$469 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 25, 2014 Check-out: Apr 26, 2014

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

4 stars
76 Pitt's Bay Road, PO Box HM 837, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
4.3
out of 5
154 reviews
The Fairmint Hamilton Princess

An extremely well run hotel with a lovely setting, attentive staff and clean rooms. Lots of outdoor... See full review

  • Tedspecs
  • Jul 29, 2013
Great Hotel in Hamilton

The Hamilton Princess is a great hotel. We were there last year and returned again this year. The... See full review

  • Diana Cibo
  • Jul 10, 2013
“Pink Palace” on the edge of Hamilton harbor

Old-world style permeates this hotel, set among palm trees and tropical gardens on the edge of Hamilton harbor. The hotel, known to locals as "The Pink Palace," opened its doors on Jan. 1, 1885. Rooms in the original building offer guests the full historic experience, although the new Bermudiana House provides the same level of comfort. And the hotel offers easy access to the shops and restaurants of downtown Hamilton.

Highlights
  • Unique historic waterfront hotel
  • Freshwater and saltwater pools
  • Complimentary ferry to private beach club at the Fairmont Southampton
  • Complimentary use of fitness center
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Rooms

The 410 rooms and suites offer a variety of views of harbor, city, and gardens, many with private balconies. All rooms offer a marble bathroom, walk-in closet, plush bathrobes, coffee maker, and high-speed Internet connections. Guests enjoy elegant British colonial décor throughout and sumptuous Miller Harris bath and beauty products. Fairmont Gold level rooms have access to a private lounge with honor bar, cocktail hour canapés, exclusive concierge, and complimentary breakfast.

Features

Guests relax in an Adirondack chair by the freshwater and saltwater pools, soak in the harbor views, or take a few practice putts on the outdoor practice green. A ferry provides access to the Fairmont Southhampton, where guests make use of its beach club and other facilities. Guests also taxi to Riddell's Bay Golf and Country Club, the hotel's exclusive 18-hole partner, for a round of golf.

 

Harley's Restaurant serves traditional island favorites in its elegant indoor dining room, while Harley's Terrace features a casual lunch of salads and sandwiches plus dinner nightly at its harborside tables. The hotel's sophisticated lobby bar and restaurant, The Heritage Court, was praised by the New York Times as having the best afternoon tea in Bermuda.

 

The hotel's fitness center includes a nine-station multi-gym, treadmills and bicycles, elliptical machines, and free weights. A wide variety of facials, massages, and skin care treatments are available at the Inverurie Day Spa.

Transportation
  • L.F. Wade International Airport (8.4 mi/13.5 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available
  • Many guests a rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (0.7 mi/1.1 km)
  • Bermuda Aquarium, Natural History Museum & Zoo (3.9 mi/6.3 km)
  • Sonny's Shipwreck Snorkeling (0.8 mi/1.3 km)
Business
  • Recently renovated meeting and banquet facilities
  • Capacity up to 300
  • Dedicated event staff
  • Free high-speed Internet access
Policies and fees
  • Additional fees may apply for some services and amenities.
  • Children must be at least 14 to use to fitness center.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

The Fairmont Hamilton Princess Rooms

Deluxe Room
All Deluxe rooms are located either in the historic main building or in the new Bermudiana House. A beautiful and luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king and sofabed OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden or city view.
Fairmont Room
A well appointed and comfortable room, our Fairmont rooms are located throughout the hotel. Bedding type as follows: one king OR one queen bed. Approximately 350 sq. ft. The room overlooks our garden, pool or city.
Fairmont Gold
All Fairmont Gold rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king OR two double beds. Approximately 400 sq. ft. The room overlooks our magnificent garden, city or harbour view. Private check-in and concierge services in Fairmont Gold Lounge; deluxe continental breakfast, afternoon tea and cocktail canapes served daily in Fairmont Gold Lounge.
Signature with Balcony Room
All Signature with Balcony rooms are located in the historic main building. A beautifully renovated luxurious room which offers a marble bathroom, business amenities and High Speed Internet access. Bedding type as follows: one king and sofabed OR two double beds. Approximately 375 sq. ft plus 100 sq. ft balcony. The room features a magnificent harbour view and large balcony.
Exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge Access
Valid on Fairmont Gold room categories In the exclusive Fairmont Gold Lounge, our dedicated team extends a friendly, sincere welcome and ensures that your every need is met including arranging dinner reservations, limousines and any other special touches you require. Among a small selection of like-minded guests, you can unwind in the lounge and enjoy special privileges such as access to various newspapers and magazines or even catch up on email with our complimentary computers. Throughout the day you can enjoy coffee, tea, an honor bar as well as complimentary cocktail canapes, served between 5.30pm-7.00pm.

