$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2908 -64.7932
Area served
Hamilton, Southampton, Bermuda
Nearby airports
Bermuda Int'l Airport (BDA): Estimate driving time to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is 35 minutes and distance is 12 miles.
Area description
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, often referred to as Bermuda's Hotel, is located in the centre of Bermuda's Shopping and entertainment district within easy access to Bermuda's best restaurants and nightlife. This landmark hotel offers two beautiful pools with spectacular views of Hamilton Harbour. On a stroll through the historic streets, take time to explore the many galleries, cultural centers and museums. Don't miss the chance to go for a dive and observe the island's marine life in its natural habitat - or enjoy it in a less exhausting way with a visit to the Aquarium and Underwater Exploration Institute, or even from the safety of a glass-bottomed boat. Complimentary ferry service daily to The Fairmont Southampton where guest enjoy full exchange privileges. Needless to say, everything is possible in Bermuda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Young Chicken
Business
Abington, MA
Aug 14, 2010

Fabulous Bermuda

We love the free ferry to Southampton to go to the beach. Very accommodating to my daughter's gluten & lactose free diet. Wait staff was great

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The city of Hamilton is within easy walking distance - for shopping, dining, catching public transportation. LOVE the location

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Vyhh
Business
Boston
Oct 28, 2012

Furniture were old and tatered

The one single chair I had IN THE ROOM the cover was torn. When one pays over $400 for a room the furniture should be in a good shape.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Many place in downtown Hamilton within shore walk od 5 minutes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dom/Darleene
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 16, 2009

High Priced Hotel with Issues!

All the expectations vanished upon looking at small room with even smaller bathroom with no vanity space! Our return trip paid Limo reservation was lost! We waited at the specified time for pick-up, but no limo! Upon inquiry, I was told that there is no reservation for pick-up! But I had checked out and had the itemized bill showing the limo charge. I was handed cash as a refund! I protested that this was extremely unprofessional; provide the ride to the airport aspromised! Finally, they provided us with a taxi to the airport! Fortunately, we had allowed enough lead time. One could easily miss the plane by unexpected delay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Bermuda's Fish Chowder with rum and sherry peppercorn sauce at Bouched! We tried at three locations and Bouched is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Short stay
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 23, 2009

Mediocre

The hotel is situated in Hamilton which is a big plus. The shuttle to Fairmont Southampton was very convenient for us to get to the beach. The hotel room was average, noisy (next to a very noisy elevator) and relatively small for an expensive hotel. There was no complimentary breakfast and the bar/restaurants in the hotel were very expensive, as is Bermuda in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium/zoo is really nice. The Crystal Caves are relatively small but still nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
new jersey
Aug 6, 2009

Good vacation spot

The hotel overall was very nice. We chose to stay near Hamilton which was nice to have places to walk to for dinner. The rooms were a bit disappointing and need remodeling. The ferry service was convienent and a nice ride. It was always on time and never too full. Breakfast at the hotel was way overpriceed, I would recommend finding something elsewhere.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Silk and Pickled Onion a short walk away and very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Fauje
Business
Larchmont, NY, USA
Sep 30, 2012

Expect just a bit more for that price range

Bermuda hotels are notoriously expensive but when you add various taxes, resort fees (?), etc., they border on the ridiculous. For that kind of price, free internet and a small bottle of water are a must, but you have to pay for both at the Hamilton Princess... Also, the furniture in the room is getting old and was all scratched up in places. Soundproofing is poor. I was awaken every morning at 5am by a neighbor taking a shower or housekeeping getting ready for their day....

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Lovetotravel1976
Business
Indiana
Oct 23, 2012

Not up to 4 Star Value

Staff was courteous, and doormen were great! Hotel location and room location was as described. The public areas were well kept. The room was disappointing even though we upgraded to a water view with balcony. Patio furniture belonged in a garage sale. Unstable and in disrepair. Overall, the room needed repair, upgrading, and paint. The TV was from the 1980s, and TV reception was very poor.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Just hoping for a vacation
Business
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Ugh...so not the place to go.

I went to the Fairmont Hamilton with low expectations... and yet they underwhelmed at every turn. I was just hoping for a low key weekend and yet the hotel was super bland with really nothing to recommend it coupled with service glitches that just made it unpleasant. Noisy housekeeping that swarmed from 8am on... and yet on some days still had not made up my room by 5p. Constant upkeep was a source of noise.. one day the lawn mowers and weed whackers started at 830a and lasted through the day... there just isn't that much greenery to justify that much unpleasant noise. And the service was amazingly mediocre... We were charged for items at the restaurant we did not order... When the mystery charge was noticed on the bill, I tried to call down to the front desk to question it... the phone rang 20 times and no one ever answered and when we questioned the charge in person, we were met with disbelief and a 20 minute search through old receipts from the restaurant to prove we were wrong.. only for the receipt in question to surface without any signature on it. And yet it was still questioned... Just not a place that should claim to be any sort of relaxing destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2009

The Fairmont Hamilton is Beautiful

The location was the best, just a couple of blocks from downtown Hamilton! The room was nice (not Ritz Carleton, but better than Motel 8). Although they didn't have a beach it was no problem catching the shuttle over to the other property. This is good for those of us who love the beach but want to do other things as well. The restaurants, gym, etc. were great. The staff was always helpful and happy. They were always eager to help. Bottom line... It was wonderful. I honestly have nothing bad to say... except for the fact that Bermuda is THE most expensive island I have ever visited. But it's also the most beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamilton has a great amount of diverse dining. We had great food but just be warned... its not cheap! The two best restaurants we visited were Port of Call (on Front Street) and Blu (not exactly sure where this was) Blu is the best place to dine on great food and watch the sun set. Port of Call is a great place for great food and a great place to watch people on Front Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Florham Park, NJ
Aug 9, 2009

Relaxing, but average for price

We enjoyed our trip to Bermuda-especially for the relaxation! We didn't like that there was no beach to enjoy at the hotel. You can take the ferry (25 minutes) to the sister hotel and enjoy a beautiful beach. Pools were average; we liked that there was a saltwater pool available. Fitness center very small. Staff seemed bothered by guests...........

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go into nearby town (a few minute walk) and enjoy the restaurants there vs. the hotel. We loved Portofino and Harry's.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top