$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 19, 2014 Check-out: Sep 22, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Martrese
New York, NY
Jul 24, 2007

My Whole Family Had a Great Stay at Grotto Bay

My husband & I stayed at Grotto Bay with my 60-year-old parents and 36-year-old brother and we all loved the place. We didn't opt for the meals-included plan and ate all dinners at the Swizzle Inn, a two minute walk away. The $19/person breakfast was a bit steep, but we ate our fill and weren't hungry for a while. Taking the scooters to St. George for breakfast with the locals at Angie's Coffee Shop for a fraction of the cost was much more fun! The ice cream parlor across from the Swizzle Inn was a nightly treat. Tony's Grocery Store is a little farther up the street. We were lucky to stay in the building directly next to the main lodge (room 511), so there was minimal hill-climbing to get to the lodge. There were some stairs involved to get to the pool and beach, but not a major inconvenience. There's scooter parking in front of every building, so if you're staying beachfront, you can scoot up the hill to leave the property (rather than hike to the parking lot up top). A big bonus (to us anyway) was the underground pools in the caves. We were really enchanted by them and swam in them every day. The staff was quite helpful, the rooms perfectly fine (nothing fancy) and the grounds were immaculately kept. Though the beach on the property is small, it's nice. We hardly spent time on the property's beach anyway - too many others on the island to explore! We did snorkel out to the sunken ship just offshore - that was interesting. And feeding the tropical fish in the fish-feeding cove was fun. We saw on the grounds quite a few chickens, some gargantuan green slugs and some cockroaches, but wildlife is to be expected. None of them were in our rooms, so all was well. We really appreciated the proximity to the airport - a short $10 cab ride. A cab ride from the airport to the western end of the island could easily run upwards of $60. We watched the planes land from the beach, but could hardly hear them. The distance is walkable but can't be done as there is no sidewalk or shoulder on the bridge. If you opt to rent scooters (HIGHLY recommended), there's a Wheels Cycles at the Shell station next door and you can charge them to your room. Getting to our destinations was half the fun. Street signs aren't always marked, so study your map before heading out and know what town you're heading for and follow signs for that town, rather than looking for a sign for Middle Road, etc. The only drawbacks I found were the absence of a treadmill (a basic piece of gym equipment) in the workout room. Running on the island isn't an easy feat, and any length of long run is impossible. Also, the shampoo/conditioner product is atrocious. My hair felt like straw my entire visit. If you have long hair, pack your own conditioner!!! The water pressure in the shower was a bit weak, too. NOTE: The resort automatically bills you $18/day for maid & bellman tips (and most restaurants & bars include the tip in the bill). Overall, we were really impressed with our stay and would certainly return.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
momandem
Boston, MA
Dec 3, 2012

Travel with my mother

My mother and I had a wonderful stay at Grotto Bay. The staff were very gracious and accommodating. There are a number of stairs to move around the resort but staff were always on hand to give us a quick ride whenever she was not up to the walk. We were worried that the location near the airport would be disruptive but it is very quiet - not to worry. The restaurants onsite are quite good and all the facilities are lovely. Swimming in a cave was a first for both of us and quite an amazing experience!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Beccajeana
Pennslyvania
Jul 23, 2013

Awesome, Relaxing Getaway

This hotel was awesome! The views were great. The rooms were clean and nicely decorated. The beach area was spotless and not crowded at all. The all-inclusive package is the way to go for not only does it include all your meals and drinks, but snorkeling and other watersports. The staff is friendly and helpful, especially the concierge. See the concierge upon arrival for maps and ideas of things to do when staying. Since everything was all included, my husband and I were content to stay on the beach all day and snorkel. I would recommend this hotel and its all-inclusive package to anyone. In fact, we liked it so much, we're going back with our children next year!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat an early breakfast, then a later lunch and a later dinner. That way, if you want, you can sightsee or snorkel in between the meals and you won't miss a meal.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Aislinn
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 18, 2007

Cute

Not a bad location, close to the airport but not to Hamilton. Not much near the area but if you don't mind traveling to see things totally worth it. Dining options were fairly limited.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Dottie B.
NYC
Aug 25, 2013

Just great!

