$185 Avg/night
Rate and special offer based on Check-in: Sep 5, 2014 Check-out: Sep 7, 2014

Grotto Bay Beach Resort

3 stars
#11 Blue Hole Hill, Hamilton,
Hotel Overview
Reviewer score
3.9
out of 5
378 reviews
Fantastic Family Getaway

We traveled to the Grotto Bay on a family vacation. The staff was very friendly and accommodating.... See full review

  • Busy Bee 1198
  • Jul 25, 2014
Honeymoon

The staff was very attentive and the amenities were perfect. The pool area was very clean and the... See full review

  • Enchanted Honeymooners
  • Jul 24, 2014
Calm, tropical relaxation in Bermuda above a pink-sand beach
A relaxing getaway doesn't get much more idyllic than the Grotto Bay Beach Resort, overlooking the blue Atlantic waters and a pink-sand beach. The resort, comprised of 11 "cottages," features extensive landscaped grounds for walking and paths connected to the south shore beach trail. Guests enjoy newly redecorated and renovated rooms, a freshwater pool, and easy access to golf, tennis, sailing, snorkeling, and shopping in nearby Hamilton or St. George. All-inclusive plans are also on offer.


Highlights
  • On-site dive shop, offering shipwreck and reef tours
  • Kayak, windsurfer, and sailboat rentals available
  • Pool, whirlpool, tennis courts, and exercise facility
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room
Rooms

All 201 rooms in the 11 cottages include one king or two double beds, cable television, coffee maker, iron and ironing board, mini-fridge, hair dryer, marble bathrooms, bright tropical décor, and in-room safe. Rooms also offer private balconies or patios, some with views of beach and pool. All-inclusive plans are on offer.

Features

Guests enjoy fresh Bermuda island cuisine at Al Fresco above the beach, and enjoy drinks and snacks at the Rum House Bar and the Bayside Bar and Grill. Reservations recommended for dinner.

 

The hotel's spa offers aromatherapy, Swedish and couples massages, body scrubs, and facials. Guests will find a long list of activities for children. The property is adjacent to the Crystal Caves attraction.

Transportation
  • Bermuda International Airport (3.3 mi/5.3 km)
  • There are no rental cars for visitors on Bermuda
  • Shuttles, buses, and taxis are readily available; bus stop is right across the street
  • Bus passes and tokens are available at the front desk
  • Many guests rent mopeds or bicycles
Nearby attractions
  • Crystal Caves (0.25 mi/0.4 km)
  • Bermuda Reef Explorer glass bottom boat tour (5.4 mi/9.8 km)
  • Bermuda Maritime Museum (3.8 mi/6.1 km)
Business
  • Business center
  • Conference rooms
  • High-speed wireless Internet access (fees apply)
Policies and fees
  • Full meal plans available.
  • Children under 12 stay free in parents' room and eat free from children's menu when parents choose a meal plan.

This is not a comprehensive list of fees. Any amounts listed above may not include taxes and are subject to change.

Hotel Map

32.3536 -64.7133
Area served
Hamilton, Bermuda.
Nearby airports
Bermuda International Airport(BDA)- Approximate drive is five minutes and distance is one half-mile.
Area description
For shopping, dining, and entertainment choices beyond this property, guests usually travel to either Hamilton or St George's. Points of Interest: Crystal Caves, Devil's Hole Aquarium, Bermuda Aquarium, Town of St. George, Hamilton City center, Bermuda Underwater Exploration Institute, Fort Hamilton, Botanical Gardens, Royal Naval Dockyard.

Recommendations for you

Customers who viewed Grotto Bay Beach Resort also booked these hotels.

Reviewer score 4.3 out of 5
Reviewer score 3.7 out of 5
Reviewer score 4.5 out of 5

Grotto Bay Beach Resort Rooms

Superior Ocean Front
The Superior Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 1st floor private patio near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Superior Ocean View
The Superior Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.1st floor private patio. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean Front
The Deluxe Ocean Front offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4. 2nd or 3rd floor room with private balcony near beach & pool. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***
Deluxe Ocean View
The Deluxe Ocean View offers: 1 King or 2 Double Beds. **CLICK ON MORE ROOMS FOR ALL INCLUSIVE PLAN** These rooms are fully air-conditioned with a private bath and shower, cable color TV, coffee maker, iron, iron boards, mini-fridge, hair dryer and in room safe. Sleeps 4.2nd or 3rd floor private balcony. Top of hill. ***Please specify bedding request. 1 King bed or 2 Double beds, at end of booking.***

