$319 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: May 3, 2015 Check-out: May 4, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
416 out of 416
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
4

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Bernard the Man
Business
Boston
Mar 4, 2014

Great stay, Great location.

We stayed here & despite the weather it was a blast. The location of the property puts it in between the new town( Hamilton) & the old town ( St. George) all while having public transport right in front of the property. We also enjoyed the caves & nature walk within minutes of the property. The staff was quite friendly, in general a great stay.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Traveling Kristen
Business
Southington CT
Mar 3, 2014

Perfect Getaway

After having been to Bermuda a few times and staying in downtown Hamilton, I decided to try a resorts "a little off the beaten path" and couldn't be more pleased with my choice. My first night I had a business event in Hamilton at the Princess and took a taxi into town for 30 dollars each way. I would suggest a bus pass since it is much more reasonable (9 dollars round trip) but since it was raining and on my business account I chose the cab. My husband came on the trip with me and we used the bus for the rest of our weekend exploring. The service at this hotel is the most notable. Everyone is excellent. We had a standard room for the majority of our stay which was fine, but on our last night due to a flight cancellation we rechecked into a superior room which was significantly nicer. The views from everywhere are breathtaking and in the "on season" (which March is not) there are tons of outdoor activities to enjoy including scuba diving, boating, tennis, etc. Although it was mostly rainy for our visit we enjoyed the heated pool and hot tub frequently and I even took a dip in the ocean and caverns. This is a truly oceanfront property, but the beach is tiny so on a busy week it might be crowded. Food and drinks were excellent, but very expensive. There is an all inclusive option that might be good for some folks. Dinner usually fell in the 40 dollars per person range with a cocktail or two. Bar service, restaurant service, and front desk service was all excellent. Visit St. George's (ten minute bus ride) for a day and eat at Art Mel's Spicy Dicy. In Hamilton the Hog Penny was a great spot for lunch. We had a perfect time.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Take the bus! It is clean and far cheer than the taxis!!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Business
Toronto
Feb 25, 2014

Perfect Getaway Place

A beautiful hotel/resort for a quick getaway from the cold. Location from the airport is very close (5 mins) and a $10 cab ride. The staff is very friendly and the service is excellent. The hotel and beach are nice and the room was very clean.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Try the gas station or the conveniece store to the right and left of the hotel to stock up on water and other snacks

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Julian L
Business
New York, NY
Feb 25, 2014

Pleasant

On the plus side, it's near the airport, it's got a private beach, and even a cave where you can swim in, and it has a heated pool and hot tub, as well as a modest exercise room. Quite enjoyable, clean, and the staff were fairly friendly. The restaurants were good, not great. Prices are pricey--as with everything in Bermuda. They also charge you 17% service on these prices, even when they screwed up my order twice--still automatic 17% was tacked onto the already considerable price of every meal. The Buffet Breakfast is a lot to eat and fills you up for the whole day, so it is a bargain. On the minus side, the room was very close to the main road and you could hear the sound of car motors the whole time. The staff refused to change the room, and also forgot a wake-up call.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

Go see the Crystal Caves! Quite a sight!

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
tar077
Business
Toronto
Feb 24, 2014

Great Staff

The location was as close to the airport as could be. Did not hear any planes. The staff from the bell men, Front Desk, Cleaning staff and the wait staff were great (they were all very friendly, helpful and made it very comfortable). The food was good & comparable to most of Bermuda. I would definitely go back plus the price was great. It was about a 20 min bus ride to Hamilton & the bus travel was extremely easy to navigate. Took a 40min bus ride to Horseshoe Bay which I would recommend for a look.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station to the right or the Convenience store to the left is not a bad place to load up on water & a few chips. If you are in Hamilton, there is a food market on Church street that serves hot food (definitely a yummy choice for a reasonable price - Bermudian standard)

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe diesel
Business
worcester ma
Feb 19, 2014

perfict

sta ff was as they should be but a step above would we go back absoultly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R and W retirees
Business
Toronto Canada
Feb 17, 2014

Had a great time

We managed to get a special rate-on our return visit- which made this hotel exceptional value for Bermuda. Hotel staff was great. Very friendly and accommodating. Good small bar and 2 different locations for meals. Pool lovely and warm, fun hot tub and the beach was private and beautiful. An extra bonus was the Grotto that offered magical swimming. Bus out front made easy access to both ends of the Island and close to the airport but with very little noise made the cab fare easy on the wallet. This was an Old Bermuda experience, the way it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed The Tom Moore Jungle Blue Hole Park nature walk across from the hotel. We took advantage of the free guided tour that included small grottoes and flora and fauna information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue Boston
Business
Boston, Massachusettes
Feb 3, 2014

Beautiful Resort

We traveled with an infant and everything was prepared for us perfectly. Beautiful pool, Jacuzzi, cave to swim in, little private beach, water sports on locations. There is a complimentary afternoon tea in a beautiful palm court. The Restaurant is very elegant. We had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A bus drive along the island is an adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schiff
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful resort, good value

The resorts appears to need some updating, but it does have it's own underground cave that you can swim in and it's right on the beach. My wife has some dietary restrictions, which offered her a very limited selection at the resort restaurants, which caused us to dine elsewhere the majority of the time. The location is good and bad. The good is that it's centrally located between St. George & Hamilton and the closest hotel to the airport. The bad is that it's not near any of the island's attractions. I was a bit disappointed about the room. I booked the Superior Oceanfront room, which was described at booking as having a "1st floor private patio near beach & pool". Our room was on the 3rd floor, which gave us a nice view of the ocean but not the oceanfront walkout I was expecting. The resort said that none of the rooms have a walkout to the beach. Also, it would have been nice if the patio door had a screen on it, as the breeze and ocean sounds are great, but the bugs aren't. Next time, I'd probably stay somewhere closer to the stores and restaurants so that we don't have to constantly leave the resort, but staying there again isn't out of the question either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Because it's not close to any of the island's main attractions, their all-inclusive package is only a good deal if you plan on staying at the resort the entire time. Otherwise, you'll be driving, taking the bus, or taking a cab back to the hotel for all of your meals, which basically wastes half of the day or causes you to eat out, thereby defeating the purpose of the all-inclusive plan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SB Traveler Judy
Business
South Bristol, ME
Jan 26, 2014

What a great place!

This was our second stay at Grotto Bay, and I must say, it lived up to my memories of the first time. The grounds are lovely, the room comfortable, the views magnificent, the staff was very friendly. Service in the restaurant is a tad slow, but, hey, you're on vacation and where do you have to rush off to! I'd definitely go back there. Concierge staff was especially helpful in recommending places to go and arranging a tour for us. Unfortunately, the larger cave is now closed as it is being used as a massage spa. But the swimming cave is still open to all. This is a minor detail. I can't imagine anyone not liking Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Swizzle Inn is just up the street from Grotto Bay, a very short walk slightly uphill. It has a variety of dishes and we found the rockfish to be superb. And of course, the rum swizzle drink for which the pub is named.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top