$346 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 3, 2014 Check-out: Oct 6, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
158 reviews
Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our... See full review

  • Bonnie H Goldstein
  • Jul 28, 2014
Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently... See full review

  • Boston Kate
  • Jun 16, 2014
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.2908 -64.7932
Area served
Hamilton, Southampton, Bermuda
Nearby airports
Bermuda Int'l Airport (BDA): Estimate driving time to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is 35 minutes and distance is 12 miles.
Area description
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, often referred to as Bermuda's Hotel, is located in the centre of Bermuda's Shopping and entertainment district within easy access to Bermuda's best restaurants and nightlife. This landmark hotel offers two beautiful pools with spectacular views of Hamilton Harbour. On a stroll through the historic streets, take time to explore the many galleries, cultural centers and museums. Don't miss the chance to go for a dive and observe the island's marine life in its natural habitat - or enjoy it in a less exhausting way with a visit to the Aquarium and Underwater Exploration Institute, or even from the safety of a glass-bottomed boat. Complimentary ferry service daily to The Fairmont Southampton where guest enjoy full exchange privileges. Needless to say, everything is possible in Bermuda.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Fairmont Room
These comfortable, luxurious rooms are located in the historic main building and overlook the city of Hamilton. Each room boasts elegant wooden furniture, beautiful marble bathrooms, Keurig coffee makers, and business amenities including high speed internet access. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold Suite
The elegant suites of the Fairmont Gold wing offer guests the sense of being a guest in an elegant Bermudian home. The suites are derived from the colors and lush natural beauty of Bermuda, bringing the outside in, to enhance the total experience and sense of place for our guests. Fairmont Gold Suites offer a separate sitting room, marble bathrooms with soaker tub and separate shower, DVD, video and stereo, large desks, business amenities, high speed Internet access and other additional special amenities. Approx. 725 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
One-Bedroom Harbour View Suite
The newly renovated One Bedroom Harbour View Suites are located in the Poinciana Wing near the resort pool. Breathtaking harbour views complement island-inspired decor, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace, perfect for enjoying the stunning views. Approx. 575 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour.
Deluxe Room
Newly renovated Deluxe Rooms are located in the Poinciana Wing and Bermudiana House near the resort swimming pool. Guest rooms feature a sophisticated island-inspired design and colour scheme, elegantly appointed furnishings, marble bathrooms with rainfall showers, and a private balcony or terrace perfect to relax and enjoy the garden or bay view. Approximately 325 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
Signature Rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom. Each room features a large balcony complete with a sitting area and lounge chair to enjoy the dramatic view of Hamilton Harbour. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Fairmont Gold Room
Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. Beautiful rooms are elegantly appointed with comfortable furnishings and a marble bathroom, complemented by views of Hamilton Harbour or a picturesque Bermuda Garden. Also included are private check-in, access to the Fairmont Gold lounge with complimentary breakfast, evening canaps, and afternoon tea. Approx. 350 sq ft with views of Hamilton Harbour or the Garden.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
1609 Bar and Restaurant
Our newest addition, 1609 is an open-air casual dining experience overlooking Hamilton Harbour. Celebrating the storm and wreck that brought the Islands first residents, at 1609, relax and enjoy a taste of Bermudas finest cocktails and fresh, authentic cuisine. Located on the marina, 1609 is open daily from 11:00 a.m. until 10:00 p.m.
The Heritage Court
Open daily, find a meal at almost any time of the day. Located just off the lobby, the Heritage Court Restaurant offers breakfast, lunch, dinner, and a late night menu. Each afternoon, our award-winning tea service is available serving the finest teas, pastries, and sandwiches. Every Saturday and Sunday evening, enjoy live music alongside an extensive collection of rums, single malt whiskeys, wines, and champagnes by the glass.
Harley's Restaurant
Serving a variety of island-inspired and continental cuisine, Harleys Restaurant is the perfect place for a hearty breakfast, casual lunch, special dinner, or traditional Bermuda brunch. Harleys casual dining experience is available daily.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (158)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
5.01.0
158 out of 158
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.5
Value:
3.9

93% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tedspecs
Business
Hamilton Bermuda
Jul 29, 2013

The Fairmint Hamilton Princess

An extremely well run hotel with a lovely setting, attentive staff and clean rooms. Lots of outdoor areas for enjoyment>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portofinos Italian Restaurant is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
25 Years Together
Maine
Aug 9, 2014

