$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 6, 2015 Check-out: May 8, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Escape the Northeast Winter
Business
Ridgewood, NJ
Feb 28, 2011

Great Value

The hotel had a beautiful view of the harbor and tropical blue water. It was located very close to the airport so it was a cheap cab ride over but there were no airport sounds. The hotel lobby was very nice and the staff was friendly. They were helpful with our lost luggage as well. There was complimentary daily tea in the afternoons, but other than that we did not eat at the 2 restaurants on the property and chose to go out. Our room was a good size with a view of the water and a patio and close to the pool and beach. The pool was nice but not too warm during our visit. There was only one jacuzzi that was small that I could imagine would be a problem during the busy season. The beach was nice and there were plenty of chairs and the snorkeling at the sunken ship was neat. By far the coolest surprise at the hotel were the caves! There are 2 caves that you can explore and have been made accessible with walkways and stairs. The limestone formations are a must-see! You are able to swim in one of the caves- it has a little ladder but the water is very chilly but it is an awesome experience! The grounds of the hotel are nice and well kept but located on a hill so expect some inclines. Bus passes are available at the front desk and the stops are right out front of the hotel and we thought they were an excellent way to get around the island and see the sights and interact with the locals. It was a gorgeous setting that allowed us to relax and unwind and was well worth it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You are able to buy bus passes at the hotel desk for one day, 3 days or 7 days. There are bus stops right outside the front of the hotel. We bought a bus pass for the weekend and it was a great way to see the island and get around. The schedule was easy to follow and the buses run regularly. We were told not to rent scooters because they drive on the left side of the road and the round-abouts would be tricky to navigate and it could be dangerous. The bus passes also allowed us to interact with the local people and learn a little bit about their culture.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yasumichi
Business
Newark, NJ
Apr 16, 2007

Hidden Charge

It's great location and the great view from the room, but somewhat unfriendly staffs.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

5 min walk to Swizzle Inn. Serves great food.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Srios
Business
new york, ny
Aug 27, 2011

decent

Not a bad stay. No early check in. They even made us wait 10 minutes after the check in time before we got a key. The hotel is close to the airport but nothing else really. It's about a 30 min bus ride into the town of Hamilton. Room was clean. Food was decent.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Boston, MA
Jan 10, 2011

Nice Hotel

Nice resort, friendly staff and nice rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NY, NY
Jun 21, 2009

Beautiful Bermuda

Beautiful location! So easy to get to and from Airport, Hamilton and St. George. Food and amenities are very pricey and there is a charge for everything...but that seems to be true every where in Bermuda. Overall it was a very relaxing and friendly place to stay...beautiful water, beach and pool.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

Food everywhere is pretty expensive...it is hard to pay under $100 per couple for dinner at most restaurants on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
New York, NY
Jul 26, 2009

Very average hotel

Nice location very close to the airport and a great little beach & still water for swimming relaxing. That being said, the hotel was extremely average as far as decor went it was nothing special and the service was less than average. Just fine. Wouldn't recommend & wouldn't not recommend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MattyMo
Business
Albany, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Great resort, bad service...

The resort is beautiful and in a great location right on the sound by the causeway in Bermuda. The bellmen and front desk staff were excellent but the wait staff and cooks were very slow and didn't seem to care about their service since grats was included. Food was expensive and def. not worth the price, good but never great. Besides the food service this resort was amazing and there are plenty of other food choices on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Swizzle Inn for great fried food, pizza, burgers, pastas and drinks... Hamilton has plenty of great restaurants and is a short bus/moped ride away.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Maryland
Oct 24, 2009

Grotto Bay

The Hotel and Hotel restaurants were very nice and convenient. The beach and pool area were exellent for relaxing, snorkeling or swimming. The hotel location was relatively far from most of the attractions on the island. Luckily the bus stop was very close.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Dining in Bermuda is limited and expensive, recommend getting an all inclusive package including dining at the hotels. Food at the hotel was as good as anywhere on the island.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
NJ
Apr 26, 2011

Grotto Bay Resort: Bermuda

Just returned from a four-night stay at The Grotto Bay and had an overall pleasant experience. The food was very good, expensive but very relative to most resorts on any island. The rooms were very clean, quiet. I will say that if you are not one to have to hike from your room to the hotel, restaurants or lobby, this is not the place for you! There are stairs EVERYWHERE! Also, if you're looking for a gym to get in a workout- this is also not the place for you. I was very disappointed to go for my first run of the trip and find that Bermuda (at least the east side of the island) has very few sidewalks and it's incredibly unsafe to go for a run. Hoping the gym would be Plan B, I was disappointed to find that there is one treadmill, bike and elliptical in a small, unaircondtioned room overlooking the bay. The pool is very nice, there are a lot of water activities on site as well. Walking distance to one restaurant, a convenience store and an ice cream shop, but that's about it. Bus system is excellent and the hotel has one right at the property. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle Inn is a nice, casual bar/restaurant with pretty good food but only slightly less expensive than the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Dr. Robinson
Business
Cleveland, OH
Jul 9, 2011

Red Roof Inn with a great view

Bermuda was great and exceeded our expectations. Grotto Bay was most convenient to the airport, perhaps 5 mins. away. I paid for deluxe room for the view, and it was worth it. However, I thought every room had an awesome view of the bay. The beach was small, quiet, but adequate for tanning. We did not pay for all-inclusive meals because we wanted to eat in other locations. It was cheaper to do so. Grotto Bay appeared safe. I could not sleep one night and went for a 3am walk. It was OK. No one was awake, not even the front desk guy. There are roosters present. They begin their noise at 5 or 6am and it could be annoying to some people. The rooms are adequate size and bed is very comfortable. We had ants and no one responded. Others also complained of ants. That was very disturbing. Activities are sparse. For 5 nights only one night was there dancing at poolside. Management really needs to improve in this area. Public transportation is the best way to go. Buy all-day passes for $12 each which also includes all ferry excursions. Be sure to take bus to St. George and take ferry to the naval stockyard. The 45 min. trip is awesome! The naval museum at the stockyard was tremendous. It is air-conditioned and lots of history. The people of Bermuda of the friendliest, kindest, warmest people I have ever met. The island is clean and the people are very integrated, unlike many of the Carribean islands. In summary, although I am somewhat critical of Grotto Bay due to the ants and roosters, I found it very romantic. I would recommend it for honeymooners.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

No way would I rent a motor scooter! Roads are narrow, lots of curves, and fellow scooters take too many chances when passing each other. I witnessed a scooter accident. Purchase all-day bus pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top