$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
396 out of 396
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
kksubdrvr
Family
McLean, VA, USA
Aug 24, 2011

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

We really enjoyed our time in Bermuda. The hotel was great and was consitent with what everybody had said in the reviews we read before leaving. We rented scooters - took a little timet o get used to since it was our first time and oh yeah, the left-hand side of the road thing was interesting. We rode to Hampton adn tookthe ferry to the Royal Dockyard, walked around and ended up doing a snorkelling trip. Fantastic! it is the company that has the booth right where the ferry left off. The Bermudan people were really nice and helpful (one couple even had us follow them to get back to the right road to return to the hotel). The water color, sun and temperature were great. The Swizzle Inn - well we ate there most meals. Food is expensive, but not ridiculously so. All in all, Bermuda has become our new "favorite spot".

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The Swizzle Inn - easy to get there and easy to get back to the hotel...no matter how many 32oz Rum Swilles you have :)

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Bradford, MA
Oct 15, 2010

We loved it!

The rooms were very clean and nicely decorated. The grounds, pool, lobby and restaurants were well kept. We stayed 4 nights with the all inclusive package. Compared to other hotels, this was a good value as the food & drinks are very expensive in Bermuda. Our all-inclusive package included a great selection of brand name alcohol beverages, 2 bus passes, use of kayaks, full breakfast, lunch & up-scale dinner. The food at the hotel was delicious! I would recommend Grotto Bay Beach Resort!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Long walk from hotel

The south shore beaches are connected by paths. We started at Horseshoe Bay and walked to Jobson's Cove and Warwick Long Beach. It was beautiful! The bus stops at each place, but we enjoyed the walk by starting at one end and catching the bus at the other end. Bring your camera!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2007

Beautiful Beach Area

This hotel has an ideal location and setting. The grounds are beautiful as well as the main hall. The beach is very intimate and beautiful. The location of the rooms are a distance and could be upadated to a better quality. Overall it is a beautiful location and public transportation is a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
CT
Aug 29, 2009

Grotto Bay

Great location. Great snorkeling right at the hotel. The crystal caves on the property are unique. The food was fantastic and the meal plan was definitely convenient. Rooms were always kept very clean and the staff was very helpful and friendly. The only bad experience were "hold charges" that were put on my credit card in excess of $2000 when the trip was prepaid. If these were run at the end of a credit card cycle, it would have been a nightmare. The charges were washed off about 5 days after we returned - but I do not understand the need for this at all when everything was prepaid and settled when we checked out.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Right around the corner - the crystal caves. Amazing! Also the Swizzle Inn for rum swizzles and a homemade icecream parlor within walking distance! All excellent!!!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
charlton, ma
May 11, 2009

Great short trip

Our trip was a short get away from our busy lives and two small children. Grotto Bay was a great place to stay. We loved our waterfront room and the view from the balcony was just beautiful. The beach was great, other hotels near the water were much more expensive. This was just perfect. Can't wait to do it again!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
NYC, NY
Nov 20, 2010

Been there, done that...still love it.

The Grotto Bay Beach hotel has been my favorite for years. Perched on a cliff facing the water you can't go wrong for your money. They have an excellent restaurant on premise and the famous Swizzle Inn is only a short walk down the road. At the end of the main drive there are scooter rentals. One is right next to an Esso station that carries wine and some tasty local bakery goods. A private beach, pool, hot tub, tennis court and SCUBA diving facilities make this the ideal getaway. Our last visit was mid November where the temp was in the low 70's during the day with no humidity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Couples
Darien, IL
Dec 29, 2009

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Good meals, wonderful activities director, [...] - who really put atremendous effort into getting people involved in some of the interesting activities in the area. She was unique.Hotel staff - great and helpful. Rooms were tidy, and clean. Very quiet. Fine for us. We wanted peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Spinnaker
Family
Nashville, TN
Jun 1, 2011

Great value for the money-diver heaven

The Grotto is a value for the money compared to other Bermuda hotels. This is my fifth time to Bermuda and first at the Grotto. The dive staff,which is located at the hotel but not part of the hotel was friendly, professional and most helpful. I would defintely recommend going back there.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Time-saving tip: Not Applicable

Be sure to take the buses or the water taxis. Cabs are incredibly expensive. It was a $40 ride to Hamilton from the hotel and $4 on the bus. They run frequently.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Locoell
Family
Augusta, Ga
Mar 9, 2009

Could not believe how beautiful it was.

Was outstanding and the staff was very helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pat - Bermuda Admirer
Single
Fairfax, VA
Nov 20, 2009

Exceptional Getaway

As with two previous stays at Grotto Bay, the hotel is beautiful, my room was awsome with incredible view overlooking the ocean. Each meal was better than the previous and the staff was very friendly and helpful. Traveling alone to contemplate and rest - Grotto Bay is the place! It is near the airport and has very easy access to any place on the island. The room was always clean and the bed was comfortable - I slept and napped VERY well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Single

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

The option to ride was not given for distance but the city bus stop is a very short walk outside the Grotto Bay property and the bus comes every 15 - 20 minutes. In a 15 minute ride I was in St Georges to shop and could have also gotten to Hamilton in about 20 minutes to shop or eat.

Back to menu Return to top