$346 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2908 -64.7932
Area served
Hamilton, Southampton, Bermuda
Nearby airports
Bermuda Int'l Airport (BDA): Estimate driving time to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is 35 minutes and distance is 12 miles.
Area description
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, often referred to as Bermuda's Hotel, is located in the centre of Bermuda's Shopping and entertainment district within easy access to Bermuda's best restaurants and nightlife. This landmark hotel offers two beautiful pools with spectacular views of Hamilton Harbour. On a stroll through the historic streets, take time to explore the many galleries, cultural centers and museums. Don't miss the chance to go for a dive and observe the island's marine life in its natural habitat - or enjoy it in a less exhausting way with a visit to the Aquarium and Underwater Exploration Institute, or even from the safety of a glass-bottomed boat. Complimentary ferry service daily to The Fairmont Southampton where guest enjoy full exchange privileges. Needless to say, everything is possible in Bermuda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Sep 5, 2007

Very nice

The Princess Hamilton was a great place to stay in Bermuda. It offers free transfer to it's sister hotel on the beach so you have the best of both worlds. we enjoyed being right downtown and close to everything. The staff and our room was wonderful. They upgraded me to a water view. I was disappointed in the food however. It was just ok, not really worth the prices. I would rec. venturing out to soem of the other great places in the town.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping, restaurants...all near by

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Sep 3, 2007

Convenient Get-Away

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is a very nice old hotel conveniently located within a few minutes walking distance from the center of town (Hamilton). The hotel overall is well maintained with several quality restaurants to eat at. Specifically the food at The Heritage Court and Harley's Restaurant was of decent quality and tasteful. The room was of decent size as was the bathroom; however our bathroom had an ANT PROBLEM. During this particular stay we were on the hotel's GOLD level which gave us access to the Gold Level Lounge. The Gold Level Lounge provided daily a small buffet breakfast, afternoon tea, and evening hors d'oeuveres. The breakfast and afternoon tea was very nice, but the evening hors d'oeuveres could be greatly improved. The Gold Level Lounge also has its own private check in area and concierge staff to handle all your needs (dinner reservations, tour reservations, island maps, etc.). Overall we had an enjoyable stay and would not hesitate to go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Lobster Pot is a casual seafood restaurant with very good food. Reservations are highly recommended.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Aug 22, 2007

Very friendly and very informative

The conciere service was outstanding with knowledge of restaraunts and beaches. gave us great recomendations on daily activities in town

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

everything

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Syracuse, NY
Aug 6, 2007

High Class

Excellent staff ! Felt very catered to. Beautiful outside surroundings. Very clean. Food very expensive(that was true all over the island) Sister Hotel excellent but they need for times to shuttle you there. If you like the Beach stay at the other Hamilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of little quaint places to eat close to the hotel.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Chicago, IL
Jul 15, 2007

In the heart of downtown

The was nice, staff was great.Check in was tough took along time after guaranteed ccheck in time to get a room.Great location if you don't mind not having a beach.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

you can rent scooters next door to the property

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jun 25, 2007

Great Location

The Fairmont Hamilton Princees is a great location to enjoy the Island of Bermuda. You can easily walk to downtown Hamilton for dining and shopping. You can take the ferry to the South Hampton Princess and enjoy more dinning and shopping or beaches and swiming/snorkling all for free. We chose the least expensive room and more than satisfied with thw size and amentities.I would reccomend this fine hotel to all our friends.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Great buys on china.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Newark, NJ
Jun 21, 2007

Anniversary trip

We were completely satisfied with the room and other services of the hotel. The desk people were terrific and the bellman and service staff were fantastic. Our room was great and the service people were extremely courteous and responsive to any of our requests. However, the one evening we had dinner in the hotel restaruant we experienced a very unsatisfactory evening. We had a very new waitor and service was very much less. Drinks were late in being served, my wife's meal was incorrect at serving and the new waiter was apparently unable to handle the situation. Finally a head waiter came over and took control and offered our wine for free for the inconvienience. Still my meal was just warmed over wen it was reserved when my wife's correct meal was served.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamilton returants and shopping were a short walk into town.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Jun 11, 2007

All employees were friendly, helpful and generous with answering all questions

From the time of our arrival until our departure, it seemed that every hotel employee was just there to take care of us. They were friendly and helpful, gave good advise and directions. The hotel room itself was lovely, very accommodating, with a beautiful view. Two pools, beautiful grounds, shops, spa and restaurant within the hotel made it a truly relaxing, stress-free experience. Since there were 3 female adults, we were given a newly renovated family suite which gave us plenty of room and individual sleeping arrangements. It was a quick few blocks to the main part of town and the ferry as well as connections to all the bus services. And the beds were the most comfortable I have ever slept in.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Every where you went, you could rent a motorscooter or hop on a bus to get to either side of the island. There was a little coffee shop within the hotel so you could grab something to go. The beaches were beautiful and the water is actually acquamarine.

Back to menu Return to top

Change search