$143 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jan 6, 2015 Check-out: Jan 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
391 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (391)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
391 out of 391
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Steve D 913
Business
New York, NY
Jun 16, 2014

nice property! good value!

My stay at Grotto exceeded expectations. The property is fairly expansive and is a bit of a hike up & down the hill from the main building to the beach & pool areas. But everything is clean and well maintained. The pool is heated and decent size. The beach area & water is very clean, although you are on the bay, not the ocean. There is 1 hot tub, but is was a bit busted, there was a hole in the sitting area, in which all the pressure of the jacuzzi was going through. The caves on the property, and also the Crystal & Fantasy caves are a nice attraction. Also just a 5 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn. The room was clean and had a nice terrace over-looking the bay. The walls seemed a bit thin, as we was able to hear conversations from the next room. Luckily they seemed to go to bed about the same time as we did. Most of the staff was friendly, helpful and attentive. Food was pretty good, but expensive, as is most of Bermuda. Located only 5 minutes from the airport, but you are 20 minutes away from St. George, and 30 minutes from Hamilton (by bus). But there are several bus lines that stop right in from of the property entrance.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Joanie the Cougar
Business
MA
Jul 16, 2014

Long Weekend Getaway

Room was very clean, staff helpful and friendly, restaurant food excellent...what more could I ask for?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Bus was easy and convenient to St. George.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bermuda Biker Chick
Business
Boston, Massachusetts
Jul 10, 2014

Fantastic Vacation

My husband and I have stayed at Grotto Bay several times now and we love it. The staff is wonderful and attentive and the food is excellent. Going all inclusive is well worth it and includes bus passes and rentals from the dive shop next store. Because the hotel is in the bay the water is calm and excellent for swimming, kayaking, and snorkeling.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

You can walk to the Crystal Caves from Grotto Bay. There's a walking path and it only takes about 15 minutes.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Kate1031
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jul 24, 2014

Relaxing Getaway

Had a very relaxing stay at Grotto Bay. Great environment and pleasant staff. Would definitely stay here on my next visit to Bermuda!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very close to the Swizzle Inn!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Pat Frequent guest
Business
New Hope, Pennsylvania
Jul 21, 2014

Would go back in a heartbeat!

Had a blast at Grotto Bay. It is casual and comfortable with all of the charms that Bermuda has to offer. The location is ideal and only a short walk to the Swizzle Inn, moped rentals, and underground caves. I cannot wait to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn is close by and reasonably priced.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
S. Chris M.
Business
Wilmington, Delaware
Jul 21, 2014

Very good service, many activities, but a bit loud

I have stayed there twice. All of the rooms have a nice view of the aquamarine bay, are clean, and convenient to all of the activities on the hotel. The hotel's restaurant/dining is quite good, if a bit pricey (that's not a complaint - dining anywhere on Bermuda is costlier than in the US). There are a lot of amenities -- you can swim in the hotel's own cave pool, swimming pools, or the bay; you can receive massage other spa treatment in another cave (underground caves are common in Bermuda); there is a ship wreck just off of the beach where you can snorkel; the hotel can provide glass-bottom boat tours. There are not many restaurant options nearby, but the Bermuda bus system is excellent and there is a stop just outside the hotel. The biggest negative is that many of the rooms have doors to adjacent rooms. You therefore are at the mercy of your neighbors -- when they are a quiet elderly couple, you do not notice. When they are a group of college kids staying up to 2 AM drinking in their room (my latest experience), it can be quite annoying because you can hear everything and have difficulty sleeping. The doors to the outside also are rather un-insulated, so you are disturbed by most people walking by talking. Overall there is good value here, but I would make it a point in the future to get a room without the shared doors and/or as far from the central building as possible to reduce the extraneous noise.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
2
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

There are only a couple of dining options within the hotel, and only 1 restaurant within walking distance. All of the meals at the hotel are nice quality, but very expensive, even if you buy an all-inclusive package. Unless you plan the spend most of your stay at the hotel and avoid most of the rest of the island, you will be eating elsewhere for many of your meals anyway. If you want to save money, go into Hamilton to the local super market (on Front Street) and buy groceries for breakfast and/or lunch. Each room has a coffee maker and refrigerator. We bought a half-pound of ground coffee, a half-gallon of milk, cereal, orange juice, bagels and cream cheese for ~ $30. That's slightly more than the price for a single person to eat a single breakfast at the buffet in the hotel.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
hart county
Business
georgia
Aug 16, 2014

just all around great experience

really enjoyed the comfortable lobby for evenings with a book or wifi and a beverage of choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

buy the bus/ferry pass for multiple day use

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
gibberly
Business
Edmond, OK
Aug 12, 2014

Great beach getaway

The resort is located on a wonderful beach. The sand is clean and the water is calm since it is on a bay. There are no waves here. A couple of small shipwrecks (maybe pontoon boats?) are located just off the beach. Hotel staff are very friendly and accommodating. Food at the hotel restaurants is outstanding, with the fish and steaks being some of the best we've had on the island. Rooms are relatively spartan, but clean. They have nice, well kept tennis courts staffed by the very friendly resident pro who also plays on the Davis Cup team.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Blue Hole park is located about a 1/4 mile away. It is a forest/jungle that boasts many trails to explore, secluded inland lagoons with cliffs for swimming and jumping, and caves that you can explore and swim in. We've been here in June and August. August can be rainy since it is the beginning of wet season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Malene
Business
New Jersey
Sep 1, 2014

great for young families and grandparents!

The check in process only took only ten minutes, then after confirmation the bell captain whisk our bags away to our room; when we opened the door to our room my husband and I were both taken back by the view, our private balcony, and welcome package of one bottle of cold water and pretty cellophane wrapped giant chocolate chip cookies.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Entertainment tip: In Hotel

the surf and turf night was nice but not worth $80! We ate as much lobster we could, delicious. it rained hard for about 10 minutes where the manager and staffed rushed to get towels for the floor while musicians kept playing. The music stopped at exactly 9:29 pm just while people were starting to dance; guests started to trickle out after music stopped.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Diane Mogayzel
Business
Cumberland, RI
Sep 19, 2014

Anniversary

This was my third visit to this hotel and our Anniversary. We requested the same room category as the past two visits and were very disappointed with the room we were given. The room was the furthest away, a soda and ice machine was located outside our door and our rug was frayed. We requested a room change, twice. We put in an request to have the rug repaired so we would not trip, twice. Our requests were not granted. After such a lovely visit the first time I decided to go back. The second visit was just as pleasant. We do plan to visit Bermuda for our next Anniversary but we are not sure we will stay at the Grotto for a fourth visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Coopers Nature Preserve is a must see!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top