$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
lawrence, ma
May 2, 2009

over extends themselves

the staff couldn't do enough- warm friendly week of 4-20/4-24/2009. hated to leave our new friends at the hamilton princess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

when in st george plan shopping-not much in hamilton -entertainment is not local anymore- great restaurants with ferry to the waterlot but need taxi back- taxi to fourways inn both ways- but very very good meals pricey for both love them.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
hazel4582
Business
Vermont
Apr 22, 2009

You Get What You Pay For

This was our first time in Bermuda, so we wanted to go to a nice hotel with a good location to make sure we had all our needs met. This hotel fit the bill nicely. Clean rooms that were not huge, but we weren't there for the room! Service in the hotel was excellent and the location was great - just a few blocks from the Hamilton bus station, so it was easy to travel around the island. We'd recommend the hotel to anyone looking for the full hotel experience, though we're thinking of finding a place with a kitchen next time to do some cooking ourselves, as food is expensive enough without adding in the cost of someone cooking, serving, etc. However, this is a hotel where you get your money's worth!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
16v
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 14, 2009

Fantastic getaway weekend

This was a surprise long weekend trip for my wife's birthday. I chose the Hamilton Princess based on it's central location to town. We arrived before normal check in time so the front desk asked if it was ok to put us in the Bermudiana House wing - "it is a slightly longer walk from the lobby". That was fine with us, and it was even better when we realized the rooms were recently renovated. The second floor room overlooked the putting green with a view of the harbor beyond. The room was clean, the bed was comfortable, had a large flatscreen TV, and a very well appointed bathroom. We didn't eat at the hotel but did tip back a few Swizzles and Dark 'n Stormys at the hotel bar Heritage Court; the staff was super attentive, helpful with ideas on what to do during our stay and just fun to talk with. We utilized the shuttle service to the Southampton Princess one day to take in the quiet beach on site -this is a must do side trip, even if just for a half day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

<10 min walk from the hotel to some great pubs (Hog Penny, Pickled Onion). Additionally, you can catch the water shuttle over to Dockyard for an afternoon of exploration/sightseeing, it was maybe a 20 min ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Toronto Canada
Mar 3, 2009

Best time Ever

This was one of the best experiences I have had during my stay at a hotel.Staff members were very friendly and helpful.I attended a wedding that was also held at the hotel on Valentines day.Thumbs up for this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Everything was close by from entertainment to shopping..seven minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Williamsburg, VA
Mar 3, 2009

A Little Bit of Paradise

This was my third visit to Bermuda and my first stay at the Hamilton Princess. Even though I was in the older section of the hotel, my room was still comfortable and had a good view of the harbour from the balcony. Since meal prices are so expensive in Bermuda, the location of this hotel made it possible to venture out for a few good, reasonable restaurants. For breakfast, I went to "Spot" where the locals eat. I would highly recommend "Portofino's" for dinner. Buy the bus/ferry pass and you can travel endlessly from one end of the island to the other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping at the local market, near the bus terminal, can save you money on meals instead of eating out.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Chino Hills
Sep 14, 2008

The Best Hotel In Bermuda

The Fairmont is a top of the line hotel. The concierge is excellent. They will set you up with whatever you want to do during your stay. You can rent a moped right outside the hotel. A water taxi just outside the hotel can transport you to the sister Fairmont property, which has a nice spa and private beach. This hotel is conveniently located in walking distance from the shopping, dining, and scenic views. There are planned activities there in the evening. We really enjoyed our stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Lutherville
Jul 8, 2008

Very attentive staff

My husband left his briefcase with laptop and digital camera on the van from the airport. The hotel staff contacted the company via cell phone and it was delivered to the hotel before we finished dinner the first night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Several excellent restaurants within walking distance.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jun 22, 2008

best place to relax

The Fairmount Hamilton makes you feel welcome from the moment you arrive. The staff is extremely friendly and helpful. Room service is quite good and our room was very comfortable. The two pools are fabulous.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Great restuarants within easy walking distance

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Sep 17, 2007

Good Hamilton Location

The Staff at the Hamilton Princess has always been one of the friendliest and accomodation on the Island of Bermuda. The two restaurants served a varied and excellent menu. The food was excellent. Having both a fresh water and a salt water pool was a bonus. The rooms were very clean and comfortable. The location is wonderful because you are close to numerous shops and restaurants. The ferry dock is only a five minute walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Manchester, NH
Sep 11, 2007

Very convenient to Hamilton town

The site and associated hotel were well located for town/restaurant/shopping.The water views are a must...don't get the town view rooms. Rooms need updating ( 30 years old) but still desirable.Bath room was too small for today's standards.Water view was great from deck off the room.Area was very quiet and relaxing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamilton has a variety of good restaurants with 5 minuets of hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top