$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
376 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the... See full review

  • Enchanted Honeymooners
  • Jul 24, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (376)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
376 out of 376
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Chinck
Cold Spring, NY 10516, USA
Jun 18, 2014

Quick stay..airport friendly

Great for it's really close location to airport, so you can start your vacation faster. But for those that have never been to Bermuda, it is a trek to experience how fabulous this island is....this is a very basic hotel. Inside bar not open during the day. So if you wish a beverage, you must walk allllll the way down to the beach bar. And as a side note, there is no wait service for drinks or good by the pool or beach. I have never stayed at a resort in Bermuda that did not have wait service in their pool areas. Food was ok. Rooms were adequate. Aside from the 2 roaches we killed in bath room. Do not even think of asking for an early check in. Won't happen... It's 3 pm and that's it. Afraid I will not stay here again. As a side note, the entire staff was wonderful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Ridgewood
Aug 25, 2008

Mixed bag

Hotel check-in was very disappointing. The taxi arrived at the hotel - there was no staff to open the door or help with the baggage. While check-in was at 3pm - and we were there at noon - it was clear that the staff would make no effort to try to accommodate a check-in before 3. We asked to speak with the manager and after speaking with him were given access to our rooms. There were relatively few people checking in so it was pretty clear this should not have been a problem. The hotel also charges a $10 per person fee that supposedly covers gratuities - what this covers is not clear. The hotel charges a 17% gratuity for each meal served - and there is no staff to assist with the pool or beach - no one to provide umbrellas etc. except for a person sitting in a hut providing towels upon request. The housekeeping staff was friendly and did a good job - but it was clear at check-out that they were expecting a tip - so what gratuties did our $50 per day (we are 5 people) cover?? The room itself was nice and comfortable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Nashville
May 11, 2011

Not quite what the pics displayed

Travled all over the island by bus. Visited the local pubs,the onion pub and squire were two of the best. The bus system was great and the day passes are the way to see all the island. St. George has dried up since the cruise ships now dock at the ship harbor so there was little to do though a lot of history to see. The beaches are all that you could dream of with pink sand so soft to walk on. The locals are great, the island very clean and you felt safe walking anywhere. The Grotto is in need of great repair. I know Bermuda is pricey but you should still get what you paid for. The rooms look like a Comfort Inn. Mold in the bathrooms,outdated decorations. The walls were so thin you could hear others toilets flushs, hangers being removed from the and voices above and beside you. Walls were coated in mulitply layers of paint, dusk in the corners and a dried flower arrangement looked as if it never have been dusted. Be careful where they put you. We were in a deluxe room ( which is suppose to be the best) but we were facing not the ocean as stated but the bridge in the bay looking at the airport. They did move us one building over. Having said all that the views there are beautiful and it was nice to have a small beach to relax on. We did not eat meals there except for one lunch which was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
2
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

4 day bus pass

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Sep 15, 2007

Such a shame

The Grotto Bay Beach hotel is an absolutely beautiful hotel in a gorgeous setting. The beach on the bay was so relaxing. It was just a shame that the staff was, almost to a person, unfriendly and discourteous. We were told that many of the hotel workers were burnt out at this time of year(second week in Sept.) We only had dinner at the hotel one evening and my meal was excellent but my wife's was marginal and she didn't want to complain because the waiter was obviusly hurried and over his head with the job. Our room was average except for the musty smell but that could have been unavoidable as it was very muggy that week.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a multi-day bus pass. It's the best value, the taxi cabs are expensive and forget the scooters, the natives make Boston drivers look like angels!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
writestuff
Business
Lehigh Valley, PA
Feb 9, 2011

Even at a discount, a poor value

Just returned from 3 nights at this hotel (a business trip) and to put it succinctly, I wouldn't return. It's tired inside and out, with rooms with worn-out furnishings, paper-thin walls, dirty floors and bathrooms with squealing pipes and inadequate supplies. The restaurant is just plain awful, with mediocre food and indifferent service. The hotel location--especially during the off-season-- is in the Siberia of Bermuda, with nothing but the Swizzle Inn nearby. If you're an American reading this, think 1980s-level roadside motor inn, only with a nice beach...and there are plenty of nice beaches in Bermuda.On the upside, the desk staff was friendly and were nice enough to relocate me to a room two doors down from my original room so that I could get at least one good night's sleep, free from the, ahem, energetic evening escapades of my neighbors. In the end it didn't really matter, because the property is teeming with feral chickens, hens and roosters (yes, you read that right) that squawk-a-doodle-doo all day and all night long. Apparently roosters have to go to some sort of school for poultry to learn the difference between the middle of the night and the beginning of the day, and these wild birds cut class.Even after allowing for my diminished service expectations during the off-season and the steeply-discounted price [...], I would definitely not recommend this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Rent a scooter. You're gonna need it, unless you have an unlimited appetite for the $60 RT taxi fare back and forth to Hamilton.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Mar 27, 2011

