$725 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 1, 2014 Check-out: Aug 3, 2014

Elbow Beach Bermuda

4 stars
60 South Shore Road, Paget Parish, Paget, PG04
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.0
out of 5
121 reviews
Great Anniversary Trip

We love Elbow Beach. It is the only place we will stay in Bermuda.The staff is very responsive and... See full review

  • Laura H
  • May 18, 2013
Fantastic Anniversary Trip!!!

We went to celebrate our 35th wedding anniversary. The weather wasn't so good - chilly, some rain,... See full review

  • Philcousa
  • Apr 3, 2013
Intimate luxury hotel on Elbow Beach with pool and spa
This idyllic, intimate luxury resort, just seven minutes from Hamilton, features 98 guest rooms and suites amid 50 acres of landscaped gardens. All rooms offer either garden or ocean views. Guests relax on a private beach dusted with pink sand and lapped by a turquoise sea. Amenities at the Mandarin Oriental property include a pool, spa, fitness room, and several dining options.
Highlights

  • Classic hotel on Bermuda's most beautiful beach
  • Full service at pool and beach
  • Luxurious spa
  • Business center

Rooms

All rooms have a private patio or balcony, and many include a pull-out sofa bed. Other amenities include flat-screen LCD televisions with high-definition cable channels and brand-new DVD systems, iron and ironing board, radio and alarm clock, luxury goose down and feather pillows, duvets by Ploh, mini-bar, and safe. Work area and high-speed Internet access are standard. Marbled bathrooms feature a large tub and separate shower, hair dryer, bathroom scale, and luxurious essential bath amenities by Aromatherapy Associates.

Features

The Spa at Elbow Beach features six individual spa suites, with balconies that provide spectacular garden and ocean views. Each spa suite features a granite soaking tub, bamboo flooring, and a river pebble-lined steam shower. Holistic treatments include massages, essential oils, aromatherapy, and much more.

 

On-premises dining and drinking options include Mickey's Bistro -- right on the beach -- plus the widely popular Seabreeze casual restaurant, the Lido dining room, the poolside Blue Point, and the hip Deep Lounge.

 

The resort offers a modern fitness room, temperature-controlled swimming pool, nine-hole putting green, five tennis courts (some lit for night play), a kids' club, and an on-site dive shop.

Transportation

  • L.F. Wade International Airport (12 mi/19.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda 
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Scooter and bicycle rentals are popular for exploring the island

Nearby attractions

  • Aquatic Bermuda snorkeling charters (4.8 mi/7.7 km)
  • Gibb's Hill Lighthouse (2.6 mi/4.2 m)
  • Crystal Caves (9.8 mi/15.8 km)

Business

  • Business center with high-speed Internet access
  • Multiple meeting venues
  • Dedicated staff for each meeting

Policies and fees
  • Main building is currently under renovation. 

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3333 -64.75
Area served
Centrally located in Paget Parish on Bermuda’s best beach (South Shore) overlooking the Atlantic Ocean. It’s only a 5 minute drive away from charming Hamilton, the island's capital, and a 25 minute drive away from L.F. Wade International Airport.
Nearby airports
L.F. Wade International Airport (BDA) in St. George's.
Area description
Centrally located on the island's most spectacular pink sand beach amongst 50 acres of landscaped gardens. Five minutes from charming downtown Hamilton and 25 minutes from L.F. Wade International Airport.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Elbow Beach Bermuda also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.5 out of 5

Elbow Beach Bermuda Rooms

Premier Room
Luxurious, large and newly renovated rooms with private terrace, flat screen TVs, DVD players, separate shower and tub. Within a few steps from beach. Ocean or garden view. Located in cottages in the gardens. One king size bed or two full-size beds. Some with sofabed. 480 sq feet.

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Night club
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
24 hour room service
Services
Business center
Childcare Service
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Barber/Beauty shop
Conference facilities
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our meeting facilities offer over 4,500 square feet of ocean-view function space with room options - both indoors and out. Perfectly located overlooking the Atlantic Ocean, Elbow Beach is ideal for small groups looking for personalized attention and superior customer service. Weddings and group functions can also be arranged on our private stretch of pink sand beach.