Amenities

  • WiFi
  • Free parking
  • Outdoor pool
  • No smoking rooms/facilities
General
No smoking rooms/facilities
Concierge
Activities
Outdoor pool
Fitness center or spa
Spa
Tennis
Dining
Bar/Lounge
Restaurant
Services
Business center
Laundry service
Childcare Service
In-Room Safe
Meeting/Banquet facilities
Conference facilities
Doctor on call
Gift shop
Internet
WiFi
Parking
Free parking
Accessibility
Handicapped rooms/facilities

Nearby points of interest

  • Smith's Parish: 2.9 mi

Dining

The Palm Court
The Palm Court has just undergone an exquisite redecoration and renovation. Stately palms, natural sisal details, mahogany, terra cotta tiles and trade wind motifs deliver a relaxed and tropical atmosphere for casual dining. An Island inspired menu, along with an exotic beverage menu ensure your enjoyment for dinner. The Palm Court also features an elegant new bar offering all of your favorite cocktails, wines and beers. Dress code casual; Enjoy yourself on most nights with local entertainment.
The Hibiscus Room
Elegance in soft hues of coral, beige and crisp white echo tropical sophistication in our newly decorated and renovated formal diningroom, The Hibiscus Room. Here you will enjoy fine traditional European cuisine with a Bermudian flavor, which changes daily. Open for Breakfast and Dinner year-round. The Hibiscus Room is the perfect choice for more formal dining. Dress code is smart casual. Jacket and tie optional.
The Bayside Bar & Grill
Bayside is the place for outdoor fun and a taste of home with your favorite quick foods - hamburgers, hot-dogs, salads, sandwiches & much more. The Bayside Bar & Grill also features two theme night buffets for added enjoyment, offering a savoury Island BBQ on Monday evenings and a fresh Seafood Soiree on Thursdays. (Seasonal & weather permitting)

Hotel Policies

Check-in:
1500
Check-out:
1100

Terms and conditions

Rates quoted in currencies other than the hotel's base currency are subject to the rate of the international exchange. Rate may change throughout stay. Rate may reflect average nightly rate. Extra charges may apply. Incidental charges, such as room service, are not included in the rate.

The amenities and/or facilities may not be located at the hotel, but within a reasonable distance, and additional charges may apply for use.

Back to menu Return to top

Guest Reviews (378)

Ratings and reviews for Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Overall score

3.9 / 5
5.01.0
378 out of 378
Amenities:
3.9
Room cleanliness:
4.2
Hotel staff:
4.3
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4.1
Value:
3.9

91% would recommend to a friend.

Sort by:
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Mary and Joseph
Mass.
Jun 24, 2013

Nice time

Given that Bermuda is very pricey, we opted for the all-inclusive, however, we experienced a couple of issues with our dinners. Overall the food is pretty decent but they had a special one night that they claimed the beef was "filet mignon" like, turns out you couldn't cut it with a chain-saw. Most meals were good though. Overall, the staff went over and above to assist in any way they could, quite friendly and helpful.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: In Hotel

Non-motorized water craft are free with all-inclusive, we all rented a motor boat for a couple of hours , both are fun.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Crazy daisy
Ocean city, n.j.
Jun 23, 2013

Couple's getaway

Overall, we had a lovely time. The resort is older but well maintained. Beach is on a secluded cove, so it is safe for swimming. It is a good place to go if you have small children. The rooms are basic, nothing special. The bathroom is quite small. The view is nice but we prefer an ocean view rather than a bay view. If you are looking for the beautiful pink sand beaches for which Bermuda is known Grotto bay is not your place; you need to go to the south shore and stay on the Atlantic side. However, the setting is attractive and there are interesting caves to see on property and schools of fish to observe from a gazebo. They offer an all inclusive optionwhich we did not take.Myhusband and I prefer to try different restaurants so we only dined at the resort once. It was good but not exceptional . Portions were small and it was quite pricy. Also, there is a terrace that overlooks the grounds and water below, however, they do not serve dinner there only breakfast. We think this is ridiculous. Many people would like to dine outside and enjoy the view ; but they don't offer this. At the beach and pool cafe the prices are even more expensive so we usually shared a sandwich. There is no room service offered here at all. My husband got pastries from the lobby(they were delicious) and we had coffee and tea on our terrace each morning.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short drive from hotel

Beautiful sunset at Beach house (formerly known as Blackbeards). Best meal was at Coconuts at The Reefs Resort, this is not close by but is worth the trip to Southhampton. The view is incredible, food excellent, service is terrific and we spent our final evening in Bermuda there. Richard and Esme are two employees that are brother and sister. They are so nice to everyone and extremely helpful. On the beach Richard had a smile for all and works so hard. Esme was very informative about restaurants and activities. They are real assets to Grotto Bay. The resort should have some music or entertainment in the evening. It is very dull at night.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
Grotto Lover
Alexandria, VA
Jun 18, 2013

Comfortable hotel with lots of unexpected amenities!

