$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 26, 2014 Check-out: Dec 29, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
pluck
Business
Virginia
Aug 6, 2009

Great choice for our anniversary

If you're going to Bermuda JUST for the beach, tennis and/or golf, this is not your best choice. If you want to travel around the island, plus be within walking distance of restaurants and shops, the Hamilton Princess is perfect. You can also take advantage of the amenities at the Southampton Princess by taking the free hotel ferry over.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

If you're not averse to taking public transportation, Bermuda has a great system from one end of the island to the other.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Indiana
Aug 5, 2009

Great hotel&walking distance to Hamilton

Great older hotel-front desk very helpful and good location-walking distance to many rest/pubs and ferry stops at hotel also.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Roxane
Business
Brooklyn, NY
Aug 3, 2009

Fantastic Vacation

The hotel staff and concierge were very friendly and helpful. The hotel was extremely clean, great views of the ocean. The hotel has 2 pools-a chlorine and a salt water pool. The food was also good. Definitely take the free ferry from the Hamilton Princess to the South Hampton Princess and enjoy the great resturants and amenities of both hotels.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Front street is a short 5 min walk from the hotel which was great. There are many resturants and shops to go to. The ferry is also right there.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Jill-of-All-Trades
Business
Williamsburg, Virginia
Aug 2, 2009

Stay at this hotel!!!

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is perfect for couples, families or business travelers. The service is phenomenal. The extremely patient and knowledgeable concierges even helped me to book excursions and other reservations, before we arrived! The hotel is beautiful and spotless. The grounds and views are gorgeous. Its two restaurants feature a wide variety of cuisine. A coffee/pastry/sandwich shop off the lobby provides a great selection of items, when a quick, pre-beach bite is what's needed. The location on Front Street is convenient to the best dining and shopping in Bermuda. I'm sure I'm missing some details, but the point of my story is: STAY HERE! You won't be disappointed!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

The Hamilton ferry terminal, a five-minute walk from the hotel, provides access to most parts of the island. You may obtain ferry schedules and buy single- or multi-day passes from the hotel concierge. Doing so will eliminate the hassle of having to buy last-minute ferry tokens (and bus fare, for that matter!). Definitely take advantage of public transportation, as taxi fares are astronomical! And: DON'T RENT SCOOTERS! They are accidents-waiting-to-happen!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Cape Cod, Massachusetts
Jul 28, 2009

Great location--close to the ferry/bus

For our second time visiting Bermuda we opted to stay in town--a great choice. The Fairmont ferry to the southhampton site was terrific--great beach and its free! Once we were at the Southampton we could take a bus to Elbow Beach or the newer Swizzle Inn. WE saved money not taking taxis everywhere like we did the first time we visited. WE ate Breakfast out each morning and liked the Lemon Tree ( $20 for two breakfast sandwiches, two large coffees and two waters) the best--lots of locals there. Our first room at the Fairmont was disappointing. Lucky for us the AC was not working correctly, we switched rooms almost immediately upon arriving and go into the Bermouda House section--newly renovated.WE had a water view, deck, flat screen TV, beautiful bathroom . . . Ask for a different room if you are disappointed would be my suggestions. We packed some granola bars, crackers, and other food items to tie us over until dinner or happy hours:) Had great meals: LIttle Venice-great service and food! Ascots in Hamilton--a place to great dressed up and be treated extra special. Swizzle Inn--cheaper food, but it was good. Loved the nachos Overall, a wonderful time and would visit again

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Washington, DC
Jul 27, 2009

Wonderful time!

The trip was for pleasure. The hotel's location was excellent - right next to the city, Hamilton. Friendly staff where they were ready to help us when we needed it. Nice room with clean bed and bathroom. Would stay there again if we go back to Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping was right down the road. 5 minutes walk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Ted & Janet
Business
Linwood, NJ
Jul 24, 2009

Felt Like a King & Queen at the Princess

From check-in to check-out, the entire staff of the Hamilton Princess were very friendly and helpful. They truly seemed proud of their hotel and the history of their island, which is celebrating its 400th anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Woodside, NY
Jul 22, 2009

Good location

My wife, my infant son (14 months) and I stayed at the hotel 4 nights in mid-July and the location of the Fairmont Hamilton was perfect for our purposes. We were never too far from stores where we could buy milk, water and snacks for my young son and ourselves. Additionally the hotel has a free ferry service that links to their sister hotel in Southampton and the associated beach nearby. Given how warm it was in Bermuda during our stay we spent a lot of time either in the Fairmont Hamilton saltwater pool or in the ocean at the Southampton location. My son loved the beach and my wife and I were able to enjoy some much needed R&R. The staff at the hotel were very friendly and for the most part very helpful. Only complaints were (i) that the hotel could not accommodate us in the room we'd reserved for our first night's stay. The hotel upgraded us to a more expensive room but did not suit our purposes as what we needed was a room with a balcony (as booked) so we could sit outside once our son went to sleep for the night. (ii) Cost - Bermuda charges Manhattan prices in general but to provide a gauge on the cost of the hotel fare, a full breakfast for two at the Fairmont ran to $65 (includes gratuity, which seems to be an automatic addition to every bill for services in Bermuda)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
50 and fabulous!
Business
New York
Jul 21, 2009

Great place to spend your 50th Birthday!

The Fairmount Princess is a beautiful hotel in a great location. We wished the ferry service to the sister hotel on the beach side ran more frequently. It was difficult to have dinner over there since the last ferry left the water dock at 6:15. It does take about a half hour to cross over also. You need to plan ahead to make the ferries.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are many great restaurants in Hamilton. We did have trouble finding a place to have breakfast on Sun morning-stick to the hotel!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
far
Business
New York, ny
Jul 14, 2009

Unbeatable location for the price

We found the hotel to be great. The hotel booked was not in a great location nor as nice as the main area of the hotel. The food was great very expensive. I loved the Island and wish I spent more time there however the package was a short trip. Overall i had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Great resturants

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top