$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 1, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pianoman50
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2013

A Bit of Paradise

Grotto Bay has a perfect location, wonderful staff, great facilities, and bargain rates if you go during the off season. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station just down the street carries milk, juices, bottled water, snacks and even soup and sandwiches, which can help with food expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SGMJOHNG
Quincy (Squantum), MA
Dec 1, 2013

Biggest Banf for the Buck!

This was our second year in a row that we stayed at Grotto Bay over the Thanksgiving Day Holiday. Next year will be our third > yes, our third. Grotto Bay is now our "go to" destination each Thanksgiving. Bermuda is the most wonderful place to spend the holiday and the staff at Grotto Bay really make the experience so wonderful. The food is excellent and the rooms all face the water. Cleanliness, friendliness, kindness and professionalism is their hallmark . Conceriege was very helpful and knowledgeable.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Mattapoisett
Aug 1, 2008

very family friendly

The Grotto Bay Beach Resort in Bermuda was excellent. They have a great beach with fish to see whether you snorkel or not. They have a rental place owned by another company that rented sunfish and kayaks and scuba diving and more. They had plenty of chairs at the beach with umbrellas. The food at the restaurant was good and they had a buffet outside with good music and an entertaining band to dance to. Its location is great and the bus system in Bermuda is excellent. We had a great time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Honeymooning forever
New Market, MD
Jul 5, 2012

Best Honeymoon

Was just hear at the end of June 2012. We had the most amazing time. The weather was perfect, the staff was very helpful and friendly. The whole area was clean all the time, we didn't have to wait to use snorkeling equip, paddle boards or kayaks. And the food was absolutely the best I've ever had. Hot meals, great tasting and a ton of variety. We did the all inclusive plan and it's the only way to go. Now that we're back however, we're hitting the gym. Definitely going back and would recommned without a doubt to anyone....families or couples that want to have an incredible experience in paradise!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect! It doesn't get any better!

Wonderful place to visit each time! I was there over twenty years ago and took my husband back this time and it was just as beautiful if not more so! The staff is so friendly and they are there still! Some of them have left and come back over the years which is really nice as well. The entire island is full of friendly people. The food be it at the hotel or the local hideaways is all delicious and such a treat! I was ready to live on the island and never return home! Don't go any shorter than 7 days two weeks is even better. Definitely eat at the hotel but also eat at the local places as well! Get on that Moped and travel around the entire of Bermuda while you are there! Experience all it has to offer from one end to the next - don't miss a trick! You won't regret the time you have spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat some meals at the hotel - but don't get on the dining plans at any of them. It is too expensive if you are looking to save a little. You can save a little money by eating out and sharing a meal as well and grabbing a few snacks for your room if you are that hungry! Splurge instead on all the activities and the room and enjoy yourself with a few really extravagant meals during your stay and mix it up! Enjoy the food flair! At Grotto Bay - we ate a meal at each of the restaurants while we were there and they were all wonderful! We also ate at lots of local places all over Bermuda and loved all our choices nothing was bad. The food was so fresh and tasteful we had to wonder what are they bringing into the US that our food taste so horrible comparatively? The portions are huge! So we noticed some families had their kids on the meal plan three times a day and their kids may have maybe eaten a yogurt for breakfast and maybe lunch and at $75.00 a meal I don't think I would be too happy that is all they were eating! I would assume they ate a bowl of cereal in the room from the grocery store across the street and then we saved that money and ate something really nice a few nights or went boating or snorkeling at that rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Phil and Sally
Columbia CA
Jun 11, 2012

A weeks getaway

My wife and I had an enjoyable 6 day stay at Grotto Bay Resort In Bermuda. The staff was excellent. A massage for us as a couple, done in a cave was very romantic. Room had a wonderful view. Climbing up the steps on the hill to the main resort building for meals and to go out to the bus station, gave us some exercise, but would offer a challenge to mobility impaired individuals. Fully recommend this Resort, as it is away from the crowds that spill out of the cruise ships that dock in Bermuda. Resort is a little expensive, but all of Bermuda is expensive too.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Nearby Swizzle Inn and the ice cream shop across the street are inexpensive places to eat. Try the "Dark and Stormy" flavor ice cream.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Bradford, MA
Oct 15, 2010

We loved it!

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The grounds, pool, lobby and restaurants were well kept. We stayed 4 nights with the all inclusive package. Compared to other hotels, this was a good value as the food & drinks are very expensive in Bermuda. Our all-inclusive package included a great selection of brand name alcohol beverages, 2 bus passes, use of kayaks, full breakfast, lunch & up-scale dinner. The food at the hotel was delicious! I would recommend Grotto Bay Beach Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The south shore beaches are connected by paths. We started at Horseshoe Bay and walked to Jobson's Cove and Warwick Long Beach. It was beautiful! The bus stops at each place, but we enjoyed the walk by starting at one end and catching the bus at the other end. Bring your camera!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
JustMarriedinBermuda
Albany, New York
Sep 12, 2013

Great Place to stay and relax

This was our second visit Grotto and it won't be our last. The room was very clean and the staff was very helpful. The grounds are kept spotless and the food was very good. We happened to catch the comedian on Sunday night - "Bootsie" and he was one of the many highlights of the trip. We would highly reccomend Grotto Bay. Easy access to the bus stop and we could walk to the Swizzle Inn. Perfect!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

We hopped on the bus which stops in front of the Grotto Bay and rode it to St. Georges where it was just a short 10 minute walk to Tobacco Bay for the most increadable snorkeling!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
mikrob
Staten Island, NY, USA
Dec 30, 2011

nice place for a short vacation

the place has nice scenery and lots of activities during the day. it is also conviniently located between Hamilton and st.George (short bus ride) However, it gets a bit boring at night as entertainment becomes limited

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: In Hotel

When you there for Xmas or other holiday, don't go for a holiday "special" menu. The "special" menu would be nothing special and would cost you twice as much as regular dishes

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Anonymous
Toronto, ON
Feb 17, 2008

Very Family Friendly

The Hotee was very accomodating and was very enjoyable. But I guess the time of year in which I decided to travel wasnt the best to begin with I have nothing bad to say about the hotel except for the fact that some other buildings on the resort were under renovation and waking up to a Jack hammer at 7:00 wasn't the most exciting thing but I guess that they have to capitalize on the down time or slow season to get the resort up to the standards they set for themselves. All and all the resort was wonderful, local to town and a very warm and welcoming attitude by all staff

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Right out the enterance of the grotto bay and a 5 minute walk down the street

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search