Not the best resort I've visited

First and foremost, the view from the hotel was incredible. The bay offered a view that was breathtaking and about as relaxing as it can get. Unfortunately, the resort itself did not live up to the breathtaking views. This resort will nickel-dime you till the cows come home. We didn't get the all-inclusive package because we like to get out and experience the culture and cuisine of any place we visit. But this hotel charged us for every last thing. Internet access was $6 for every 30 minutes. A continental breakfast, complimentary at many resorts and hotels, was absurdly priced. Two small muffins, two coffees, and two small bowls of cereal cost $25. The breakfast buffet will cost you $45 for two, and the staff hurries you out the door as you try to eat. As for the resort's additional amenities, these were sorely lacking. We went during the offseason when it didn't seem very crowded, and still we had to wait for others to leave the hot tub every time we wanted to use it (the resort has just one hot tub). The pool was very small (I imagine this would be very crowded during the height of tourist season), and wasn't heated well. Some days it seemed as if the heat was turned on, and some days it's as if it was ignored entirely. In addition, the pool bar was closed the entire time we were there. Only once did we see a waiter catering to the people by the pool. Any time you wanted a drink or meal by the pool you had to walk up several flights of stairs and into the lobby to order anything. The hotel was very serene, but there was only one restaurant within walking distance (aside from the resort's own restaurant). The staff was helpful and friendly, but if you're not on the all-inclusive plan they watch you like a hawk and make you feel very uncomfortable, almost like you're a second class citizen (this is troubling when you pay as much money as we did to stay at the resort). Overall, the views were breathtaking, but it's Bermuda. The views all over the island are breathtaking. The resort was clean, but when I go back to Bermuda, I'll be staying somewhere else.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Visit St. Georges. It's a short distance from Grotto Bay, and it's rich in history and beautiful. Much of the brochures focus on Hamilton and the Dockyard, but St. Georges should not be ignored. Fort Catherine is an amazing place to visit and the views are incredible.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Jan 29, 2011

Overpriced with poor service

The hotel is convenient to the airport but that is where it ends. We had to take a bus to go anywhere. The nearest town, St. George's is 20 minutes away and sometime we had to wait up to 15 minutes for the bus. Meals at the hotel are very good but expensive. Minimum entrees were around $40! Bereakfast ran at over $20 per person. Rooms are poor. The furniture has seen better days. My room was not cleaned the first night. When I asked them about it they claimed that the housekeeping staff had left for the day. They did clean it up but it took some jawboning. They shut off the hot water during the day. I had to call the front desk to have them turn it on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Buy an unlimited daily (or multiday) bus pass. Bus rides to Hamilton will cost you $4 one way.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
adventurechelly
Newton, NH
May 24, 2012

quiet place for a vacation

our stay was 5 days in mid may and it rained every day and it was only around 65, but the humidity was over 80%. we spent a lot of time at the resort and in our rooms and we had nice ocean veiws. The hot tub is very small here and there seemed to be overcrowing of it. The beach area is very nice and convenient to have a dive/snorkel shop right next door. There is also a swimming cave on site which was a blast! This resort is in the quieter part of the island and about 40 minutes to Hamilton and even further to the famous beaches. Spent lots of time commuting back and forth and there is only one resturant within a 10 mintue walk, everything else is at least 30 mintues away. They offer a nice breakfast and lunch, but I would not eat dinner there after the first night- food quality wasnt that great and is very pricey. overall this seems to be a great place for people who want to relax on the resort and maybe do a lttle exploring. I am more of an adventurer and for those adventurers out there I would stay clsoer to the southeast side where there is more to do and see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

Visit the beaches and crystal caves- iuts like mothing you have ever seen!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
B the traveler
Brooklyn, New York
Jan 4, 2013

Ok for a getaway

As a first timer to Bermuda i feel that this was a good place to stay. The staff did try extremely hard to make sure that something was always going on!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
2
Back to menu Return to top

Change search