$159 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Oct 28, 2014 Check-out: Oct 31, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
386 reviews
Great choice for my first visit to Bermuda

I loved how close it was to the airport. $8 dollar cab ride and you are at the front door. My... See full review

  • DeeNyce
  • Oct 15, 2014
Best vacation ever!

Staff was helpful and pleasantly respectful. The grounds were beautiful, our room was exceptionally... See full review

  • Alex IT Guru
  • Sep 11, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 senior cottages with color classic architecture of Bermuda include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical decor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.8 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (386)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
386 out of 386
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SB Traveler Judy
Business
South Bristol, ME
Jan 26, 2014

What a great place!

This was our second stay at Grotto Bay, and I must say, it lived up to my memories of the first time. The grounds are lovely, the room comfortable, the views magnificent, the staff was very friendly. Service in the restaurant is a tad slow, but, hey, you're on vacation and where do you have to rush off to! I'd definitely go back there. Concierge staff was especially helpful in recommending places to go and arranging a tour for us. Unfortunately, the larger cave is now closed as it is being used as a massage spa. But the swimming cave is still open to all. This is a minor detail. I can't imagine anyone not liking Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Swizzle Inn is just up the street from Grotto Bay, a very short walk slightly uphill. It has a variety of dishes and we found the rockfish to be superb. And of course, the rum swizzle drink for which the pub is named.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Zamboni59
Business
Ballston Lake, NY
Mar 29, 2014

Perfect

This is a great place to stay. We loved everything about it. The buildings and grounds were superb. The staff was superb. The concierge June Ann planned our days for us. The restaurants were great. Close to everything. You can't go wrong.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
VeritaVixen82
Business
Cape Cod/Florida
Apr 9, 2014

30th Birthday Perfection!

Unique, fun, beautiful, serene! For someone who had been dreaming about Bermuda her whole life, this hotel was the perfect place to rest and relax between adventures out on the island. Close to the airport, but not so much it is noisy, on a tranquil bay that even during rough weather seemed safe, easy walk to the pink bus, amazing amenities, including a 500,000 year old cave, this hotel has a lot to offer. I could have used a bit more available fruit (in general on the island), and there is only one restaurant (and an ice cream shop) within easy walking distance, so single travelers may want to take note. And staff can be flirty (but not aggressive). I did not want to take the bus at night in the dark, traveling alone, though I am certain I would have been fine. I was thus dependent on the hotel selection for nighttime meals - touristy. The food was good enough, especially the lunchtime pool restaurant, but not the reason I love this hotel. Go for the beauty, the individual character, the location, ESPECIALLY if you love nature (caves, lagoons, tree frogs, an especially remarkable autumn blue moon). Cannot more highly recommend this hotel and island!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out Crystal and Fantasy caves. Easy walk from the hotel. WORTH IT! I have claustrophobia but could not get enough of the island's caves. Start with the one at the hotel to ease yourself into the idea, if you are nervous.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Fun Mom
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 21, 2014

Family Fun

We had a wonderful time, you made our stay wonderful. Thank you

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Shopping tip: Short walk from hotel

Shopping is close and fun

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
cldmonet
Business
The Grotto Bay
Apr 19, 2014

resort

although I didn’t get the all inclusive, it provided me with the opportunity to experience the local flavor. I don’t drink much so it would not have been a good bargain to have got the all inclusive. It is very expensive in Bermuda, so if you don’t plan on leaving the resort an all inclusive may be the way to go. The staff and local people are very friendly and proper.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short drive from hotel

Find "The Market" in Hamilton and buy your food there. There may be one closer in St Georges or St David, The bus is the way to get around.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Karen Fun Mom
Business
Philadelphia
Apr 29, 2014

Family Fun

Our visit to the establishment was a great great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Dallas, TX
Feb 25, 2008

Good value,

The hotel was in a very convenient location mid way between Hamilton and St Georges. The facility was a resort with many activities right on the premises. The bus stop was right at the entrance as well as the scooter rental facility. Many of the room amenities had been recently refurbished and upgraded. The main restaurant was 5 star and not that expensive. we had a great time and really enjoyed this facility. We would definitely go back.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Anonymous
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Jun 16, 2007

Beautiful Location

Grotto Beach Bay Resort was extraordinary! The setting of being in acres and acres of lush tropical foilage, flowers everywhere, birds, chickens and lizards everywhere, caves to explore on the property, a three-tiered beach with palm trees and comfortable lounge chairs and bar, the low-water area full of thousands of fish to watch, the on-site boat rental, plus the breath-taking view of the aqua water of the Bay, all made this vacation like a trip to Paradise! The rooms were comfortable and roomy with private balconies to enjoy the view.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

There are boating activities on the property, scooter rentals are a short walk, commercial caves are a medium walk - great fun eating place a very short walk - bus stop right outside resort.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Babita
Business
Philadelphia, PA
Mar 15, 2008

Beautiful grounds

Grotto Bay was exceptionally beautiful. Our room was well-decorated and spotless with a gorgeous view of the ocean from the balcony. The beach was pristine and well-kept with a clear teal ocean, white sands, and lovely stone formations. On the property were a walk-in lagoon filled with beautiful fish and deep green coral, mysterious caves ready to swim in, a clean pool, and a tucked away jacuzzi, all just a few yards away from our hotel room. The concierge service was excellent! Hamilton City, St. George's, and a number of other attractions and restaurants were easily accessible after purchasing a 3 or 6-day bus pass. The Swizzle Inn, Crystal Caves, and a Jamaican Restaurant were very close by. My only regrets were that there were not many options for an affordable breakfast, only pizza could be ordered to our room, many of the hotel's amenities such as the pool side bar and snorkeling were not available or optimal during the off-season, the hotel shop was meager at best, and there were some additional fees on the final bill which could not have been anticipated. Overall, however, I would definitely recommend this resort to friends and family.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

The Dolphin experience at the Royal Naval Dockyards was particularly fascinating. Cafe Cairo in Hamilton was our favorite restaurant. The Frog and Onion Pub and Hannigan's in Hamilton had great drinks and entertainment in the evening, though they seemed to be the only places w/ nightlife during the off-season.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
black barbie
Business
Pittsburg, PA
Nov 24, 2008

Great value, great setting.

The Grotto Bay Resort was very close to the airport but we heard no airplane noise. It had a resort setting and was well maintained. The staff was friendly and accommodating. The breakfast buffet was extensive and had made to order omelets. The one dinner we ate there was just adequate. (We ordered a pizza and salads. The pizza was a frozen supermaket type. The salads were okay.) It takes approximately 20 minutes by bus to get to Hamilton or to St. George.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top