$375 Avg/night
Rate based on Check-in: Jul 19, 2015 Check-out: Jul 22, 2015

Coco Reef Bermuda

3 stars
View map of 3 Stonington Circle, Paget,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Coco Reef Bermuda

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
147 out of 147
Amenities:
3.6
Cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.6
Value:
4

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Kansas City, MO
Oct 2, 2010

Defines Picturesque

We did not see a better location on all of Bermuda. Our room was beachfront, which I definitely recommend. Every morning the sun was up early and we were up and on the beach, which was only a few steps away. The waves are great for just goofing around and the beach was nice for walking. The staff was excellent and for the most part left us alone unless we asked for something. When asked, they immediately accommodated our requests. While the rooms are not "modern," they are nicely appointed and have everything you will need. Further, our room, 212, was perfectly clean. The housekeeper had a real knack for knowing when we were out, and getting in and out quickly. We saw many of the other resorts while there, including the pricey ones, and we wouldn't have changed our reservation even if they were the same price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Blu is a great restaurant. It's about a $10 cab ride. The food is fantastic and the prices are reasonable for Bermuda. A nice dinner with wine, appetizers, entrees, tip, and cab is just under $200. The same dinner at Waterlot Inn, on the other hand, is at least double that. While it's a fun experience if you like being pampered, the food is not twice as good. St. Gibbs Lighthouse is a really fun dinner experience at night (if you sit outside). The food is definitely not good, but the view makes it fun -- especially when you're sitting at a table on the edge of a cliff in the parking lot! We would go back to St. Gibbs, but not for the food.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Sep 27, 2010

Great Location - OK Hotel

The hotel is right on the beach -- and it's a beautiful beach. I went to Coco Reef to chill out after a business trip, and my room overlooked the beach. There are lounges on the beach, but you have to walk up the big hill to the main lobby to get a beach towel. They need a hut down at the beach for towels. I had a great swim in the ocean and relaxed as the sun set. But the rooms are a bit old and tired. Mine had a funny smell, which may be because of its proximity to the ocean. There's no internet connection in the rooms, only 2 computers in the lobby with very old versions of Internet Explorer that don't support all websites. The food in the restaurant was good, but overpriced. The Elbow Beach Hotel is right next door, so you could walk to one of their restaurants. The Lido restaurant at Elbow is excellent, but a bit pricey. Oh, I also had a cockroach in my room! And there were ants on the tables at the restaurant. Not swarming, but a few. Must be hard to keep them out when the place is surrounded by sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Rob and Phyllis
Business
Mahopac New York
Sep 8, 2010

Great Getaway

This was our fourth stay at Coco Reef, previous rooms had better ocean views but as always the room was clean and neat. The staff (all) were attantive and evening dining was very good and price was average for the island. They have a great beach and we took full advantage of it. We also rented a scooter to sight see other beaches and the west end of the island. The air conditioning unit in our room was loud, and it was bothersome at night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There is a nice diner within a short walk of the hotel ( The Paraquet ) very reasonable,especially for breakfast.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Honeymooners from Mexico
Business
Tiuana, B.C, Mexico
Sep 7, 2010

Great Honeymoon destination

We loved the ocean view from the room. Most if not all rooms have a great view. The staff was very nice and helpfull. Maid service is not bad but not excellent either. Had to be careful with food in the room because of ants. Its a long walk to the bus station. The beach there is beautiful with lots of sand.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Montreal
Aug 30, 2010

Fantastic Beach Front location

Great rooms with beach front view. Hotel located directly on Bermuda's most wonderful beach: Elbow Beach. Staff/service is friendly. Just a few minutes away from Hamilton where you will find great restaurants and great shopping. Hotel is also located near the Bermuda Railway Trail where we did our jogging every morning at 7am. It is a scenic walking area that follows where train operated until 1948. The restaurant at the hotel is a bit expensive, so we went out for lunch and for dinner almost every day. To go places, we took advantage of public transportations such as buses and Ferries. Always on time and will take you anywhere you want in Bermuda. Very save.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Instead of taking a cab, take the buses. Just a 5 min. walk from the hotel. Will take you to Hamilton in 10 minutes. Very safe.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Coco Reef
Business
Pagent, Bermuda
Aug 27, 2010

