$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Jul 17, 2014 Check-out: Jul 20, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
529 reviews
Family Fun

Our visit to the establishment was a great great time See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 29, 2014
Family Fun

We had a wonderful time, you made our stay wonderful. Thank you See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (529)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
529 out of 529
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect! It doesn't get any better!

Wonderful place to visit each time! I was there over twenty years ago and took my husband back this time and it was just as beautiful if not more so! The staff is so friendly and they are there still! Some of them have left and come back over the years which is really nice as well. The entire island is full of friendly people. The food be it at the hotel or the local hideaways is all delicious and such a treat! I was ready to live on the island and never return home! Don't go any shorter than 7 days two weeks is even better. Definitely eat at the hotel but also eat at the local places as well! Get on that Moped and travel around the entire of Bermuda while you are there! Experience all it has to offer from one end to the next - don't miss a trick! You won't regret the time you have spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat some meals at the hotel - but don't get on the dining plans at any of them. It is too expensive if you are looking to save a little. You can save a little money by eating out and sharing a meal as well and grabbing a few snacks for your room if you are that hungry! Splurge instead on all the activities and the room and enjoy yourself with a few really extravagant meals during your stay and mix it up! Enjoy the food flair! At Grotto Bay - we ate a meal at each of the restaurants while we were there and they were all wonderful! We also ate at lots of local places all over Bermuda and loved all our choices nothing was bad. The food was so fresh and tasteful we had to wonder what are they bringing into the US that our food taste so horrible comparatively? The portions are huge! So we noticed some families had their kids on the meal plan three times a day and their kids may have maybe eaten a yogurt for breakfast and maybe lunch and at $75.00 a meal I don't think I would be too happy that is all they were eating! I would assume they ate a bowl of cereal in the room from the grocery store across the street and then we saved that money and ate something really nice a few nights or went boating or snorkeling at that rate!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The NY Sisters
Cincinnatus, NY
Jul 21, 2012

Great Vacation

My sister & I had the best vacation ever! The people at this resort work very hard and are great. Our special appreciation goes to Duane-the bartender, Ben & James-waiters, Cristian-Maitre'd, our housekeeper, the gentlemen who opened doors, the cooks and everyone there! These employees helped make the experience a memorable one. We knew if we had any problems, they would take care of it or get Michael to fix it. However, no problems, no worries, just a great time! The food was excellent and exceeded our expectations. The grounds are beautiful and well maintained. One of the best times was swimming in the cave. We will be back. Thanks again to everyone at Grotto Bay. "The Sisters"

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the bus pass-good on buses & ferries. Check the schedule before going & enjoy

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
USA
Jul 11, 2008

Beautiful Midrange Resort

Well everyone says Bermuda is expensive and this resort is no exception. Bfast buffet was $40. each (without other full bfast options). 8 oz Coppertone spray $16.95. A really great All you can eat Surf and Turf buffet for $65. + 17 % gratuity- not including ice tea or coffee (let alone alcohol)! But the topper was the $10 per person per night fee that the resort tacked on at check in, amounting to an additional $140 for 2 for 1 week stay! Thats just plain sneaky and bad business. The beach was nice. The room was comfortable. Food is average (at best) except for the Surf and Turf buffet which was really good and included entertainment. We loved Bermuda, liked Grotto Bay but for the money, I'll take Maui any day.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Public transportation, buses and ferry are convenient. Buy the 7 day unlimited pass for $45, it is worth the money.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Columbus, OH
Jul 5, 2007

Beautiful Views

Grotto Bay is a very nice hotel - I felt it to be a little pricy, but there is not a bad view in the entire place. They have their own private beach which is very nice and it is close to everything. The rooms are spacious and comfy - all with balconies. Their workout facility could have been better.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
3
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

Get a scooter - everything is close.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pigpickin
Hope Mills, NC, USA
May 1, 2012

Great Anniversary Location

What a great place. Hotel grounds, pool, beach all excellent. The view is Awesome Resturants were outstanding. Service and Food great. The staff were very helpful. Walk 2 minutes to a bus to anywhere. St. Georges, 15 minutes. What a great experience.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

Eat at Wahoo's in St. Georges. On the Water. Quaint, excellent food and recommended by a number of locals we talked to.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 16, 2007

Beautiful Location

Grotto Beach Bay Resort was extraordinary! The setting of being in acres and acres of lush tropical foilage, flowers everywhere, birds, chickens and lizards everywhere, caves to explore on the property, a three-tiered beach with palm trees and comfortable lounge chairs and bar, the low-water area full of thousands of fish to watch, the on-site boat rental, plus the breath-taking view of the aqua water of the Bay, all made this vacation like a trip to Paradise! The rooms were comfortable and roomy with private balconies to enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are boating activities on the property, scooter rentals are a short walk, commercial caves are a medium walk - great fun eating place a very short walk - bus stop right outside resort.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York, NY
Aug 19, 2007

Beautiful Beach Area

This hotel has an ideal location and setting. The grounds are beautiful as well as the main hall. The beach is very intimate and beautiful. The location of the rooms are a distance and could be upadated to a better quality. Overall it is a beautiful location and public transportation is a short walk away.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Colonia
Sep 13, 2008

EXCELLENT ACCOMODATIONS

Unbelievable sights on this property. View from all rooms, but the best was in th Hamilton Lodge overlooking the bay. On-site kayaks, scuba, snorkel gear for rent. On site scooter rental. Fantastic buffet but expensive. Can't wait to go back and can't imagine staying anywhere else other than Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Darien, IL
Dec 29, 2009

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Good meals, wonderful activities director, [...] - who really put atremendous effort into getting people involved in some of the interesting activities in the area. She was unique.Hotel staff - great and helpful. Rooms were tidy, and clean. Very quiet. Fine for us. We wanted peace and quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muzica
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Great Stay

Friendly helpful staff. Great location and accessibility to Bermuda Breeze public transportation, which was a terrific deal (3-day inclusive--buses and ferries just $28.00). Location was great as our party was doing historical research in nearby St. Georges--very quick and easy getting back and forth. Had trouble with Internet (WiFi) connection, at least from our room. Lovely grounds. VISIT THE CAVES on site!!! Really COOL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Joe & Sue
Wauwatosa, WI
May 23, 2011

Grotto Bay - A great place to stay.

The Grotto Bay is close to the airport, so the cost for a taxi between the airport and hotel was less than $20 for my wife & I together. The resort personnel were quite friendly, courteous, and accommodating. The room was great and the grounds are fantastic, as there is a lot to see and enjoy there (lobby & main facilities, landscaping, waterfront areas, caves, etc). A bus stop at the entrance is used for all routes into St George and Hamilton. The Baileys Ice Cream & Sandwich Shoppe and The Swizzle Inn are close and easy to walk to for refreshments. We would definitely stay at the Grotto Bay again!!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Time-saving tip: In Hotel

For $6, we got a half hour of time to send emails to our family. Any time left can be used on another day if you log out each time.The email facilities were downstairs in the lobby.

Back to menu Return to top