$212 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 8, 2015 Check-out: Sep 11, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton, 0

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
399 out of 399
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.2
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Mary Ann scuba diver
Friends
NYC
Mar 26, 2014

too close to the airport

We booked an oceanfront room but didn't actually get one...not sure what I paid extra money for. We asked for one of the first floor ocean front rooms but were told there were none available, even though there were many empty ones we walked by. It's too close to the airport and hard to reach the beaches of Bermuda. Resort itself is pretty though, other than seeing airplanes overhead all the time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
2
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
elliotvjones
Couples
NY,NY
Mar 24, 2014

Nice place, a little out of the way

I have to start by saying we got a very good price for our room at the very start of spring. In that context, we had a very good stay in the recently refurbished "oceanfront" room. The resort does have private beach but it is on a bay, not the ocean so don't expect to have waves lulling you to sleep. It is also a little too close to a main road with traffic into the night. Service, Amenities and Food were excellent but costly. So we had a great time but if I paid full price I would have been disappointed.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Muse restaurant in Hamilton, doesn't look like much from the street but upstairs dinning room was very tastefully decorated and the food / service was excellent. Good wine list at reasonable prices.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
DIANE KAROS
Couples
BERMUDA
Mar 23, 2014

SPECIAL VACATION 47 YEARS MARRIED

HOTEL WAS GOOD WEATHER NOT GOOD WRONG TIME OF YEAR TO GO TO BERMUDA.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Dining tip: In Hotel

PRICES VERY HIGH SMALLER PLACES IN TOWN MORE REASONABLE

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
I Am That One Guy
Couples
Toronto
Mar 19, 2014

Lovely Accommodations

Grotto Bay Resort isn't spectacular, but for the price, you couldn't possibly ask for a better place to stay. The rooms are nothing special, but rather comfortable, and all of them have views of the ocean, some admittedly better than others. Having the caves on site is a beautiful addition and the option of swimming in Cathedral Cave (have to find the warm spots in the off season - they really are there!) is glorious! The staff are exceedingly friendly (though I think that's true of anywhere on the island), and for nature types, the location is excellent with the Fantasy and Crystal caves nearby, the beach on site, and Tom Moore's Jungle adjacent. My only qualm was that the food was mediocre, but if you're looking for a cheap breakfast, Cafe Ole is just around the corner and an excellent option. Yes, their Sunday Bermudan breakfast is worth it (and so is the French toast and the omelette). Probably packed during the season, but very comfortable in the off season months. Decadent? No. But quite good for the price.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

2
5.01.0
Lucky8181
Friends
Waterbury, CT
Mar 16, 2014

Don't go during off season

Do not go during Bermuda non-summer months to this hotel. Nothing on this side of the island is open for business during off months & there was absolutely nothing to do in the hotel itself. There is no one around the premises to help with questions. The spa was closed the pool side restaurant/bar was being remodeled which we were not informed of prior to booking. Most of the little staff they had was not helpful at all. If I were to return to Bermuda I definitely would not pick this hotel & I would go during their summer months.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
1
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
2
Comfort:
3
Location:
2
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Friends

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Happy fish
Family
Canada
Mar 11, 2014

Great location, friendly staff

We had a great family trip in Bermuda stayed 5 nights at Grotto Bay resort. The lady from guest services was very helpful to make suggestions of daily trips. But we think the hotel room should have more blankets, it is not warm enough. The pool was warm, but sometimes our room door couldn't open or couldn't close. After staff cleaned our room they probably forgot to lock our door. It was overall okay,we will recommend this hotel to a friend.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
2
Trip purpose:

Family

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernard the Man
Couples
Boston
Mar 4, 2014

Great stay, Great location.

We stayed here & despite the weather it was a blast. The location of the property puts it in between the new town( Hamilton) & the old town ( St. George) all while having public transport right in front of the property. We also enjoyed the caves & nature walk within minutes of the property. The staff was quite friendly, in general a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Couples

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Kristen
Business
Southington CT
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect Getaway

After having been to Bermuda a few times and staying in downtown Hamilton, I decided to try a resorts "a little off the beaten path" and couldn't be more pleased with my choice. My first night I had a business event in Hamilton at the Princess and took a taxi into town for 30 dollars each way. I would suggest a bus pass since it is much more reasonable (9 dollars round trip) but since it was raining and on my business account I chose the cab. My husband came on the trip with me and we used the bus for the rest of our weekend exploring. The service at this hotel is the most notable. Everyone is excellent. We had a standard room for the majority of our stay which was fine, but on our last night due to a flight cancellation we rechecked into a superior room which was significantly nicer. The views from everywhere are breathtaking and in the "on season" (which March is not) there are tons of outdoor activities to enjoy including scuba diving, boating, tennis, etc. Although it was mostly rainy for our visit we enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub frequently and I even took a dip in the ocean and caverns. This is a truly oceanfront property, but the beach is tiny so on a busy week it might be crowded. Food and drinks were excellent, but very expensive. There is an all inclusive option that might be good for some folks. Dinner usually fell in the 40 dollars per person range with a cocktail or two. Bar service, restaurant service, and front desk service was all excellent. Visit St. George's (ten minute bus ride) for a day and eat at Art Mel's Spicy Dicy. In Hamilton the Hog Penny was a great spot for lunch. We had a perfect time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus! It is clean and far cheer than the taxis!!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julian L
Single
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2014

Pleasant

On the plus side, it's near the airport, it's got a private beach, and even a cave where you can swim in, and it has a heated pool and hot tub, as well as a modest exercise room. Quite enjoyable, clean, and the staff were fairly friendly. The restaurants were good, not great. Prices are pricey--as with everything in Bermuda. They also charge you 17% service on these prices, even when they screwed up my order twice--still automatic 17% was tacked onto the already considerable price of every meal. The Buffet Breakfast is a lot to eat and fills you up for the whole day, so it is a bargain. On the minus side, the room was very close to the main road and you could hear the sound of car motors the whole time. The staff refused to change the room, and also forgot a wake-up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Single

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Crystal Caves! Quite a sight!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe diesel
Couples
worcester ma
Feb 19, 2014

perfict

sta ff was as they should be but a step above would we go back absoultly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Couples

Back to menu Return to top