$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 6, 2009

Grotto Bay

This was like a Red Roof Inn in Bermuda. The staff was very nice, but the space wasn't. There is no beach to speak of - it is on the bay with just a few feet of sand. The pool closed at 3 PM, along with the bar. The Concierge sent us to dinner at a nasty pub. what was to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed Joe
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

No wifi and staff language

This hotel would have much higher but for 2 things: 1. there is no wifi in the rooms, regardless of the staff saying there is, so don't plan on checking email, using a magic jack or doing any work online. 2. although both the white and black staff were very helpful and friendly, the constant barrage of ebonics from some front desk staff was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Karyne
Needham, MA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Could be better

My trip was ok and I did not enjoy my stay, the food wasn't all that good and they didn't have much of anything that would make me say yes. I guess in Bermuda they have seasons when you should travel but we didn't know so there was nothing for use to do in march. The staff was wonderful and nice, we love the swizzle inn ( both) place and that's where we eat even when food came with out package but choice to eat out cause the holet food wasn't that good. I didn't enjoy my stay and I was very unhappy. On top the hotel didn't have any cable, internet you had to go to the main floor which was not good. The rooms are not update and place needs a make over. The pool needs to be redone, clean and the jet tab needs to be bigger. I wished I never went and I lost all my money for nothing. Please really check everything before going cause we didn't enjoy our stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The swizzle inn was the best thing in Bermuda and I think everyone should go there if you there. The food was wonderful and better then eating at the holet.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Poor Service and Food

I understand that the prices are high at resorts. I don't mind paying if there is commensurate value. The food was over priced and of poor quality. To say the food was sub-standard would be an understatement. I am generally not a complainer and rarely fill out surveys, but the dining experiences (all of them) were so poor that I felt compelled to express the dissatisfaction. The most friendly staff members were from housekeeping. They genuinely cared about our comfort. The front desk staff, (with the exception of [...]) was uninterested and rude. My fiance asked for a clean iron to press her wedding dress and it took three requests before we received cooperation. The island is beautiful and we are looking forward to returning. However, we will pass on Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 12, 2010

Don't waste your time

The hotel requires too much walking to get to and from your room. Upon arrival, I had to deal with rude front desk staff and had to have my room changed 3 times due to cleanliness and smell. I would never suggest this hotel to anyone. The staff did not make me feel confortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to a nearby store to get items for your refrigerator.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deion
bermuda
Jul 22, 2013

Rude Staff

the staff did not go the extra mile to help. for example I went to get a diet coke at 11:50 and was told that the bar did not open up until 12 noon. I said "even for a soft drink"? the man sternly repeated "as I said, the bar doesnt open up until 12 noon". that was the general behavior of the staff. they were no the friendliest and did not go out of their way. also, there was mold on the bed skirt and the staff got another one and that one has mold on it to. My wife and I went to breakfast at 10:20 and we were stopped by a staff member and told that breakfast was over. I had to go an get the desk manager to overule and allow us to eat breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Hove
nyc
Aug 6, 2012

