$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Dec 1, 2014 Check-out: Dec 4, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
388 reviews
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My... See full review

  • DeeNyce
  • Oct 15, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (388)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
388 out of 388
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Laid back and relaxing

It was fantastic. All the employees were great. It was a laid back enviornment with great service. I would go back again and again. Bathrooms were great. I think it was granite or marble in the bathrooms. I think they were all new. Transportation right out the front door. Thumbs up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 10 or 11 bus or rent a moped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Mar 8, 2011

Fantastic Getaway!

The hotel was great! Not near the city of Hamilton but in Hamilton Parish! One big difference but it was great! The public bus is the best way to go and it picks you up outside the hotel! The Grotto at the hotle was a great free sight to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Nightlife doesn not exist in the off season! But the Swizzle Inn Pub was a great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 22, 2007

Long weekend wasn't long enough!!

Because the flights to Bermuda arrive well before you can check in, we arrived a little too early for a room. The staff was wonderful! She suggested that we store our bags with the bellman and go up to the Swizzle Inn for lunch and perhaps check out the caves, which we did. When we got back our room was ready. Nicely furnished room, spacious and nice sized bathroom. FABULOUS VIEWS!!! Their private beach was great with beachside and poolside service. Very relaxing....Each morning there is a full breakfast buffet or continental buffet. A little pricey, but having a huge breakfast gave us energy all day and there was no need for lunch, so all in all, a great savings! Afternoon tea was free and also very nice. The consierge, was super helpful and quite knowledgeable. Really didn't want to leave when Sunday came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you?re not renting scooters, get a bus pass for all the days (except your day of departure). It's inexpensive & takes you all over the island. The bus pass is accepted on the ferries (no additional cost) and is another great way to travel. The buses and ferries are extremely clean and timely. The drivers are very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppy
Business
Commack, NY
Aug 29, 2010

Very pleasant, short vacation

I was looking for something that would fit a 4 night trip that would be relaxing and close to home (New York). My wife suggested Bermuda since it was less than a 2 hour flight. I was a bit concerned because I know Bermuda was pricey, and I wasn't sure we'd get value for our money. When looking at the reviews, my view was reinforced: I wouldn't be able to find something of reasonable value in Bermuda. Well, my wife did a lot of research & we decided on the Grotto Bay Beach resort. I figured if we weren't going to get good service no matter what the cost, we'd book something on the high-end but no on the highest-end. Well, we definitely made the right decision. The service was fantastic. The food was above my expectations. The location was exactly what I wanted. It was great for excursions since the bus stop was right across the street and you were only 5 minutes (if that) from the airport. Compared to many other resorts, I would say that you're going to be disappointed by the pool area & the beach is pretty small. It really depends on your goal. If you're looking for a short-term trip with relaxation in mind, then Grotto Bay will definitely meet your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent aquarium/zoo on the way to Hamilton. A great excursion if you're looking to get out of the sun for a few hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mattapoisett
Aug 1, 2008

very family friendly

The Grotto Bay Beach Resort in Bermuda was excellent. They have a great beach with fish to see whether you snorkel or not. They have a rental place owned by another company that rented sunfish and kayaks and scuba diving and more. They had plenty of chairs at the beach with umbrellas. The food at the restaurant was good and they had a buffet outside with good music and an entertaining band to dance to. Its location is great and the bus system in Bermuda is excellent. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Bee 1198
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a great place for children because the bay/ocean was extremely calm. We didn't have to worry about a wave washing them away. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Most rooms have an ocean view. This hotel is also great for couples. There were many couples staying as well as families. We did the all inclusive plan which is a good value. I would definitely recommend the Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enchanted Honeymooners
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the beach was picture perfect. The water was a beautiful, clear turquoise and we heartedly recommend the couples massage in the resort's grotto. The location can't be beat. The resort is minutes away from the airport. Don't forget to take a walk down the road to the Swizzle Inn and enjoy one of their signature drinks. We can't wait to return to celebrate our one year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a 3 day bus pass and go to St. George. The perfumes are a good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
Business
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeNyce
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 15, 2014

Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My husband even commented how he did not even hear an airplane go by our entire time there. Loved how we had a room with a balcony. Everyone was very friendly and made sure you were comfortable, regardless if it was with your food choice or describing how to get around the island on the famous Bermuda busses. Word to the wise: if you get motion sickness be prepared for some of the drivers and take the motion sickness pills before boarding. The food is expensive so I do recommend the all inclusive. I took a running total of the amount we spent each meal to see if it was worth the money. The fact that the all inclusive includes the gratuities made it that much better. We saved around $500 dollars for going with the all inclusive deal. We did not get to do any of the non-motorized sports but next time we will. Bring OFF or some kind of bug spray with you. Actually as soon as you get off the plane buy one. I was getting attacked by bugs most of the time. Also there are ants EVERYWHERE. You can not get away from that, you are on an island. Expect it. However staying on the second floor was the best. I did not see one ant in my room. The hotel is BIG. Be prepared to walk. Our room was in the 800's and even though we found a short cut from the pool/beach to our room, it was a huge flight of stairs. Just know that all the food you eat you will burn it off. I don't know if I can stay anywhere else now knowing how much fun this hotel was. Possibly next time I will take an adventure into the cave pool. The entrance looked to scary for me, but hopefully next time I can concur my fear and swim in the cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum which is a short ride from the hotel. We had so much fun actually walking through the zoo in the cages with the animals walking by. It just so happened my husband was filming while a bird flew over my head and pooped on my head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roetchen
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars all around is because the Lunch served by the Pool was not as good as it could have been. Too windy, not enough variety, but still good food and the Wind, well who can beat Mother Nature. And after a very heavy rain we had ants in the room, however we told the Front desk personell and they were taken care of. We can't say enough about the staff, everyone was courteous, helpful, friendly , just like the last time. If I go back to Bermuda it will be to Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pass on the Swizzle Inn, the Swizzle was more like a fizzle. The food was overpriced , poorly presented and the place should have been cleaner on a Sunday afternoon (before the crowds). The well advertised Rum Swizzle missed ingredients and was served in a plastic pitcher rather then a tall glass. Definetively a no go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top