$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Aug 8, 2010

Ups and Downs

First time in Bermuda. We arrived on Wednesday an departed Sunday. The hotel would not allow early check-in. Concierge personnel were very helpful, as you need transportation to get to any town and see the sights or shop. We discovered this may be the only resort/hotel with its own beach. The beach is small and located in a bay where the water is calm. The "ocean view" overlooks a bay with the airport at the opposite shore. Everything is expensive. Cheapest meal for two (lunch or breakfast) ran us about 50 dollars. Restaurants on the premises seemed under-staffed and reservations are highly recommended. We tried to walk-in for a few meals and were given a later reservation; however we saw several empty tables as we waited to be seated. Rooms were clean and the grounds were beautiful. All in all, we had a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Buy the bus/ferry pass at the front desk or before you arrive (if possible). We purchased a 3-day pass and used multiple trips on both means of transportation to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
sbutler963[@]
Business
Dayton, OH
Mar 30, 2011

Pricey but Nice

The facilities were very nice but we were so shocked by the cost of everything. Definitely plan ahead if you are heading here. Plan on a minimum of $50 per person per day and that will get you bare minimums. Couldn't even get a longer checkout without paying $100. So good deals yes, til you get there

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get your bus pass and get some groceries in Hamilton for some of your meals (ones that don't require cooking)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Jun 30, 2011

Just OK

Grotto Bay's water was the best feature. No waves no wakes and the water was very clear. Each day spent by the water was relaxing however, the beach is small and you had to get there early for use of a chaise. Mattresses were bad; pillows were worse. Our ocean front view was blocked by a large palm tree so our view was the bridge to the airport (with some water). Roosters/hens/chicks everywhere which we did not know so the crowing starting at 4 am was funny the first morning but not after that. People at Grotto Bay were very nice. Daily free tea @ 3:30 ea day was a favorite (great scones). Everything was very expensive... A glass of soda by the water/pool was $3. Everything had a 17% gratuity add ed which supported all staff. We didn't know this before arrival. Because Grotto is so close to the airport, don't waste your money on a shuttle service to/from the airport. A taxi or the bus system would be just fine. Bus tickets were a good purchase! We became pro's at that. Take the 10 or 11 for quicker trips into Hamilton. A ride on the 7 to the Dockyard was breathtaking. Stop at Horseshoe Bay for the pink beach!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Any real shopping was in the city of Hamilton. From Grotto Bay by bus was a minimum of 30 minutes. Everything we read made Hamton seem only "minutes away". We never knew that for shopping etc most everything shut down by 6 pm and only the Dockyard shopping was open on Sundays. Shopping at the Dockyard was NOT worth the trip. The Dockyard was a big disappointment altogether.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
US
May 28, 2010

first time visit to Bermuda

Hotel was very clean and quiet. The view of the bay was great and we enjoyed the small porch off our room. We are in good physical condition and that is a good thing since the location of the room was a good ways from the lobby when carrying luggage. No elevator so we were happy to be on the second floor. No one offered to show us the way to the building where our room was located or assist with luggage. Front desk staff were nice and helpful with sightseeing and determining best option for transportation (which was the bus pass!)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

All meals are expensive compared to US costs so go prepared. Even food in the grocery stores was very expensive. We were happy we carried a few snack items and bought lunch type food for the room to avoid eating out every meal. We enjoyed all the restaurants we visited and had good service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
CXN
Business
Bridgeport, Conn
May 9, 2011

Great Getaway

Our 6 night stay at the Grotto Bay Resort was wonderful. The hotel staff were friendly and helpful. The room and the grounds were well maintained. The location was perfect for relaxation. Good value, will definitely return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The Crystal Caves.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Plymouth, MA
May 31, 2009

Relaxing Weekend

Great location with friendy and very helpful staff. Rooms were old and drab and in need of significant updating. Bathrooms were much to small with no surface space to place shaving cream,deoderant, razor, shampoo, toothpaste, etc for 2 people. Since we did not have to spend much time in our room, we did enjoy our short stay at the Grotto Bay Resort. For the price,I would NOT recommend this Resort until they invest in more grounds maintenance and room updating and redesign.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Purchase the Bus Pass at the hotel for convenient, safe, and inexpensive bus and ferry travel day/night throughout the Island and to beaches.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Treebie
Business
Chicago
Mar 13, 2011

Quiet, simple, pleasant

The hotel is 5 mins from the airport so once we got through customs we were at the hotel room in less than half and hour. I would not take a beachfront room again though. It's a long walk down a steep hill and your room is still on a cliff, close but not on the beach. Breakfast is then a long climb back up each morning. I lost a few pounds on that exercise. I'd take the beachview in the future, closer to the road and the restaurants and not that far from the beach. The pool was not yet heated and the water was pretty cold but I got in and enjoyed the swim. The hot tub was usually full of folks so if you wanted company that was where to find them. Dark and Stormy drink is a nice refreshing mix of rum and gingerale. WE made our own in the room. the rooms ahve a small refrigerator and a coffee pot so you can make a simple breakfast. The clubhouse has toasters and butter so (I'm gluten intolerant) I bought my own bread in Hamilton at the Friends site on the road to the fort..little health food store. The Frig keeps things at frozen temps so keep fruit and veggies out or put them into some protective containers. We rented scooters just next door to the resort for two days. Great idea. Weather held out for us and we had beautiful days. Off season so not many people around, but that was pretty nice actually. WE had instant access or service everywhere, no waiting. Beds were not great but slept fine. Flat screen in the room worked well, very few channels but who wants to watch tv in the room? The scuba/snorkel/sail availability was very limited. Doesn't really get started until april apparently. I was sad to miss that. Don't miss the Crystal and Fantasy Caves. Easy walk from Grotto Bay and easy tour. Great guide there. Swizzle Inn is acceptable, food is basic and good. Bermuda is a very pleasant place to go. No beggars, 1% unemployment and high per capita income makes the whole island full of employed, content people who are willing to help you out. I might go back unless I can swing a higher cost place.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Crystal Cave and Swizzle Inn

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
USA
Jul 8, 2008

Decent Place but far from city and little noisy

The hotel is decent but it has lots of noisy birds in the area which keep chiraping thought the night and don't let you sleep properly. The hotel is a decent place to relax. The view not fantastic but still u get to see the water. One big drawback about this hotel is its location. Its far away from the city and the main beaches, so you end up travelling a lot for food and best beaches, which are along the southern coast. If u just want to be in the hotel then its not a bad choice, or you certainly got to rent a scoter or depend on public transport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle In is the only nearby dinning place. There is a small grocery few steps ahead of this place.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super Neat
Business
Boston
Jun 23, 2011

Great family vacation spot

The hotel was perfect for a family getaway - no matter how old the kids are. The villas were terrific - ours opened up to a little private beach area. The only reason i gave 3 stars instead of higher was the general cleanliness of the room. The bathroom definitely needed some touch-up. And sheets weren't changed daily. With the exception of that - all was amazing. In particular, the service and staff was amazing!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Mar 15, 2011

beautiful grounds ..far from the truck

the hotel is on beautiful grounds, gardens, fantastic caves and beach. the rooms are nice, public areas are large and beautiful. being it's off the "truck" there is not much going on in the evening. A resort hotel should have more activities and Entertainment.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top