$180 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Oct 13, 2014 Check-out: Oct 15, 2014

Surf Side Beach Club

3 stars
90 South Shore Road, Paget, WK05
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.4
out of 5
55 reviews
WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY... See full review

  • CAROL BEACH BUM
  • May 11, 2014
Gorgeous View

The view from our porch and the sound of the surf were fantastic. The small kitchen or kitchenette... See full review

  • Spyglass
  • Jul 12, 2014
Romantic getaway on lovely south shore beach

Surf Side Beach Club, in Warwick Parish on Bermuda's south shore, features cottages, apartments, and suites with fully equipped kitchens, all overlooking the ocean and private beach in a natural and relaxed ambience. Guests describe this low-key resort as peaceful and charming. Amenities include a freshwater pool, hair and beauty salon, and a public compute in the lobby.

Highlights

  • Complimentary Wi-Fi access
  • Freshwater pool
  • Hair and beauty salon

Rooms

Each one- or two-bedroom suite comes with king bed or two twin beds, full kitchen, and a patio or balcony overlooking the ocean. All rooms have cable television, hair dryer, and iron with ironing board. Kitchens come equipped with refrigerator, conventional and microwave ovens, and an electric coffee maker. Three-bedroom Cliffside Suites include double fireplace and separate dining room.

Features

The pink-sand beach provides the perfect spot for long walks, especially at sunrise or sunset, as does the resort's beautifully landscapes grounds.

 

The Hideaway at Surf Side, a hair and beauty salon, features a European-trained beauty consultant. This mini spa specializes in manicures, pedicures, massages, facials, hair care, reflexology, waxing, and more.

 

Coin-operated laundry facilities are available.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (11 mi/17.7 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Public buses run every 15 minutes from the foot of the driveway
  • Many Bermuda visitors take advantage of the island's scooter and bicycle rental services 

Nearby attractions

  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3 mi/4.8km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 km)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Policies and fees

  • Some room rates include one of two meal plans with a la carte breakfast or breakfast and selected dinner menu in the Palms Restaurant. 
  • Restaurant may be closed during the off-season. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2619 -64.8031
Area served
Warwick, Bermuda
Nearby airports
BDA
Area description
Set in beautifully landscaped grounds leading to the private beach - natural cliffside location on the South Shore in Warwick Parish, Bermuda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Surf Side Beach Club also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5

Amenities

  • Free internet
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Pet friendly
Activities
Outdoor pool
Spa
Services
Barber/Beauty shop
Internet
Free internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities
Service dogs allowed
Service animals allowed

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1400
Check-out:
1130

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (55)

Ratings and reviews for Surf Side Beach Club

Overall score

3.4 / 5
5.01.0
55 out of 55
Amenities:
2.9
Room cleanliness:
3.6
Hotel staff:
3.7
Room comfort:
3.6
Location:
4.3
Value:
3.5

73% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ChadR
Portland, OR
Jul 13, 2012

Great Location, OK everything else

First let me say that for the money you wont find much better on the island. Its just minutes from the best beaches on the South side, a short 10-15 minute to Hamilton and just a mile or two from 2 separate grocery stores. Since there was a kitchen in our unit, we saved a lot of money on food which is very expensive on the island. Groceries are about 1.5-2x more expensive than on the mainland but still cheaper than going out to eat where you wont spend less than $30 or more for two people, with the average being $40-$50 or more with alcohol. It is near a couple of restaurants, like the popular and delicious Swizzle #2, or Q's a BBQ place which was ok. There is no food on site. The beach at the hotel is awesome, with decent snorkeling off of some reefs with little to no one else sharing the long strand. The staff will give you umbrellas for free, which will cost you $15 to rent at the more expensive locations, or $40 to buy in a store. The downsides are that the place can use some major upgrades. The kitchen unit while convenient was only stocked with the basic utensils and cookware, but we made the most with what we had. They do supply a coffee maker and free coffee. The fridge was large enough for food and drink for 2 to 3. The air conditioner was rusting and falling apart, just like parts of the rest of the building, with chipped paint here and there, a hole in the pool, and an somewhat uncomfortable and creaking bed. On the plus side, you've got your own ocean view from the balcony, the staff is extremely helpful, and even arranged to have the scooter company come pick us up for rentals, and fulfilled any requests we had. If I go back to Bermuda, which is highly likely, I would still stay here knowing the the good outweighs the slight annoyances and old amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Save money on food, and use the kitchens in the room. You can eat out on your balcony, and bring food to the beach. We even brought some beers down since the beach is so close.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Krate
Brooklyn, NY
Jul 16, 2014