Great Getaway for Couples

The newly renovated Fairmont Hamilton Princess is even more spectacular than when we visited five years ago. There are many more rooms and a spectacular infinity pool with views of the harbor. 1609, a new open-air bar and restaurant on the water, was a spectacular place to hang out, have a drink and watch the sunset before dinner. Hamilton, its fabulous restaurants - do not miss the old-fashioned Italian restaurant Portofino - and the bus and ferry terminals are just a short walk away. The Fairmont Southampton Princess's beach on the south shore is just a short ferry ride across the harbor and a trolley ride over the hill. Our only complaints were a bedside telephone that did not work and a bathroom door that did not latch (and needed to be wedged closed with a towel!). Most of the staff was very warm and friendly, and the staff at The Waterlot Inn Restaurant even presented us with a handmade 25th Anniversary card. Over all, people are Bermuda's greatest natural resource. They really seem to love living on the island and are happy to offer directions and amusing stories to tourists. No one should miss the tour and the tales offered by Hamilton's Town Crier, Ed Christopher, commencing at City Hall every weekday at 10:30 a.m. and 2:30 p.m. during tourist season.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus or the ferry instead of a taxi. Bus fare is $3.00 for three zones or $4.50 for longer rides. Ferry fare is $4.50 per trip. Thus, two people can travel from Hamilton to Dockyard and back on the ferry for just $18.00 in all. People who plan to make many stops during the day can each opt for a one-day pass for $15.00 or a three-day pass for $35.00.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bonnie H Goldstein
Monroe, CT
Jul 28, 2014

Wonderful Trip!

Hotel was beautiful! Staff went above and beyond to accomodate us! We did have some issues with our first   room losing lights in the bathroom but they moved and upgraded us and then everything was perfect! The staff was so helpful and pleasant.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
bkmd
scranton, pa
Jul 12, 2014

Transparant Bathroom Door

we stayed in a section called the bermudian and not the main hotel which i thought we were staying in. we were on the first floor and had a view of nothing basically except the people sitting at the infinity pool. we were very much on display for them. also there was only a sliding glass bathroom door with no lock. other than that it was very nice but i wouldnt stay again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Boston Kate
Boston
Jun 16, 2014

Beautiful hotel, beautiful location

My family and I had a wonderful experience at the Hamilton Princess. It is very conveniently located on the edge of the Hamilton shopping and dining district. It has a beautiful pool overlooking Hamilton Harbor, and there is a ferry from the hotel to its sister hotel the Fairmont Southampton which has a lovely beach on the ocean. My only complaint is that the wifi is a little touchy, but we were able to use it. It just isn't as seamless as it should be. The staff is very friendly and the balcony adjoining our room was spacious. I highly recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the glassbottom boat ride from Hamilton Harbor . The coral reef is beautiful and the captain of the boat gives a very interesting talk on the history, geology, and wildlife of the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Tedspecs
Business
Hamilton Bermuda
Jul 29, 2013

The Fairmint Hamilton Princess

An extremely well run hotel with a lovely setting, attentive staff and clean rooms. Lots of outdoor areas for enjoyment>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portofinos Italian Restaurant is very good.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Diana Cibo
New Jersey
Jul 10, 2013

Great Hotel in Hamilton

The Hamilton Princess is a great hotel. We were there last year and returned again this year. The hotel was busy this year with a lot of kids because of a sailing competion but it was still nice. What makes this hotel is the staff especially at Harley's, the restaurant in the hotel. The waitors are the best! They are friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food is good too, especially the Banana Bread French Toast. The hotel is in walking distance to the down town area, and they have a ferry that takes you to their sister hotel which is on the beach. I was disappointed with the Internet service it was very slow and at times we couldn't get on. I hope they correct this problem soon. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To downtown shops, restaurants, downtown ferry and 25 minute hotel ferry to beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Kim and Steve
Assonet, MA
Jul 7, 2013

Perfect quick getaway

Always a great experience. We love going for a long weekend. Been staying at this hotel for several years now and for us it's the perfect location. A short walk to shopping and dining and we love to rent a scooter to visit the beaches and attractions. Very clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Bermuda Frequent Traveler
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 4, 2013

A Royal time at the Princess.

We were treated like Royalty at the Hamilton Princess Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our room was well cared for and had a great view of the harbor, and the hotel grounds were beautifully groomed. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and were very happy with the food and service. We will definitely return to the Princess for our next vacation trip to Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are dozens of fine restaurants within a short walk or cab ride from the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lgjhere
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 17, 2013

Bermuda

Had a wonderful time at the Princess. A little overpriced though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The $300 credit that came with the booking was wonderful in this expensive hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
The Big O Numero uno
West Palm Beach, Florida
May 16, 2013

Wonderful place to get away

The hotel is very nice and you could not ask for a better location being right on the water with a fabulous view. Also the proximity of downtown is a major plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not only is downtown very close there is a grocery store which we did not previously know located right next to the hotel

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search