$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 6, 2015 Check-out: Feb 9, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
400 reviews
Bermuda Anytime!

I love Grotto Bay Hotel! The rooms were beautiful! I stayed in one that overlooked the Ocean and... See full review

  • Booskinewyears
  • Jan 17, 2015
Great get-away!

Great location, very close to the airport. It is easy to go around by bus. Staffs are friendly. See full review

  • Gary.
  • Dec 29, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (400)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
400 out of 400
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Booskinewyears
VA
Jan 21, 2013

Perfect! It doesn't get any better!

Wonderful place to visit each time! I was there over twenty years ago and took my husband back this time and it was just as beautiful if not more so! The staff is so friendly and they are there still! Some of them have left and come back over the years which is really nice as well. The entire island is full of friendly people. The food be it at the hotel or the local hideaways is all delicious and such a treat! I was ready to live on the island and never return home! Don't go any shorter than 7 days two weeks is even better. Definitely eat at the hotel but also eat at the local places as well! Get on that Moped and travel around the entire of Bermuda while you are there! Experience all it has to offer from one end to the next - don't miss a trick! You won't regret the time you have spent here!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Dining tip: In Hotel

Eat some meals at the hotel - but don't get on the dining plans at any of them. It is too expensive if you are looking to save a little. You can save a little money by eating out and sharing a meal as well and grabbing a few snacks for your room if you are that hungry! Splurge instead on all the activities and the room and enjoy yourself with a few really extravagant meals during your stay and mix it up! Enjoy the food flair! At Grotto Bay - we ate a meal at each of the restaurants while we were there and they were all wonderful! We also ate at lots of local places all over Bermuda and loved all our choices nothing was bad. The food was so fresh and tasteful we had to wonder what are they bringing into the US that our food taste so horrible comparatively? The portions are huge! So we noticed some families had their kids on the meal plan three times a day and their kids may have maybe eaten a yogurt for breakfast and maybe lunch and at $75.00 a meal I don't think I would be too happy that is all they were eating! I would assume they ate a bowl of cereal in the room from the grocery store across the street and then we saved that money and ate something really nice a few nights or went boating or snorkeling at that rate!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 25, 2008

Good value,

The hotel was in a very convenient location mid way between Hamilton and St Georges. The facility was a resort with many activities right on the premises. The bus stop was right at the entrance as well as the scooter rental facility. Many of the room amenities had been recently refurbished and upgraded. The main restaurant was 5 star and not that expensive. we had a great time and really enjoyed this facility. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 16, 2007

Beautiful Location

Grotto Beach Bay Resort was extraordinary! The setting of being in acres and acres of lush tropical foilage, flowers everywhere, birds, chickens and lizards everywhere, caves to explore on the property, a three-tiered beach with palm trees and comfortable lounge chairs and bar, the low-water area full of thousands of fish to watch, the on-site boat rental, plus the breath-taking view of the aqua water of the Bay, all made this vacation like a trip to Paradise! The rooms were comfortable and roomy with private balconies to enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are boating activities on the property, scooter rentals are a short walk, commercial caves are a medium walk - great fun eating place a very short walk - bus stop right outside resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babita
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful grounds

Grotto Bay was exceptionally beautiful. Our room was well-decorated and spotless with a gorgeous view of the ocean from the balcony. The beach was pristine and well-kept with a clear teal ocean, white sands, and lovely stone formations. On the property were a walk-in lagoon filled with beautiful fish and deep green coral, mysterious caves ready to swim in, a clean pool, and a tucked away jacuzzi, all just a few yards away from our hotel room. The concierge service was excellent! Hamilton City, St. George's, and a number of other attractions and restaurants were easily accessible after purchasing a 3 or 6-day bus pass. The Swizzle Inn, Crystal Caves, and a Jamaican Restaurant were very close by. My only regrets were that there were not many options for an affordable breakfast, only pizza could be ordered to our room, many of the hotel's amenities such as the pool side bar and snorkeling were not available or optimal during the off-season, the hotel shop was meager at best, and there were some additional fees on the final bill which could not have been anticipated. Overall, however, I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dolphin experience at the Royal Naval Dockyards was particularly fascinating. Cafe Cairo in Hamilton was our favorite restaurant. The Frog and Onion Pub and Hannigan's in Hamilton had great drinks and entertainment in the evening, though they seemed to be the only places w/ nightlife during the off-season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pittsburg, PA
Nov 24, 2008

Great value, great setting.

The Grotto Bay Resort was very close to the airport but we heard no airplane noise. It had a resort setting and was well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had made to order omelets. The one dinner we ate there was just adequate. (We ordered a pizza and salads. The pizza was a frozen supermaket type. The salads were okay.) It takes approximately 20 minutes by bus to get to Hamilton or to St. George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lorettaot
Business
New Hyde Park, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

This was a lovely experience for our wedding anniversary celebration. The staff was friendly and there was a program for the guests along with a planning meeting to figure out each day's activities, since there is so much to see and do in Bermuda. We especially enjoyed the tour: bywaysbermuda.com with Heidi. What a pleasant experience and we got the indea from a flyer in the lobby of the hotel. Well, Heidi who is a 6th generation Bermudian gave us a wonderful tour which was a very special ending to our stay in Bermuda. If in Bermuda, don't miss this tour, its called "The Heart of Bermuda". Besides the beautiful scenery, she even took us to our honeymoon spot, the Southhampton Princess for photos, and Gibbs Lighthouse, and beautiful parks that I don't think tourists even know about! It was as they say, "Spot On"!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

They say its expensive to eat in Bermuda and get a meal plan, well we say: if you research it, you can find plenty of great places and reasonable to eat! In Hamilton we found a nice place for a dinner of $10! Its Broadway Bistro in Hamilton on Front Street across from Ferry Terminal 6. And a "Dark and Stormy" drink for $4!! Their wahoo fish sandwich was excellent the cole slaw was wonderful!! The place had such good food we went there twice! Tried baby back spare ribs -- delicious! And some more of their terrific coleslaw !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karlou
Business
Meridian, Idaho
May 17, 2010

Love this Place!

The bus comes right to the hotel and makes getting around the island easy and the hotel front desk sells bus passes. The dining room was great, wonderful breakfast buffet, great cafe by the water. The beach is small but very nice. The Swizzle Inn is just down the street and Baileys Ice Cream is across the street from that. We loved the whole vacation and would love to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barry P
Business
Garner, NC, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Grotto Bay Bermuda

Outstanding location and service, we even were given a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Our stay was really enjoyable even though it rained most of the time and we haven't stayed anywhere else that we could say that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muzica
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Great Stay

Friendly helpful staff. Great location and accessibility to Bermuda Breeze public transportation, which was a terrific deal (3-day inclusive--buses and ferries just $28.00). Location was great as our party was doing historical research in nearby St. Georges--very quick and easy getting back and forth. Had trouble with Internet (WiFi) connection, at least from our room. Lovely grounds. VISIT THE CAVES on site!!! Really COOL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southcod
Business
Mashpee,Ma
Jan 8, 2012

Grotto Bay

This was my first visit to Bermuda. I loved the Grotto Bay Resort. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. There is a bus stop right outside the resort making it easy to get around. Nice beach..beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMC RETIRED
Business
Garden City, NY, USA
Feb 17, 2012

#1 VALUE IN Bermuda

Everything from free daily Tea Time to the 24/7 heated pool. You cannot beat this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the daily, three day or weekly bus pass for unlimited travel on their buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top