Travelers
Savannah, GA, USA
Jan 1, 2012

Off Season Getaway

Nice little hotel. The sunset view from the room was amazing. The kitchen was nice to have, especially on nights we were to tired to go out. From this location having a scooter all week made it easy to get around. Off season is a great time to go, we hardly saw another person all week and the hotel was quiet at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Go straight over Cobb hill road and to the left to get to a big grocer. You can cook breakfast and some other meals in your room.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search