Amenities

  • High-speed internet
  • Free parking
  • Pool
General
Concierge
Activities
Pool
Fitness Center
Spa
Dining
Restaurant
Room service
Services
Business center
Conference facilities
Internet
High-speed internet
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed The Fairmont Hamilton Princess also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 3.9 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.4 out of 5

Hotel Map

32.2908 -64.7932
Area served
Hamilton, Southampton, Bermuda
Nearby airports
Bermuda Int'l Airport (BDA): Estimate driving time to The Fairmont Hamilton Princess is 35 minutes and distance is 12 miles.
Area description
The Fairmont Hamilton Princess, often referred to as Bermuda's Hotel, is located in the centre of Bermuda's Shopping and entertainment district within easy access to Bermuda's best restaurants and nightlife. This landmark hotel offers two beautiful pools with spectacular views of Hamilton Harbour. On a stroll through the historic streets, take time to explore the many galleries, cultural centers and museums. Don't miss the chance to go for a dive and observe the island's marine life in its natural habitat - or enjoy it in a less exhausting way with a visit to the Aquarium and Underwater Exploration Institute, or even from the safety of a glass-bottomed boat. Complimentary ferry service daily to The Fairmont Southampton where guest enjoy full exchange privileges. Needless to say, everything is possible in Bermuda.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 3.8 mi

Dining

H.P.'s Coffee Shop
Pick up a cappuccino and home-baked pastry from our new coffee shop featuring Seattle's Best coffee. Located on the lobby level, our coffee shop offers a tempting selection of pastries and sandwiches from the Princess Oven with your choice of beverage.
The Heritage Court
The design concept for this area takes its cue from the rich architectural tradition of Bermudian ancestral homes and its color palate from the abundant flora and water images of this unique British territory. Lounge chairs, sofas, quality artwork and antiques create an intimate & elegant, yet informal setting for cocktails and conversations. You can also try Bermuda's Best Fish Chowder with Black Rum and Sherry Peppers. Our afternoon tea incorporates old English charm with the tropical setting of the island paradise of Bermuda. From the silver tea sets and fine china to the Italian fine woven linen, everything about afternoon tea spells elegance and luxury. The Bar offers one of the most extensive collections of fine rums, wines and champagnes by the glass. Selection of cigars available for smoking on our terrace. Live piano music creates a mood for the early evening and relaxing background. This is the place to see and be seen in Hamilton. Smart casual dress suggested.
Harley's Restaurant
Relish tantalizing dining at Harley's Restaurant and the finest in prime aged beef. Here, a bright and airy atmosphere serves as the perfect complement to every entree. It's no wonder Harley's Restaurant won the Best of Bermuda Gold Award in hotel dining. Enjoy the most tantalizing breakfast buffet on the Island and on Sundays all the traditional Sunday Brunch favorites are served while you enjoy the view of beautiful Hamilton Harbor. -Smart casual dress suggested -reservations are recommended

Meeting facilities

Meeting Info
Our facilities include a host of conference rooms, which can accommodate meetings, receptions and banquets for groups of 20 to 300 persons. Outside terraces, patios and gardens host as many as 500 people in the beautiful setting of a peaceful paradise.

