$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 9, 2015 Check-out: Jul 12, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
441 out of 441
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.4
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Brooklyn,NY
Jul 21, 2009

Excellent Value

The Grotto Bay was a very good value.Searched all over and got best rate on Orbitz by far.No hidden cost only the per day service charge of $10 PP which was clearly listed on reservation.Was also able to increase discount by using Mastercard Orbitz coupon!!! The staff was very friendly and helpful.We did not do all inclusive as we like to travel around.The all inclusive price seemed way too high for us. is.Only used hotel for breakfast. Airport noise is not an Issue. Bus service right at entrance to hotel very easy to travel around by bus.The hotel is a little out of the way between Hamilton and St Georges. Swizzle Inn also very close. If you are looking for a good value this is a good choice.No bells and whistles but very nice for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is a five minute walk.Good mix of friendly locals and tourists.Decent food.Fun place

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Venice visitor
Business
Northern NJ
Mar 15, 2011

A fabulous place to relax

This is a great place to take a short trip for a totally relaxing experience. The rooms look out over green lawns to the bay with its azure waters. being i the bay can be a plus on a windy day since it is protected. We loved the gentle kid friendly snorkeling in the little cove where they feed the fish - lots of variety - you hardly have to go out to the reefs. Buffet breakfast is great. It would be nice to have more dining choices open all day. We had a great time exploring and swimming in the on site cave!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

The nearby show cave is well worth a visit.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
massachusetts
Aug 9, 2011

Great vacation spot

The only problem I had with the hotel was that our rooms were far away front he front desk and pool. We had the last building which included a long walk up hill and it is very hot. It is important to know exactly were you are staying. My sister had a broken foot and found it difficult to get around. If I had been an older person or one out of shape person this location would have been a problem. You have to climb allot of stairs to get to the pool area. I was also given 2 full size beds instead of a king size bed. My husband and I had an adjoining room for the kids and when I spoke to them about my room no one really cared. We were supposed to be located with our other family members and we were no were near them. There was 11 of us in total and they did not accommodate our needs. The bartenders at the pool area are really slow and almost rude. They will leave you standing there and not even acknowledge you for quite some time. The hotel itself was enjoyable. We had a blast with our family and the hotel was clean and convenient.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The food was good at the hotel. It is expensive but so isn't Bermuda. I will try the all inclusive next time.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Highland, NY
Jul 23, 2010

Great Resort!

I found the resort to be very pleasant. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The beach was fantastic with the two ship wrecks right near the shore and plenty of fish to see. It was so relaxing and the non motorized activities were also great. I enjoyed Kayaking and laying on the rafts. I truly felt like I was on vacatoin while on the rafts. The close proximity to the airport didn't even bother me. You hardly noticed it at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: In Hotel

You can buy a bus pass for the day from the resort. It will cost you less money to pay for the pass than if you tried to pay exact change for the buses. Definatley opt in to buy the bus passes at the hotel. The passes included unlimited usage for the day as well as unlimited usage for the ferries for the day.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Buffalo, NY
Apr 15, 2009

Fine service, great hotel

My wife & I visited Bermuda late March, still in the low season there. The hotel was well kept and the staff attentive and friendly, even though they didn't appear to fully staffed just yet. It was quiet and relaxing. The bed was one of the most comfortable I've been in. The weather was a bit cool for swimming, and the pool-side bar wasn't open, but sunning poolside was great nonetheless. The bus stop is right by the main entrance making Hamilton quite accessible. Taking a bus is the best way around. (tip - men should remove their hats while on board the bus) Scooters are everywhere and the traffic flow "energetic", so renting one may not be a good idea - so said the locals. The only thing one might be disappointed in is the hotel view - it actually looks out over a small bay, not the ocean, but it's still quite scenic. Beach is small.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Not Applicable

Get an all-inclusive pass to cover bus and ferry, then you can bus into Hamilton, and take the ferry to the Royal Navy Shipyard.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Groton, CT
Jul 24, 2010

Wonderful second honeymoon

The fact that we were close to the airport allowed us to really enjoy the morning of our last day. The hotel has it's own bus stop and the moped rental business is fifty yards from the driveway entrance. We recommend taking advantage of both modes of transportation. We recommend "Church Bay" for excellent snorkelling. The beach at the resort is very nice as well. The Grotto Bay staff were very helpful and pleasant. The hotel also offers daily activities if you just want to stay on site. The only difficulty we had all week was getting a beach towel in the afternoon. We suggest that you get one early in the day and hold on to it until you plan on using it later (this must be what others are doing as well). We will definitely be back!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle Inn is just down the street, as is Baily's Ice Cream shop.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
callumg
Business
New Hampshire
Nov 20, 2010

Really nice resort, friendly staff!

Five minutes from the airport ($6.00 by taxi) yet very secluded. Nice beach, 5 star PADI dive center on site. Exceptionally friendly staff, clean and comfortable room. Enjoyed the grounds, well maintained and clean. The breakfast selection was a bit sparse but adequate. We used public transport (buses & ferry) which are cheap, frequent and very easy to get around. We definately want to go again but would probably go a couple of weeks earlier in the year to catch more of the tourist things open.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Public transport - bus/ferry pass is $28.00 per person for 3 days - unlimited!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve D 913
Business
New York, NY
Jun 16, 2014

nice property! good value!

My stay at Grotto exceeded expectations. The property is fairly expansive and is a bit of a hike up & down the hill from the main building to the beach & pool areas. But everything is clean and well maintained. The pool is heated and decent size. The beach area & water is very clean, although you are on the bay, not the ocean. There is 1 hot tub, but is was a bit busted, there was a hole in the sitting area, in which all the pressure of the jacuzzi was going through. The caves on the property, and also the Crystal & Fantasy caves are a nice attraction. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn. The room was clean and had a nice terrace over-looking the bay. The walls seemed a bit thin, as we was able to hear conversations from the next room. Luckily they seemed to go to bed about the same time as we did. Most of the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was pretty good, but expensive, as is most of Bermuda. Located only 5 minutes from the airport, but you are 20 minutes away from St. George, and 30 minutes from Hamilton (by bus). But there are several bus lines that stop right in from of the property entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Biker Chick
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

My husband and I have stayed at Grotto Bay several times now and we love it. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is excellent. Going all inclusive is well worth it and includes bus passes and rentals from the dive shop next store. Because the hotel is in the bay the water is calm and excellent for swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Crystal Caves from Grotto Bay. There's a walking path and it only takes about 15 minutes.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie the Cougar
Business
MA
Jul 16, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was very clean, staff helpful and friendly, restaurant food excellent...what more could I ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus was easy and convenient to St. George.

Back to menu Return to top