$220 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 12, 2015 Check-out: Jul 15, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
View map of 90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05

Hotel Overview

Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
57 reviews
WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY... See full review

  • CAROL BEACH BUM
  • May 11, 2014
Nice spot

This hotel is very nice. Has a great view and is located right near a main bus route. See full review

  • Warrick T.
  • Mar 24, 2015

Surf Side Beach Club, in Warwick Parish on Bermuda's south shore, features cottages, apartments, and suites with fully equipped kitchens, all overlooking the ocean and private beach in a natural and relaxed ambience. Guests describe this low-key resort as peaceful and charming. Amenities include a freshwater pool, hair and beauty salon, and a public compute in the lobby.

Rooms

Each one- or two-bedroom suite comes with king bed or two twin beds, full kitchen, and a patio or balcony overlooking the ocean. All rooms have cable television, hair dryer, and iron with ironing board. Kitchens come equipped with refrigerator, conventional and microwave ovens, and an electric coffee maker. Three-bedroom Cliffside Suites include double fireplace and separate dining room.

Property features

The pink-sand beach provides the perfect spot for long walks, especially at sunrise or sunset, as does the resort's beautifully landscapes grounds.

 

The Hideaway at Surf Side, a hair and beauty salon, features a European-trained beauty consultant. This mini spa specializes in manicures, pedicures, massages, facials, hair care, reflexology, waxing, and more.

 

Coin-operated laundry facilities are available.

Highlights

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Freshwater pool
  • Hair and beauty salon

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Public buses run every 15 minutes from the foot of the driveway
  • Many Bermuda visitors take advantage of the island's scooter and bicycle rental services 

Policies

  • Some room rates include one of two meal plans with a la carte breakfast or breakfast and selected dinner menu in the Palms Restaurant. 
  • Restaurant may be closed during the off-season. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Top hotels

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surf Side Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Surf Side Beach Club Rooms

Ocean View One-Bedroom Suite - N
Ocean View One-Bedroom Suite - Non-Smoking One bedroom, bathroom, spacious living room, fully
Ocean View Deluxe Studio - Non-S
Ocean View Deluxe Studio - Non-Smoking Spacious, attractively appointed bedroom with bathroom

Amenities

  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
Air conditioned
No smoking rooms/facilities
Elevators
24 hour security
Activities
Outdoor pool
Dining
Coffee maker in room
Services
Laundry service
Express checkout
Concierge desk
Security
Wake-up service
Tour desk
Porters
Copy service
Parking
Parking
Valet parking
Accessibility
Accessible facilities
Room
Television with cable
Telephone
Kitchen
Sitting area
Sprinklers in rooms

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
02:00 PM
Check-out:
11:30 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
57 out of 57
Amenities:
2.9
Cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.8
Comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.6

74% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
leoandtimmy
Millbury, MA
Jun 12, 2012

Would Stay Again in a "New York" Minute!

We booked this hotel because of it's location. We heard that it was "tired but clean". We found that to be true. We have to say that we had an extraordinary stay! We found the staff to be more-than-accommodating. In fact, Terry walked us down to the South Rd. to get us to a taxi. That was much more than he needed(or was expected) to do. Bryony (the manager) was wonderful and Brian was a delight, he making sure that every request of ours was fulfilled. The location was superb and the beach(we heard that it can come and go) was fantastic! We want to go back next year. Thanks Surfside!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Warrick T.
Business
Dallas
Mar 24, 2015

Nice spot

This hotel is very nice. Has a great view and is located right near a main bus route.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krate
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2014

The Great Dissapointment

Upon arriving in Bermuda, my boyfriend and I were ecstatic to be in such a verdant paradise to celebrate his birthday with friends over the weekend. We headed straight to our hotel from the airport, looking forward to what had appeared to be a jaw-dropping hotel that overlooked the great Atlantic. When we arrived all of our hopes were crushed. The location of the hotel is of course beautiful as it is overlooking the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, but anywhere on Bermuda Island is picturesque, which is why I rated the location "average". And how can one enjoy the beautiful view from a deck that is decrepit and without any comfortable chairs or adornments that would aspire to match the beauty of the surrounding environs? It is literally a concrete slab with two plastic chairs. The first room we were put in, #32, was absolutely unacceptable. The walls were scuffed and falling apart. The bathroom tub had a huge rust streak and the tub mat desperately needed to be replaced as it was mildewy and engrained with filth. The water pressure in the shower was also lacking in this room, possibly due to the build up of lime deposits in the showerhead. There was a kitchen with no sink and no welcoming basket (i.e. fruits, water). I've never been to a hotel that I paid $300/night for that didn't offer complimentary water! The receptionist told us we could go buy water from the vending machine down by the pool. To top off the unacceptability of this room, we discovered what appeared to be a queen-sized bed was in fact two twin beds pushed together. For a couple on vacation celebrating a special occasion, this is of course unacceptable. Since that topped it off, we went to ask the front desk for a room change. The receptionist was reluctant to help and we really had to urge her and even threaten to leave the hotel altogether before she called her manager. The manager okay'ed that she switch our room to room #29. Room #29 was a small step up, just enough for it to be livable for the weekend. It had a real king-sized bed, no huge rust streak in the tub (but still a filthy bath mat) and walls that were in slightly better shape. It, however, is still a completely unacceptable room for the rate. Also be aware that there is no food available on the premise. There are also no drinks except what is available in the vending machine so if you want to enjoy a cocktail on the deck or by the pool, you'll have to do some shopping. The staff was very lackadaisical and seemed to be lacking in motivation to serve their guests. I don't blame them as I am sure it is hard to have pride in a job that constantly involves disappointed guests. This was a incredibly upsetting stay and I am outraged to have spent what I did for such a negative experience. Do NOT stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mickey's restaurant is delicious for lunch.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyglass
Business
North Carolina
Jul 12, 2014