Dining

Mickey's
Bermuda's only on-the-beach bistro, set amongst palm trees on one of the island's most famous beaches. Enjoy unobstructed views of the ocean while enjoying a light lunch or romantic dinner. Reservation is recommended. Opening Hours are seasonal (April – December) Dinner: 6:30pm –11pm Beach service: 10am – 6pm Bar service: 10am – 1am
Blue Point Poolside Restaurant
Serving poolside lunch daily. Fresh light fare and delicious desserts. Seasonal evening buffets. Monday - Sunday Lunch:12pm – 4pm (seasonal) Dinner: Saturdays:6:30pm – 9:30pm (seasonal) Bar: 11am – 5pm
Deep
Bermuda's hottest and most exotic nightclub offers superb champagne, wine and cocktail lists to make every night go with a swing.
Lido
Meditterranean restaurant located on the beach terrace, with breathtaking ocean views. Monday – Sunday Breakfast: 7am to 11am Lunch: 12 noon to 2:30 pm Dinner: 6:30pm –10pm
Sea Breeze Terrace
Tapas and sushi are offered in this al fresco dining restaurant. Located on hotel's ocean terrace it is perfect for evening drinks under the stars with a sea breeze. Monday - Sunday Sushi & Tapas: 6pm – 1am Bar: 5pm – 2am

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (121)

Ratings and reviews for Elbow Beach Bermuda

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
121 out of 121
Amenities:
4.2
Room cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Room comfort:
4.3
Location:
4.7
Value:
3.5

80% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
LutherJBurbank
New York
Oct 29, 2013

A taste of Old Bermuda it’s not…

If you long for High teas and echoes of the Old British-Bermudian way of life The Elbow Beach is not for you. The actual hotel stands empty. Ominously awaiting refurbishment, or is it destruction? The once gloriously bustling lobby is dimly lit and slightly seedy. The old wood paneled bar is still there but there is no cheery barman to pour you your favourite single malt or rum swizzle. Now, in its place, there is a pool table. Gone are the high teas on the terrace. Gone are the shops where you could buy anything from Bermuda shorts to postcards. Everything slightly sad and distressed and it reminds one of “The Shining”. Jack Torrance would have been at home here. We arrived and it was raining. In the evening, we sat in the Tapas Bar, the rain leaking though the roof, only to be harangued by the Indonesian wait staff. It eerily reminded me of a scene in “Blade Runner” the staff running back and forth in the rain from the kitchen to the restaurant covering the food with whatever to prevent the rain from soaking into the mediocre food. One thing remains constant, the wonderful bell staff. The same men that have been there since I started coming over ten years ago. Some of these men have put over twenty years of service into Elbow Beach. It didn’t seem right to ask them what they thought of the new regime. But I’ll tell you “Not much!”

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
Jul 21, 2009

WORST ROOM OF MY LIFE!

We stayed in the main hotel which was a HUGE mistake. Our room had a dehumidifier in it which leaked and caused the carpet to have a large wet stain for our entire stay. Because of this the room STUNK HORRIBLY. We tried to get a room change but the hotel was booked solid. I DREADED returning to the room at the end of the day. The hallway carpets should have been replaced YEARS ago. I felt like I was in a cheap motel walking down the hallway. The bathroom was very small; the door hit the toilet as you opened it. There is very little counter space in the bathroom; i had to keep most of my toiletries in the nightstand. Manderin Oriental should be ashamed. If an executive were to walk in that room they would be horrified..... (When booking we thought we couldnt go wrong because the hotel is a Manderin Oriental...we were VERY WRONG) Worst room I've ever stayed in in my life. The gym wasnt that great. Water was not available 1/2 the time I was in there. On a positive note: The staff is very nice and the beachfront is beautiful. The food at the restaurants was very good. Apparently a large section of the hotel has been upgraded. Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to check this out. I, personally, would not go back. My feeling is if they let people stay in a room that i wouldnt let an animal stay in would i take a change that the rest of the hotel is spectacular....? If we hadn't pre-paid we would have checked out in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Approach with Caution

We stayed at three different,similarly priced hotels while in Bermuda and found that Elbow was very dissapointing, and eventually checked out early. It is a beautiful location and has a great beach, but the room we stayed in was damp, musty, and had deferred maintenance. We tried working with hotel staff to move to a more well cared for room, and they were not particularly friendly or helpful. The hotel had low energy--- it felt like a hotel that the owner had decided not to invest in pending a renovation. The pool/spa amenities were pretty mediocre. The property may have other rooms that have been remodeled and cared for, but approach with caution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Alexandria, VA
Jul 21, 2009

WORST ROOM OF MY LIFE!