Front Desk Horror Show

I am a frequent customer and have stayed at Grotto Bay for the last three summers and I have noticed a steady decline in their service and room quality. The issues I will be discussing is alarming and substantial and needs to be brought to the attention of the General Manager and Owner. The following day, I called the front desk to inquire about any live music being performed in the hotel during dinner, which I overheard from other guests. The front desk told me that there was nothing going on that Thursday, so we went out for dinner. Lo and behold, there was live music being sung by a two man band, which we were unable to catch. On Friday morning, as I was about to jump into the shower, I noticed that there were bugs and insects crawling all around, and not 1 or 2, at least 10. My wife was extremely frightened as I spent my morning killing and picking off water bugs that were seeping through the cracks of tiles and jutting out of the drain. After an action packed morning as an off-duty exterminator on vacation, we made our way to the pool and noticed that there was a trail of used towels thrown in bushes and random bundles of used wine glasses in nearly all the bushes. After spending the entire day by the pool and beach, we navigated our way to the room to get ready for a night out for dinner. There is a restaurant in the Flats that we frequent every trip called Rusticos, which I strongly recommend, and we wanted to make reservations for that evening. I went to the front desk and told them at about 6:00pm that we wanted to make reservations there for 8:30pm. Her exact response to me was “Sorry, they are all booked.” I then asked her to please call the restaurant so I could make a reservation for the following evening. Although the reluctance was clearly evident, the lady at the front desk called, and as she was on the phone with them, I asked her to please inquire about a reservation for this evening, so she finally did and the place said they can accommodate us at 9:00pm. I felt like I was pulling teeth and had to use trickery tactics to get the front desk to call, as she seemed very unwilling and disinclined to tend to my needs. When we returned at nearly midnight after a great dining experience, the towels and used wine glasses were still there lingering, giving us the sense that there was no supervision on the grounds for appropriate cleanliness. On our last night at the hotel my father-in-law was interrupted from his sleep at 1:30am from noises that came from the adjacent room. He described the noises as a few people flinging each other in a wrestling match all across the room, banging into walls, yelling obscenities and breaking unknown items. He immediately called the front desk to notify them about the chronic disturbance, but nothing was done about it. There was no visit to the room or even a phone call to inquire about the disturbance and chaos, as my father-in-law experienced a sleepless evening before his early morning departure. I am bringing this to your attention so that these issues can quickly be remedied before your business takes a turn for the worse. After the most awful front desk horror show I have ever experienced at any hotel along with other alarming concerns of cleanliness, I will be definitely looking into different rooming accommodations for my next visit. Being that I am a professor of English for a reputable secondary school here in New York City, a part-time journalist and business owner, I will be bringing this to the attention of fellow Bermudian vacationers on a public level and on the global web, so that they don’t experience the same mishaps. It was very disheartening and displeasing to see this happen to your business and I hope to be hearing a response to this letter in a timely fashion because being a business owner myself, I know the professionalism and punctuality that the people in the front office and the General Managers have to display.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Rustico Restaurant is awesome

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fool me once shame on me.
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Sep 18, 2010

6 inch hair in my food

went last year in june, 6 inch hair in my food, a bug in my water, my girlfriends key opened the wrong door, and a staff member was abusive to myself and my date, and our friend's son who was the cofounder of Staples. so i contacted the Gm [...] who invited me back and said he would make it up to me. went back and found out folks from boston only paid 1400 for 5 nights and two airline tickets which brought it down to 100 a night which was less than what I paid. So i went to front desk and they put my room rate down and I printed the folio. Thank god I did this cause when I checked out I saw they put the room rate up over 700 dollars. I had to fight and dispute it with the credit card company which just added to this mess of a HOTEL. I WENT TO HOTEL SCHOOL AND HAVE A BS DEGREE, AND I WILL TELL U THE DEAL. HALF THE STAFF IS SNOTTY,. THE BEACH IS MAN MADE AND NOT THE PINK SAND U HEAR OF. THE NICK NAME ON THE ISLAND IS GHETTO BAY. I DID NOT MIND THE ROOM OR THE POOL OR THE CAVES. BUT THE BOTTOM LINE IS WHY IN THE WORLD DID I GIVE THEM A SECOND CHANCE. I SHOULD HAVE LEARNED MY LESSON THE FIRST TIME AROUND. LET THE BUYER BEWARE. IF YOU WANT TO SIT ON A SLOPED MAN MADE BEACH WHERE U CAN'T GET A SEAT CAUSE THE LOCALS SNEAK ON AND LISTEN TO THE JETS FLY OVER THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. I SUGGEST ELBOW BEACH. OH YA FOOD WAS OK. IM USED TO ISLAND FOOD AND EDIBLE IS OK WITH ME. THE CHEF WAS VERY NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

