$389 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Aug 15, 2014 Check-out: Aug 17, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
532 reviews
Family Fun

Our visit to the establishment was a great great time See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 29, 2014
Family Fun

We had a wonderful time, you made our stay wonderful. Thank you See full review

  • Karen Fun Mom
  • Apr 21, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.0 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.7 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (532)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
532 out of 532
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.8

90% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 6, 2009

Grotto Bay

This was like a Red Roof Inn in Bermuda. The staff was very nice, but the space wasn't. There is no beach to speak of - it is on the bay with just a few feet of sand. The pool closed at 3 PM, along with the bar. The Concierge sent us to dinner at a nasty pub. what was to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Poor Service and Food

I understand that the prices are high at resorts. I don't mind paying if there is commensurate value. The food was over priced and of poor quality. To say the food was sub-standard would be an understatement. I am generally not a complainer and rarely fill out surveys, but the dining experiences (all of them) were so poor that I felt compelled to express the dissatisfaction. The most friendly staff members were from housekeeping. They genuinely cared about our comfort. The front desk staff, (with the exception of [...]) was uninterested and rude. My fiance asked for a clean iron to press her wedding dress and it took three requests before we received cooperation. The island is beautiful and we are looking forward to returning. However, we will pass on Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed Joe
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

No wifi and staff language

This hotel would have much higher but for 2 things: 1. there is no wifi in the rooms, regardless of the staff saying there is, so don't plan on checking email, using a magic jack or doing any work online. 2. although both the white and black staff were very helpful and friendly, the constant barrage of ebonics from some front desk staff was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Dissapointed Joe
Phoenix, AZ, USA
Sep 5, 2011

No wifi and staff language

This hotel would have much higher but for 2 things: 1. there is no wifi in the rooms, regardless of the staff saying there is, so don't plan on checking email, using a magic jack or doing any work online. 2. although both the white and black staff were very helpful and friendly, the constant barrage of ebonics from some front desk staff was annoying.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Karyne
Needham, MA, USA
Mar 26, 2012

Could be better

My trip was ok and I did not enjoy my stay, the food wasn't all that good and they didn't have much of anything that would make me say yes. I guess in Bermuda they have seasons when you should travel but we didn't know so there was nothing for use to do in march. The staff was wonderful and nice, we love the swizzle inn ( both) place and that's where we eat even when food came with out package but choice to eat out cause the holet food wasn't that good. I didn't enjoy my stay and I was very unhappy. On top the hotel didn't have any cable, internet you had to go to the main floor which was not good. The rooms are not update and place needs a make over. The pool needs to be redone, clean and the jet tab needs to be bigger. I wished I never went and I lost all my money for nothing. Please really check everything before going cause we didn't enjoy our stay at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
1
Location:
4
Value:
1
Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The swizzle inn was the best thing in Bermuda and I think everyone should go there if you there. The food was wonderful and better then eating at the holet.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
Pittsburgh, PA
Aug 3, 2009

Poor Service and Food

I understand that the prices are high at resorts. I don't mind paying if there is commensurate value. The food was over priced and of poor quality. To say the food was sub-standard would be an understatement. I am generally not a complainer and rarely fill out surveys, but the dining experiences (all of them) were so poor that I felt compelled to express the dissatisfaction. The most friendly staff members were from housekeeping. They genuinely cared about our comfort. The front desk staff, (with the exception of [...]) was uninterested and rude. My fiance asked for a clean iron to press her wedding dress and it took three requests before we received cooperation. The island is beautiful and we are looking forward to returning. However, we will pass on Grotto Bay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
4
Location:
3
Value:
1
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
deion
bermuda
Jul 22, 2013

Rude Staff

the staff did not go the extra mile to help. for example I went to get a diet coke at 11:50 and was told that the bar did not open up until 12 noon. I said "even for a soft drink"? the man sternly repeated "as I said, the bar doesnt open up until 12 noon". that was the general behavior of the staff. they were no the friendliest and did not go out of their way. also, there was mold on the bed skirt and the staff got another one and that one has mold on it to. My wife and I went to breakfast at 10:20 and we were stopped by a staff member and told that breakfast was over. I had to go an get the desk manager to overule and allow us to eat breakfast

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
1
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
4
Value:
1
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
fool me once shame on me.
PHILADELPHIA, PA
Sep 18, 2010

6 inch hair in my food

went last year in june, 6 inch hair in my food, a bug in my water, my girlfriends key opened the wrong door, and a staff member was abusive to myself and my date, and our friend's son who was the cofounder of Staples. so i contacted the Gm [...] who invited me back and said he would make it up to me. went back and found out folks from boston only paid 1400 for 5 nights and two airline tickets which brought it down to 100 a night which was less than what I paid. So i went to front desk and they put my room rate down and I printed the folio. Thank god I did this cause when I checked out I saw they put the room rate up over 700 dollars. I had to fight and dispute it with the credit card company which just added to this mess of a HOTEL. I WENT TO HOTEL SCHOOL AND HAVE A BS DEGREE, AND I WILL TELL U THE DEAL. HALF THE STAFF IS SNOTTY,. THE BEACH IS MAN MADE AND NOT THE PINK SAND U HEAR OF. THE NICK NAME ON THE ISLAND IS GHETTO BAY. I DID NOT MIND THE ROOM OR THE POOL OR THE CAVES. BUT THE BOTTOM LINE IS WHY IN THE WORLD DID I GIVE THEM A SECOND CHANCE. I SHOULD HAVE LEARNED MY LESSON THE FIRST TIME AROUND. LET THE BUYER BEWARE. IF YOU WANT TO SIT ON A SLOPED MAN MADE BEACH WHERE U CAN'T GET A SEAT CAUSE THE LOCALS SNEAK ON AND LISTEN TO THE JETS FLY OVER THEN THIS IS THE PLACE FOR YOU. I SUGGEST ELBOW BEACH. OH YA FOOD WAS OK. IM USED TO ISLAND FOOD AND EDIBLE IS OK WITH ME. THE CHEF WAS VERY NICE.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
3
Location:
1
Value:
1
Shopping tip: Short drive from hotel

ST GEORGE

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Sep 12, 2010

Don't waste your time

The hotel requires too much walking to get to and from your room. Upon arrival, I had to deal with rude front desk staff and had to have my room changed 3 times due to cleanliness and smell. I would never suggest this hotel to anyone. The staff did not make me feel confortable at all.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
2
Hotel staff:
1
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
1
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Walk to a nearby store to get items for your refrigerator.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

1
5.01.0
Anonymous
New York
Oct 6, 2009

Grotto Bay

This was like a Red Roof Inn in Bermuda. The staff was very nice, but the space wasn't. There is no beach to speak of - it is on the bay with just a few feet of sand. The pool closed at 3 PM, along with the bar. The Concierge sent us to dinner at a nasty pub. what was to like?

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
2
Location:
1
Value:
3
Back to menu Return to top