$316 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 28, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
154 reviews
The Fairmint Hamilton Princess

An extremely well run hotel with a lovely setting, attentive staff and clean rooms. Lots of outdoor... See full review

  • Tedspecs
  • Jul 29, 2013
Great Hotel in Hamilton

The Hamilton Princess is a great hotel. We were there last year and returned again this year. The... See full review

  • Diana Cibo
  • Jul 10, 2013
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Deluxe Room
All Deluxe rooms are located either in the historic main building or in the new Bermudiana House. A beautiful and luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king and sofabed OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Room
A well appointed and comfortable room, our Fairmont rooms are located throughout the hotel. Bedding type as follows: one king OR one queen bed. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
All Signature with Balcony rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king and sofabed OR two double beds. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge Access
Valid on Fairmont Gold room categories In the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge, our dedicated team extends a friendly, sincere welcome and ensures that your every need is met including arranging dinner reservations, limousines and any other special touches you require. Among a small selection of like-minded guests, you can unwind in the lounge and enjoy special privileges such as access to various newspapers and magazines or even catch up on email with our complimentary computers. Throughout the day you can enjoy coffee, tea, an honor bar as well as complimentary cocktail canapes, served between 5.30pm-7.00pm.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.2908 -64.7932
Area served
Hamilton, Southampton, Bermuda
Nearby airports
Bermuda Int'l Airport (BDA): Estimate driving time to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is 35 minutes and distance is 12 miles.
Area description
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, often referred to as Bermuda's Hotel, is located in the centre of Bermuda's Shopping and entertainment district within easy access to Bermuda's best restaurants and nightlife. This landmark hotel offers two beautiful pools with spectacular views of Hamilton Harbour. On a stroll through the historic streets, take time to explore the many galleries, cultural centers and museums. Don't miss the chance to go for a dive and observe the island's marine life in its natural habitat - or enjoy it in a less exhausting way with a visit to the Aquarium and Underwater Exploration Institute, or even from the safety of a glass-bottomed boat. Complimentary ferry service daily to The Fairmont Southampton where guest enjoy full exchange privileges. Needless to say, everything is possible in Bermuda.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our new coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
The Heritage Court
The design concept for this area takes its cue from the rich architectural tradition of Bermudian ancestral homes and its color palate from the abundant flora and water images of this unique British territory. Lounge chairs, sofas, quality artwork and antiques create an intimate & elegant, yet informal setting for cocktails and conversations. You can also try Bermuda's Best Fish Chowder with Black Rum and Sherry Peppers. Our afternoon tea incorporates old English charm with the tropical setting of the island paradise of Bermuda. From the silver tea sets and fine china to the Italian fine woven linen, everything about afternoon tea spells elegance and luxury. The Bar offers one of the most extensive collections of fine rums, wines and champagnes by the glass. Selection of cigars available for smoking on our terrace. Live piano music creates a mood for the early evening and relaxing background. This is the place to see and be seen in Hamilton. Smart casual dress suggested.
Harley's Restaurant
Relish tantalizing dining at Harley's Restaurant and the finest in prime aged beef. Here, a bright and airy atmosphere serves as the perfect complement to every entree. It's no wonder Harley's Restaurant won the Best of Bermuda Gold Award in hotel dining. Enjoy the most tantalizing breakfast buffet on the Island and on Sundays all the traditional Sunday Brunch favorites are served while you enjoy the view of beautiful Hamilton Harbor. -Smart casual dress suggested -reservations are recommended

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Jaegerman
new york
Jun 14, 2010

excellence in bermuda

staff was superfriendly pool was quiet every day plenty of chairs bar and restaurant both very good

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

All the restaurants are very expensive so go were the food and staff are excellent. Both Portofino and Lobster House are a short walk and have great food.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
EAM
Brockton, MA
Jun 9, 2010

Great Relaxation & enjoyable also.

Very enjoyable, along with the excellent employees of this hotel. Will return soon. Service was really friendly and fantastic.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

In reference to dining, shopping, and enjoying our small trips to and from our destinations everything was GREAT!

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Anonymous
florida
Jun 4, 2010

great hotel ,close to town

everyone was very friendly and helpful

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

get bus and ferry pass ,takes you where ever you want to go

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Maplewood , NJ
Jun 3, 2010

Great place for a mature crowd

Excellent food in both restaurants. Pricy, you have to pay for everything separately.Needs more night life activities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
Just hoping for a vacation
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 1, 2010

Ugh...so not the place to go.

I went to the Fairmont Hamilton with low expectations... and yet they underwhelmed at every turn. I was just hoping for a low key weekend and yet the hotel was super bland with really nothing to recommend it coupled with service glitches that just made it unpleasant. Noisy housekeeping that swarmed from 8am on... and yet on some days still had not made up my room by 5p. Constant upkeep was a source of noise.. one day the lawn mowers and weed whackers started at 830a and lasted through the day... there just isn't that much greenery to justify that much unpleasant noise. And the service was amazingly mediocre... We were charged for items at the restaurant we did not order... When the mystery charge was noticed on the bill, I tried to call down to the front desk to question it... the phone rang 20 times and no one ever answered and when we questioned the charge in person, we were met with disbelief and a 20 minute search through old receipts from the restaurant to prove we were wrong.. only for the receipt in question to surface without any signature on it. And yet it was still questioned... Just not a place that should claim to be any sort of relaxing destination.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
PEDHAMBE
MORRISTOWN NJ
May 31, 2010

Good Location

Very courteous staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
New York, NY
May 18, 2010

Very Satisfied

The service was great. Access to the Southhampton location was provided to get to the beach. Not the best location - no really active spots for young couples. More of a family or business oriented hotel. Bermuda is VERY expensive!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
Brycol
Bahamas
Apr 6, 2010

Slow Housekeeping

We stayed for five nights. The hotel was lovely. On the whole the staff were efficient, helpful and very friendly. Our biggest complaint was with the house keeping services. Despite leaving our room at 9am to spend the day site seeing, when we arrived back at 4.30pm to 5pm we would find our room hadn't been cleaned. A call to house keeping, who would use the excuse "house keeping were busy, but would have a house keeper sent to our room immediately". It meant we couldn't just relax or get ready for dinner as we had a cleaner in the room. The cleaner was also very lax with leaving tea, coffee, soap etc and most evenings we would have to call house house keeping again to get our supplies re-stocked.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lobster Pot - very good food, good price, good service

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Will Return!
New York City
Mar 21, 2010

A Great Experience

Charming to be there on Spring Solstice weekend before the peak tourist season began; there may have been few hibiscus and it was too early for oleander, but the sea was aqua, the sky blue blue dotted with white clouds at times; the heated pool inviting, and the all-round ambience of the Hamilton Princess combined with the friendliness of the staff made it a superb getaway vacation.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Take the local Buses! and ride the ferries. Also, the taxi drivers were charming and well-informed on Bermuda History and current events.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
Anonymous
Westport, CT
Dec 28, 2009

Beautiful setting near the downtown!

We were there over the Xmas holiday. Everything was closed on Xmas, followed by Boxing Day (Saturday), followed by Sunday (most places closed), followed by the observance of Boxing Day on Monday (when a few stores were open). The good news is that we could travel easily by foot, by ferry and by bus - all great. We hit the typical tourist sites - nice. The hotel was grand and tried hard to be very hospitable at meals, in between and at the desk. All in all, a very fine experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Bouchee - very friendly with good food. Less pricy than hotel.

Back to menu Return to top