The Great Dissapointment

Upon arriving in Bermuda, my boyfriend and I were ecstatic to be in such a verdant paradise to celebrate his birthday with friends over the weekend. We headed straight to our hotel from the airport, looking forward to what had appeared to be a jaw-dropping hotel that overlooked the great Atlantic. When we arrived all of our hopes were crushed. The location of the hotel is of course beautiful as it is overlooking the turquoise waters of the Atlantic, but anywhere on Bermuda Island is picturesque, which is why I rated the location "average". And how can one enjoy the beautiful view from a deck that is decrepit and without any comfortable chairs or adornments that would aspire to match the beauty of the surrounding environs? It is literally a concrete slab with two plastic chairs. The first room we were put in, #32, was absolutely unacceptable. The walls were scuffed and falling apart. The bathroom tub had a huge rust streak and the tub mat desperately needed to be replaced as it was mildewy and engrained with filth. The water pressure in the shower was also lacking in this room, possibly due to the build up of lime deposits in the showerhead. There was a kitchen with no sink and no welcoming basket (i.e. fruits, water). I've never been to a hotel that I paid $300/night for that didn't offer complimentary water! The receptionist told us we could go buy water from the vending machine down by the pool. To top off the unacceptability of this room, we discovered what appeared to be a queen-sized bed was in fact two twin beds pushed together. For a couple on vacation celebrating a special occasion, this is of course unacceptable. Since that topped it off, we went to ask the front desk for a room change. The receptionist was reluctant to help and we really had to urge her and even threaten to leave the hotel altogether before she called her manager. The manager okay'ed that she switch our room to room #29. Room #29 was a small step up, just enough for it to be livable for the weekend. It had a real king-sized bed, no huge rust streak in the tub (but still a filthy bath mat) and walls that were in slightly better shape. It, however, is still a completely unacceptable room for the rate. Also be aware that there is no food available on the premise. There are also no drinks except what is available in the vending machine so if you want to enjoy a cocktail on the deck or by the pool, you'll have to do some shopping. The staff was very lackadaisical and seemed to be lacking in motivation to serve their guests. I don't blame them as I am sure it is hard to have pride in a job that constantly involves disappointed guests. This was a incredibly upsetting stay and I am outraged to have spent what I did for such a negative experience. Do NOT stay here.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Mickey's restaurant is delicious for lunch.

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Spyglass
North Carolina
Jul 12, 2014

Gorgeous View

The view from our porch and the sound of the surf were fantastic. The small kitchen or kitchenette was useful to us. The actual cottage was not fancy,with painted cinder-block walls and older kitchen appliances, but we did not sit inside much, just slept inside. The mattress was comfortable. The singing frogs of Bermuda were audible unless we had the air conditioning running.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
anonymous897987245
NJ
Jul 7, 2014

Great location and view but poorly maintained

The hotel offers breathtaking view of the ocean. However, the room was in a very poor condition. There were bugs in the room. The room had balcony but it was not accessible and the door was locked. The pool water was not clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MC352014
New York
May 28, 2014

Needs Work

The view was wonderful but pricey for the poor amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
CAROL BEACH BUM
KENNETT SQUARE PA MUSHROOM CAPITAL OF THE WORLD
May 11, 2014

WONDERFUL!!

WE WERE VERY PLEASED WITH OUR ROOM!! JUST LIKE HOME BUT IN BEAUTIFUL"BERMUDA" WE WOULD DEFINITELY COME BACK TO THIS VILLA!!! THANK YOU CAROL DINENNO TOBACCO BAY, HORSESHOE BAY WALKING ALL AROUND HAMILTON, ST GEORGE AND DOCKYARD (SNORKEL BEACH, TOO!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

ALL BEACHES

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MsMinerva
Jersey Shore
Apr 21, 2014