We went to Grotto Bay for four nights. What we loved about this hotel was the location, the daily tea time, the two sunken ships that were explorable, the onsite spa, and the grotto! I've never stayed in one place where you could do so much without leaving the resort. If you do leave, Grotto Bay is a great central location to St. George's and the beaches there or the beaches on the south side. The rooms were also comfortable and clean. Some things that could be better - the place is on a hill, so you have to go outside to get to the main building and the path to the beach is not direct. Overall, we really enjoyed our stay and would go back there over any other location again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
4
Room comfort:
4
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Check out the Swizzle Inn just up the road. It's a great pub with yummy food!

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
tajmr
new jersey
Jun 14, 2013

Perfect Getaway

I travel a lot and was concerned about the reviews I read about this property. I have to say I was very pleased. Rooms were clean and comfortable. It was a very quiet resort,which is what we were hoping for. The location was perfect..the bus stop is right at the end of the property. The caves were very cool and made for an interesting property amenity.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: Short walk from hotel

Swizzle Inn has good food. Dont waste your money on a full pitcher. Half pitcher is a 3/4 pitcher

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
EPtravels
Hoboken, NJ
May 29, 2013

Not your best option

We stayed at the Grotto Bay for 3 nights over Memorial Day Weekend. Pros: -Concierge was helpful in making dinner reservations, suggesting beaches to visit and other excursions -A 2 minute walk to the Swizzle Inn Cons: -Location is a bummer. Requires catching two separate buses to get to the best beaches on the island. -Rooms could really use a refresher. Walls are extremely thin. (Also, be sure to bring you own conditioner as it isn't complimentary!) -The beach at the hotel is quite small. Note: We did not purchase the all inclusive package and only ate breakfast at the hotel once. Cannot comment on the food. While we didn't have any major complaints about this hotel, next time we will definitely pay a bit more to be in a better location with nicer facilities.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
3
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
2
Location:
2
Value:
3
Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
Post Cruise
Alexandria, VA
May 28, 2013

Needs That Special Something

Lots of little things. Wireless internet we found out is pay as you go. Rum punch is punch and they wave the rum bottle over the glass. Guest Services, has some good ideas, but they have sat in the chair too long instead of trying places, so they don't tell you about shuttles instead of expensive taxi fares, or that the buses have two day passes, not just 1 and 3. Also for anyone thinking of filling out a survey, don't believe this web site when they say you will get 5% back, less than 1% of the hotels will accept that discount. But I am filling this out anyway, the hotel is like a cruise, everything is extra and overpriced.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
2
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
2
Room comfort:
4
Location:
4
Value:
3
Dining tip: Short drive from hotel

The Beach House (formerly Black Beards), but take the bus to St. Georges, then walk to St. Georges Club and catch a shuttle. No need to look for scarce taxis.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

3
5.01.0
DC Glam Girl
Business
DC
May 27, 2013

Nice but boring

Front desk was not particularly warm or friendly. June at the concierge desk was helpful but she seemed rushed and overwhelmed. No night life at the resort. Very quiet.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
3
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Trip purpose:

Business

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
Junie A
Harwich, Mass
May 14, 2013

Beautiful and Relaxing Getaway

Have been to this hotel before and really liked it. Stayed this time for 6 days/5 nights. Came in on a Monday and had to go to Doctor West's office on Tuesday. You can pick your vacation week, but not when you get sick. Food was good and tea time in the afternoon was great. The management was superior in every way. Great working group that really make your vacation enjoyable. The only thing that really upset me was the people staying at the hotel, leaving plates and wine glasses wherever they wanted to on the grounds. I wondered if they lived like that at home. Not considerate for anyone or the hotel.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
4
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Money-saving tip: In Hotel

Would have probably gotten the All Inclusive instead of the just the meal plan.

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

4
5.01.0
davece
nh
May 14, 2013

great place to stay

the hotel was great pool , beach , bartenders and all the help they give you as for the place i book through they never told me about an all inclusive so i got that there as bermuda is expnsive an all inclusive is well worth it but over all great time . flight was ok at best trip home water only and no real drinks at all a small bag of nuts and thats it . the hotel is great ....................................................................................

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
3
Room cleanliness:
4
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
3
Location:
4
Value:
3
Sightseeing tip: Short walk from hotel

swizzle inn

Review of Grotto Bay Beach Resort

Reviewer score

5
5.01.0
MKS66
Connecticut
May 5, 2013

Perfect stay.

Great hotel. Bus stop at the end of the driveway takes you anywhere you want to go. Short walk to the Swizzle Inn. The pool and beach area are nice. Great place to stay. I would go back again.

Hotel features (5 = best, 1 = worst):
Amenities:
5
Room cleanliness:
5
Hotel staff:
5
Room comfort:
5
Location:
5
Value:
5
Back to menu Return to top

Change search