$399 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 29, 2015 Check-out: May 31, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
439 out of 439
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4.1
Location:
4.2
Value:
4

92% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
State College, PA
Feb 5, 2008

Laid back and relaxing

It was fantastic. All the employees were great. It was a laid back enviornment with great service. I would go back again and again. Bathrooms were great. I think it was granite or marble in the bathrooms. I think they were all new. Transportation right out the front door. Thumbs up!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Take the 10 or 11 bus or rent a moped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
MD
Mar 8, 2011

Fantastic Getaway!

The hotel was great! Not near the city of Hamilton but in Hamilton Parish! One big difference but it was great! The public bus is the best way to go and it picks you up outside the hotel! The Grotto at the hotle was a great free sight to see!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Nightlife tip: Not Applicable

Nightlife doesn not exist in the off season! But the Swizzle Inn Pub was a great time!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Newark, NJ
Jul 22, 2007

Long weekend wasn't long enough!!

Because the flights to Bermuda arrive well before you can check in, we arrived a little too early for a room. The staff was wonderful! She suggested that we store our bags with the bellman and go up to the Swizzle Inn for lunch and perhaps check out the caves, which we did. When we got back our room was ready. Nicely furnished room, spacious and nice sized bathroom. FABULOUS VIEWS!!! Their private beach was great with beachside and poolside service. Very relaxing....Each morning there is a full breakfast buffet or continental buffet. A little pricey, but having a huge breakfast gave us energy all day and there was no need for lunch, so all in all, a great savings! Afternoon tea was free and also very nice. The consierge, was super helpful and quite knowledgeable. Really didn't want to leave when Sunday came.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

If you?re not renting scooters, get a bus pass for all the days (except your day of departure). It's inexpensive & takes you all over the island. The bus pass is accepted on the ferries (no additional cost) and is another great way to travel. The buses and ferries are extremely clean and timely. The drivers are very friendly and accomodating.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Hoppy
Business
Commack, NY
Aug 29, 2010

Very pleasant, short vacation

I was looking for something that would fit a 4 night trip that would be relaxing and close to home (New York). My wife suggested Bermuda since it was less than a 2 hour flight. I was a bit concerned because I know Bermuda was pricey, and I wasn't sure we'd get value for our money. When looking at the reviews, my view was reinforced: I wouldn't be able to find something of reasonable value in Bermuda. Well, my wife did a lot of research & we decided on the Grotto Bay Beach resort. I figured if we weren't going to get good service no matter what the cost, we'd book something on the high-end but no on the highest-end. Well, we definitely made the right decision. The service was fantastic. The food was above my expectations. The location was exactly what I wanted. It was great for excursions since the bus stop was right across the street and you were only 5 minutes (if that) from the airport. Compared to many other resorts, I would say that you're going to be disappointed by the pool area & the beach is pretty small. It really depends on your goal. If you're looking for a short-term trip with relaxation in mind, then Grotto Bay will definitely meet your expectations.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Excellent aquarium/zoo on the way to Hamilton. A great excursion if you're looking to get out of the sun for a few hours.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Mattapoisett
Aug 1, 2008

very family friendly

The Grotto Bay Beach Resort in Bermuda was excellent. They have a great beach with fish to see whether you snorkel or not. They have a rental place owned by another company that rented sunfish and kayaks and scuba diving and more. They had plenty of chairs at the beach with umbrellas. The food at the restaurant was good and they had a buffet outside with good music and an entertaining band to dance to. Its location is great and the bus system in Bermuda is excellent. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Busy Bee 1198
Business
New Jersey
Jul 25, 2014

Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating. This is a great place for children because the bay/ocean was extremely calm. We didn't have to worry about a wave washing them away. The room was extremely clean and comfortable. Most rooms have an ocean view. This hotel is also great for couples. There were many couples staying as well as families. We did the all inclusive plan which is a good value. I would definitely recommend the Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Enchanted Honeymooners
Business
New York
Jul 24, 2014

Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the beach was picture perfect. The water was a beautiful, clear turquoise and we heartedly recommend the couples massage in the resort's grotto. The location can't be beat. The resort is minutes away from the airport. Don't forget to take a walk down the road to the Swizzle Inn and enjoy one of their signature drinks. We can't wait to return to celebrate our one year anniversary.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a 3 day bus pass and go to St. George. The perfumes are a good value.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Alex IT Guru
Business
New York, New York
Sep 11, 2014

Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally clean and the view from our balcony was heavenly! Can I upload a picture? Definitely going again next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: Not Applicable

Rent a scooter so you can zip around and enjoy the island. Beaches are free but the best ones are alittle far so rent a scooter and you will not be disappointed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
DeeNyce
Business
Bronx, New York
Oct 15, 2014

Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My husband even commented how he did not even hear an airplane go by our entire time there. Loved how we had a room with a balcony. Everyone was very friendly and made sure you were comfortable, regardless if it was with your food choice or describing how to get around the island on the famous Bermuda busses. Word to the wise: if you get motion sickness be prepared for some of the drivers and take the motion sickness pills before boarding. The food is expensive so I do recommend the all inclusive. I took a running total of the amount we spent each meal to see if it was worth the money. The fact that the all inclusive includes the gratuities made it that much better. We saved around $500 dollars for going with the all inclusive deal. We did not get to do any of the non-motorized sports but next time we will. Bring OFF or some kind of bug spray with you. Actually as soon as you get off the plane buy one. I was getting attacked by bugs most of the time. Also there are ants EVERYWHERE. You can not get away from that, you are on an island. Expect it. However staying on the second floor was the best. I did not see one ant in my room. The hotel is BIG. Be prepared to walk. Our room was in the 800's and even though we found a short cut from the pool/beach to our room, it was a huge flight of stairs. Just know that all the food you eat you will burn it off. I don't know if I can stay anywhere else now knowing how much fun this hotel was. Possibly next time I will take an adventure into the cave pool. The entrance looked to scary for me, but hopefully next time I can concur my fear and swim in the cave.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

You must visit the Aquarium, Zoo, and Museum which is a short ride from the hotel. We had so much fun actually walking through the zoo in the cages with the animals walking by. It just so happened my husband was filming while a bird flew over my head and pooped on my head.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
roetchen
Business
new jersey
Nov 19, 2014

Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars all around is because the Lunch served by the Pool was not as good as it could have been. Too windy, not enough variety, but still good food and the Wind, well who can beat Mother Nature. And after a very heavy rain we had ants in the room, however we told the Front desk personell and they were taken care of. We can't say enough about the staff, everyone was courteous, helpful, friendly , just like the last time. If I go back to Bermuda it will be to Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Pass on the Swizzle Inn, the Swizzle was more like a fizzle. The food was overpriced , poorly presented and the place should have been cleaner on a Sunday afternoon (before the crowds). The well advertised Rum Swizzle missed ingredients and was served in a plastic pitcher rather then a tall glass. Definetively a no go.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top