Gorgeous View

The view from our porch and the sound of the surf were fantastic. The small kitchen or kitchenette was useful to us. The actual cottage was not fancy,with painted cinder-block walls and older kitchen appliances, but we did not sit inside much, just slept inside. The mattress was comfortable. The singing frogs of Bermuda were audible unless we had the air conditioning running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous897987245
Business
NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Great location and view but poorly maintained

The hotel offers breathtaking view of the ocean. However, the room was in a very poor condition. There were bugs in the room. The room had balcony but it was not accessible and the door was locked. The pool water was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MC352014
Business
New York
May 28, 2014

Needs Work

The view was wonderful but pricey for the poor amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAROL BEACH BUM
Business
KENNETT SQUARE PA MUSHROOM CAPITAL OF THE WORLD
May 11, 2014

WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY COME BACK TO THIS VILLA!!! THANK YOU CAROL DINENNO TOBACCO BAY, HORSESHOE BAY WALKING ALL AROUND HAMILTON, ST GEORGE AND DOCKYARD (SNORKEL BEACH, TOO!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ALL BEACHES

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsMinerva
Business
Jersey Shore
Apr 21, 2014

Beautiful Bermuda experience for the adventurous

If you have a sense of adventure and are looking for a unique Bermuda experience, then this might just be the place for you. Truly, the grounds and views are amazing. From my second floor balcony, the sweeping south west scene encompassed a wide swath of rocky cliff-bordered turquoise blue ocean and (yes) a strip of pink sand beach. Natural greenery was everywhere, with coconut palms swaying in the breeze, several types of flowering cacti, wildflowers, and hundreds of recently planted petunias and geraniums adding bright color to the adequately maintained grounds. Every morning the groundskeeper was out with his loppers and lawn mower. You can walk down several flights of concrete and stone stairs, with walled "nest" lookouts along the way, to the rocky beach with enough sand to sit down on your towel, and at low tide, make your way over some more rocks to a slightly larger beach. Since my visit was in mid April, the winds were blowing and the surf was rough, but I did manage to get my feet wet and enjoy the awesome beauty and solitude of this isolated beach with only the cliffs, birds and sky (Oh, yes, and my husband ;) remember to use the buddy system, as I said this beach is for the adventurous!) Our stay was 5 nights. Photos give an accurate depiction of the furnishings.The room was clean and the furniture standard, but solid. The kitchen was dated, but adequate, with a small fridge (there were ice cubes ready in the freezer when we arrived, a nice touch), microwave and coffee-maker which we used, and an electric stove we did not. A baggie with coffee, and packets of sugar and powdered creamer are provided. I brought my own, however. Floors are large tile, and the room painted a pretty coral. We were very happy with housekeeping, who accommodated all our typical requests. Fresh towels every morning, etc. These rooms are ON THE OCEAN, with the natural effects of such being evident on metal surfaces. The french door screen was ripped, but since there were no bugs this time of year, it was not a problem. The balcony's wooden railing could stand a new coat of paint, and one lawn type chair had rusted to the point of us asking it be removed, but a glass top table, another chair, and a chaise that looked new were fine. We had our coffee with the sun and the birds every morning; cocktails with the stars at night. And always the crash of the waves. The location is excellent in many other respects. A relatively short walk (NOT 2 football fields as one reviewer stated) along a palm-tree and flower lined driveway places you out at the road right in front of a bus stop. Get a bus/ferry combined pass and go anywhere on the island. The SWIZZLE restaurant is an approx. 8 minute walk,and this is important to anyone who has experienced the roads and traffic in Bermuda, there are SIDEWALKS the entire way! There is also a mini-mart approx. 5 min walk, and as other reviewers have stated, everything is uber expensive. So, there you have it. According to those in the know, the Surf Side Beach Club was a first class resort in its day, more than 35 years ago, and is on its third set of owners. The pool and surrounding area are still in good shape, but there is no food available. A soda machine poolside was out of order, but another one under the room 41 stairs exists and works(1.50 per can, a real bargain !) as does a small commercial washer & dryer for customer use- 8 quarters needed for each. There is the good, and the not so. It all depends on what type of vacation you are looking for. Nothing formal here, but beautiful, natural surroundings, just what we wanted, and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a bus/ferry pass, map & schedule. Take the bus west to the Dockyard. Make sure to eat at least one meal at the Frog and Onion Pub. Visit the Commissioner's House. Plan to take the ferry from the Dockyard all the way along the northern shore to St. Georges, or vice versa. The buses also stop at all the beaches and bays. Explore!

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston gang
Business
Northampton
Jan 18, 2014

horrible said to say

We spent two days of our vacation trying to get out of here. Surf side was a nice spot in its day but now it's falling apart. Don't ruin your vacation by starting here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
still love bermuda
Business
NH
Jun 25, 2013

do not book

This is a motel at best, not worth the money at all. The room smelled of stale cigarettes, and there was a small lizard in the room on our first day. The gentleman at the front desk helped to remove the lizard, but it reappeared the next day. The rooms do not have all the "amenities" that are listed, and there is no beach, just a sad strip of sand. We made the best of our stay by being away from this "hotel". We still love Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queenbee2
Business
Hershey Pa.
Jun 1, 2013

Rundown Resort

Fantastic location and great view down to the ocean.This was a great place a few years ago ,but has been let go e,g, needs a new paint job,torn door screens in rooms ,broken rails on upper room balconies,weeds growing between pool area tiles ,rooms closed for whatever reason . No beach it was washed out last year, closest is 5 min down the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For $300 a night a rip off.Try Sandpiper apts.$140 a night 2 min. away

Back to menu Return to top