$239 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Apr 26, 2015 Check-out: Apr 29, 2015

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
View map of #11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,

Hotel Overview

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

4 / 5
5.01.0
408 out of 408
Amenities:
3.9
Cleanliness:
4.3
Hotel staff:
4.3
Comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
joe diesel
Business
worcester ma
Feb 19, 2014

perfict

sta ff was as they should be but a step above would we go back absoultly

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
R and W retirees
Business
Toronto Canada
Feb 17, 2014

Had a great time

We managed to get a special rate-on our return visit- which made this hotel exceptional value for Bermuda. Hotel staff was great. Very friendly and accommodating. Good small bar and 2 different locations for meals. Pool lovely and warm, fun hot tub and the beach was private and beautiful. An extra bonus was the Grotto that offered magical swimming. Bus out front made easy access to both ends of the Island and close to the airport but with very little noise made the cab fare easy on the wallet. This was an Old Bermuda experience, the way it should be.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

We really enjoyed The Tom Moore Jungle Blue Hole Park nature walk across from the hotel. We took advantage of the free guided tour that included small grottoes and flora and fauna information.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Sue Boston
Business
Boston, Massachusettes
Feb 3, 2014

Beautiful Resort

We traveled with an infant and everything was prepared for us perfectly. Beautiful pool, Jacuzzi, cave to swim in, little private beach, water sports on locations. There is a complimentary afternoon tea in a beautiful palm court. The Restaurant is very elegant. We had a great time

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
5
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Sightseeing tip: Not Applicable

A bus drive along the island is an adventure

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Schiff
Business
Denver, CO
Jan 27, 2014

Beautiful resort, good value

The resorts appears to need some updating, but it does have it's own underground cave that you can swim in and it's right on the beach. My wife has some dietary restrictions, which offered her a very limited selection at the resort restaurants, which caused us to dine elsewhere the majority of the time. The location is good and bad. The good is that it's centrally located between St. George & Hamilton and the closest hotel to the airport. The bad is that it's not near any of the island's attractions. I was a bit disappointed about the room. I booked the Superior Oceanfront room, which was described at booking as having a "1st floor private patio near beach & pool". Our room was on the 3rd floor, which gave us a nice view of the ocean but not the oceanfront walkout I was expecting. The resort said that none of the rooms have a walkout to the beach. Also, it would have been nice if the patio door had a screen on it, as the breeze and ocean sounds are great, but the bugs aren't. Next time, I'd probably stay somewhere closer to the stores and restaurants so that we don't have to constantly leave the resort, but staying there again isn't out of the question either.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
3
Location:
3
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: In Hotel

Because it's not close to any of the island's main attractions, their all-inclusive package is only a good deal if you plan on staying at the resort the entire time. Otherwise, you'll be driving, taking the bus, or taking a cab back to the hotel for all of your meals, which basically wastes half of the day or causes you to eat out, thereby defeating the purpose of the all-inclusive plan.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
SB Traveler Judy
Business
South Bristol, ME
Jan 26, 2014

What a great place!

This was our second stay at Grotto Bay, and I must say, it lived up to my memories of the first time. The grounds are lovely, the room comfortable, the views magnificent, the staff was very friendly. Service in the restaurant is a tad slow, but, hey, you're on vacation and where do you have to rush off to! I'd definitely go back there. Concierge staff was especially helpful in recommending places to go and arranging a tour for us. Unfortunately, the larger cave is now closed as it is being used as a massage spa. But the swimming cave is still open to all. This is a minor detail. I can't imagine anyone not liking Grotto Bay!

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The famous Swizzle Inn is just up the street from Grotto Bay, a very short walk slightly uphill. It has a variety of dishes and we found the rockfish to be superb. And of course, the rum swizzle drink for which the pub is named.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Tourist on Budget
Business
Florida
Jan 25, 2014

Dependable through the years

I'm a frequent business traveler to Bermuda. Grotto Bay Resort has been consistently clean, courteous, with great amenities over the past ten years. The rooms had a major remodel in 2010.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Bermuda Public Bus system is sensational. There is a bus stop in front of the hotel entrance. Ask the front desk for a time schedule. You go anywhere on the island for a few dollars from this bus stop. By comparison, a taxi is $30 one way to Hamilton.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Omar9
Business
Kearny, nj
Jan 22, 2014

Great location

Caves are great. Pool not that best. Friendly and excellent customer service.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
CRChris
Business
New York, NY
Jan 3, 2014

Had A Great Time

Loved everything about it including the staff, the location, the food, the rooms. I did however have trouble reading at night with the lamps provided in the rooms.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Beth2
Business
MA
Dec 29, 2013

Grotto Bay

Great place close to the airport. Afternoon tea is great. Very nice place to visit.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
4
Trip purpose:

Business

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Pianoman50
Business
New York, NY
Dec 22, 2013

A Bit of Paradise

Grotto Bay has a perfect location, wonderful staff, great facilities, and bargain rates if you go during the off season. I highly recommend it.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Trip purpose:

Business

Dining tip: Short walk from hotel

The gas station just down the street carries milk, juices, bottled water, snacks and even soup and sandwiches, which can help with food expense.

Was this review helpful to you?
Thank you for your feedback!
Back to menu Return to top