Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
390 reviews
Family Vacation

We go to Grotto Bay every year at this time. Resort is immaculate with private kid friendly beach.... See full review

  • Dick and Sue
  • Dec 1, 2014
Our second stay....

We stayed at Grotto Bay the second time in 2 1/2 years. The only reason I am no giving it 5 Stars... See full review

  • roetchen
  • Nov 19, 2014
ALL-INCLUSIVE PLANS AVAILABLE (breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks) - click SHOW MORE ROOMS to find these upgraded options, below the initial room-only categories shown in the initial search results. Explore the 21 acres of our naturally Bermuda landscaped gardens and Crystal Cave Lakes. Feel the warm breeze of the Atlantic as you take in our panoramic views. Newly renovated and redecorated, our rooms feature balconies or patios and are a calm and comfortable retreat, lulling you to sleep after a day of balmy pleasures. Indulge in and savour our Bermuda island cuisine, market fresh - and always served to your liking in our tropical Palm Court or elegant Hibiscus restaurants. Or dine at Al Fresco, above the beach and enjoy your favorite lunchtime snacks at the Bayside Bar & Grill. At Grotto Bay Beach Resort your pleasure is our guarantee. Refresh in our blue Bermuda ocean waters, swim on our private pink sand beach, bathe in our fresh water pool, or languish in our outdoor Jacuzzi surrounded by gardens above the beach; sail, snorkel, wind surf, dive ancient wrecks or explore our delicate and beautiful coral reefs. Take a boat cruise, on a sunny afternoon or during a glorious sunset. Play tennis night or day, or work out in our exercise room. We're also conveniently located within five minutes of two of Bermuda's finest golf courses, Tucker's Point Golf Club and the Mid Ocean Golf Club; should you wish to hit the greens. In addition we offer an extensive Activities program for children and adults, offering a daily schedule of fun-filled things to do. Children can be entertained in our Children's Program (Summer School Break only), while parents take some well-deserved time out, or families can have fun together and join in 'the games'. (Some activities are seasonal and weather permitting. Please check with our Concierge to confirm availability). ****Please note that bedding request is based on availability. Call hotel for specific bedding request: 1-800-582-3190 from the US.****

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (390)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
390 out of 390
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 25, 2008

Good value,

The hotel was in a very convenient location mid way between Hamilton and St Georges. The facility was a resort with many activities right on the premises. The bus stop was right at the entrance as well as the scooter rental facility. Many of the room amenities had been recently refurbished and upgraded. The main restaurant was 5 star and not that expensive. we had a great time and really enjoyed this facility. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 16, 2007

Beautiful Location

Grotto Beach Bay Resort was extraordinary! The setting of being in acres and acres of lush tropical foilage, flowers everywhere, birds, chickens and lizards everywhere, caves to explore on the property, a three-tiered beach with palm trees and comfortable lounge chairs and bar, the low-water area full of thousands of fish to watch, the on-site boat rental, plus the breath-taking view of the aqua water of the Bay, all made this vacation like a trip to Paradise! The rooms were comfortable and roomy with private balconies to enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are boating activities on the property, scooter rentals are a short walk, commercial caves are a medium walk - great fun eating place a very short walk - bus stop right outside resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babita
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful grounds

Grotto Bay was exceptionally beautiful. Our room was well-decorated and spotless with a gorgeous view of the ocean from the balcony. The beach was pristine and well-kept with a clear teal ocean, white sands, and lovely stone formations. On the property were a walk-in lagoon filled with beautiful fish and deep green coral, mysterious caves ready to swim in, a clean pool, and a tucked away jacuzzi, all just a few yards away from our hotel room. The concierge service was excellent! Hamilton City, St. George's, and a number of other attractions and restaurants were easily accessible after purchasing a 3 or 6-day bus pass. The Swizzle Inn, Crystal Caves, and a Jamaican Restaurant were very close by. My only regrets were that there were not many options for an affordable breakfast, only pizza could be ordered to our room, many of the hotel's amenities such as the pool side bar and snorkeling were not available or optimal during the off-season, the hotel shop was meager at best, and there were some additional fees on the final bill which could not have been anticipated. Overall, however, I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dolphin experience at the Royal Naval Dockyards was particularly fascinating. Cafe Cairo in Hamilton was our favorite restaurant. The Frog and Onion Pub and Hannigan's in Hamilton had great drinks and entertainment in the evening, though they seemed to be the only places w/ nightlife during the off-season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pittsburg, PA
Nov 24, 2008

Great value, great setting.