Just great!everything you could ask for in comfort and amenities thst typifies Bwermuda was available at this hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Boston, MA
Aug 20, 2007

Grotto Bay... A Good Place to Stay

This was the second time we stayed at Grotto Bay and was again very pleased. The restaurants serve very good food, the service is fantastic and the employees are friendly and helpful. The beach is very clean, well groomed and has a nice view all around. Though its proximity is very close to the airport, I never heard any planes taking off or landing because they don't fly over the island. The Crystal Caves and the Swizzle Inn are within walking distance of the hotel, and you can rent scooters right next door.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

The hotel has boats for rent and 2 small caves. The pool is heated and doesn't seem to be very busy. On the far end of the beach, there is plenty od fish to swim with and feed.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Mars123456
Boston
Jul 30, 2012

Great!

99% fantastic! Would go back in a second! Only concern is the small beach. Other than that, great place to stay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Gi.
New Jersey
Mar 24, 2011

Paradise

This place was amazing. There was only one thing i ddin't like. Staff wasn't very aware or cared for garbage left on the sand and washed off by high tide. Bottles were left on the beach over night, and while snorkling i picked up plastic cups & beer bottles in the reefs. Other than that, it was the best vacation yet, beautiful, and trully paradise. Staff is super courteous, well manered, and always helpful when you have questions. They have caves, spa, restaurant, gym, and some water sports right on premises, and with any other thing you need while you stay they will guide and help you through. They are literaly 3 minutes from the airport right across the bridge. I've visited the whole island and i really enjoyed my stay at Grotto and will definitely stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lorettaot
New Hyde Park, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

This was a lovely experience for our wedding anniversary celebration. The staff was friendly and there was a program for the guests along with a planning meeting to figure out each day's activities, since there is so much to see and do in Bermuda. We especially enjoyed the tour: bywaysbermuda.com with Heidi. What a pleasant experience and we got the indea from a flyer in the lobby of the hotel. Well, Heidi who is a 6th generation Bermudian gave us a wonderful tour which was a very special ending to our stay in Bermuda. If in Bermuda, don't miss this tour, its called "The Heart of Bermuda". Besides the beautiful scenery, she even took us to our honeymoon spot, the Southhampton Princess for photos, and Gibbs Lighthouse, and beautiful parks that I don't think tourists even know about! It was as they say, "Spot On"!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: Not Applicable

They say its expensive to eat in Bermuda and get a meal plan, well we say: if you research it, you can find plenty of great places and reasonable to eat! In Hamilton we found a nice place for a dinner of $10! Its Broadway Bistro in Hamilton on Front Street across from Ferry Terminal 6. And a "Dark and Stormy" drink for $4!! Their wahoo fish sandwich was excellent the cole slaw was wonderful!! The place had such good food we went there twice! Tried baby back spare ribs -- delicious! And some more of their terrific coleslaw !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Dec 20, 2012

Grottoriffic!

Grotto Bay is the Perfect Bermuda retreat! Never would I consider staying any place else! The Staff is the best, the hotel is the best, and the food at the hotel is the ultimate in fine dining! I took my new husband here in July 2012 and had not been here for 20 years when I had gone with another husband and what a treat! It was even more beautiful! Be sure to eat at the local restaurants as well. Swim in the cave at the hotel! Travel the Island as the locals do and get to know the people and you will love the place. It has become like another home. I wish we could move there. Be sure to enjoy all the hotel events while you are there and let them truly entertain you as they will!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Do not do the meal plan at the hotel. You can eat for less on your own. Share meals and eat locally as well. But they give you enough food with each meal to share no matter where you go and it is wonderful. Save a little where you can and then splure on the really great food you want to on those special dinners and things you really want!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top

Change search