ST GEORGE

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
philly pa
Dec 23, 2010

article from bermuda gazette

Tourist stabbed, robbed in his hotel room Published Oct 18, 2010 at 12:00 am (Updated Dec 10, 2010) ShareThis A 60-year-old American tourist was stabbed and his wife hit in the head during an armed robbery at the Grotto Bay resort yesterday. A second robbery at The Wharf executive suites also put a 28-year-old Australian visitor in hospital. The news sparked condolences from the Premier, and fears from the Opposition that others may be put off coming to Bermuda. However, Grotto Bay manager JP Martens said the injured couple are recovering well, and have vowed to return. According to a Police spokesman, officers were alerted to the incident at Grotto Bay, in Hamilton Parish, at 5.10 a.m. "It appears that an unknown man brandishing a bladed article and a blunt object gained entry into a guest room at the premises," he explained. "The intruder demanded money from the occupants and made good his escape with a quantity of cash. "The victims, a 60-year-old man and a 61-year-old woman who are husband and wife, were injured and taken to King Edward VII Memorial Hospital for treatment." The husband remained in hospital last night, but his wife had been discharged. Mr. Martens visited the hospital and had dinner with the couple, who are from New Jersey and on their third vacation in Bermuda. "I dropped off his favourite meal of shrimp cocktail, filet mignon and cheesecake. He's a repeat guest who's doing very well and is impressed by the warmth of the people of Bermuda," he reported. Mr. Martens declined to go into details about how the robbery occurred, since it is the subject of an active Police investigation. However, he confirmed the man was stabbed and his wife hit in the head. "He's in absolutely fantastic spirits. He looks great," said Mr. Martens yesterday evening. "They're definitely returning to Grotto Bay next year. They're really good people and we're sorry this happened." The news prompted Premier and Minister of Tourism Ewart Brown to say: "This is most unfortunate. We have word that the victim has had successful surgery and is in stable condition. Our Bermuda Department of Tourism staff have been in touch with his wife and have extended the best wishes of the Government and the people of Bermuda. "These were terrible and unfortunate incidents. And I join with residents in condemning such cowardly acts. I'm confident that the Bermuda Police Service is devoting all the necessary resources to apprehend those responsible." Minutes before the alarm was raised at Grotto Bay, Police were alerted to the robbery at The Wharf suites in Paget. The Police spokesman said: "It appears that around 4 a.m. an unknown man gained entry into a guest room at the premises. "The intruder demanded money from the occupant and made good his escape with a quantity of cash. The victim, a 28-year-old Australian man, was injured and taken to King Edward VII Memorial Hospital for treatment." According to a hospital spokeswoman, he had been released by yesterday evening. The Police spokesman declined to specify what type of injury the man received. Meanwhile the duty manager at The Wharf declined to discuss the matter, and general manager Carol Woods could not be reached for comment. The culprit is described as a dark-skinned man of slim build, approximately 5'8" tall. Meanwhile, the culprit in the Grotto Bay attack is described as a six-foot tall man wearing a black hat. Asked if the two robberies were connected, the Police spokesman replied: "At this point the Police have not ruled out anything, including the possibility they may be linked." Reacting to the news last night, Shadow Tourism Minister Michael Dunkley said: "My colleagues and I continue to be most disturbed and concerned with the alarming trends of crime experienced by the Island over the past few years." He said the United Bermuda Party wanted to bring in aggressive measures at the last election to deal with public safety, plus rehabilitation and social problems. "Sadly,...

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
1
Location:
1
Value:
1
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Anonymous
North Carolina
Feb 9, 2011

"out of season" resort is just a hotel

This was a week of relaxation for my wonderful man and me. We live apart for most of the year due to work responsibilities. We knew we were off season so we chose Grotto Bay as they advertised having everything on site we wanted to do. What they did not tell us was that everything on site would be closed! The weather was nice for swimming in the pool but the pool bar and restaurant were closed. The games room was closed. There was no available use of any water sport items. The jacuzzi was not heated unless you asked them to turn on in advance. The bellman was not there to take our bags to our room, we had to go back and get ourselves after waiting 45 minutes. He disappeared again at departure so we lugged our bags again. On the plus side, the rest of the employees were great! Very friendly and willing to help. When we asked for a table for our patio and the leak in the bathroom to be corrected they were right there to fix. The food in the restaurant was really good although there is no place to get anything to eat in the afternoon since the pool bar was closed. The only room service is a pizza. If we decided to return to Bermuda this would be a fine place to stay "in season" otherwise I would stay closer to the city as there is nothing to do in the area once you have seen the caves.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
2
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

fantasy and crystal caves are a short walk away - worth the time and money as they are beautiful

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search