$259 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 24, 2014 Check-out: Aug 27, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
537 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the... See full review

  • Enchanted Honeymooners
  • Jul 24, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (537)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
537 out of 537
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 29, 2011

Overpriced with poor service

The hotel is convenient to the airport but that is where it ends. We had to take a bus to go anywhere. The nearest town, St. George's is 20 minutes away and sometime we had to wait up to 15 minutes for the bus. Meals at the hotel are very good but expensive. Minimum entrees were around $40! Bereakfast ran at over $20 per person. Rooms are poor. The furniture has seen better days. My room was not cleaned the first night. When I asked them about it they claimed that the housekeeping staff had left for the day. They did clean it up but it took some jawboning. They shut off the hot water during the day. I had to call the front desk to have them turn it on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an unlimited daily (or multiday) bus pass. Bus rides to Hamilton will cost you $4 one way.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 15, 2007

Such a shame

The Grotto Bay Beach hotel is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. The beach on the bay was so relaxing. It was just a shame that the staff was, almost to a person, unfriendly and discourteous. We were told that many of the hotel workers were burnt out at this time of year(second week in Sept.) We only had dinner at the hotel one evening and my meal was excellent but my wife's was marginal and she didn't want to complain because the waiter was obviusly hurried and over his head with the job. Our room was average except for the musty smell but that could have been unavoidable as it was very muggy that week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a multi-day bus pass. It's the best value, the taxi cabs are expensive and forget the scooters, the natives make Boston drivers look like angels!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville
May 11, 2011

Not quite what the pics displayed

Travled all over the island by bus. Visited the local pubs,the onion pub and squire were two of the best. The bus system was great and the day passes are the way to see all the island. St. George has dried up since the cruise ships now dock at the ship harbor so there was little to do though a lot of history to see. The beaches are all that you could dream of with pink sand so soft to walk on. The locals are great, the island very clean and you felt safe walking anywhere. The Grotto is in need of great repair. I know Bermuda is pricey but you should still get what you paid for. The rooms look like a Comfort Inn. Mold in the bathrooms,outdated decorations. The walls were so thin you could hear others toilets flushs, hangers being removed from the and voices above and beside you. Walls were coated in mulitply layers of paint, dusk in the corners and a dried flower arrangement looked as if it never have been dusted. Be careful where they put you. We were in a deluxe room ( which is suppose to be the best) but we were facing not the ocean as stated but the bridge in the bay looking at the airport. They did move us one building over. Having said all that the views there are beautiful and it was nice to have a small beach to relax on. We did not eat meals there except for one lunch which was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

4 day bus pass

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Feb 9, 2011

"out of season" resort is just a hotel

This was a week of relaxation for my wonderful man and me. We live apart for most of the year due to work responsibilities. We knew we were off season so we chose Grotto Bay as they advertised having everything on site we wanted to do. What they did not tell us was that everything on site would be closed! The weather was nice for swimming in the pool but the pool bar and restaurant were closed. The games room was closed. There was no available use of any water sport items. The jacuzzi was not heated unless you asked them to turn on in advance. The bellman was not there to take our bags to our room, we had to go back and get ourselves after waiting 45 minutes. He disappeared again at departure so we lugged our bags again. On the plus side, the rest of the employees were great! Very friendly and willing to help. When we asked for a table for our patio and the leak in the bathroom to be corrected they were right there to fix. The food in the restaurant was really good although there is no place to get anything to eat in the afternoon since the pool bar was closed. The only room service is a pizza. If we decided to return to Bermuda this would be a fine place to stay "in season" otherwise I would stay closer to the city as there is nothing to do in the area once you have seen the caves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

fantasy and crystal caves are a short walk away - worth the time and money as they are beautiful

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
writestuff
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Feb 9, 2011

Even at a discount, a poor value

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel (a business trip) and to put it succinctly, I wouldn't return. It's tired inside and out, with rooms with worn-out furnishings, paper-thin walls, dirty floors and bathrooms with squealing pipes and inadequate supplies. The restaurant is just plain awful, with mediocre food and indifferent service. The hotel location--especially during the off-season-- is in the Siberia of Bermuda, with nothing but the Swizzle Inn nearby. If you're an American reading this, think 1980s-level roadside motor inn, only with a nice beach...and there are plenty of nice beaches in Bermuda.On the upside, the desk staff was friendly and were nice enough to relocate me to a room two doors down from my original room so that I could get at least one good night's sleep, free from the, ahem, energetic evening escapades of my neighbors. In the end it didn't really matter, because the property is teeming with feral chickens, hens and roosters (yes, you read that right) that squawk-a-doodle-doo all day and all night long. Apparently roosters have to go to some sort of school for poultry to learn the difference between the middle of the night and the beginning of the day, and these wild birds cut class.Even after allowing for my diminished service expectations during the off-season and the steeply-discounted price [...], I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a scooter. You're gonna need it, unless you have an unlimited appetite for the $60 RT taxi fare back and forth to Hamilton.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
NJ
Jun 30, 2011

Ahh

Did not like that anyone off the street uses the hotel pool, day and night.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
MattyMo
Albany, NY
Aug 3, 2010

Great resort, bad service...

The resort is beautiful and in a great location right on the sound by the causeway in Bermuda. The bellmen and front desk staff were excellent but the wait staff and cooks were very slow and didn't seem to care about their service since grats was included. Food was expensive and def. not worth the price, good but never great. Besides the food service this resort was amazing and there are plenty of other food choices on the island.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Go to the Swizzle Inn for great fried food, pizza, burgers, pastas and drinks... Hamilton has plenty of great restaurants and is a short bus/moped ride away.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
just so so
New York, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

so so

The views are pretty and the staff were friendly... however, grotto bay could have been better. Beach is quite small, as is the jacuzzi.... pool wasn't heated. Rooms smelled a bit dingy. Not much to do! Especially in the winter when the weather is so unpredictable and everything seems to close so early... this is problematic all around Bermuda, but at least the Hotel could have supplemented with activities and amenities... overall, enjoyable experience, but prob wont' be going back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
BIGDOG 1961
ohio
Jul 12, 2012

RANDY

Friendly helpful staff. The property was a little dated, but well maintained. We had a problem with bugs in our room, ants and very big cockroaches. Nice experience, but would stay a little closer to southhampton on our next visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

THE SWIZZLE INN IS WITHIN WALKING DISTANCE OF THE RESORT DECENT FOOD AT A GOOD PRICE

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EPtravels
Hoboken, NJ
May 29, 2013

Not your best option

We stayed at the Grotto Bay for 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend. Pros: -Concierge was helpful in making dinner reservations, suggesting beaches to visit and other excursions -A 2 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn Cons: -Location is a bummer. Requires catching two separate buses to get to the best beaches on the island. -Rooms could really use a refresher. Walls are extremely thin. (Also, be sure to bring you own conditioner as it isn't complimentary!) -The beach at the hotel is quite small. Note: We did not purchase the all inclusive package and only ate breakfast at the hotel once. Cannot comment on the food. While we didn't have any major complaints about this hotel, next time we will definitely pay a bit more to be in a better location with nicer facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top