We stayed in the main hotel which was a HUGE mistake. Our room had a dehumidifier in it which leaked and caused the carpet to have a large wet stain for our entire stay. Because of this the room STUNK HORRIBLY. We tried to get a room change but the hotel was booked solid. I DREADED returning to the room at the end of the day. The hallway carpets should have been replaced YEARS ago. I felt like I was in a cheap motel walking down the hallway. The bathroom was very small; the door hit the toilet as you opened it. There is very little counter space in the bathroom; i had to keep most of my toiletries in the nightstand. Manderin Oriental should be ashamed. If an executive were to walk in that room they would be horrified..... (When booking we thought we couldnt go wrong because the hotel is a Manderin Oriental...we were VERY WRONG) Worst room I've ever stayed in in my life. The gym wasnt that great. Water was not available 1/2 the time I was in there. On a positive note: The staff is very nice and the beachfront is beautiful. The food at the restaurants was very good. Apparently a large section of the hotel has been upgraded. Unfortunately we did not have the opportunity to check this out. I, personally, would not go back. My feeling is if they let people stay in a room that i wouldnt let an animal stay in would i take a change that the rest of the hotel is spectacular....? If we hadn't pre-paid we would have checked out in a second.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
San Francisco, CA
Jul 21, 2009

Approach with Caution

We stayed at three different,similarly priced hotels while in Bermuda and found that Elbow was very dissapointing, and eventually checked out early. It is a beautiful location and has a great beach, but the room we stayed in was damp, musty, and had deferred maintenance. We tried working with hotel staff to move to a more well cared for room, and they were not particularly friendly or helpful. The hotel had low energy--- it felt like a hotel that the owner had decided not to invest in pending a renovation. The pool/spa amenities were pretty mediocre. The property may have other rooms that have been remodeled and cared for, but approach with caution.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
1
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Jumbo F
Marblehead, Ma
Oct 16, 2013

Going downhill

What a shame. The people, location and food are great. The facilities are degrading as in no one in the main hotel and as a result there are not many activities to do other than eat and drink (and sun yourself on the fabulous beach of course). But when it rains you are stuck

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central New Jersey
Aug 10, 2009

Not ready for prime time

We chose this hotel due to its good location in Bermuda and past reputation. We actually stayed there several years ago and had fond memories. It is high priced but we thought it would be worth it to get the remembered service and meals. what we found though was a meer shell of its former self. It is also perplexing given that they are now part of a high end Hotel group, Manderin Oriental. Our basic issue is that we did not feel that we got our money's worth and could have done better for what we spent elswhere on the island. the htel had a disorganized feel about it. the staff was not sure what was going on and we received conflicting information from the desk several times. In addition, we found other at the hotel that experienced the same feeling about the place. It is a shame since they do have one of the best locations in Bermuda and a great property on which to run a first class operation. i can only assume that the economic downturn has made them have to cut corners. Still managed to have a good time though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you carefully weigh the value of the european meal plan versus the American plan where you get meals included. If you do not want to venture out much, the meal plan may be well worth it. there is a great little breakfast or lunch place, The Paraquet, just down the street if you do not want to pay for the overpriced breakfast or lunch meals.

Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Central New Jersey
Aug 10, 2009

Not ready for prime time

We chose this hotel due to its good location in Bermuda and past reputation. We actually stayed there several years ago and had fond memories. It is high priced but we thought it would be worth it to get the remembered service and meals. what we found though was a meer shell of its former self. It is also perplexing given that they are now part of a high end Hotel group, Manderin Oriental. Our basic issue is that we did not feel that we got our money's worth and could have done better for what we spent elswhere on the island. the htel had a disorganized feel about it. the staff was not sure what was going on and we received conflicting information from the desk several times. In addition, we found other at the hotel that experienced the same feeling about the place. It is a shame since they do have one of the best locations in Bermuda and a great property on which to run a first class operation. i can only assume that the economic downturn has made them have to cut corners. Still managed to have a good time though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Make sure you carefully weigh the value of the european meal plan versus the American plan where you get meals included. If you do not want to venture out much, the meal plan may be well worth it. there is a great little breakfast or lunch place, The Paraquet, just down the street if you do not want to pay for the overpriced breakfast or lunch meals.

Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Great Location!

Elbow Beach may have the best view of any hotel on the island! Right on the beach and you can hear the waves from your room. The room itself was clean and simple and divine- comfy bed, great decor and balcony overlook the sea! However, the tiny pool has not changed since 1960 (there's a picture to prove it) and the food was not only the worst hotel food I've ever had, it was the worst food I've ever had period!! So, if youe at out every night and avoid the pool. The location is worth the $ and the Swizzles (local rum drink) is delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Review of Elbow Beach Bermuda

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Nov 30, 2008

Great Location!

Elbow Beach may have the best view of any hotel on the island! Right on the beach and you can hear the waves from your room. The room itself was clean and simple and divine- comfy bed, great decor and balcony overlook the sea! However, the tiny pool has not changed since 1960 (there's a picture to prove it) and the food was not only the worst hotel food I've ever had, it was the worst food I've ever had period!! So, if youe at out every night and avoid the pool. The location is worth the $ and the Swizzles (local rum drink) is delicious!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top