$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
390 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
ALL-INCLUSIVE PLANS AVAILABLE (breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks) - click SHOW MORE ROOMS to find these upgraded options, below the initial room-only categories shown in the initial search results. Explore the 21 acres of our naturally Bermuda landscaped gardens and Crystal Cave Lakes. Feel the warm breeze of the Atlantic as you take in our panoramic views. Newly renovated and redecorated, our rooms feature balconies or patios and are a calm and comfortable retreat, lulling you to sleep after a day of balmy pleasures. Indulge in and savour our Bermuda island cuisine, market fresh - and always served to your liking in our tropical Palm Court or elegant Hibiscus restaurants. Or dine at Al Fresco, above the beach and enjoy your favorite lunchtime snacks at the Bayside Bar & Grill. At Grotto Bay Beach Resort your pleasure is our guarantee. Refresh in our blue Bermuda ocean waters, swim on our private pink sand beach, bathe in our fresh water pool, or languish in our outdoor Jacuzzi surrounded by gardens above the beach; sail, snorkel, wind surf, dive ancient wrecks or explore our delicate and beautiful coral reefs. Take a boat cruise, on a sunny afternoon or during a glorious sunset. Play tennis night or day, or work out in our exercise room. We're also conveniently located within five minutes of two of Bermuda's finest golf courses, Tucker's Point Golf Club and the Mid Ocean Golf Club; should you wish to hit the greens. In addition we offer an extensive Activities program for children and adults, offering a daily schedule of fun-filled things to do. Children can be entertained in our Children's Program (Summer School Break only), while parents take some well-deserved time out, or families can have fun together and join in 'the games'. (Some activities are seasonal and weather permitting. Please check with our Concierge to confirm availability). ****Please note that bedding request is based on availability. Call hotel for specific bedding request: 1-800-582-3190 from the US.****

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.6 / 5
5.01.0
35 out of 390
Amenities:
3.7
Room cleanliness:
4.1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3.8
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.6

77% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York
Sep 12, 2010

Don't waste your time

The hotel requires too much walking to get to and from your room. Upon arrival, I had to deal with rude front desk staff and had to have my room changed 3 times due to cleanliness and smell. I would never suggest this hotel to anyone. The staff did not make me feel confortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to a nearby store to get items for your refrigerator.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed Joe
Business
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

No wifi and staff language

This hotel would have much higher but for 2 things: 1. there is no wifi in the rooms, regardless of the staff saying there is, so don't plan on checking email, using a magic jack or doing any work online. 2. although both the white and black staff were very helpful and friendly, the constant barrage of ebonics from some front desk staff was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B the traveler
Business
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 4, 2013

Ok for a getaway

As a first timer to Bermuda i feel that this was a good place to stay. The staff did try extremely hard to make sure that something was always going on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Business
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just so so
Business
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

so so

The views are pretty and the staff were friendly... however, grotto bay could have been better. Beach is quite small, as is the jacuzzi.... pool wasn't heated. Rooms smelled a bit dingy. Not much to do! Especially in the winter when the weather is so unpredictable and everything seems to close so early... this is problematic all around Bermuda, but at least the Hotel could have supplemented with activities and amenities... overall, enjoyable experience, but prob wont' be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winter Get Away Traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Grotto Bay Resort

Grotto Bay was a great, relaxing vacation for a friend of mine and I for a quick get away from Boston. We had a comfortable room with a great view of the ocean. We were there during low season so the place was not too packed but the pool bar and cafe was not yet open. The hotel was close to a great trail run in Blue Hole Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tom Moore's Tavern---a quick walk through Blue Hole Park, if you're willing to make that walk or an easy taxi ride, for an exceptional meal with great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zuzka
Business
Passaic, NJ, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Beautiful, Clean Accomodations with nice location, and friendly staff

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. Everything was very clean, and in great shape. The rooms were very nice. Small, but updated and clean bathroom. Beds were comfortable and room was a nice size for two people to share. Balcony offered a beautiful view. Grounds were well kept and the staff was always polite, friendly, and helpful. I would not recommend this hotel for someone who has trouble getting around. There are no elevators in the buildings, and you have to take a long set of stairs to get to the pool/beach and some rooms. Food was limited - you could only get breakfast till 10:30, lunch from 12-3:30, and dinner beginning at 5. Only had lunch on site, which was good but not great, and somewhat pricey. The patio itself was nice for outdoor dining. Swimming in the on-site cave was a fun feature of this hotel. The beach/pool area was very small but we never had a problem getting a lounge chair. It was loud at times near the jacuzzi. There are bus stops conveniently located right outside the hotel, a recommended and affordable way to travel the island. Close to St. George, and about 40 minutes by bus to Hamilton. 5 minutes from the airport. I recommend it, but will personally try somewhere else on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs are very expensive. Obtain a bus pass for 1, 3, or 7 days which can be purchased right at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuppie Fratstar Traveler
Business
Boston / NYC
Jul 24, 2012

Couples and Families Galore!!!

Came with 3 other bro's. This definitely wasn't the place for us. Some cool aspects of the place such as swimming in caves and a 24 hour pool. But they charge for everything like kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, playing on the inflatables in the ocean, breakfast, wifi and the concierge tries to get you to do these hotels activities as much as possible. This seemed to be the overall trend of the island as a whole. There are much better options if you head off site and get to know some locals who can direct you to some fun activities such as cliff jumping, caves, and nightlife activities. The place had some really nice staff like Stevon who told us about things going on around the island like a nearby cricket match and a reggae festival. Also had another bartender recommend a great restaurant in hamilton called the Lobster Pot. The close proximity to the airport makes it good if you have to catch an early flight but it is not the best area for night life. Next time I go back to bermuda it will probably be with a girlfriend and I will stay closer to hamilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jamaica Grill for some local cuisine. Oxtails and Jerk Chicken. Get away from the overpriced hotel offerings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJO123
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 24, 2013

Good - Maybe Great during prime season?

Our stay was comfortable. I was dissapointed in the the restaurant selection. Not set up to make you want to stay there for all of your meals. Maybe it's a better resort during prime season but it was kind of slow, pool bar closes at 6pm. Food only for the main 3 meals. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom a little small and the lighting in the rooms and bathroom made it hard to put on makeup. The wifi is limited to only the lobby and expensive. In this day and age they should offer at the very least free wifi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann scuba diver
Business
NYC
Mar 26, 2014

too close to the airport

We booked an oceanfront room but didn't actually get one...not sure what I paid extra money for. We asked for one of the first floor ocean front rooms but were told there were none available, even though there were many empty ones we walked by. It's too close to the airport and hard to reach the beaches of Bermuda. Resort itself is pretty though, other than seeing airplanes overhead all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top