$175 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Mar 29, 2015 Check-out: Mar 31, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
56 out of 56
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ea179
Business
New York
May 6, 2013

Fantastic for Family/couple/group of friends for no Pressure

This hotel was exactly what we expected: low key but amazing location, and perfect house keeping !! You have to take the time to know the staff to really appreciate the depth of their kindness, which is deep! We traveled quite a bit (Australia, Corsica, Riviera, California), but NOTHING compares to the beauty and peacefulness of the private beach of the hotel. We loved every moment, from morning to evening. Ambiance out of time and stress. The ocean view, adorable guests and no party/loud music, for a perfect gateway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even the local store, which is the gas station, 2 minutes walk from the hotel, is "perfect": deli hot food, wine, beers,milk.....

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Three girls
Business
Toronto, Canada
Apr 3, 2013

Enjoyed it

Overall we enjoyed the stay in this place. The private beach is quiet and the rooms are well-equipped with all the facilities you need - although some of them looked old they are all functioning. The major drawback is the slow network (both wifi and the wired computer in the lobby) and no dining options available nearby (there are takeout menus in room but we didn't order). The room we had was spacious. Also when booking there was a note saying price in April includes breakfast but the manager told us no meals whatsoever.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Harry Giberson
Business
Mt. Laurel, NJ
Sep 5, 2012

surf side beach

know that this hotel has no restaurant or bar, we decided to go back again this year. what a bad decision. the hotel was almost a ghost town. staff was ok only one person. office closed at 3 pm. since the weather was nice we went to the pool , another mistake it was dirty and was told that they dont clean it weekends. after 4 years there we have decided not to go back . would not recomend

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dick and Sue
Business
New Hampshire
Aug 18, 2012

Latest Stay

My wife and I are just back from 5 days at Surfside. If you want posh and pampered, it's not for you. If you want the most gorgeous view on the island, this is the place. Bryan is the best!! He'll take good care of you. Rich and Sue

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Frog and Onion in Dockyard. Great Pub and food. Not too expensive

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadR
Business
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2012

Great Location, OK everything else

First let me say that for the money you wont find much better on the island. Its just minutes from the best beaches on the South side, a short 10-15 minute to Hamilton and just a mile or two from 2 separate grocery stores. Since there was a kitchen in our unit, we saved a lot of money on food which is very expensive on the island. Groceries are about 1.5-2x more expensive than on the mainland but still cheaper than going out to eat where you wont spend less than $30 or more for two people, with the average being $40-$50 or more with alcohol. It is near a couple of restaurants, like the popular and delicious Swizzle #2, or Q's a BBQ place which was ok. There is no food on site. The beach at the hotel is awesome, with decent snorkeling off of some reefs with little to no one else sharing the long strand. The staff will give you umbrellas for free, which will cost you $15 to rent at the more expensive locations, or $40 to buy in a store. The downsides are that the place can use some major upgrades. The kitchen unit while convenient was only stocked with the basic utensils and cookware, but we made the most with what we had. They do supply a coffee maker and free coffee. The fridge was large enough for food and drink for 2 to 3. The air conditioner was rusting and falling apart, just like parts of the rest of the building, with chipped paint here and there, a hole in the pool, and an somewhat uncomfortable and creaking bed. On the plus side, you've got your own ocean view from the balcony, the staff is extremely helpful, and even arranged to have the scooter company come pick us up for rentals, and fulfilled any requests we had. If I go back to Bermuda, which is highly likely, I would still stay here knowing the the good outweighs the slight annoyances and old amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money on food, and use the kitchens in the room. You can eat out on your balcony, and bring food to the beach. We even brought some beers down since the beach is so close.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leoandtimmy
Business
Millbury, MA
Jun 12, 2012

Would Stay Again in a "New York" Minute!

We booked this hotel because of it's location. We heard that it was "tired but clean". We found that to be true. We have to say that we had an extraordinary stay! We found the staff to be more-than-accommodating. In fact, Terry walked us down to the South Rd. to get us to a taxi. That was much more than he needed(or was expected) to do. Bryony (the manager) was wonderful and Brian was a delight, he making sure that every request of ours was fulfilled. The location was superb and the beach(we heard that it can come and go) was fantastic! We want to go back next year. Thanks Surfside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
AndrDB
Business
Laurel MD USA
May 31, 2012

Great location but a bit rundown

The hotel is located in the south shore in Paget between the Coco Reef and The Reef. The location is awesome with a stunning view, for me the best location in the island. On Memorial Day there were very few guests and was very quiet which for us was a great plus. The rooms are all facing the ocean. Overall the resort is nice, clean but it does look a little rundown. It needs some fixing and love so to speak. There is no restaurant and no cafeteria but having a kitchen in the room solved this issue. There is a central area with a pool and a restaurant (closed) which is nice. The garden around the pool is well maintained but again in general the whole place would definitely make use of a nice makeup. Our room was nice and clean but for example the sliding door had a broken handle and the screen is about to fall off although still functional. Bathroom was clean with hot and cold water although the shower head was basically shot. Table and chairs in the small garden outside the room were functional although more on the rusty side. All the above are to me things that would not ruin my vacation so overall we had a great time and would go back but if you are looking for a resort in pristine conditions this is not the right one. One more thing, the Surf Side has no beach! There was one but it was washed away and damaged (perhaps by a hurricane). There is a beach not too far away that can be reached from the resort if you are willing to walk 10 min and do some mild climbing on the rocks and the ruins of whatever is left of the beach resort. If you want to have a beach outside your room this is not the place for you. On the plus side nobody is ever on that 10 min away beach so if you get there it is just you, the pink sand and the emerald waters of Bermuda. I had a great time and overall I liked the resort but for the same price I would go back to the Coco Reef which is same level, same shore, similar layout but taken care of with a small beach and restaurant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Henry VIII and the Swizzle Restaurants (walking distance).

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lu1959
Business
Boston
May 23, 2012

Bermuda

Don't stay at Surfside. I have slummed it before, but when someone wants to hand me a bucket to flush the toilet all night I draw the line. They seemed surprised when I asked to be moved to a room with a functioning toilet! Great view, very tired and dirty rooms. I still love Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great pub nearby. Swizzle.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Surprised Vet
Business
Upstate NY
May 7, 2012

Warning for first timers

This was our third trip to Bermuda, but the first to this location. Be wary when looking at the photos because they are not near representative of the current condition. Missing handrails, torn screens, black roofs, rusted AC, etc. That being said we were looking for a non touristy place along one of the main bus lines and this was it. Although, it is overpriced. We could have stayed at the Fairmont for $5 less per night. In comparison this is the average US $50-$70 motel of Bermuda. Certainly habitable, but since you are paying Bermuda prices most people would expect more. Nice staff, clean room, but needs some serious maintenance and upgrades. We had a good time, because we always go off site exploring, but will not be returning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Excellent and very reasonable BBQ take out only 1/4 mile to the left on the main road.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Ferret
Business
Point Pleasant, NJ, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Surf Side Beach Club

My family of four rented a two cottages, which was the perfect amount of space to relax and enjoy each others company. The location was great for all transportation and the 'private' beach is beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Flanagan's restaurant service and food was excellent. No restaurant is inexpensive, so don't try to save money on meals.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top