Fantastic getaway

Friendly service and easy access to beach. Clean place. However, the food is extremely expensive. I requested the kitchen to make my little girl cooked pasta with butter and salt. I was charged for a small bowl of pasta $15.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

there is a food mart that has everything. Save money for breakfast and lunch but stocking up on food there.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Needham, MA
Aug 20, 2010

Almost the Reefs at 60% of the price

We have stayed at the Reefs our last half-dozen times in Bermuda. But it was too expensive this year (and required a 5-night minimum.) Coco Reef is similar in layout but less elegant. The beach and pool were wonderful, and we go to Bermuda for the beaches. The cost for us was about $200 per night less than the Reefs (not including meals.) We did not have a meal plan but ate breakfast at the Coco Reef all four days and had two dinners and one lunch there. The meals were outsanding (and you did not have to eat four courses at dinner like at the Reefs.) We had dinner at Coconuts at the Reefs one night ($80 per person plus 17% gratuity and the cost of drinks) and it was not as good as the dinners at Coco Reef which averaged about $32 for entrees (plus 17% gratuity.) Our only real issue was the lack of service at the beach. (You even had to carry towels down from the front desk.) But the staff would do anything you asked of them. We had a wonderful vacation at Coco Reef (the former Stonington Beach) and plan to return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Wonderful beach (next to Elbow Beach) a few minutes walk down the steps.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Savonarola
Business
Westchester, NY
Aug 15, 2010

Great Location

Situated in Paget Parish, adjacent to the Elbow Beach Hotel, Coco Reef offers an unbeatable location on the beautiful south shore. Our room had an unobstructed view of the amazing aquamarine waters and pink sand, which we never tired of gazing down to. The beach itself was quiet and restful, the water clear and warm. The grounds and buildings are well-maintained with many hibiscus in bloom. The staff was friendly and helpful; our room spacious and well-appointed. Our only complaint was that we never figured out how to set the thermostat so that the a/c wasn't continually cycling on and off at short intervals, a minor distraction in an otherwise wonderful vacation. The restaurant is nice, if over-priced...but that's true of just about every restaurant on Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Paraqueet restaurant is only a short walk from the hotel, and offers a good menu at reasonable (for Bermuda) prices.

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
southeastern CT
Aug 15, 2010

Beautiful, quiet getaway

Very quiet and relaxing spot right on the ocean away from crowds. Beautiful surroundings and incredible water for swimming! Older resort, tastefully renovated with clean, comfortable rooms, though not spotless or plush. Beautiful lounge, pool, restaurant, and bar areas. Friendly and helpful service. Short walk to bus stop and small grocery store. We will definitely return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Coco Reef Bermuda

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Oneida NY
Aug 5, 2010

Coco Reef

Coco Reef came as advertised. It is not Elbow Beach and doesn't cost $$$S but you are there on the same stretch of beach right next to Elbow Beach Resort. The rooms are basic but the beds are very comfortable. The hotel is very central to all parts of the island. The front desk staff did everything we asked. I sent an email before arriving because we arrived on Somer's day a National holiday and the front desk arranged for a taxi to meet us. I asked them to arrange to have scooters delivered and they arrived in 35 minutes. At the end of the trip taxi service was arranged and scooters returned. What's not to appreciate?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

The menu at Coco is very limited, very good but very limited. Micky's Bistro is a walk away at Elbow beach. There is a market to buy some groceries that is a very short walk down the street we stopped with our scooter on our way back from the days trips for snack and fruits. They stock the exact same foods as our home town market. Swizzle Inn is a great Pub to eat at...we ate at both locations but love the original. Every visit to Bermuda we have breakfast at Angeline's in St George, one block past the main square on the right. It is the only place we have found who's clientele is 98% local. Angelina packs lunches for the locals and would do the same for a picnic at Tobacco Bay I'm sure. If you don't eat at diners at home you may not appreciate this one!

Back to menu Return to top