$107 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Feb 27, 2015 Check-out: Mar 2, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
402 reviews
Nice get Away

Located on the bus route, nice grounds, friendly staff, great food. Wifi unreliable. Can't wait to... See full review

  • Karen V.
  • Feb 18, 2015
Great Location, Good Rooms, Beautiful View

Great value. The rooms are not as luxurious as most 4-5 star hotels, but the convenience to the... See full review

  • Wilson
  • Feb 4, 2015
ALL-INCLUSIVE PLANS AVAILABLE (breakfast, lunch, dinner, drinks) - click SHOW MORE ROOMS to find these upgraded options, below the initial room-only categories shown in the initial search results. Explore the 21 acres of our naturally Bermuda landscaped gardens and Crystal Cave Lakes. Feel the warm breeze of the Atlantic as you take in our panoramic views. Newly renovated and redecorated, our rooms feature balconies or patios and are a calm and comfortable retreat, lulling you to sleep after a day of balmy pleasures. Indulge in and savour our Bermuda island cuisine, market fresh - and always served to your liking in our tropical Palm Court or elegant Hibiscus restaurants. Or dine at Al Fresco, above the beach and enjoy your favorite lunchtime snacks at the Bayside Bar & Grill. At Grotto Bay Beach Resort your pleasure is our guarantee. Refresh in our blue Bermuda ocean waters, swim on our private pink sand beach, bathe in our fresh water pool, or languish in our outdoor Jacuzzi surrounded by gardens above the beach; sail, snorkel, wind surf, dive ancient wrecks or explore our delicate and beautiful coral reefs. Take a boat cruise, on a sunny afternoon or during a glorious sunset. Play tennis night or day, or work out in our exercise room. We're also conveniently located within five minutes of two of Bermuda's finest golf courses, Tucker's Point Golf Club and the Mid Ocean Golf Club; should you wish to hit the greens. In addition we offer an extensive Activities program for children and adults, offering a daily schedule of fun-filled things to do. Children can be entertained in our Children's Program (Summer School Break only), while parents take some well-deserved time out, or families can have fun together and join in 'the games'. (Some activities are seasonal and weather permitting. Please check with our Concierge to confirm availability). ****Please note that bedding request is based on availability. Call hotel for specific bedding request: 1-800-582-3190 from the US.****

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.2 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
3:00 PM
Check-out:
11:00 AM

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use. All information has been provided by this hotel and not by Orbitz

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (402)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.7 / 5
5.01.0
37 out of 402
Amenities:
3.8
Cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.1
Comfort:
3.9
Location:
3.9
Value:
3.7

78% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
z.c.
Business
new york
Dec 29, 2014

Great trip

Great trip, great hotel! The room was clean, the services was great! The only little problem was that the WIFI was not that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
z.c.
Business
new york
Dec 16, 2014

Great trip

Great trip, great hotel! The room was clean, the services was great! The only little problem was that the WIFI was not that well.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Beach girl 2014
Business
New York, NY
Sep 29, 2014

OK hotel

All the hotels are very expensive in Bermuda. I felt this hotel was not the exception. I got a discount deal and was able to save money, but will not stay at this hotel at their regular prices. The structure of the hotel is just like a unit of motel. The private beach was small and the water did not look clean to compared to the other public beaches. Most of the staff were friendly and professional. If you just stay to be relaxed, or go out to towns by taxis or buses it is okay to stay here, but if you would like enjoying private beach or plan to go out popular beaches, this location will not be your choice.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Recently Widowed
Business
New Jersey
Jun 10, 2014

Beautiful Hotel

This hotel is very accommodating and comfortable. It is a little too far from Hamilton but close to St. George. The only complaint I have is their lack of a breakfast choice. Either you buy the all inclusive which is $22.00 per day for breakfast or you can eat from a small breakfast bar of selected cereals, bagels, muffins, toast and coffee which are each individually priced. Sometimes you feel like having a little more than a muffin but not an entire buffet. I would recommend this hotel and I would stay there again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Buy the bus passes at the Bus Terminal in Hamilton and you will save money.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
ww29
Business
Boston, MA
May 29, 2014

Consistent with Expectations

This was our fourth trip to Grotto Bay; as usual, it was consistent with expectations. Somewhat removed on the East side of the island, it offered plenty to do and see with easy access to Hamilton via scooter, taxi or dependable public transport. The proximity to the airport has never been a factor but allows for a quick taxi ride coming and going. Food at the resort, though somewhat expensive, as in all of the island, was very good.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Portside guy
Business
New England seacoast
Apr 14, 2014

Great Location

Grotto Bay is a great place to stay! Beautifully landscaped grounds, scenic views, a friendly staff, delicious dining and a nearby bus line that can take you anywhere you want to go. The airport is conveniently located nearby. I was very happy with my choice of places to stay while vacationing.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

The seafood selections were all deliciously prepared.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann scuba diver
Business
NYC
Mar 26, 2014

too close to the airport

We booked an oceanfront room but didn't actually get one...not sure what I paid extra money for. We asked for one of the first floor ocean front rooms but were told there were none available, even though there were many empty ones we walked by. It's too close to the airport and hard to reach the beaches of Bermuda. Resort itself is pretty though, other than seeing airplanes overhead all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Business
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
The Professorra
Business
NY
Dec 2, 2013

Excellent resort

The staff was really awesome--very friendly and accommodating. Did the MAP for 3 days--food was exceptional. I would return again and I highly recommend The Grotto

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Agat
Business
Ontario Canada
Jul 3, 2013

AN ISLAND DREAM COME TRUE

Our short 4 day , 3 night trip to Bermuda and our stay at the Grotto Bay Beach Resort was infamous. The fact that the Hotel was close to the airport , hence no long taxi ride, that the Hotel was similar to a huge condominium complex of pastel shades and pretty structural form, that the room was extremely comfortable including a small fridge and balcony on the ocean, that the main facility lodged a handsome dining room with 3 choices of breakfast, lunch and dinner menus for the sophisticated as well as the casual palate,that the grounds offered an island beach with turquoise waters, a large barside pool, an outdoor jacuzzi , a grotto cool swimming area with dim lights and natural stone decor was only the beginning. Three pm tea included a choice of teas and scrumptious deserts , on the house ! Staff members were jovial, funny and extremely helpful . WELCOME TO THE ISLAND and the GROTTO BAY BEACH RESORT

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

Very casual dining with local rum drinks and a ran:ge of casual dinner offerings as well as, on some nights, live entertainment ; Swizel restaurant

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top