Beautiful Bermuda experience for the adventurous

If you have a sense of adventure and are looking for a unique Bermuda experience, then this might just be the place for you. Truly, the grounds and views are amazing. From my second floor balcony, the sweeping south west scene encompassed a wide swath of rocky cliff-bordered turquoise blue ocean and (yes) a strip of pink sand beach. Natural greenery was everywhere, with coconut palms swaying in the breeze, several types of flowering cacti, wildflowers, and hundreds of recently planted petunias and geraniums adding bright color to the adequately maintained grounds. Every morning the groundskeeper was out with his loppers and lawn mower. You can walk down several flights of concrete and stone stairs, with walled "nest" lookouts along the way, to the rocky beach with enough sand to sit down on your towel, and at low tide, make your way over some more rocks to a slightly larger beach. Since my visit was in mid April, the winds were blowing and the surf was rough, but I did manage to get my feet wet and enjoy the awesome beauty and solitude of this isolated beach with only the cliffs, birds and sky (Oh, yes, and my husband ;) remember to use the buddy system, as I said this beach is for the adventurous!) Our stay was 5 nights. Photos give an accurate depiction of the furnishings.The room was clean and the furniture standard, but solid. The kitchen was dated, but adequate, with a small fridge (there were ice cubes ready in the freezer when we arrived, a nice touch), microwave and coffee-maker which we used, and an electric stove we did not. A baggie with coffee, and packets of sugar and powdered creamer are provided. I brought my own, however. Floors are large tile, and the room painted a pretty coral. We were very happy with housekeeping, who accommodated all our typical requests. Fresh towels every morning, etc. These rooms are ON THE OCEAN, with the natural effects of such being evident on metal surfaces. The french door screen was ripped, but since there were no bugs this time of year, it was not a problem. The balcony's wooden railing could stand a new coat of paint, and one lawn type chair had rusted to the point of us asking it be removed, but a glass top table, another chair, and a chaise that looked new were fine. We had our coffee with the sun and the birds every morning; cocktails with the stars at night. And always the crash of the waves. The location is excellent in many other respects. A relatively short walk (NOT 2 football fields as one reviewer stated) along a palm-tree and flower lined driveway places you out at the road right in front of a bus stop. Get a bus/ferry combined pass and go anywhere on the island. The SWIZZLE restaurant is an approx. 8 minute walk,and this is important to anyone who has experienced the roads and traffic in Bermuda, there are SIDEWALKS the entire way! There is also a mini-mart approx. 5 min walk, and as other reviewers have stated, everything is uber expensive. So, there you have it. According to those in the know, the Surf Side Beach Club was a first class resort in its day, more than 35 years ago, and is on its third set of owners. The pool and surrounding area are still in good shape, but there is no food available. A soda machine poolside was out of order, but another one under the room 41 stairs exists and works(1.50 per can, a real bargain !) as does a small commercial washer & dryer for customer use- 8 quarters needed for each. There is the good, and the not so. It all depends on what type of vacation you are looking for. Nothing formal here, but beautiful, natural surroundings, just what we wanted, and we will return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Get a bus/ferry pass, map & schedule. Take the bus west to the Dockyard. Make sure to eat at least one meal at the Frog and Onion Pub. Visit the Commissioner's House. Plan to take the ferry from the Dockyard all the way along the northern shore to St. Georges, or vice versa. The buses also stop at all the beaches and bays. Explore!

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Boston gang
Northampton
Jan 18, 2014

horrible said to say

We spent two days of our vacation trying to get out of here. Surf side was a nice spot in its day but now it's falling apart. Don't ruin your vacation by starting here

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
still love bermuda
NH
Jun 25, 2013

do not book

This is a motel at best, not worth the money at all. The room smelled of stale cigarettes, and there was a small lizard in the room on our first day. The gentleman at the front desk helped to remove the lizard, but it reappeared the next day. The rooms do not have all the "amenities" that are listed, and there is no beach, just a sad strip of sand. We made the best of our stay by being away from this "hotel". We still love Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
2
Value:
1
Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
queenbee2
Hershey Pa.
Jun 1, 2013

Rundown Resort

Fantastic location and great view down to the ocean.This was a great place a few years ago ,but has been let go e,g, needs a new paint job,torn door screens in rooms ,broken rails on upper room balconies,weeds growing between pool area tiles ,rooms closed for whatever reason . No beach it was washed out last year, closest is 5 min down the road

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

For $300 a night a rip off.Try Sandpiper apts.$140 a night 2 min. away

Review of Surf Side Beach Club

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ea179
New York
May 6, 2013

Fantastic for Family/couple/group of friends for no Pressure

This hotel was exactly what we expected: low key but amazing location, and perfect house keeping !! You have to take the time to know the staff to really appreciate the depth of their kindness, which is deep! We traveled quite a bit (Australia, Corsica, Riviera, California), but NOTHING compares to the beauty and peacefulness of the private beach of the hotel. We loved every moment, from morning to evening. Ambiance out of time and stress. The ocean view, adorable guests and no party/loud music, for a perfect gateway.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Even the local store, which is the gas station, 2 minutes walk from the hotel, is "perfect": deli hot food, wine, beers,milk.....

Back to menu Return to top

Change search