$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 12, 2014 Check-out: Dec 15, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Waterbury, CT
Jul 13, 2009

Grand Vacation Squeezed into 4 Days!

Bermuda is the perfect destination for a single woman traveling alone, and the Fairmont Hamilton Princess was a very wise choice. The staff is cordial, attentive and helpful. The concierge is informative. The hotel location is central with great access to ferries, bus depot, restaurants and shopping within walking distance. I took advantage of the ferry to the Dockyard, and the bus to the Botanical Gardens. I walked to all the shops and some restaurants in Hamilton, so that I was never restricted to the hotel grounds. Bermuda is very safe and welcoming to all visitors, as is the Hamilton Princess.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The ferry to the Dockyard is very inexpensive, and is faster and more scenic than the bus. Also, the ferry landing is a shorter walk than to the bus depot.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Jim the optician
Business
Chepachet R.I.
Jul 7, 2009

Excellent customer service

We enjoyed the salt water pool and view out into the bay.I also enjoyed using the putting green located near the pool, nice touch for golfer's and others. We stayed at the South Hamiton Princess last time we visited the island, about two years ago and we all agreed that the South Hamilton Princess Hotel was a little nicer as far as the views of the golf course and ocean and also the inside of the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

The Hotel Fairmont Hamilton was only a ten minute walk to shopping and resturaunts.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY
Jul 3, 2009

Lovely location

Pleasant walk into town. Lots of local restaurants Lots of hotel amenities

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cleveland Ohio
Jun 29, 2009

Hamilton Princess hotel Review

when we arrived we were suprised to find out that there wasn't any beaches. Most people come to Bermuda for the Beaches. It should be noted that if you want a beach you should go to the sister hotel at Fairmount South Hampton. That way others won't make the same mistake. It should be noted that the Fairmount Hamilton Princess is strictly a Business Hotel, not for a family vacation

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Chrissie
Business
Mt. Laurel , NJ
Jun 24, 2009

Lovely stay

It was great to be able to walk into Hamilton, having my 18 year old daughter with me, she loved that! Also easy access to the ferry to the So. Hampton Princess and the beachs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Lots of fun bars and restaurants with music on Front St. and the side streets.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Short stay
Business
Boston, MA
Jun 23, 2009

Mediocre

The hotel is situated in Hamilton which is a big plus. The shuttle to Fairmont Southampton was very convenient for us to get to the beach. The hotel room was average, noisy (next to a very noisy elevator) and relatively small for an expensive hotel. There was no complimentary breakfast and the bar/restaurants in the hotel were very expensive, as is Bermuda in general.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The aquarium/zoo is really nice. The Crystal Caves are relatively small but still nice.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, D.C.
Jun 22, 2009

The Fairmont Hamilton is Beautiful

The location was the best, just a couple of blocks from downtown Hamilton! The room was nice (not Ritz Carleton, but better than Motel 8). Although they didn't have a beach it was no problem catching the shuttle over to the other property. This is good for those of us who love the beach but want to do other things as well. The restaurants, gym, etc. were great. The staff was always helpful and happy. They were always eager to help. Bottom line... It was wonderful. I honestly have nothing bad to say... except for the fact that Bermuda is THE most expensive island I have ever visited. But it's also the most beautiful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamilton has a great amount of diverse dining. We had great food but just be warned... its not cheap! The two best restaurants we visited were Port of Call (on Front Street) and Blu (not exactly sure where this was) Blu is the best place to dine on great food and watch the sun set. Port of Call is a great place for great food and a great place to watch people on Front Street!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
ct
Jun 21, 2009

Everything was great

We had a fantastic time. Very convenient to walk into town for shopping and meals.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Massachusstts
Jun 18, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

Great time the Tall Ships were in! Only drawback it was a holiday week-end and the stores were closed. No shopping.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

and short walk to town. Very expensive to dine.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Dom/Darleene
Business
Chicago, IL
Jun 16, 2009

High Priced Hotel with Issues!

All the expectations vanished upon looking at small room with even smaller bathroom with no vanity space! Our return trip paid Limo reservation was lost! We waited at the specified time for pick-up, but no limo! Upon inquiry, I was told that there is no reservation for pick-up! But I had checked out and had the itemized bill showing the limo charge. I was handed cash as a refund! I protested that this was extremely unprofessional; provide the ride to the airport aspromised! Finally, they provided us with a taxi to the airport! Fortunately, we had allowed enough lead time. One could easily miss the plane by unexpected delay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Try Bermuda's Fish Chowder with rum and sherry peppercorn sauce at Bouched! We tried at three locations and Bouched is excellent!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top