$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Winter Get Away Traveler
Business
Boston, MA, USA
Mar 17, 2012

Grotto Bay Resort

Grotto Bay was a great, relaxing vacation for a friend of mine and I for a quick get away from Boston. We had a comfortable room with a great view of the ocean. We were there during low season so the place was not too packed but the pool bar and cafe was not yet open. The hotel was close to a great trail run in Blue Hole Park.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Tom Moore's Tavern---a quick walk through Blue Hole Park, if you're willing to make that walk or an easy taxi ride, for an exceptional meal with great service.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
AB2012
Business
Boston, MA
Mar 24, 2012

Clean, inviting, and great grounds!

Overall, I enjoyed my stay. The beach onsite is clean and well maintained. The room view was wonderful, although the room itself needs some updating, but clean and spacious. The pool bar & grill was closed while I was there, and the climb up the stairs to the main house is definitely a work out! But, for me I enjoyed the extra exercise. the cave on site is great, & much better than the Crystal caves down the st. Location is close to airport, good for short trips, but I needed to take many long bus rides to get to the beautiful beaches on the west end, and 1/2 hr bus ride to hamilton. It is a little far away from everything. The prices for food and drink are very steep, so either opt for all-inclusive, or go to hamilton supermarket and buy snacks & sandwiches. Although it was tasty. Don't bother w internet, is pricey and dosen't work in the room. All in all, will probably return if visiting Bermuda for short time and want to be close to airport.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Fridge in room, so stock up on food and bottled water to cut costs, the hamilton supermarket is great place for that.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
mapilon
Business
Gatineau, QC, Canada
Apr 11, 2012

Great stay

OK, the rooms are old but the bed are confortable. Almost all rooms have an amazing ocean view. The hotel is 5 minutes from the aeroport $8 cab fare. The bus comes right in front of the hotel every 15minutes and that is great. The location was really good. Walking distance to a jungle area with paths and caves. walking distance to Swizzle in good basic food. Hamburg/pizza/nachos. The water is amazing everywhere. The hotel is in a little bay and there plenty of corals to go snorkling right from the beach. The food at the hotel was really good. There is a cave on site that you can go swimming in that is amazing. We would go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go visit Crystal cave and do both caves... walking distance. If there is one beach that you need to visit, it is Horseshoe bay. incredible beach. Take the bus

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Zuzka
Business
Passaic, NJ, USA
Apr 18, 2012

Beautiful, Clean Accomodations with nice location, and friendly staff

I had a very nice stay at this hotel. Everything was very clean, and in great shape. The rooms were very nice. Small, but updated and clean bathroom. Beds were comfortable and room was a nice size for two people to share. Balcony offered a beautiful view. Grounds were well kept and the staff was always polite, friendly, and helpful. I would not recommend this hotel for someone who has trouble getting around. There are no elevators in the buildings, and you have to take a long set of stairs to get to the pool/beach and some rooms. Food was limited - you could only get breakfast till 10:30, lunch from 12-3:30, and dinner beginning at 5. Only had lunch on site, which was good but not great, and somewhat pricey. The patio itself was nice for outdoor dining. Swimming in the on-site cave was a fun feature of this hotel. The beach/pool area was very small but we never had a problem getting a lounge chair. It was loud at times near the jacuzzi. There are bus stops conveniently located right outside the hotel, a recommended and affordable way to travel the island. Close to St. George, and about 40 minutes by bus to Hamilton. 5 minutes from the airport. I recommend it, but will personally try somewhere else on my next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Cabs are very expensive. Obtain a bus pass for 1, 3, or 7 days which can be purchased right at the front desk.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Tony2012
Business
Miami,Florida
May 5, 2012

Hills!

Not wheelchair freindly but the staff pushed my wheelchair up the hills ! The bathroom in my room was not accessible and they had to remove the main door in order for me to get in. The batrhroom tub was also was blocked by a glass half way and not very accessible for a wheelchair.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The meals were great but if there were more choices would have been more acceptable

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BIGDOG 1961
Business
ohio
Jul 12, 2012

RANDY

Friendly helpful staff. The property was a little dated, but well maintained. We had a problem with bugs in our room, ants and very big cockroaches. Nice experience, but would stay a little closer to southhampton on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE SWIZZLE INN IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE RESORT DECENT FOOD AT A GOOD PRICE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Yuppie Fratstar Traveler
Business
Boston / NYC
Jul 24, 2012

Couples and Families Galore!!!

Came with 3 other bro's. This definitely wasn't the place for us. Some cool aspects of the place such as swimming in caves and a 24 hour pool. But they charge for everything like kayaking, paddle boarding, snorkeling, playing on the inflatables in the ocean, breakfast, wifi and the concierge tries to get you to do these hotels activities as much as possible. This seemed to be the overall trend of the island as a whole. There are much better options if you head off site and get to know some locals who can direct you to some fun activities such as cliff jumping, caves, and nightlife activities. The place had some really nice staff like Stevon who told us about things going on around the island like a nearby cricket match and a reggae festival. Also had another bartender recommend a great restaurant in hamilton called the Lobster Pot. The close proximity to the airport makes it good if you have to catch an early flight but it is not the best area for night life. Next time I go back to bermuda it will probably be with a girlfriend and I will stay closer to hamilton.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Jamaica Grill for some local cuisine. Oxtails and Jerk Chicken. Get away from the overpriced hotel offerings.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BA and CM
Business
Balt/DC area
Jul 23, 2012

nice getaway

Our stay was consistent with what we heard/read from reviews - nice property; clean; staff were great/very hospitable; rooms - average (bedding/mattress need an upgrade); very cool swimming in the cave; great massages; food was good, bar service -- hmm could have been better; location was decent (near airport but can't remember even "hearing" a plane take off); took cabs, bus & rented a scooter (which we ended up using the most) to get around the island ... went shopping, horseback riding, snorkeling, played golf, visited other beaches, restaurants & towns. A visit to nearby Swizzle is a must for food/drinks. The weather was on our side ... 85 degress & sunny the 5 days we were there; we enjoyed the island ... and only a 2 hour trip from Balt/DC area ... we'll be back:)

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Super couple T
Business
Grotto Bay resort
Jul 31, 2012

20th wedding anniversay

This hotel was average. We reserved a delux ocean front room (the most expensive option) because the internet said these rooms overlook the pool and the beach. Our room did not overlook the pool and when we first got to our room we found ants in our bed. I went to the front desk and asked to be moved to a different room and at first they said they did not have any other rooms available but after complaining they put us in a cleaner room with no ants. I think the room they moved us to was the renovated part of the hotel. The food at the hotel was a little pricey but great.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Ski TaHOE a Fer
Business
New Jersey
Oct 3, 2012

Jet setters

A lovely hotel, convienent for a quick get away close to airport. Location is great for catching the buses to Hamilton or St. George. Hotel has bus tokens and tickets and motor scooter rentals near. Walls are very thin, bed not the greatest Food and drink are pricier in Bermuda and all depends on where you dine. Breakfast at Grotto will run you 20$ PP for full breakfast. Overall, enjoyable place to stay and a nice quiet relaxing resort.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle Inn is a short walk down the road. Hamilton is 25 min bus ride and St. George is 10 min ride over the bridge. There is no Night life here in downtown bermuda and places/stores close early. Reservations recommended for dining.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top