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1200

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (154)

Ratings and reviews for The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Overall score

4.3 / 5
154 out of 154
Amenities:
4.3
Room cleanliness:
4.5
Hotel staff:
4.6
Room comfort:
4.4
Location:
4.4
Value:
3.9

94% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Diana Cibo
New Jersey
Jul 10, 2013

Great Hotel in Hamilton

The Hamilton Princess is a great hotel. We were there last year and returned again this year. The hotel was busy this year with a lot of kids because of a sailing competion but it was still nice. What makes this hotel is the staff especially at Harley's, the restaurant in the hotel. The waitors are the best! They are friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food is good too, especially the Banana Bread French Toast. The hotel is in walking distance to the down town area, and they have a ferry that takes you to their sister hotel which is on the beach. I was disappointed with the Internet service it was very slow and at times we couldn't get on. I hope they correct this problem soon. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To downtown shops, restaurants, downtown ferry and 25 minute hotel ferry to beaches.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Tedspecs
Business
Hamilton Bermuda
Jul 29, 2013

The Fairmint Hamilton Princess

An extremely well run hotel with a lovely setting, attentive staff and clean rooms. Lots of outdoor areas for enjoyment>

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Portofinos Italian Restaurant is very good.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Diana Cibo
New Jersey
Jul 10, 2013

Great Hotel in Hamilton

The Hamilton Princess is a great hotel. We were there last year and returned again this year. The hotel was busy this year with a lot of kids because of a sailing competion but it was still nice. What makes this hotel is the staff especially at Harley's, the restaurant in the hotel. The waitors are the best! They are friendly, helpful, and attentive. The food is good too, especially the Banana Bread French Toast. The hotel is in walking distance to the down town area, and they have a ferry that takes you to their sister hotel which is on the beach. I was disappointed with the Internet service it was very slow and at times we couldn't get on. I hope they correct this problem soon. I would definitely return to this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

To downtown shops, restaurants, downtown ferry and 25 minute hotel ferry to beaches.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Kim and Steve
Assonet, MA
Jul 7, 2013

Perfect quick getaway

Always a great experience. We love going for a long weekend. Been staying at this hotel for several years now and for us it's the perfect location. A short walk to shopping and dining and we love to rent a scooter to visit the beaches and attractions. Very clean and safe.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Bermuda Frequent Traveler
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 4, 2013

A Royal time at the Princess.

We were treated like Royalty at the Hamilton Princess Hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful, our room was well cared for and had a great view of the harbor, and the hotel grounds were beautifully groomed. We ate most of our meals at the hotel restaurants and were very happy with the food and service. We will definitely return to the Princess for our next vacation trip to Bermuda.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

There are dozens of fine restaurants within a short walk or cab ride from the hotel.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
lgjhere
Los Angeles, CA
Jun 17, 2013

Bermuda

Had a wonderful time at the Princess. A little overpriced though.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

The $300 credit that came with the booking was wonderful in this expensive hotel.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

4
The Big O Numero uno
West Palm Beach, Florida
May 16, 2013

Wonderful place to get away

The hotel is very nice and you could not ask for a better location being right on the water with a fabulous view. Also the proximity of downtown is a major plus.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Not only is downtown very close there is a grocery store which we did not previously know located right next to the hotel

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
PISUMMER
BOSTON, MA
Apr 23, 2013

GREAT IN TOWN LOCATION

Great location for walking to restaraunts etc. Sister Hotel in South Hampton is accesable via complimentary ferry and you have full access to their amenities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
Rangerken
Massachusetts
Mar 5, 2013

We will return

We would gladly stay here again. The staff was great in every respect. The only not superb thing was the lobby piano player. He really is NOT good at all. He obviously thinks he is because of how loud he plays. This, however, is minor. The hotel was really superb.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
BlitzSchreiber
Alexandria, VA
Nov 29, 2012

Fairmont Thanksgiving Package

This was our first trip to Bermuda. It was a wonderful experience that we will repeat often. The one sour note was with the airport transfer package that we booked along with the hotel and air. Beeline stood us up on the return trip after they called to confirm the pickup time. There was no call, no apology. The Fairmont staff was, of course, on top of the problem and got us to the airport on time at Beeline's expense.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Hartley's for Thankgiving dinner was great.

Review of The Fairmont Hamilton Princess

Reviewer score

5
CC Momma
Franklin Square, N.Y.
Nov 2, 2012

Wonderful, relaxing vacation

The Hamilton Princess is a beautiful hotel, and the staff is very friendly. We have stayed here before. The food was delicious. Unfortunately, we had to leave a day early due to Hurricane Sandy. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Hamilton is a short walk from the Princess and there are so many shops and restaurants in town.

Back to menu Return to top