The Grotto Bay Resort was very close to the airport but we heard no airplane noise. It had a resort setting and was well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had made to order omelets. The one dinner we ate there was just adequate. (We ordered a pizza and salads. The pizza was a frozen supermaket type. The salads were okay.) It takes approximately 20 minutes by bus to get to Hamilton or to St. George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
lorettaot
Business
New Hyde Park, NY
Feb 21, 2010

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

This was a lovely experience for our wedding anniversary celebration. The staff was friendly and there was a program for the guests along with a planning meeting to figure out each day's activities, since there is so much to see and do in Bermuda. We especially enjoyed the tour: bywaysbermuda.com with Heidi. What a pleasant experience and we got the indea from a flyer in the lobby of the hotel. Well, Heidi who is a 6th generation Bermudian gave us a wonderful tour which was a very special ending to our stay in Bermuda. If in Bermuda, don't miss this tour, its called "The Heart of Bermuda". Besides the beautiful scenery, she even took us to our honeymoon spot, the Southhampton Princess for photos, and Gibbs Lighthouse, and beautiful parks that I don't think tourists even know about! It was as they say, "Spot On"!!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Not Applicable

They say its expensive to eat in Bermuda and get a meal plan, well we say: if you research it, you can find plenty of great places and reasonable to eat! In Hamilton we found a nice place for a dinner of $10! Its Broadway Bistro in Hamilton on Front Street across from Ferry Terminal 6. And a "Dark and Stormy" drink for $4!! Their wahoo fish sandwich was excellent the cole slaw was wonderful!! The place had such good food we went there twice! Tried baby back spare ribs -- delicious! And some more of their terrific coleslaw !!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karlou
Business
Meridian, Idaho
May 17, 2010

Love this Place!

The bus comes right to the hotel and makes getting around the island easy and the hotel front desk sells bus passes. The dining room was great, wonderful breakfast buffet, great cafe by the water. The beach is small but very nice. The Swizzle Inn is just down the street and Baileys Ice Cream is across the street from that. We loved the whole vacation and would love to return!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Barry P
Business
Garner, NC, USA
Sep 5, 2011

Grotto Bay Bermuda

Outstanding location and service, we even were given a bottle of champagne for our anniversary. Our stay was really enjoyable even though it rained most of the time and we haven't stayed anywhere else that we could say that.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Muzica
Business
Atlanta, GA, USA
Nov 8, 2011

Great Stay

Friendly helpful staff. Great location and accessibility to Bermuda Breeze public transportation, which was a terrific deal (3-day inclusive--buses and ferries just $28.00). Location was great as our party was doing historical research in nearby St. Georges--very quick and easy getting back and forth. Had trouble with Internet (WiFi) connection, at least from our room. Lovely grounds. VISIT THE CAVES on site!!! Really COOL!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
southcod
Business
Mashpee,Ma
Jan 8, 2012

Grotto Bay

This was my first visit to Bermuda. I loved the Grotto Bay Resort. The room was clean and comfortable. The location was perfect. There is a bus stop right outside the resort making it easy to get around. Nice beach..beautiful location.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
RMC RETIRED
Business
Garden City, NY, USA
Feb 17, 2012

#1 VALUE IN Bermuda

Everything from free daily Tea Time to the 24/7 heated pool. You cannot beat this hotel

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Not Applicable

Get the daily, three day or weekly bus pass for unlimited travel on their buses

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top