$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.8 / 5
5.01.0
23 out of 391
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3.8

96% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southcod
Business
Mashpee,Ma
Jan 8, 2012

Grotto Bay

This was my first visit to Bermuda. I loved the Grotto Bay Resort. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. There is a bus stop right outside the resort making it easy to get around. Nice beach..beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VeritaVixen82
Business
Cape Cod/Florida
Apr 9, 2014

30th Birthday Perfection!

Unique, fun, beautiful, serene! For someone who had been dreaming about Bermuda her whole life, this hotel was the perfect place to rest and relax between adventures out on the island. Close to the airport, but not so much it is noisy, on a tranquil bay that even during rough weather seemed safe, easy walk to the pink bus, amazing amenities, including a 500,000 year old cave, this hotel has a lot to offer. I could have used a bit more available fruit (in general on the island), and there is only one restaurant (and an ice cream shop) within easy walking distance, so single travelers may want to take note. And staff can be flirty (but not aggressive). I did not want to take the bus at night in the dark, traveling alone, though I am certain I would have been fine. I was thus dependent on the hotel selection for nighttime meals - touristy. The food was good enough, especially the lunchtime pool restaurant, but not the reason I love this hotel. Go for the beauty, the individual character, the location, ESPECIALLY if you love nature (caves, lagoons, tree frogs, an especially remarkable autumn blue moon). Cannot more highly recommend this hotel and island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Crystal and Fantasy caves. Easy walk from the hotel. WORTH IT! I have claustrophobia but could not get enough of the island's caves. Start with the one at the hotel to ease yourself into the idea, if you are nervous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat - Bermuda Admirer
Business
Fairfax, VA
Nov 20, 2009

Exceptional Getaway

As with two previous stays at Grotto Bay, the hotel is beautiful, my room was awsome with incredible view overlooking the ocean. Each meal was better than the previous and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Traveling alone to contemplate and rest - Grotto Bay is the place! It is near the airport and has very easy access to any place on the island. The room was always clean and the bed was comfortable - I slept and napped VERY well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The option to ride was not given for distance but the city bus stop is a very short walk outside the Grotto Bay property and the bus comes every 15 - 20 minutes. In a 15 minute ride I was in St Georges to shop and could have also gotten to Hamilton in about 20 minutes to shop or eat.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Vancouver, Canada
May 11, 2011

Great getaway

This is a great space for a retreat from busy lives. The staff at this hotel are warm and friendly, some of whom have been there for 20+ years. They know the island and variety of things for people to do and help with bus information and reservations etc. I had stayed previously at the Fairmont Southampton for a much higher price and although it was splendid, Grotto Bay is a more boutique and relaxed environment. My only complaint would be their wi-fi service, which was sketchy in the rooms and the printer was broken in the business centre - I was compensated for this, but if you need to be in touch with work, it's a bit slow.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
6XMom
Business
Madison, MS, USA
Nov 7, 2011

Bermuda Vacation

It was wonderful! Bus stop at the entrance so it was convenient to anywhere you wanted to go. Best part was swimming in the caves! Fantastic!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk up the road to the Swizzle Inn - great food and atmosphere. Travel in the beginning of November -less crowds and good weather.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
JackE
Business
Carnegie, PA, USA
Dec 21, 2011

Great location, great value.

This hotel is a great value for the money in a great location. I when I return to Bermuda, I will certainly return to this hotel. I went to Bermuda and my travel guides told me the best way to see Bermuda is with a bus pass. I was skeptical. After returning, I could not agree more. Grotto Bay is a stop along four major bus routes (1, 3, 10 & 11) and a travel to St. George or Hamilton is a breeze. The hotel restaurant serves a very good breakfast buffet which is very reasonably priced. The room had all of the standard items which one can expect from a good hotel room. Internet service is extra. The television was full of static and had few channels. I did not go to watch television on vacation, but I would like to keep up with the news and sports scores. Hence I docked them on room comfort. When you book, you should know that the staff has a collective bargaining agreement (union) and gratuity is included in your price. Hence, there is no reason, in my opinion, to give any extra tips unless one receives extra special attention from one of the staff members. I did dock the hotel for the staff because I called for a bellhop to come collect my bags since I am already tipping them but no one ever showed up and I carried my bags myself. Other than that, the staff was great, gave good advice and was accessible and accommodating. All in all, I am totally satisfied with my selection of Grotto Bay. It was a good selection and I would definitely return there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Go eat at Swizzle Inn which is a five minute walk from Grotto Bay for a great little bar/restaurant with free wifi and delicious drink, the rum swizzle. On Friday and Saturday night Swizzle Inn has a really tasty barbecue menu as well.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
4brian
Business
Pleasant Ridge, MI
Feb 9, 2012

Great Experience

All the comforts of home . Very friedndly staff. & great room overlooking the ocean. 5 minutes from the airport and located on the main bus route. I was extremely happy with everything.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the bus to the Market Place Market. I shopped like a local and saved money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Alis
Business
Maine
Feb 25, 2012

My Stay at Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Although this is a great place for families, it is also great if travelling on your own. The staff are friendly and helpful and you never need feel along in the evenings as the lobby is spacious and yet cosy.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
5
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The caves

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
BlueFoxMS
Business
Acton MA
Aug 4, 2012

Good place to stay - very convenient to airport

I went on my own to Bermuda for 3 days - but I have children. The beach and grounds are very child friendly and would have been perfect to bring younger children. Majority of staff are VERY friendly - bell hops, conceirge, front desk, waiters, bartenders inside (bartenders at beach not so much). I had an awesome massage in the grotto cave - not as cool in the cave as I expected but the masseuse was outstanding. It was expensive but so worth it! The one draw back is that the food is not at all impressive and I recommend eating elsewhere which would be hard to do with small children, unless you rent a car - not sure how possible that is. You can also use the bus system but that means long waits sometimes - not fun with small children. Maybe a taxi ride is your best option I found being next to the airport was not at all an issue - saw a plane once a day but never heard them. Overall I would recommend the Grotto Bay as long as you find options for other places to eat.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRChris
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2014

Had A Great Time

Loved everything about it including the staff, the location, the food, the rooms. I did however have trouble reading at night with the lamps provided in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top