$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
400 reviews
Bermuda Anytime!

I love Grotto Bay Hotel! The rooms were beautiful! I stayed in one that overlooked the Ocean and... See full review

  • Booskinewyears
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great get-away!

Great location, very close to the airport. It is easy to go around by bus. Staffs are friendly. See full review

  • Gary.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Margaux M.
Business
philadelphia, pa
Nov 20, 2012

Great getaway

Nice hotel. close to airport. Bus stop right out front. Close to Swizzle Inn. Very friendly staff.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Outside of the hotel is a bus stop, its an easy and economical way to get around the island. Recommend buying a day or multi-day pass.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
tie sherry
Business
Brooklyn
Jan 8, 2013

vacation

the hotel is lovely you have access to evertthing but i got the allinclusive and they didn't mention it only seasonal with some of the amenities so traveling in January 2013 is not a good thing due to no access to most amenties at the hote and you don't get to enjoy the real beauty of the hotel. the food was tasty but expensive the tolite does not work I had to fix it my self the person that came didn't do a good job because as soon as they left it broke again if you on a budget or with family but yes I would recomend this hotel all the Staff are worderful and helpfull. Remember to enjoy this hotel go in the summer and do all inclusive

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

in city

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Sonja i'm a runner West
Business
Philadelphia, Pa
Jan 22, 2013

beautiful view of the ocean

the hotel was neat and clean, the food was good, the hotel was 20 minutes from downtown. We loved the cave the view inside was picture perfect

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

20 minute bus ride

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Needed the sleep
Business
Toronto, ON
Mar 20, 2013

Great relaxing vacation

The trip didn't start off too great, as we were unable to check in until 3:30pm, which considering check in was 3pm was a little annoying. However, we were allowed to use the facilities upon arrival. The hotel room was clean, and our balcony view was amazing, with a beautiful view of the bay. We didn't have the all inclusive so usually went off resort for meals as it was a bit expensive to eat at the resort. There was nothing close to eat at except the Swizzle inn, which was nice, but the bus to hamilton could be quite long and tedious to go to for a bit of variety. Only on our last day did we find a great and relatively cheap cafe at the Crystakl caves. Not sure why the hotel did not promote this. They did however promote the Swizzle INn a lot, so slightly disappointed by that. Otherwise a great place to stay to relax and get away from the world.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Kelly girls
Business
New York, NY
Apr 1, 2013

Easter Break

My 17 year old daughter and I wanted to go somewhere nice before she went away to college. I had been to Bermuda years ago and remembered well the natural beauty of the island and the genuine warmth of its inhabitants. As we toured from one tip of island to the other I was delighted to be able to share some wonderful experiences with my daughter. As for Grotto Bay Resort we found the ocean front room spacious and clean. The bus stop in front of Grotto Bay was a big plus for us. Most of the staff were friendly and helpful, especially Miss Esme the concierge. We both had a great time in Bermuda and hope to return someday.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
SJO123
Business
Detroit, MI
Apr 24, 2013

Good - Maybe Great during prime season?

Our stay was comfortable. I was dissapointed in the the restaurant selection. Not set up to make you want to stay there for all of your meals. Maybe it's a better resort during prime season but it was kind of slow, pool bar closes at 6pm. Food only for the main 3 meals. The room was clean, beds were comfortable, bathroom a little small and the lighting in the rooms and bathroom made it hard to put on makeup. The wifi is limited to only the lobby and expensive. In this day and age they should offer at the very least free wifi in the lobby.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ronay
Business
New york
Apr 28, 2013

Family & couples

Very friendly and helpful staff, my husband & I traveled from one end of island to the other.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Glam Girl
Business
DC
May 27, 2013

Nice but boring

Front desk was not particularly warm or friendly. June at the concierge desk was helpful but she seemed rushed and overwhelmed. No night life at the resort. Very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Post Cruise
Business
Alexandria, VA
May 28, 2013

Needs That Special Something

Lots of little things. Wireless internet we found out is pay as you go. Rum punch is punch and they wave the rum bottle over the glass. Guest Services, has some good ideas, but they have sat in the chair too long instead of trying places, so they don't tell you about shuttles instead of expensive taxi fares, or that the buses have two day passes, not just 1 and 3. Also for anyone thinking of filling out a survey, don't believe this web site when they say you will get 5% back, less than 1% of the hotels will accept that discount. But I am filling this out anyway, the hotel is like a cruise, everything is extra and overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Beach House (formerly Black Beards), but take the bus to St. Georges, then walk to St. Georges Club and catch a shuttle. No need to look for scarce taxis.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EPtravels
Business
Hoboken, NJ
May 29, 2013

Not your best option

We stayed at the Grotto Bay for 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend. Pros: -Concierge was helpful in making dinner reservations, suggesting beaches to visit and other excursions -A 2 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn Cons: -Location is a bummer. Requires catching two separate buses to get to the best beaches on the island. -Rooms could really use a refresher. Walls are extremely thin. (Also, be sure to bring you own conditioner as it isn't complimentary!) -The beach at the hotel is quite small. Note: We did not purchase the all inclusive package and only ate breakfast at the hotel once. Cannot comment on the food. While we didn't have any major complaints about this hotel, next time we will definitely pay a bit more to be in a better location with nicer facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top